Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

corofin gaa

• 20-11-2011 6:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭

Corofin gaa were robbed of a good goal in todays connaught club final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Kildare were robbed of a goal v Donegal in the All-Ireland QF. What's you're point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

We all deserve neutral referees not that I condone what happened after the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

the Corofin supporters were a disgrace

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    the Corofin supporters were a disgrace
    A small minority of them, thorough frustration with unbelievable referee decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

I am a complete neutral, but i watched todays match.
    I texted my father at half time and asked him did he think the referee was harsh on Corofin. "He's Shocking" was the response. I have sympathy with the ref for the goal desision, because its a very hard one to get right, and not too many referees get the square ball decision right.
    But, if i am honest, he was disgraceful towards corofin.

On the incident after the match, it is terrible to see it happening. Most supporters would never do anything like that and the supporters who "attacked" the ref will be embarrassed and ashamed this evening looking back at it, but they reacted in the heat of the moment, when years of their work as mentors and fathers and players was flushed down the drain because of an inept refereeing performance.

Neither party should can hold their head up high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

red bull wrote: »
    A small minority of them, thorough frustration with unbelievable referee decisions
    I was wondering if the ref was going to allow play to continue indefinitely until Corofin scored an equaliser. The problem was that no Corofin player had the balls to take that score.

The Corofin "supporters" were a disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

red bull wrote: »

Through bla bla bla. There is no excuse for the way they carried on. It's a pity TG4 carried the game live and showed the aftermath to the nation, though the picture quality is good so hopefully some of the protagonists will get caught.

Plastik wrote: »
    Through bla bla bla. There is no excuse for the way they carried on. It's a pity TG4 carried the game live and showed the aftermath to the nation, though the picture quality is good so hopefully some of the protagonists will get caught.

One would hope it works both ways seeing is believing for the disgracefull referee and the disgracefull supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Plastik wrote: »

It didn't look like any of the fans managed to even lay a hand on the ref in the end so I'm not sure what they could be charged with. Apart from giving him an earful of abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Corofin were unlucky to have the goal disallowed but what happened afterwards was disgraceful. People seem to forget that the Referee and his colleagues are giving up a lot of their free time to adjudicate at these games in return for what? A barrage of abuse and possibly worse. They'd want to be getting danger money these days.

The square ball issue was something we saw a number of times during the summer and it's obviously a hard one to call. The resultant witch hunt of the referee is all too easy from the point of view of people sitting at home with the benefit of replays from different angles etc.

Hard luck Corofin, but take it with a bit of grace.

deccurley wrote: »
    Hard luck Corofin, but take it with a bit of grace.

Easy to say in fairness but when lads train all year and give up their own free time they probably expect a fair go in return.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Easy to say in fairness but when lads train all year and give up their own free time they probably expect a fair go in return.

Very true - but it wasn't the players bearing down on the ref though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Very true - but it wasn't the players bearing down on the ref though!

Thats what I mean, I feel sorry for the players but the supporters should have a bit more cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Yes the referee was poor but how many chances did Corofin need to score? they should have been further ahead at half time and then late on when they had a chance to shoot for a point they messed around with the ball.

As for after the game anyone who goes onto the pitch who is threatening or is abusive towards the ref should be banned from GAA for life there is no place in the sport for this unacceptable behaviour.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

markie29 wrote: »
    Yes the referee was poor but how many chances did Corofin need to score? they should have been further ahead at half time and then late on when they had a chance to shoot for a point they messed around with the ball.

