Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UL library extension

• 19-11-2011 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭

This skipped right past me during the week, in case anyone else missed it as well.

The UL library extension will now not be happening.

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/funding_withdrawn_for_libraries_at_limerick_colleges_1_3262231
    FUNDING for the construction of state-of-the art libraries at Limerick Institute of Technology and the University of Limerick has been withdrawn following the Government’s decision not include the projects in its Infrastructure and Capital Investment programme.

Both libraries, which would have each cost several million euro to build, were due to open in 2013.

The works at the University of Limerick would have seen the construction of a major extension to the existing Glucksman Library.

The proposed library at LIT would have seen the construction of a three-story 4,600-square metre complex at a site to the south-east of the Moylish Campus.

Dr Maria Hinfelaar, president of LIT, said she is disappointed with the Government decision.

“It is a major blow for LIT that this new state of the art library and information resource centre will not now be built, which was badly needed. We will need to rethink our campus masterplan over the coming months to review how we can best deliver our ambitions and objectives and provide such services to learners.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Not surprised. A bigger blow to LIT though I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 millold

Both these projects were design,build,maintain and finance.Some builders went to huge expense for a project now shelved,court case i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

CiaranMT wrote: »
    Not surprised. A bigger blow to LIT though I reckon.

Definitely... The library out there is tiny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

1huge1 wrote: »
    This skipped right past me during the week, in case anyone else missed it as well.

The UL library extension will now not be happening.

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/funding_withdrawn_for_libraries_at_limerick_colleges_1_3262231

UL could free up some space by moving the computers out of the ground floor and installing lots of moveable shelving.

Perhaps there should be a separate lib building for medical/technical subjects similar to TCD? Although their system is immense......going to some of the places you'd feel like you were playing a FPS game, all the narrow tunnels and winding dark staircases!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

Despite the library extension being scrapped for the foreseeable future we can rest assured that the new sports pavilion will be completed ahead of schedule providing a high level surface to professional rugby players.

Someone needs to look at how these things are funded when a building that basically provides changing rooms for rugby players gets completed ahead of schedule but something that actually affects every single student in the college gets delayed indefinitely.

What has the SU do on this topic thus far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Despite the library extension being scrapped for the foreseeable future we can rest assured that the new sports pavilion will be completed ahead of schedule providing a high level surface to professional rugby players.

Someone needs to look at how these things are funded when a building that basically provides changing rooms for rugby players gets completed ahead of schedule but something that actually affects every single student in the college gets delayed indefinitely.

What has the SU do on this topic thus far?

this the north campus pitchs area your referring to or the bowl

The pavilion building and its immediately associated facilities

k, couple of points on that,
    the pavilion and pitches are not just for professional rugby players (theres GAA and soccer pitches two;), there available for certain clubs and socs (not all that need it yet though:mad:)too which is a real bonus for students considering the state of maguires every winter, which has been an issue for time immemorial.

also
    Funding was secured for the North campus project and was given the go ahead when there was still backing for the library extension by the government, the north campus development started in 2010, the library was still being backed in feb 2011, so it wasnt a case of having to choose between the two.
    also the revenue stream from the north campus will dry up if changing rooms arent added, no one will use them for long if they keep having to change in the boot of a car/ having to walk from the arena dressing rooms before and after

How can funding for a library dissolve away but funding for some football pitches stay constant.

UL doesn't need any more rugby or football pitches. It's not a sports club we're attending it's supposed to be a university.

Right now the library cannot accommodate the student population neither the SU nor the University seem to have acknowledged this or done anything about it.

Library extension gets cancelled but we can all go out and play hurling on an all weather pitch under flood lights.

College really has its priorities all wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

How can funding for a library dissolve away but funding for some football pitches stay constant.

UL doesn't need any more rugby or football pitches. It's not a sports club we're attending it's supposed to be a university.

Right now the library cannot accommodate the student population neither the SU nor the University seem to have acknowledged this or done anything about it.

Library extension gets cancelled but we can all go out and play hurling on an all weather pitch under flood lights.

