Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wild bore shooting anyone?

• 28-11-2011 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,
    I'm interested in shooting a wild bore, i'm from Leitrim. Anybody on this interested in meeting me for a day in the Leitrim/Roscommon/Longford area that would be great as I dont realy know many spots where they are. Roscommon is soposed to be crawling with them and they are taking over the place. A nice young one would be ideal as I wouldnt have to skin or salt him. The're two locations near me but the forestry is too big for walking also awkward for a rifle and looking for them be like siving the Sahara desert for a cent. If there's anybody interested bringing me I would be more than delighted.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭The Big Fella

Didnt realise that Roscommon was infested with wild boar. Sounds more like a few escapees from the local pigery or chinese whispers.;)
    A trip to poland is your best bet for wild boar. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

Didnt realise that Roscommon was infested with wild boar. Sounds more like a few escapees from the local pigery or chinese whispers.;)

Or France, Europe is over run with them at the moment.

BBC 2010
    French farmers and forestry experts are at a loss to explain a dramatic rise in the numbers of wild boar, apparently linked to increased fertility among the female animals.
    Last winter, hunters across the country killed a record 560,000 boar - 10 times more than they were shooting 30 years ago.
    But the population is easily replacing itself, and now stands at well over a million.
    The problem is not just that the animals cause severe damage to crops and meadowland.
    They are also beginning to encroach on areas inhabited by humans. Omnivorous, adaptable and highly mobile, wild boar have been increasingly spotted in town streets and gardens in recent years.
    In 2009, they were responsible for nearly 21,000 road accidents across the country. Neighbouring countries including Germany and Italy reported similar problems. Now it is up to the hunters to keep the wild boar population under control
    To curb their numbers, the government recently enacted a National Wild Boar Control Plan. This authorises the hunting of boar all year round, in suburban zones as well as the countryside, and at night as well as in the daytime.
    Previously hunting for boar was seasonal, as for other game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

You're wasting your time, and if the biggest rifle you have is a swift, I'd be holding off until you get something bigger even if they were in the garden. Sure, a poke behind the ear will do the job one way or another, but that's not the shot you're likely to get. If you want to hunt boar, contact an outfitter on the continent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Its fact. Ireland is well infested with them. If you have last weeks roscommon hearld theres a right up on the front page about them. The wild life athority fear that they could become a major problem and they want a big cull. A mature wild sow can have a large litter up to from 6-12 piglets at a time twice a year and if two generations of them get into a big forestery you will have your work cut out tring to cull them. In some parts of Europe they say the minimum legal caliber for hunting wild boar is a .308 if thats true or not i dont know but anyways if you miss or dont hit them right they are known to attack. I'm mad to hunt one for the sport and the meat. People are unaware that they excist in Ireland I only heard of them being around 6 months ago. I'll wait and see does anybody want to bring me fingers crossed :confused: They would be graet game. Dangerous game :p

You're wasting your time, and if the biggest rifle you have is a swift, I'd be holding off until you get something bigger even if they were in the garden. Sure, a poke behind the ear will do the job one way or another, but that's not the shot you're likely to get. If you want to hunt boar, contact an outfitter on the continent.
    Funny enough the guys who shot them in Drumshambo used a 223 for the job and they shot them all 8 of them, If you hit a pig on the head with a mallet it will stun him before you bleed him it was done that way for generations.the swift can go clean through 8mm mild steel plate at 100yards so if that wouldnt be enough they are tough nuts. Even the stun guns they use in slaughter houses just fires a a small piston into their heads and the pigs computer switchs off and you bleed them from there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

that guy on Nat geo programme in Australia shooting boar out of the chopper was using a 223 and they were dropping on the spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

that guy on Nat geo programme in Australia shooting boar out of the chopper was using a 223 and they were dropping on the spot
    Yeah but a pro in a chopper is probably a bit better shot than your average chappie.
    Those cullers use .223 primarily because of the volumes of ammo they go through makes ammo cost a significant factor in their business.
    The angle from a chopper is different as well, you have a lot more elevation to shoot into the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Infested me hole, frankly. There might be a few near where they're farmed, but they're by no means widespread and the numbers if they're there at all are tiny. They're not aggressive except in specific circumstances and are extremely shy and retiring in natural environments. They're great to eat, and they're as close to dangerous game as we get in Europe, but let's not exaggerate. A good 7mm or .30 calibre with well constructed bullets will do the job every time, but a .22 centrefire with a bullet designed for expanding violently in fox sized game isn't going to penetrate the shoulder, and since the vitals are between, rather than behind, the shoulders, penetration is important. It might go through 8mm of mild steel, but will it go through nearly two feet of extremely heavy muscle, thick gristle and a good sized boar? No. It won't. Nor are you likely to be comfortably prone and steady to knock them in the head. They're big, heavily constructed animals and there's a reason the likes of a .300 mag or a 9.3mm are among the top choices on the continent for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

This seriously HAS to be a p155take!