As for after the game anyone who goes onto the pitch who is threatening or is abusive towards the ref should be banned from GAA for life there is no place in the sport for this unacceptable behaviour.

exactly. there is no excuse for it. none whatsoever. they can go on about training all year, or the years the mentors put in blah blah blah, and whilst you would have sorry for them, that knid of crap at the end makes it ridiculous. its sport. it happens the hwole time. there is always controversy each year and we are always looking for better refereeing and more consistency.

but this hot headed violent scenes after games are horrible to see.

the worst thin is, most players or teams know within themselves that they could still have won games in spite of a referee. it can often just come down to being used as an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭mosstin

I am a complete neutral, but i watched todays match.
    I texted my father at half time and asked him did he think the referee was harsh on Corofin. "He's Shocking" was the response. I have sympathy with the ref for the goal desision, because its a very hard one to get right, and not too many referees get the square ball decision right.
    But, if i am honest, he was disgraceful towards corofin.

On the incident after the match, it is terrible to see it happening. Most supporters would never do anything like that and the supporters who "attacked" the ref will be embarrassed and ashamed this evening looking back at it, but they reacted in the heat of the moment, when years of their work as mentors and fathers and players was flushed down the drain because of an inept refereeing performance.

Neither party should can hold their head up high.

Referee gets attacked by the lunatic fringe of the GAA and this is your response? Jesus wept. For all the good the organistation does, its sheer blindness to events like this - Tyrone last week, this match this week and next week there'll be another - makes things worse for all concerned. Don't you think it's about time the GAA took a hard line stance on events like this? Pathetic and becoming all too frequent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Ref unbeliveably crap, some Corofin supporters unbelievably crap, home club stewards unbelievably crap....they should have surrounded the ref at full time and marched the dopey cnut straight off the pitch.

That would have taken about 1 minute but they started celebrating and yahooing instead of stewarding.

Only good things were Frankie Dolan who took his chances and the volunteers who did the stewards job and got that dopey cnut off the pitch for them. He should never ref anything again outside of Mayo after that.

GAA needs head stewards with designated duties and responsibilities. If they fail their club should suffer ....like playing in empty grounds for a month or three. Oh and ban the Corofin yahoos who swung at anyone of course and bring them to court and fine the bejaysus out of them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Did the ref give a square ball for the disallowed goal or a free out for a foul on the St brigid's defender that had to go off injured?

Sad to see scenes like that at the end of any game no ref deserves that type of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Terrible refeering performance today by him, but Corofin have only themselves to blame for their loss. Too many times, especially in the first half, their attacks broke down in the 1/2 forward line when they had torn St. Bridgets apart. They couldn't expect to win when they were squandering that many chances.

The goal was perfectly legitimate imo, and how the ref made the decision of square ball from out in the middle of the field is beyond me. He didn't seem to consult the umpires at all.

I don't condone the scenes at the final whistle, but its a wonder he blew up the match when he was in the middle of the field. Why not blow the final whistle when he was near the sideline. Surely he should have copped what the feeling of the players/supporters would have been feeling, and tried to avoid that. It showed a lack of common sense/realism imo.

Its was also amazing how no one got lined for 2 yellows, given the amount he handed out so early in the game.

Would be great to see Frankie Dolan playing Inter-county football again, what a player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Would be great to see Frankie Dolan playing Inter-county football again, what a player!

Doubt that will happen according to the man himself

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=158035

Kojak wrote: »
    Doubt that will happen according to the man himself

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=158035
    Yeah was reading that last week, it's a pity. If I was the new Roscommon manager I would be doing everything in my power to get him back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

If I was the new Roscommon manager I would be doing everything in my power to get him back.

Promise Him A New Pool Table or was that Billiards he was playing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Yeah was reading that last week, it's a pity. If I was the new Roscommon manager I would be doing everything in my power to get him back.

He was not able to behave himself the last time he was on the Roscommon panel and thats why he was fcuked off of it and has not been back since. He was at the same craic for his own club too least people forget and was sent packing from there too. He played a couple of seasons with different clubs in Longford and Westmeath because his own club wanted nothing to do with him. Its only in the past few years he was allowed back. Ask Anthony Cunningham what he thinks of Frankie.