College really has its priorities all wrong

You could say that but the college's budget is being cut at the moment and those pitches will provide an income once the pavilion is built . Also have you seen the state of Maguire's you can't train on it for half the year it's that bad, all the clubs have been crying out for those facility's for year's .

yes the loss of the library extension is not a good thing but as the sport's pitches were half completed it make's more sense to complete them rather than have 2 half completed projects .

as an aside what is the cost of the sport's pavilion compared to the library extension if it dose not meet the cost of the library extension you argument make's no sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭DaveR1

This is where you are wrong!!!!
    Having North Campus pitches will attract MORE students to UL than a new library ever could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

DaveR1 wrote: »
    Having North Campus pitches will attract MORE students to UL than a new library ever could.
    But where will we all sit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

stop being childish all of ye.

the library got updated there only last week, we replaced the 42 inch tvs with 50inch full hd 3D ready sony bravias

now they can display such wondering images like welcome to the library and no tea/coffee...

someone really needs to look at where this money is being wasted:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

mayo_lad wrote: »
    You could say that but the college's budget is being cut at the moment and those pitches will provide an income once the pavilion is built . Also have you seen the state of Maguire's you can't train on it for half the year it's that bad, all the clubs have been crying out for those facility's for year's .

yes the loss of the library extension is not a good thing but as the sport's pitches were half completed it make's more sense to complete them rather than have 2 half completed projects .

as an aside what is the cost of the sport's pavilion compared to the library extension if it dose not meet the cost of the library extension you argument make's no sense
    It's only logical to prioritise academic over sporting facilities.

Cydoniac wrote: »

yes but since the money to develop those sporting facilities comes from the arena and not the unaversity the 2 developments are seperate. the arena actualy controls the new pitches and it was financed by that comapny not the unaversity , so the money that is been spent on the pitches and pavilion could never be spent on the library ,

http://www.universityarena.com/outdoor.html

http://www.ul.ie/news-centre/news/largest-all-weather-sports-complex-in-europe-completed-at-ul1 shows that the pitches are been financed from an number of sorces including the arena

DaveR1 wrote: »

Are these really the type of students we want to attract?

People that pick UL over other universities because it has better pitches to play games on. Really a sad state of affairs. The main building and the library need to me knocked down and rebuilt in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Are these really the type of students we want to attract?

People that pick UL over other universities because it has better pitches to play games on. Really a sad state of affairs. The main building and the library need to me knocked down and rebuilt in my opinion.

There is nothing wrong with the main building.

Compare the lecture halls in the main building to the KBS.
    Compare the insulation.
    Compare the lighting.

You obviously don't spend very much time in either or have no appreciation for architecture, both practical and aesthetic.

The main building really shows its age. It's either a mixture of very cold or very warm and there is not acoustic insulation. Very poor all-round.

yes but since the money to develop those sporting facilities comes from the arena and not the unaversity the 2 developments are seperate. the arena actualy controls the new pitches and it was financed by that comapny not the unaversity , so the money that is been spent on the pitches and pavilion could never be spent on the library ,

http://www.universityarena.com/outdoor.html

http://www.ul.ie/news-centre/news/largest-all-weather-sports-complex-in-europe-completed-at-ul1 shows that the pitches are been financed from an number of sorces including the arena

This is basically why, Sid.

Similar to the issue over the President's house last year. Uproar over the cost, those up in arms didn't cop that it was privately funded.

What's important is someone was able to go and get funding (confirmed) for a glorified dressing room with some pitches while the UL President wasn't able to get funding for a Library extension which is badly needed.

I don't care if the money comes from the lotto, the tax payer, the transatlantic trust, Bob Geldof or the Queen of England.

Someone got the job done on a football pitch but not on the library.

What's important is someone was able to go and get funding (confirmed) for a glorified dressing room with some pitches while the UL President wasn't able to get funding for a Library extension which is badly needed.

I don't care if the money comes from the lotto, the tax payer, the transatlantic trust, Bob Geldof or the Queen of England.

Someone got the job done on a football pitch but not on the library.

Are you deliberately ignoring what Mayo_Lad just said? :confused:

No not at all. To get some football pitches built the university basically tarted itself out and sold the contract to a private company who will make huge profit on it. It's over a 100 euro for a game of football.