If there's that many wild boar in Leitrim surely one of the lads here would have at least seen a couple by now?

A swift?? Do you seriously think a .22 bullet is going to impart enough damage internally to stop one of these yokes? Sure, if you placed a .22 lr bullet through his eye it would kill him aswell but the chances of doing it when actually faced with a wild boar in the flesh are slim to none. Sure, it'll go through 8mm of steel, but I'm my opinion you'd be aswell off throwing a .22 swift bullet at him rather than firing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

A lad on tv last night shot one whit a crossbow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I'll bring you out if you can find us some muntjac shooting in return :D

I hear the countries infested with them too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

garv123 wrote: »
    I'll bring you out if you can find us some muntjac shooting in return :D

I hear the countries infested with them too. :rolleyes:
    Nah you heard wrong, all those big black cats have eaten all the Munties and the Boar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

spotted two young ones near me (about a mile from the house) earlier this year....an' I aint in leitrim;)

two were supposedly got even closer in a neighbours garden :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

QUOTE=4200fps;75710114]Its fact. Ireland is well infested with them
    :eek::eek::eek: Where did that "fact " come from??Somone offical in a Govt dept ,or somone offically propping up a bar counter somplace??
    If you have last weeks roscommon hearld theres a right up on the front page about them. The wild life athority fear that they could become a major problem and they want a big cull

With all due respects to that august publication...I think they have taken a story of a possibility of wild boar and made it into a fact!!This is from a press release about three weeks ago from invasive Ireland about cross border cooperation on dealing with the threat imminent or otherwise of boar invading the republic.

. A mature wild sow can have a large litter up to from 6-12 piglets at a time twice a year and if two generations of them get into a big forestery you will have your work cut out tring to cull them

TBH ,not too much of a problem.As we dont really have "chains" of forestry going along the countryside,rather isolated forestry stands.They would be more a problem near towns or cities ,as they are adaptable,and like rooting up gardens.
    In some parts of Europe they say the minimum legal caliber for hunting wild boar is a .308 if thats true or not i dont know but anyways if you miss or dont hit them right they are known to attack

COBBLERS! on the attack bit that is!! They will attack if you corner them or if a sow is defending her farrow.Otherwise if they are injured they just want to get away as any animal will want to do.

. I'm mad to hunt one for the sport and the meat. People are unaware that they excist in Ireland I only heard of them being around 6 months ago. I'll wait and see does anybody want to bring me fingers crossed :confused: They would be graet game. Dangerous game :p
    [/QUOTE]

Tell you what friend..You find them and We''ll hunt them together as REAL men do in Europe,forget all this gun stuff,thats for little girls:p:p;).

We get a BOAR SPEAR,and a pack of dogs,somthing in the size of a terrier and maybe a few pit bull type dogs.The dogs corner yor boar and hold it,more or less by biting it and cornering it until you arrive .Your job is to stick the boar as it charges you with the spear,and you have to hit in the front chest in such an area that the heart is severd.That will sort out your adrelanine rush for the year. Because you screw up the boar will be on ya,and slashing with those tusks,you will have a problem.Of the grevious injury kind!!:eek:.

Between big black cats,muntjac,and wild boar ...whats next???Wer Wolves or in some cases Wer rabbitts??:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

This thread is a piss take, surely. I know Tyrones a fair way from Roscommon, but if you're tripping over wild boar in Roscommon, a few are bound to have made it north :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭macnas

I've seen one in Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Regardless of whether we are tripping over them or they appear at the bottom of a pint glass:).......who said you could shoot them?.......If there is only a few then someone may make them a protected species......If there are lots of them:rolleyes: then there may be a season and regulations on calibre etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Sounds like something/one has escaped from somewhere,and it ain't no pig;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭badshot

no its true roscommon is infested with boar
    i just saw a group of about 10 in a small forest
    this evening.
    i was just on my way home after shooting
    a couple of moose and a dall sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

In the UK, it was only accepted by the authorities after boar hunting started to be advertised in field and shooting magazines, so who knows. I'm still planning to head to the continent for the moment.

My question is, IF they are here should they really be classed as an invasive species, were they not once an indigenous species.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

323 wrote: »
    In the UK, it was only accepted by the authorities after boar hunting started to be advertised in field and shooting magazines, so who knows. I'm still planning to head to the continent for the moment.

My question is, IF they are here should they really be classed as an invasive species, were they not once an indigenous species.