He is no loss to the county panel given what went on previously. He has had plenty of chances and far too much history now. Leave him where he is in Kiltoom playing for Brigids. He is doing a fine job for them these days and let Roscommon get on with bringing through new younger talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

what was he doing when he was on the roscommon panel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

mosstin wrote: »
    Referee gets attacked by the lunatic fringe of the GAA and this is your response? Jesus wept. For all the good the organistation does, its sheer blindness to events like this - Tyrone last week, this match this week and next week there'll be another - makes things worse for all concerned. Don't you think it's about time the GAA took a hard line stance on events like this? Pathetic and becoming all too frequent.

Whats your point??
    What do you consider a "Hard line"?
    You making sweeping statements here and no substance.

He was not able to behave himself the last time he was on the Roscommon panel and thats why he was fcuked off of it and has not been back since. He was at the same craic for his own club too least people forget and was sent packing from there too. He played a couple of seasons with different clubs in Longford and Westmeath because his own club wanted nothing to do with him. Its only in the past few years he was allowed back. Ask Anthony Cunningham what he thinks of Frankie.

He is no loss to the county panel given what went on previously. He has had plenty of chances and far too much history now. Leave him where he is in Kiltoom playing for Brigids. He is doing a fine job for them these days and let Roscommon get on with bringing through new younger talent.
    He surely is a loss, top scoring forwards are hardly ten a penny in Roscommon, he could teach a few of that AI minor winning team a thing or two.

I thought Frankie Dolan was beginning to struggle a little with the pace and fitness requirements of intercounty football the last time he played. I can't imagine it'd be any easier for him now further down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Overall I thought the better team won, just about. The Corofin supporters didn't do themselves any favours at the end but I can see why they were pissed off, the referee was awful and he didn't do himself any favours. Some of his decisions were puzzling to put it mildly. At one stage in the second half Brigids fouled the man and the ball and somehow ended up having a free in. I don't like to see refs getting abused but if you perform that badly you're asking for it, and I thought the ref today was terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I thought Frankie Dolan was beginning to struggle a little with the pace and fitness requirements of intercounty football the last time he played. I can't imagine it'd be any easier for him now further down the line.

To be fair Frankie ran all over the pitch today and was easily man of the match. Were he to play for the county there's no way he'd play the full 70 either.

Frankie's calmed down quite a bit, in his interview this week you could tell that he's much more circumspect about his career.

He'll always have that edge, that can make him score a wonder point like the winner today or to make a wild tackle. Seeing him up close and on form it's hard for me to think he doesn't still have something to offer the county team. If Des Newton thinks he can add something extra to a county team that's nearing the brink of big things then I'd have no qualms about him returning. He obviously knows the Brigids players well and the young players would have grown up watching him play so they'd probably be excited to have him on-board. We've a panel full of players with maturity beyond their years so I don't think Frankie would really affect the unity of the team at this point.

The thought of Frankie playing the Brian Doher role for a forward line of three big, skillful players in Donie and Cathal Shine and Senan Kilbride (and players like Cregg, O'Gara and McDermott in the half-forwards) does make for probably the most explosive attack in entirety of Roscommon footballing history, but in the end the current team will be defined by how the young players develop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,801 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

He was not able to behave himself the last time he was on the Roscommon panel and thats why he was fcuked off of it and has not beend
    back since. He was at the same craic for his own club too least people forget and was sent packing from there too. He played a couple of seasons with different clubs in Longford and Westmeath because his own club wanted nothing to do with him. Its only in the past few years he was allowed back. Ask Anthony Cunningham what he thinks of Frankie.

Frankie returned to the panel 2 or 3 years ago wihuout incident. He also played 1 year in ballymahon with his uncle Des and never in westmeath. Never let the facts get in the way of a good rant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

I only saw tha last few minutes and the scenes where the ref needed to be escorted off the pitch were disgracful.

The GAA must put better measures in to protect the referee fromt he crowd. Its only a matter of time before someone gets badly hurt.