It's very similar to the Government selling contracts to the road developers to build roads and then allowing them to put in tolls which make billions. It's very similar to the government selling the rights to the oil and natural gas reserves off our coasts to private developers because the government is too lazy to do it itself, losing billions in profits.

The football pitches will make some quasi-entrepreneurial developer a tidy sum over the next 10 years while students will sit back like mugs paying 100 euro for a game of football studying for exams red raisins.

No not at all. To get some football pitches built the university basically tarted itself out and sold the contract to a private company who will make huge profit on it. It's over a 100 euro for a game of football.

It's very similar to the Government selling contracts to the road developers to build roads and then allowing them to put in tolls which make billions. It's very similar to the government selling the rights to the oil and natural gas reserves off our coasts to private developers because the government is too lazy to do it itself, losing billions in profits.

The football pitches will make some quasi-entrepreneurial developer a tidy sum over the next 10 years while students will sit back like mugs paying 100 euro for a game of football studying for exams red raisins.

Ummm..

Paid €2 for a game of 11-a-side there, ergo the cost was €40 if the lads over it were taking a bit of profit for their time organising, or €50 if they were covering it themselves.

Where's the €100 figure coming from?

If UL were financing the Arena and associated facilities, there's a lot more than the extension that wouldn't be built. Think of the Tierney Building, the North Campus expansion all going on currently, along with the revamp of Kilmurry and Plassey Villages over the last 6 months.

They can't get everything they want, not with the way the economy's tanked.

Excuse me, after 5pm on a week day it's 50 euro for half a pitch and 150 euro for full pitch under flood lights on new astro pitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Compare the lecture halls in the main building to the KBS.
    Compare the insulation.
    Compare the lighting.

You obviously don't spend very much time in either or have no appreciation for architecture, both practical and aesthetic.

The main building really shows its age. It's either a mixture of very cold or very warm and there is not acoustic insulation. Very poor all-round.

So it looks outdated no need to tear it down.
    First of all why not build a new building to have class in oh wait that happening now (Music building, Medical building, Heath Science and the new one near the foundation)
    Second of all
    When will all the labs, lectures, tutorials, research projects,whole departments, services and so on go when the old building is torn down and the new one being built.
    P.S as a person in the Irish education system I know that prefabs are even colder
    I know what the main building is like I have been in it for the past 23 weeks
    straight

Would you liked to be charged every time you go to the library?
    Also might I suggest using your room to study if you don't like Red Raisins

Cydoniac wrote: »

Logical yes, but you forget, this is a university......

Jester252 wrote: »
    I know what the main building is like I have been in it for the past 23 weeks
    straight

THAT's one LONG Lab!

Does anyone know if the uni are looking into getting grants to help part cover the cost of replacing the single glazing in the Main Block with something that might keep the heat in???

Excuse me, after 5pm on a week day it's 50 euro for half a pitch and 150 euro for full pitch under flood lights on new astro pitches.

That seems a reasonable enough rate.

For one, the lights won't be cheap to run.

But mainly because of the pitch, which btw is actually fantastic. It's like playing on the real thing without all the mud and shít. Those paying €150 will likely be clubs training and not lads looking for a kickabout.

I can't imagine they'd be too far off the going rates at Seanchoill or Delta either.

constantg wrote: »
    THAT's one LONG Lab!

Does anyone know if the uni are looking into getting grants to help part cover the cost of replacing the single glazing in the Main Block with something that might keep the heat in???

there are coninual inprovments been made to the main building and new buildings to inprove there energy efficencys inclosed is a presintation given to my class by the Energy Manager in ul who is responable for these inprovments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

The astro v library argument is a bit of a non-event to be honest, it's a commercial reality of funding sports facilities in education - you'll see most post primary schools have them now. School provides the land, Astroturf company builds it; school gets the use of it for free. Makes complete commercial sense.

