Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shutting pubs on christmas eve

• 23-12-2011 6:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭

This happens every year in my local. 12 bells on the button, in they arrive to clear out the boozer.

my question is this. Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night?

You'd think the gards themselves would be getting pissed off getting orders to do this kind of work...

I'm assuming our local isnt the only one who gets this annual visit.. :o

Merry Chrimbo all - while I'm at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Can see this going well

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

i wouldn't know, i'm in bed waiting for santy at that hour

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Some please think of the children bar staff :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Oh the Christmas Eves that I as a barworker prayed that this would happen. Never did though. Getting to sleep at 4am and up at about 8am does not make for a fun Christmas Day. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Save money, drink at home. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

chin_grin wrote: »
    Save money, drink at home. :pac:

Its the best night of the year in our local..

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In my local most would be getting ready to head home at that stage anyway, although a few of the old boys usually retire upstairs to play cards and drink whiskey with the owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

RichieC wrote: »
    This happens every year in my local. 12 bells on the button, in they arrive to clear out the boozer.

my question is this. Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night?

You'd think the gards themselves would be getting pissed off getting orders to do this kind of work...

Mustnt be giving them their annual shyte load of drink on the shhly so.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

One can only assume that all the criminals political elite of past and present that they ferry around the place are tucked up safely in bed at that hour and they have no interest in doing anything of real net worth.

Public service through and through, isn't it? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Its the best night of the year in our local..

/jealous face

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... my question is this. Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night? ...
    I'm sure that Guards do have better / more important things to occupy their time, unfortunately it's taken up clearing drunken eejits out of pubs at closing-time on Christmas Eve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night?

Do you have a source for that? I think I read somewhere that Christmas Eve is one of the quietest nights for break-ins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I never have this problem at my local Crack Den.

Crack 1 Drink 0

mathepac wrote: »
    ... my question is this. Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night? ...
    I'm sure that Guards do have better / more important things to occupy their time, unfortunately it's taken up clearing drunken eejits out of pubs at closing-time on Christmas Eve

hmm. thanks for clearing that up :confused:

Hey no probs man, glad to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

mathepac wrote: »

Hmm. That suggests they have difficulty prioritising.

I don't think that shows the lads in a good light at all.

I hope I'm not sounding as if I have a bad hahitude.

I can lose the hahitude.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

LOL

Sure don't ye know yereslves wha' a tis? Tis that fecken priesht and the oul' wans owwa the sodality and the Pioneers puttin' pressure on the Super (he goes to AA on the QT) to get the lads home so they'll be awake for Santy an' able to ate a bit a dinner for a change and not to be sick sore and sorry, gawkin' in the haggart at 3 in the mornin' God between us an small farmers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Derfil

They're only there hoping someone will buy them a drink. My local they all pour in at this time. Love to see them coming 'cause we know we'll be there all night.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

It happens at home when complaints go in about x or y person drink driving home from the boozer.
    If the cops don't get complaints, they don't bother people.
    The city is a different box of frogs completely.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

You know, if you did go home there'd probably be less chance of your house being broken into. The Guards aren't a private security service to watch over your house while you get sloshed.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,537 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Stupid gardaí. How dare they enforce the law

• Registered Users Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

TheZohan wrote: »
    Do they not have better things to be doing considering the annual bump in break ins on that night?

Do you have a source for that? I think I read somewhere that Christmas Eve is one of the quietest nights for break-ins.
    There is one particular individual about that seems to specialise in break ins on Xmas eve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

They probably just want the early hours to be quiet so they can get home to their families.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

charlemont wrote: »
    They probably just want the early hours to be quiet so they can get home to their families.

good one

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Have a house party..

But I don't think I'd ever like to start Christmas coming home from the pub at the wee hours with a hangover later that morning or be waking up on someone elses sofa at 7am and then toddling home.

Although both are fun I just like not having to do things like that for one day a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Sure they're just looking for their Xmas tip like the dustbin men.,,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Most pubs in my town close at 6pm, very few stay open past 9

the zohan; I may be guilty of peddling a urban legend re house break ins on chrimbo eve. I honestly am not sure. its one of those things ive always assumed to be tru..

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭lar203

your pub has not sent anything down to the cop shop hence the hassle