I`d like one for xmas...boar and venison would go well together on the xmas table..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

How come,that if some people are trying to prove that wild boar are in these places, there's never a camera or even a mo bile phone to hand? Surely a safety concious hunter wouldn't go hunting without a mobile(which pretty much all have cameras nowadays),just in case of an emergency.....no more than the big black cats, muntjac,velociraptors,unicorns and 60 foot anacondas that we ALLEGEDLY are becoming overrun with, methinks it sounds like a hillbilly ufo tale...............PHOTO PLEASE SOMEONE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i could of sworn that one of them there boars bid me good day on my way back for a poor days phezzie shootin yesterday ;) polite chap he was too:rolleyes:,honestly boar infeststion my ars:rolleyes:e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

4200fps wrote: »
    Hi lads,
    I'm interested in shooting a wild bore, i'm from Leitrim. Anybody on this interested in meeting me for a day in the Leitrim/Roscommon/Longford area that would be great as I dont realy know many spots where they are. Roscommon is soposed to be crawling with them and they are taking over the place. A nice young one would be ideal as I wouldnt have to skin or salt him. The're two locations near me but the forestry is too big for walking also awkward for a rifle and looking for them be like siving the Sahara desert for a cent. If there's anybody interested bringing me I would be more than delighted.. :)

Try David Norris or Ming Flanagan, they're both fairly wild bores:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

eeeeeeemmm,there is actually a bit in last weeks farmers journal abt them didnt get to real the full article im sure tac could put it up here he seem's to have a lot of time on his hands:D;):p mite shed some light on the story,wouldnt it be great doh something else to hunt.........................................:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm sure I read many moons ago that boar were also shot with shotguns, but I cannot remember the ammo type. I would personally prefer using a reliable 5 shot semi auto than a rifle for close quarters anyway :D

Don't shoot till ya can smell the bacon Frankie :D

johngalway wrote: »
    I'm sure I read many moons ago that boar were also shot with shotguns, but I cannot remember the ammo type. I would personally prefer using a reliable 5 shot semi auto than a rifle for close quarters anyway :D

Give me a call when they reach your part of the woods mate...

I have a box of solids..:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

fodda wrote: »
    Regardless of whether we are tripping over them or they appear at the bottom of a pint glass:).......who said you could shoot them?.......If there is only a few then someone may make them a protected species......If there are lots of them:rolleyes: then there may be a season and regulations on calibre etc.

If they are here then they are an an Alien invasive species, and should be shot on sight with an appropiat Calibre.

.308 Ram head sounds good.

Would you not shoot them Fodda?
    I know they are not here because they are too expensive to import and everyone is Broke.
    I'm always amazed at the air miles this stupid threads get, I wager thread is still going 7 pages on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Dont think so.

Although i have being tempted to shoot a few bores myself.

Although usually there are too drunk to be wild.

Panda eats, shoots and leaves?

dwighet wrote: »
    Give me a call when they reach your part of the woods mate...

I have a box of solids..:cool:

I will, but I reckon they've a far better chance of rooting around the black stump than turning rocks over in Connemara :D

Plenty out around the stump mate...

Knives and dogs they use out there...

Mad feckers

dwighet wrote: »
    Plenty out around the stump mate...

Knives and dogs they use out there...

Mad feckers

Proper job that pig stickin' :cool:

If they are here then they are an an Alien invasive species, and should be shot on sight with an appropiat Calibre.

I know they are not here because they are too expensive to import and everyone is Broke.
    I'm always amazed at the air miles this stupid threads get, I wager thread is still going 7 pages on!

Of course it will go 7 pages...its FUNNY....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Regardless of whether we are tripping over them or they appear at the bottom of a pint glass:).......who said you could shoot them?

Who said they couldn't?
    .......If there is only a few then someone may make them a protected species

Not yet they are not so shoot away.
    ......If there are lots of them:rolleyes: then there may be a season and regulations on calibre etc.

Maybe, someday, but for now they are not even mentioned on any wildlife Act, SI, etc. As a newly non-native species they may not appear on any list for some time if at all.

TBH if they do get enough of a foothold to appear on a list then we have done a piss poor job of eradicating them. Same as muntjac. So far its only stories, but soon enough they will get a foothold, and when they do we will look back, and be sorry we didn't act quicker to stop not only the spread of them but the release of them in the first place.

Funny how hunters/shooters are evil, murdering people when the tree huggers want shooting banned yet when a species threatens to destory our native species/flora then who is called upon to do the deed.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

What you asking me for, i only passed comment on what "those who think they know better" may say..........to be honest i couldnt give a monkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

What to make of this? One shot in 2009?

http://www.biodiversityireland.ie/wild-boar-in-ireland/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8411667.stm

At a meeting of one of the game associations on 2007, was told that it had been accepted the boar was known to be in Carlow/Wiclow area.