You all have it good when it comes to opening hours with the library too; the hours in DCU were a bit of a shock to the system coming from here.

there are coninual inprovments been made to the main building and new buildings to inprove there energy efficencys inclosed is a presintation given to my class by the Energy Manager in ul who is responable for these inprovments

IS that a yes or an 'I don't really know' so?

constantg wrote: »
    IS that a yes or an 'I don't really know' so?

that;s a I don't know but they are making inprovments in genral and it will depend on the pay back time to wheather the windows are replaced :P is that good enough for you

Constant G .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Energy improvements is one thing, but provision of an adequate number of fit for purpose study spaces (i.e not red raisin) and round the clock computer access for ALL regardless of course are the changes students will notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I got part of the way through this. The University has funded the North Campus through associated companies and loans secured by those associated companies.

Academic buildings under construction or to be constructed:
    Medical School (completion 2012)
    PESS Building reconfiguration (completion 2012)
    MSSI Phase 2 (at planning stage - construction 2013)
    Another academic building that I cannot name due to confidentiality of committees (planning 2013- construction 2013/2014)

Library Phase 2 was axed by the department of Public Expenditure in its Spending Review last month. The University was never asked to pay for it, it was never in the capital budget, what's more it was a PPP giving the state even less ammunition for axing.

Just because you can't see work being done to resolve the situation doesn't mean that it isn't, in fact I believe the President emailed the entire campus community on the issue.

The main building, whilst a monstrosity is structurally sound, practically laid out and better than a hell of a lot of facilities I've seen elsewhere. This doen not mean there aren't better, it just me saying "it was build in the 80s and hasn't been reglazed as the cost to do so would build a number of buildings, not least the Library extension.

It would not be possible to glaze even one block of the main building without significant grant aid as has been outlined by mayo_lad. Some people just have no concept of money:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

ninty9er wrote: »
    Just because you can't see work being done to resolve the situation doesn't mean that it isn't, in fact I believe the President emailed the entire campus community on the issue.

Did he? I don't recall getting that email.

ninty9er wrote: »
    I got part of the way through this.

Thanks for your response, i know you're busy with all that study for precious exams you're doing.

The University has funded the North Campus through associated companies and loans secured by those associated companies.

Why didn't the university have the foresight to have a contingency plan in case govt funding fell through? Did they just assume they could keep putting their hand out and in these times, still get free money. Why wasn't some scheme thought up similar to the north campus stuff?
    Just because you can't see work being done to resolve the situation doesn't mean that it isn't, in fact I believe the President emailed the entire campus community on the issue

You can't make allusions to things like that. What have the SU done on this? What have they actually done. Show and tell.
    The main building, whilst a monstrosity is structurally sound, practically laid out and better than a hell of a lot of facilities I've seen elsewhere.

Yes it's a building, those are reasonable characteristics of a building. Well done architects.
    This doen not mean there aren't better, it just me saying "it was build in the 80s and hasn't been reglazed as the cost to do so would build a number of buildings, not least the Library extension.

It's extremely dated and it shows. There are buildings 100s of years old in other campuses in ireland that aren't as inappropriate for lectures as the main building.
    It would not be possible to glaze even one block of the main building without significant grant aid as has been outlined by mayo_lad. Some people just have no concept of money:rolleyes:

I forgot you're an expert in accounting. Why wasn't the glazing done properly in the first instance. Why wasn't sound proofing done. It's actually ridiculous and then people like you, SU president are just saying "ah sure we did our best we just don't have the funds to be better than a 3rd rate institution". I wonder how much use your defeatist attitude is on academic council meetings.

Thanks for your response, i know you're busy with all that study for precious exams you're doing.
    wow sarcasm:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Why didn't the university have the foresight to have a contingency plan in case govt funding fell through? Did they just assume they could keep putting their hand out and in these times, still get free money. Why wasn't some scheme thought up similar to the north campus stuff?
    Like what do tell us what brilliance your mind can come up with to solve the problem, I would presume that the library extension would be one of the next capital projects to start once funding is available your post screams of a babies attitude of I want I want I want , grow up and realise that it takes year's to build up the money for a project like the library extension sure the north campus pitches have been in planing since before I came to UL 4 years ago
    Yes it's a building, those are reasonable characteristics of a building. Well done architects.

i've seen much worse designs to be honest it may be plane, but it the design of that building was made by figuring out the most amount of square foot the college could get for there money ; due to the rate at which the college was growing :eek::rolleyes:

It's extremely dated and it shows. There are buildings 100s of years old in other campuses in ireland that aren't as inappropriate for lectures as the main building.

