Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread Part II **Mod Warning** Read First Post/or Post 7389

• Registered Users Posts: 7 pp76

Hi can anyone pm me the best dating site's im male looking for nice female thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

eternal wrote: »
    I need feedback on whether I should, in desperation, go back to Online Dating.

In desperation?? Nothing desperate about online dating :confused: such a shame people think there is :(

Simple answer, do whatever works for you! Be it online or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 KateMiddleton

awec wrote: »
    Computer gaming has changed in the past few years. It's no longer just guys who lock themselves in their rooms and don't socialise etc.

The majority of lads will play them on a social level, not for hours on end but to kill time, in the same way they might watch TV etc.

see it's the killing time thing that gets me. I don't want to date someone that kills time I want someone that does interesting stuff with their time. I never have time to kill I wouldn't want to date someone that spends hours watching telly either I find that lifestyle really depressing. I mean unless you've got small kids and actually can't leave the house why the hell would you do that?

Still this bloke doesn't seem to either he says he doesn't play them very often but he's an arty designery person so I guess it's kinda normal he's into graphyicy things? I should probably stop overthinking it. It's just because we had one date and then won't see each other until next Wednesday which will have been 2 weeks so i've time to overthink things.

• Administrators Posts: 53,450 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭timewilltell

I used to have this perception about online dating but I actually like it... You find out a lot about people! But anyways, why did you leave it, and what are the pros and cons of you going back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I'd be inclined to advise not to? You can sense desperation a mile off ... sure, some guys/girls are into that, but I can't see that combination making for the healthiest of relationships ...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm not on online dating websites out of desperation. :confused:

To me, a site is just a venue like any other and the people on it are the crowd within it. If you've had problems with it before, that just means it's unfortunate things haven't worked out. It's not your fault, nor is the blame with online dating either. The same thing has and can occur without dating sites.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Crap.

Maybe change your profile up a bit?
    Don't be ridiculous. I never get nervous. Ever. Honest.

:pac: Does your username suit you??:D
    pp76 wrote: »
    Hi All
    Can ye help me i'm thinking of trying online dating can anybody tell me the best site's to try ?

POF and OkCupid are the main Free websites. Maybe try them first and see how you get on.

I mentioned a few pages back about POF being more popular because of advertisements but I wasn't sure if it was advertised. I saw an tv advert for POF the other day!

Desperation? Erm, what do you mean desperate? Remember, your attitude will come across in your profile and messages.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

I'm not on online dating websites out of desperation. :confused:

To me, a site is just a venue like any other and the people on it are the crowd within it. If you've had problems with it before, that just means it's unfortunate things haven't worked out. It's not your fault, nor is the blame with online dating either. The same thing has and can occur without dating sites.
    I don't think it's desperate being on a dating site! I'm on it for a bit of fun and a different way to meet guys, like Drav and others...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Pembily wrote: »
    I don't think it's desperate being on a dating site! I'm on it for a bit of fun and a different way to meet guys, like Drav and others...

I note the very carefull placement of a certain comma in that post! :pac:

Haha, well I didn't want others to think you want to meet guys :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Another Friday night in. :pac: Nothing planned for tomorrow or Sunday either. :( Guess I'll play video games and look forward to some five a side football.

6sXop.png

Found a profile I like.. knew I knew the face from somewhere.

Yep, they're a Boardsie!

:o

Yep, they're a Boardsie!

Haha! Welcome to the club!

Is this the "I fancy a boardsie" club?

Come in, sit down, talk through it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Yep, they're a Boardsie!

You gonna message him?

Samich wrote: »
    You gonna message him?

Ah time will tell.

:cool:

You gonna message him?

It's a toughie!

Ah time will tell.

:cool:

You should consider a career in comedy!

Wouldn't be able to do that now, I'm just good with reactions.

You gonna message him?

It's a toughie!
    MESSAGE HIM...

Message him. You'll regret it if you don't. :)

It's online dating, absolutely nothing to lose.

I just need a while to warm up to writing it and I will.. Yes I will.

Definitely.
    Agh.

Write it carefully. Send it.

He'll reply. Be positive. :)

Ok, feck it, here goes nothing!

Good luck! :)

Now in all honesty, any of the lads here have a quick look at their profile views trying to figure out if it was them she was talking about?