Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shutting pubs on christmas eve

• Registered Users Posts: 5,992 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Were usually in our local till about 1 kicked out then, All the ould fellas stay till about 3 i'd say.

The guards never turn up really although were always told their outside so he can get rid of all of us :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

saa wrote: »
    Have a house party..

But I don't think I'd ever like to start Christmas coming home from the pub at the wee hours with a hangover later that morning or be waking up on someone elses sofa at 7am and then toddling home.

Although both are fun I just like not having to do things like that for one day a year.

yea but chrismas eve as i said is a great night in our local. people whive moved away and you obly really see em that night ect. the place does be black.

re house parties; they go on way to late for chrimbo eve and noone wants to spend the 25th cleaning up after one.

btw Im supportive of our boys in blue and dont want this thread musconstrued as an attack on them.

its an honest question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

number10a wrote: »
    Oh the Christmas Eves that I as a barworker prayed that this would happen. Never did though. Getting to sleep at 4am and up at about 8am does not make for a fun Christmas Day. :(

Get another job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Lose the HAHITUDE Richie.

Do you ha' drink tayken?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,898 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

RichieC wrote: »
    This happens every year in my local. 12 bells on the button, in they arrive to clear out the boozer.

my question is this. Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night?

You'd think the gards themselves would be getting pissed off getting orders to do this kind of work...

I'm assuming our local isnt the only one who gets this annual visit.. :o

Merry Chrimbo all - while I'm at it.

Cheer up, it's only once a year. You can drink away after hours all those other nights.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

stovelid wrote: »
    number10a wrote: »
    Oh the Christmas Eves that I as a barworker prayed that this would happen. Never did though. Getting to sleep at 4am and up at about 8am does not make for a fun Christmas Day. :(

Get another job?

Note the past tense.

And seriously, jumping ship for one night out of 365?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,992 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

stovelid wrote: »
    Get another job?

Yep it's that easy!

• Registered Users Posts: 878 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Surely the best way for them to prevent all the break ins is to get everyone out of the pubs and back to their empty houses

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I reckon some of the bar owners ask then to do it. Yes, it will cost them takings but maybe they and their staff have families? Happens every year in one of my locals but not others?

cosanostra wrote: »
    Surely the best way for them to prevent all the break ins is to get everyone out of the pubs and back to their empty houses

the makings of a minister for justice here...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

My local stays open till 2ish on the night, place is usually packed from 10 so they have no intention of closing early. Some jackass threw a full pint (minus the glass) at a barman last year but other than that there's been no trouble

• Registered Users Posts: 20,898 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

the zohan; I may be guilty of peddling a urban legend re house break ins on chrimbo eve. I honestly am not sure. its one of those things ive always assumed to be tru..

Apparently it is New Year's Eve when the burglars are most active. So when the Gardai make their annual visit to your local ask them to keep an eye on your gaffe that night.

Although thieves are more likely to take a rest on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, New Year's Eve is the season's worst day for burglary, according to 10 years' worth of claims data from Aviva. Homes are 22% more likely to be broken into on 31 December than on an average day.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,352 ✭✭✭✭Victor

There is one particular individual about that seems to specialise in break ins on Xmas eve.

But he seems to leave stuff behind like the guy who was in the papers during the week. However, this guy must be freaked out that the residents already have his picture, so he legs it sharpish.

They did'nt come this year!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Yet you're posting about it at 1.22, sounds like they were breaking up a proper party. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭craftypaddy

i was in my local at five past twelve and the guards walked in, gave us five minutes to leave, it was drug squad as well, a bit over the top.
    i recognized a few of them, very stoney faced, bah humbug.
    i only wanted one more
    good job i got a few slabs from tesco cheap

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Shure don't you know that when they close the pub they have a massive session in the pub afterwards!
    bluewolf wrote: »
    i wouldn't know, i'm in bed waiting for santy at that hour
    You'll be like Nelson waiting for his Papa I'm afraid :(

amacachi wrote: »

Yet you're posting about it at 1.22, sounds like they were breaking up a proper party. :rolleyes:

stopped serving at 11:30.

it was indeed quite a party considering we were there since seven, mr party man...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I don't mind handing out a few late ones any other time of year but feck ya's I'll have to drag my hungover ass into work on stephen's day so ya's can get in a right mess and probably end up needing babysitting; so xmas eve I like to be home by 12, have a beer or two and head to bed (now).
    Go easy on your bartender in 36 hours or so, they're probably dying as they had to pack all the xmas celebrations into one day :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭themandan6611

There is one particular individual about that seems to specialise in break ins on Xmas eve.

the wit and humour on boards never honestly ceases to amazes :pac: t'is why i love it

stopped serving at 11:30.

it was indeed quite a party considering we were there since seven, mr party man...

I have to admit that reading stuff like that just reminds me how cool I actually am.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

This happens every year in my local. 12 bells on the button, in they arrive to clear out the boozer.

my question is this. Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night?

You'd think the gards themselves would be getting pissed off getting orders to do this kind of work...

I'm assuming our local isnt the only one who gets this annual visit.. :o

Merry Chrimbo all - while I'm at it.

Owner's bro comes in to clear the place, something like that ;) No late home for owner...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

amacachi wrote: »
    I have to admit that reading stuff like that just reminds me how cool I actually am.
    Describing yourself as cool, on the internet, at 2.30a.m, on a Saturday night isn't really that cool according to *leafs through dictionary* most definitions....

later10 wrote: »
    Describing yourself as cool, on the internet, at 2.30a.m, on a Saturday night isn't really that cool according to *leafs through dictionary* most definitions....

There's a coupla words that start with "i" and "s" that I was going to say you should look up but I'm sure you already know them and know the meanings. Maybe someday you'll understand them.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I wish they'd come into ours. 2am before we got the place clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

What is wrong with these people.....

Why do places close/have to. Its a free Country.

So... if i was to build my Building in the Air technically its not on Irish soil so technically im not in Ireland so Technically the Irish Government cant tax me or shut me down .... :D:pac::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

What is wrong with these people.....

Why do places close/have to. Its a free Country.

So... if i was to build my Building in the Air technically its not on Irish soil so technically im not in Ireland so Technically the Irish Government cant tax me or shut me down .... :D:pac::cool:

I'm going to guess that you've been drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

Publicans want and request this to happen

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

I used to love when it happened when working in the bar. Make a mint all night with tips from the usuals in the bar. They get kicked out and a few of us would sit there till one or 2 havin a rack of free pints.

I for one commend these enforcers of the law :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

jpfahy wrote: »
    Publicans want and request this to happen

A publican who can't clear their own premises isn't much of a publican.