There have been too many examples of this over the past few years and it seems to be an increasing trend. Also the fact that someone got their ear bitten off in Tyrone recently shows that the GAA crowds are devolving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭elguapo

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Overall I thought the better team won, just about. The Corofin supporters didn't do themselves any favours at the end but I can see why they were pissed off, the referee was awful and he didn't do himself any favours. Some of his decisions were puzzling to put it mildly. At one stage in the second half Brigids fouled the man and the ball and somehow ended up having a free in. I don't like to see refs getting abused but if you perform that badly you're asking for it, and I thought the ref today was terrible.

This is classic GAA supporter stuff.

"It was terrible to see the ref getting verbally abused by those guys, but it's his own fault."

I play GAA, I love GAA, but the attitude of supporters towards referees is awful, there's no respect there. Referees have bad days, and there are decision we don't like, but there's no excuse for the level of verbal abuse that man was subjected to yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

elguapo wrote: »
    This is classic GAA supporter stuff.

"It was terrible to see the ref getting verbally abused by those guys, but it's his own fault."

I play GAA, I love GAA, but the attitude of supporters towards referees is awful, there's no respect there. Referees have bad days, and there are decision we don't like, but there's no excuse for the level of verbal abuse that man was subjected to yesterday.

players make far more mistakes in a game than any referee does.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

I've seen Corofin win games they shouldn't have, thanks to refereeing decisions. What goes around comes around. The Corofin supporters were wrong in what they got involved in after the match, but the referee was never physically abused. It's not too late for the people in charge of the Corofin GAA club to issue an apology, to the referee, the St Bridgets club, the supporters, the GAA, the young players from all over that were at the match, their families, their children and everyone else and say it in such a way that they really mean it. It would go some way to make up for their bad sportsmanship, their terrible example, their language, their total lack of manners. Some of the players and supporters that were not involved should be seen to stand up and condemn it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

I don't know how many times when this crap happens people come on saying it was wrong but somehow "understandable" due to poor refereeing.

This is a huge cop out, no matter how bad you think the referee was, this behaviour is NOT acceptable. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Ref unbeliveably crap, some Corofin supporters unbelievably crap, home club stewards unbelievably crap....they should have surrounded the ref at full time and marched the dopey cnut straight off the pitch.That would have taken about 1 minute but they started celebrating and yahooing instead of stewarding.

Only good things were Frankie Dolan who took his chances and the volunteers who did the stewards job and got that dopey cnut off the pitch for them. He should never ref anything again outside of Mayo after that.

GAA needs head stewards with designated duties and responsibilities. If they fail their club should suffer ....like playing in empty grounds for a month or three. Oh and ban the Corofin yahoos who swung at anyone of course and bring them to court and fine the bejaysus out of them .

Banned for a month.

Whatever your feelings are towards the referee,there is no need for that foul and abusive language around here.

Whats your point??
    What do you consider a "Hard line"?
    You making sweeping statements here and no substance.

No substance? Which part didn't you understand? The GAA has long since had a tradition of post-match pitch invasions by an angry throng seeking out the scapegoat in black. No referees, no match, simple as that. Refs need to be protected in all codes - especially GAA matches - and if that means bringing people in to line through the courts then that's what should be done. It's assault or attempted assault and if it happened anywhere but the football pitch it would be treated as such. That's what I mean about a 'hard line'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i came on here to start a thread about what happened and at the top of the pile i see "corofin", so i think "oh great, its already there".

but instead of seeing the expected lashing of the thuggish behavior of a select few, i am shocked to see somebody not even mention it. on top of that, all the op does is to bemoan the goal that wasnt give.

and that, in one post, sums up the vile, viscious and backwards nature the is ruining the game in this country. i am as big a fan of the gaa as anybody on here. i take alot of stick from my dublin based anti gaa colleagues who dismiss the game as one played and more so followed, by neanderthals.

