Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boycott British goods and services?

• 10-12-2011 7:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭

Seem as the British government have no qualms about seeing the collapse of the euro and the EU, throwing hundreds of millions of peoples lives into misery for their own self interest of protecting the institutes that caused this global meltdown, is it time for Ireland and the rest of Europe to boycott all things British??

I wonder how fast Tesco and Co would be knocking on number 10s door if they saw their profits wiped out across Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

We fooked ourselves up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

stewie01 wrote: »
    Seem as the British government have no qualms about seeing the collapse of the euro and the EU, throwing hundreds of millions of peoples lives into misery for their own self interest of protecting the institutes that caused this global meltdown, is it time for Ireland and the rest of Europe to boycott all things British??

I wonder how fast Tesco and Co would be knocking on number 10s door if they saw their profits wiped out across Europe.

I suppose you just loved the British before yesterday, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Sounds like a great idea. Especially if they decided to boycott OUR goods. We could have a little economic war. Let's see who'd win.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Yeah Buddy

Give up Cadbury's chocolate? :eek::eek::eek:

Ah here lad you have to think these things through like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Yeah Buddy wrote: »

Ah here lad

that's American owned now isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

What an ignorant post.
    Go to any city here in Ireland and our shopping streets are filled with UK high street chain stores eg next, topshop, newlook, m&s, hmv, etc. They contribute hugely to employment. The UK has been very good to us and without them we're fcuked.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I'm with the British. Fair play to them for having the balls to stand up to those cnuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,019 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yeah Buddy wrote: »

Ah here lad you have to think these things through like

Now owned by U.S.A.'s Kraft

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Sounds like a great idea. Especially if they decided to boycott OUR goods. We could have a little economic war. Let's see who'd win.

They came crawling back in '38. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

The Brits didn't want to give up their control of their own financial system and nobody can blame them for that.

They also don't want to join a system where they'll be expected to share the debt of other countries.

I've no problem with their decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

If our last government had acted in our interests instead of multi-billionaire bondholders, we'd be better off.
    The British Government is doing what a government should do for its people.

Anyway, we couldn't stop trading with Britain if we tried, the two countries need each other. Stupid idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Yeah Buddy

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Now owned by U.S.A.'s Kraft

Did not know that. Go ahead so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Thread Fail

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

You are an idiot...

If our last government had acted in our interests instead of multi-billionaire bondholders, we'd be better off.
    The British Government is doing what a government should do for its people.

Anyway, we couldn't stop trading with Britain if we tried, the two countries need each other. Stupid idea.

Until the Lib-Dems start threatening the Tories with a walkout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Typical attitude blame everyone but ourselves and our leaders.
    We should be buying Irish long before this btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

i can think of many good reasons to boycott Britain but there stance on Europe isn't one of them

As a token gesture, we should just boycott the Daily Mail, because they've done more damage to the EU than Cameron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭seantorious

i can think of many good reasons to boycott Britain but there stance on Europe isn't one of them

Judging your username most of them start with "800 years ago".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭stewie01

smcgiff wrote: »
    Thread Fail

why so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Feck that. Match of the Day is on in a few hours on BBC1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭stewie01

ilovesleep wrote: »
    What an ignorant post.
    Go to any city here in Ireland and our shopping streets are filled with UK high street chain stores eg next, topshop, newlook, m&s, hmv, etc. They contribute hugely to employment. The UK has been very good to us and without them we're fcuked.

Ignorant post.

maybe thats the problem with ireland. uk multinationals coming over and wiping out irish independant stores, and taking there profits out of the country end of year.

uk has been very good to us. stick your head back in that hole you pulled it out of.

why so?

It's like starting a thread suggesting that people vote for Fianna Fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Judging your username most of them start with "800 years ago".

no actually and why would my username make you think that do only republicans speak Irish now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Has anyone mentioned Hitler yet???

There it is now,just getting it out of the way :)

Carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Burn everything British but their coal like?

Hmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Since when is it the British government's responsibility to save us from a mess our own government created?

Ignorant post.

maybe thats the problem with ireland. uk multinationals coming over and wiping out irish independant stores, and taking there profits out of the country end of year.

uk has been very good to us. stick your head back in that hole you pulled it out of.

...and paying millions in rent, wages, taxation and other overheads to keep the country's cogs turning.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Skullsri

Op think about it long and hard or actualy just give it 2mins and you will know that your thread is a fail did you do any research or have any facts or figures to back up your post..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

All the British government is doing is protecting its interests as best as it can. Firstly, The imposition of a financial transaction tax would have serious implications for the UKs financial sector. The importance of this sector to the UK cannot be overstated... it drives an enormous amount of government revenue for them and a huge chunk of the tax take in corporate profits and employment.

Secondly and more importantly there was talk of forcing all euro denominated transactions to take place within the eurozone - under eurozone regulation. This would have been simply unacceptable to the UK. Despite not being in the eurozone, London is the eurozones financial capital, most trading and currency there is held in euro. Only are sums locally converted to sterling. Forcing this measure through would have made the city unviable as a trading centre - the majority of banks would have to relocate to the Eurozone (This would have been a major boon for the IFSC as relocation from London to Dublin would be relatively simple). This would have been catastrophic for the UKs economy and thus would be forced to join the euro.

The UK simply stood up for its own selfish interests as you would expect. There is nothing particularly noble in that I think.