Give me a few examples then :rolleyes:
    I forgot you're an expert in accounting. Why wasn't the glazing done properly in the first instance. Why wasn't sound proofing done. It's actually ridiculous and then people like you, SU president are just saying "ah sure we did our best we just don't have the funds to be better than a 3rd rate institution". I wonder how much use your defeatist attitude is on academic council meetings.

As was pointed out the main building was built in the 1980's when 1 single glazing was the accepted normality, the sound proofing is a non issue there are one or 2 lecture halls which could do with a more sound proofing in the B block but that is caused by the glazing.

personally I don't see what your gripe is with the building i know it's not as aesthetically as some of the other building's on campus but it is still fit for purpose unlike the Pess building was and let me see what's currently happing to the oldest part of that building O Ya it's being replaced .:rolleyes:

for a man who crys about personal abuse sid you dont seem to mind giving it out:rolleyes:
    Why wasn't some scheme thought up similar to the north campus stuff?
    your comparing two radically different projects. A commercially viable one that sees instant cash flows and one that you dont expect a cash flow from (except maybe a small rise in student numbers)

Therefore when you source funding for the projects you pitching to two drastically different investors. The Private sector will generally only look at one that sees financial returns immediately or that forecasts substantive returns in the future. How do you pitch a library to them sid, where is the money in it, the return?etc etc There is none unless you charge extra for the use of the library, you start doing that and it becomes financially unviable for the university and the students

Therefore library project you looking at different people altogether, philanthropists like Chuck Feeney, chartiable donations or government funding.

so its almost impossible to get the same/similar type of funding scheme
    Why didn't the university have the foresight to have a contingency plan in case govt funding fell through
    where else are they going to get funding from Sid? if you can name someone whos is willing to spent millions on the library without a single penny in profit back by all means, please tell us, or better yet John Fox or the don himself

oh course, in hindsight this easy to say. But if you were the manager of a project and they are the only one in town offering, do you accept the offer in hopes of them being faithful to their commitments or do you say no thanks im not going to accept in case you break your word bearing in mind that if they do drop out it is them who bear the costs, not you

I agree in that a big public show over it should not have been made considering the state of public finances, it was always a threat of funding being pulled

To be honest Sid, you have a bigger problem with UL than what you having being saying on boards and its neatly summed up by you saying this
    a 3rd rate institution
    your words, no one elses
    if this is your perception, why are you here and why dont you move to somewhere that fits your standards?

wow sarcasm:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Like what do tell us what brilliance your mind can come up with to solve the problem, I would presume that the library extension would be one of the next capital projects to start once funding is available your post screams of a babies attitude of I want I want I want , grow up and realise that it takes year's to build up the money for a project like the library extension sure the north campus pitches have been in planing since before I came to UL 4 years ago

i've seen much worse designs to be honest it may be plane, but it the design of that building was made by figuring out the most amount of square foot the college could get for there money ; due to the rate at which the college was growing :eek::rolleyes:

Give me a few examples then :rolleyes:

As was pointed out the main building was built in the 1980's when 1 single glazing was the accepted normality, the sound proofing is a non issue there are one or 2 lecture halls which could do with a more sound proofing in the B block but that is caused by the glazing.

personally I don't see what your gripe is with the building i know it's not as aesthetically as some of the other building's on campus but it is still fit for purpose unlike the Pess building was and let me see what's currently happing to the oldest part of that building O Ya it's being replaced .:rolleyes:

Find it hard to believe you're in your fourth year of university education and you haven't discovered the correct use of the apostrophe.

freyners wrote: »
    your words, no one elses
    if this is your perception, why are you here and why dont you move to somewhere that fits your standards?

Ivy-league and Oxbridge / Imperial London are first rate.
    TCD / UCD are second rate.
    UL are third rate.

Find it hard to believe you're in your fourth year of university education and you haven't discovered the correct use of the apostrophe.