with every passing incident, i am beginning to think they are right. year after year, high profile incident after another are happening and it mostly happens in the bigger club scene. refs are being abused left right and center and the gaa is standing by and letting it happen. why oh why was that game yesterday, not played on an enclosed pitch? that is step one, step 2 is court action and life time bannings from members of the associated clubs.

corofin should be fined 5000 for this as has been a precedent in some counties before.next time they play a game, their fans may bahave better. f*ck this craic where people excuse it as "sure they have nothing to do with the club", yes they do, they are the ones who are supporting the teams and if they cant behave themselves, then the club should suffer too. that is the only way clubs will rid this element from the game and its about time, clubs are held responsible. another sad day for the game, it doesnt happen in other games in any form as near as much as the gaa.

and how sad is it to see people on here, same as the clowns from louth last year, totally ignore it and deem it to be justified.

its time for the gaa to finally make a stance against gaa thugs. and for what its worth, if they are complaining over the square ball, i felt it was 50-50 and alot of refs would have given it. they were in control of the game at that stage and left it slip.

i didnt see all the game, but i am sure the ref was bad for both teams.

i came on here to start a thread about what happened and at the top of the pile i see "corofin", so i think "oh great, its already there".

but instead of seeing the expected lashing of the thuggish behavior of a select few, i am shocked to see somebody not even mention it. on top of that, all the op does is to bemoan the goal that wasnt give.

and that, in one post, sums up the vile, viscious and backwards nature the is ruining the game in this country. i am as big a fan of the gaa as anybody on here. i take alot of stick from my dublin based anti gaa colleagues who dismiss the game as one played and more so followed, by neanderthals.

with every passing incident, i am beginning to think they are right. year after year, high profile incident after another are happening and it mostly happens in the bigger club scene. refs are being abused left right and center and the gaa is standing by and letting it happen. why oh why was that game yesterday, not played on an enclosed pitch? that is step one, step 2 is court action and life time bannings from members of the associated clubs.

corofin should be fined 5000 for this as has been a precedent in some counties before.next time they play a game, their fans may bahave better. f*ck this craic where people excuse it as "sure they have nothing to do with the club", yes they do, they are the ones who are supporting the teams and if they cant behave themselves, then the club should suffer too. that is the only way clubs will rid this element from the game and its about time, clubs are held responsible. another sad day for the game, it doesnt happen in other games in any form as near as much as the gaa.

and how sad is it to see people on here, same as the clowns from louth last year, totally ignore it and deem it to be justified.

its time for the gaa to finally make a stance against gaa thugs. and for what its worth, if they are complaining over the square ball, i felt it was 50-50 and alot of refs would have given it. they were in control of the game at that stage and left it slip.

i didnt see all the game, but i am sure the ref was bad for both teams.

Not sure if you've read the thread but several posters have alluded to the violence after the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭forfcksake

it was a disgrace what they did to the ref, he was fair on both sides, Corofin fouled more therefore Brigids got more frees! just because he gave Brigids more frees doesn't mean he sided with them and he got the goal call right in my opinion it was square ball & he jumped up on the full backs back which was a free out anyway
    photowju.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

forfcksake wrote: »
    it was a disgrace what they did to the ref, he was fair on both sides, Corofin fouled more therefore Brigids got more frees! just because he gave Brigids more frees doesn't mean he sided with them and he got the goal call right in my opinion it was square ball & he jumped up on the full backs back which was a free out anyway

that appears to be as blatant a square ball as you will find. what do the corofin boys make of that then?
    mosstin wrote: »
    Not sure if you've read the thread but several posters have alluded to the violence after the match.

im talking about the man who started the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

i used to referee and to be honest this sort of **** is one of the reasons im glad i quit.i sent a guy off in an u21 final a few years back for breaking a lads jaw with a swing of an elbow,two of my brothers happen to live in the area of the team i supposedly wronged and neighbours of theirs were hunting me down at a do for one of my brothers that i couldnt make.i also had parents have goes at me for having the gall to send off their sons for fighting(one was a former inter county ref, even made the back page of the indo at the time).