According to the National Biodiversity data centre, wild boar have been found in Counties Kilkenny, Roscommon, Tipperary, Wexford and Wicklow.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

323 wrote: »
    What to make of this? One shot in 2009?

http://www.biodiversityireland.ie/wild-boar-in-ireland/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8411667.stm

At a meeting of one of the game associations on 2007, was told that it had been accepted the boar was known to be in Carlow/Wiclow area.

According to the National Biodiversity data centre, wild boar have been found in Counties Kilkenny, Roscommon, Tipperary, Wexford and Wicklow.

a few were released when someone was hoping they would reproduce. Few of them were shot then afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Amrgun

See article below in Wicklow People last month. Anyone in Wicklow know anything about this?

By MYLES BUCHANAN
    Wednesday October 05 2011
    WILD BOARS which have been found in parts of Wicklow have been included on a hitlist of animals identified as a major threat to Ireland's native wildlife.

More than 70 non-native plants and animals have been included on the list which was compiled by the Department of Arts Heritage and the Gaeltacht.

Under new EU regulations it will be an offence to sell, import, breed, release or allow species on the list to escape. Anyone holding any of the animals or plants will be required to 'dispose of them appropriately'.

In 2010, a number of wild boars had to be removed from land in County Wicklow after they began to breed. In all likelihood the boars were probably imported for hunting like other animals such as roe deer, ruddy duck and carp, all of which are also on the banned list.

Smaller animals, like the Siberian chipmunk, also make their way on to the list and pet shops could face penalties if found to be breeding or selling any of the banned animals.

- MYLES BUCHANAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 stopping power

I snt sent you pm, I know where there is wild boar, this weekend would be good for me. North Leitrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

John, you're absolutely right. That's how my old man and his mates used to hunt driven boar on the continent in the sixties and seventies. Shotguns with either slugs or heavy load buckshot. Up until the late eighties that was completely legal. Legislation in the earlie nineties has put an end to that practice where he lives, rifles are mandatory now.

00 or 000 shot or shotgun slugs 10 GA or 12 GA.:D
    5 shot plus pump or semi with 24in barrel,is a right job for them.
    BTW Not all places on the Continent have a ban on shotguns for boar.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Amrgun wrote: »
    See article below in Wicklow People last month. Anyone in Wicklow know anything about this?

By MYLES BUCHANAN
    Wednesday October 05 2011
    WILD BOARS which have been found in parts of Wicklow have been included on a hitlist of animals identified as a major threat to Ireland's native wildlife.

Its a syndicated article..It has been doing the tour of Irish newspapers in one form or the other for the last three weeks plus now.Everything from nationals to locals,and getting to be very old hat as well.

Fact is sofar there has been ONE confirmed kill of a wild boar here in 08 in Tipperary.Pretty bad for 32 counties if there is such a huge pouplation as they are prolific breeders.
    Maybe they hide out with the big black cats,muntjac,and Roe deer somplace in some dark recess of the great wilderness areas of Ireland..:rolleyes:

I snt sent you pm, I know where there is wild boar, this weekend would be good for me. North Leitrim
    Thanks,ive sent you a pm. :)

Its not a cow

I got a location so happy xmass.hope santy comes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

4200fps wrote: »
    I got a location so happy xmass.hope santy comes :D
    good luck with it lad and bring your camera!

Wild boar are kept/farmed for their meat and crossed with other breeds for their meat also.

I wouldnt go without it. I'll let you know how we get on

Wild boar are kept/farmed for their meat and crossed with other breeds for their meat also.
    I heard that too.People do farm them too,you can get prosicuted if you dont have the licence to farm them i believe.i cant believe the amount of people who thinks theres no such thing and taking the piss not that it bothers me,like for example who see's bats or buzzards and they are plentiful in ireland and they are hard to come across. wild boar are more active at night time and always in the most awkward spots where its pure wild making them hard for humans to come across

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

I personally am sick looking at buzzards and hawks when out shooting. When fishing in season at dusk I see loads of bats also but I do believe there are boar out there maybe let go etc but to be honest it would be nice to get out and be able to hint them with the shotgun would make in interesting change. I no they could are ment to be bad bla bla bla. But let's face it if they are that bad let a few wolves out to sort them that are netured and cannot breed then when their job is complete we can finally have use for the Irish wolf hound again. I no this will cause an uproar with mantid you and farmers espically livestock farmers but let's face it they were here before us and are only gone because of use the same as loads of other extinct species