So your not going to argue the point's I made your just going to be a grammar Nazi. If you must know i'm dyslexic so all grammar related issues with my post don't actually bother me much but thank's for proof reading it :D:D:D:D:D

UL are third rate.

not my point, my point is that if that is your perception, move there so

also this

*yawn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Agent_99

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS8k-R7nGoopsWeLGhApHBQD0Z6dxt8IlxbL7vMOWn3B2elhvKk8r426h1A

Sid

Quit disrespecting our University!
    If you dislike so much about UL why are you still here? Surely you could request a transfer to a wonderful Utopian university out there somewhere, who have expansive library facilities. No sporting activities, god forbid that students enjoy themselves when they are young. But i am sure that you are a well balanced young man because you have a chip on both shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

UL are third rate.

Ah the good old Sid_Justice Higher Education rankings.

Every year I wait with bated breath for them to come out.

So your not going to argue the point's I made your just going to be a grammar Nazi. If you must know i'm dyslexic so all grammar related issues with my post don't actually bother me much but thank's for proof reading it :D:D:D:D:D

How come you words are spelt correctly but you just choose the wrong ones. Sounds to be you're trying to blame dyslexia for your laziness. I think it's unfortunate because there are many people out there with genuine dyslexia that have genuine struggles with higher education due to their learning. These people don't access to as much educational psychology etc. because there are too many plonkers in the system who are too lazy to learn to spell and use correct grammar.

Mayo lad you didn't offer any interesting points. You just offered explanations that you thought off the top of your head. You're rationalising the weaknesses of the main building.

Main building has poor insulation and sound proofing - but that's ok it was built 30 years ago when Ireland was basically a third world country and we didn't invest soundly in those 'advanced technologies'. That's your point.

freyners wrote: »
    not my point, my point is that if that is your perception, move there so

also this

*yawn*

What is your perception? Do you think UL belongs in the top 100 universities in the world, despite not having a sufficient library.

You can't make allusions to things like that. What have the SU done on this? What have they actually done. Show and tell.

UL are third rate.
    How come you words are spelt correctly but you just choose the wrong ones. Sounds to be you're trying to blame dyslexia for your laziness. I think it's unfortunate because there are many people out there with genuine dyslexia that have genuine struggles with higher education due to their learning. These people don't access to as much educational psychology etc. because there are too many plonkers in the system who are too lazy to learn to spell and use correct grammar.

Mayo lad you didn't offer any interesting points. You just offered explanations that you thought off the top of your head. You're rationalising the weaknesses of the main building.

Main building has poor insulation and sound proofing - but that's ok it was built 30 years ago when Ireland was basically a third world country and we didn't invest soundly in those 'advanced technologies'. That's your point.
    What is your perception? Do you think UL belongs in the top 100 universities in the world, despite not having a sufficient library.

so%2Bthere.jpg

top 100, nope. If they were to compile a list of universities that i can attend for less that €3000 im sure it would be
    then again i would rather go to somewhere that gives me the skills i need for the job i hope to do (for instance, being able to tell why funding a sports area is different from funding a library) and sells itself on its own merits (top class sports facilities, employment rate of 80-90%+ for my course, 8 month work experience with a high number of the course offered training contracts upon completion) than somewhere that sells itself by saying were in the top 100. When i chose UL they offered in my opinion, the best degree for my requirements.

Main building, bar the Jean Monnet being used as a lecture hall, i have no issues with. It has chairs, a desk a projector and a white/blackboards, im happy. (then again i'm easily satisfied and try and make the best out of every situation) Not very energy efficient and i hope this will change but never have any problems heating wise (actually its they are too warm for me [jean monnett, foundation building lecture rooms besides the concert hall, kemmy tutorial rooms]
    Library, there is not one library in Ireland that has sufficient study spaces for students and having been in several you are well aware of this. the resources, especially the databases are fantastic (for what im doing anyways)

so thats my perceptions
    so my question again. If you see it as third rate, why are you still here

So essentially you chose UL because it was convenient to attend and it was cheap. You should write the marketing brochures for the college

"Come to UL, where the beer is cheap, the women are easy, and you'll get a job earning 25k with your degree"

So essentially you chose UL because it was convenient to attend and it was cheap. You should write the marketing brochures for the college

"Come to UL, where the beer is cheap, the women are easy, and you'll get a job earning 25k with your degree"

Why're you here again?