for all this im glad im out of it especially when you see the rubbish that goes on now like this and the stuff in tyrone etc.ive two young kids now im still young enough to play if id the time and to be honest couldve made it to inter county reffing if i put in the effort but im glad now i didnt because i couldnt subject my family to the sort of rubbish lads get for going out and refereeing a sport they no doubtedly care about.people give out about the standard of reffing but its never going to improve because lads that are reasonably fit and are able to keep a clear head in situations where everyone else is heated(essential on the pitch if you ask me) are going to reason that its not worth being abused and possibly physically attacked on the field.

no doubt some of these corofin fans wont be members of the club,thats always the defence in these cases but names should be got and they should be banned from every gaa ground for a few years.the powers in croker need to get tough or noone will be refereeing games in a few years

that appears to be as blatant a square ball as you will find. what do the corofin boys make of that then?

Looking at that the ball is already well inside the box dropping down. You would have to take it back a bit as the player is allowed to arrive at the same time as the ball.

And in fairness the square ball was only one of a multitude of bad decisons. I actually think it was more the refereeing in the 2nd half that was so frustrating for the crowd.

Someone mentioned why was game not played on an 'enclosed pitch '? There is a 4 ft high fence around pitch and the suitability of kiltoom should not come into this. If lads want to act the bo/lix they will regardless of the venue as demonstrated in the case of Mr sludden in Croker last year.
    The ref wasn't faultless but IMO he wasn't the worse I've seen. I was on kiltoom as a neutral and the abuse he was getting from galwaymen for correct decisions was very bad. In keeping with a lot of big clubs (and I'd include St Bridget's in this) they are used to bullying refs and getting the big calls in their favour and like spoiled kids they couldn't handle it when they were pulled on yesterday. I'm old enough to be scarred by refs favouring galway teams over the years (I'm looking at you Mr prior) so I'd say to corofin "suck it up lads! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Fair play to Shane Curran for stepping in to protect the ref.
    He cleared out about 40 Corofin supporters without so much as raising his hands.

He just swung his massive hooter in their direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Lord Ned Stark

Honestly watched the match back again this evening on Sky Plus thought the ref was even enough on both sides disected all the frees given and only two weren't actually frees Senan Kilbride kicked one wide and the other was at midfield and as for the goal watched it over and over again paused it at many different times and it looks like it was a square ball and IMO he fouled number 3 anyway

Good to see balanced post match analysis on Galway bay TV TG4 just now.....all both managers were asked about in edited package was the referee's performance!?! Give it a rest boys:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭forfcksake

Honestly watched the match back again this evening on Sky Plus thought the ref was even enough on both sides disected all the frees given and only two weren't actually frees Senan Kilbride kicked one wide and the other was at midfield and as for the goal watched it over and over again paused it at many different times and it looks like it was a square ball and IMO he fouled number 3 anyway

Did the same & came away with the exact same thoughts, actually thought he reffed it very well, just very much to the book but that's what he is suppose to do

Looking at that the ball is already well inside the box dropping down. You would have to take it back a bit as the player is allowed to arrive at the same time as the ball.

you cannot say that for 100%, the ball is well in the air and it not conclusive. if we cant agree with a still shot, how is the ref supposed to know in live action with the ball travelling at full speed?

the more i look at this, the more appalled i am. if the ref let people away with thing, they would be moaning, gives out cards they would be moaning too.

it brings me back to the WC final, when i thought howard webb was top class, yet people slagged him cos he handed out 12 cards. when the players want to act like hatchet men, what can he do. maybe he shouldnt have booked so many players,but i think the reaction of the corofin supporters was a disgrace.

he got one decision wrong, which was to leave de jong on the pitch, but you can understand that he didnt want to send somebody off so early in the match.