Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2012 'What's On Your CAO?' Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 406 ✭✭AnnaKin

CAO :D done!!!

didnt put in Level 6/7 but...

I'm really hoping i get my top 3!! they are what I reaaallllly want :rolleyes:
    heres hoping huh??

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Rossie17

Anyone looking at optometry?

I've more of a feeling for physiotherapy.

...I see what you did thar

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Geo10

My top 3 are:
    Arts in Maynooth (Geog and Business)
    Science in Trinity (Geog, Geol, Bio)
    Arts in UCC (Geog and World Religions)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 PowKitty

TR071 Science
    DN514 Geography Planning and Environmental Policy
    DN200 Science
    DN210 Archaeology and Geology
    TR077 Earth Sciences
    DN550 Social Science
    DN440 Biomedical Health and Life Sciences
    DC117 Aviation Management/ AM with Pilot Studies
    DT203 Forensic and Environmental Analysis

Still very undecisive of what I want to do :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭mcpaddington

Havn't done mine yet but my first choice will be Computer Science in UCD :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭JamJamJamJam

inspiron74 wrote: »
    Was just wondering whats the course like is it difficult (how many hours a week is it)...?? And do you need Chemistry to get in unfortunately I don't have Chemistry it's also keeping me from applying for Vet Med was raging when I found out... :o Also whats Cork like I'm from the Mid-lands and if I was applying there I'd know absolutely no one...

Sorry I only saw your post now! I'll send you a PM in a second, but basically it's not especially difficult, but there's quite a lot of stuff to get through. It's a similar idea to LC biology, where the ideas aren't totally abstract or difficult, but there's a good bit to cover.

Chemistry isn't a requirement. For one of the modules (biochemistry) it would probably be pretty useful to have LC chemistry. At the same, I wouldn't let it stop me doing the course! There are a lot of people who haven't done LC chemistry.

I might be coming from a different perspective because most of my friends go to college in Cork, but I find it great! I've had no bad experiences with anyone I've met, the choice of places to go out at night isn't too bad, the people in my course are all amazing and it's easy to get to know people, especially at the start of college when people are actively looking for new friends! Any of the people I know coming from further away seem to have had only positive experiences, despite maybe not knowing many people. Also, the Cork accent is sexy ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭leavingcert.

As it stands:

1. TR052 Dental Science
    2. TR051 Medicine (Restricted)
    3. DN400 Medicine - Undergraduate entry (Restricted)
    4. RC001 Medicine - (Undergraduate Entry) (Restricted)
    5. TR071 Science
    6. DN200 Science
    7. DN660 Commerce International - French / Chinese
    8. TR085 Business Studies and French
    9. DN650 Commerce
    10. DC115 Accounting and Finance

I'm unsure about medicine though....really what I want is dentistry!

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭silversky

Did anybody even think about putting down an IT?

Especially for nursing and the kind. What's the point in repeating when you can do the course (usually) for less points in an IT for the same degree?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Everyone seems to have filled out their forms, all we've done so far is look at the handbook for an hour. Is this strange?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Everyone seems to have filled out their forms, all we've done so far is look at the handbook for an hour. Is this strange?

You should fill out the form yourself, online, in your own time. Read the handbook and the sticky on this forum, and take your time with the form, it's not something I'd rush into the hour or so of career guidance a week!
    Remember, you can change your mind so there's no huge pressure, but still think about all your choices, and the order you want your courses to be on your CAO form.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭That Handsome Devil

Might be leaving it at this, not sure though:

1. TR031 - Mathematics
    2. TR267 - TSM (English Lit/Maths)
    3. TR035 - Theoretical Physics
    4. MH206 - Theoretical Physics and Mathematics
    5. MH214 - Computational Thinking
    6. DN200 - Maths/Physical Sciences

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

silversky wrote: »
    Did anybody even think about putting down an IT?

Especially for nursing and the kind. What's the point in repeating when you can do the course (usually) for less points in an IT for the same degree?

Yeah nearly all my CAO offers are IT's. I dunno why that snobbery exists, tbh.

At least for most courses at an IT if you drop out you still come out with a level 6 or 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

LEVEL 8
    1. MI004 - Liberal Arts, Mary I
    2: LM032 - Joint Honours, UL
    3: GY101 - Arts, Galway.
    4: LM046 - History, Politics and Sociology, UL
    5: LM033 - New Media & English, UL
    6: LM041 - Politics and Public Administration, UL
    7: LC293 - Business Management & Tourism, LIT
    8: LM035 - English & History, UL
    9: LM039 - Journalism & New Media, UL

LEVEL 7
    1: GA172 - Rural Enterprise and Agribusiness, GMIT
    2: WD156 - Forestry, Waterford IT
    3: GA271 - Film and Television, GMIT

After college, I want to do secondary teaching, hence my top 3 choices are Arts :D See all ye Mary I boardsies next year if things go to plan!

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Ah Here!

My choices right now:
    1. DN230 Actuarial and Financial Studies
    2. DC126 Actuarial Mathematics
    3. TR034 Management Science and Information Systems Studies
    4. TR033 Computer Science
    I'll need to add some more but those are the main ones I'd like to do :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 wheelbarrow25

Anyone know anything about the new International Business Degree in UL? I'm thinking about doing that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Buttons94

Anybody looking at doing journalism?? I mentioned it to my careers teacher and she said not to as I'd be 'just a journalist' if I did it! As in, it would be better to do different subjects like politics and then try and get into journalism... the course just looks so tempting though!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Buttons94 wrote: »
    Anybody looking at doing journalism?? I mentioned it to my careers teacher and she said not to as I'd be 'just a journalist' if I did it!

A course in Journalism can lead to other careers, not just that of a journalist.

See Ray: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ray_Foley#Early_career

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Anybody looking at doing journalism?? I mentioned it to my careers teacher and she said not to as I'd be 'just a journalist' if I did it! As in, it would be better to do different subjects like politics and then try and get into journalism... the course just looks so tempting though!

I had journalism down last year, I've changed my mind since though. I'd strongly recommend looking into Arts if you want to be a journalist. You can do Arts with subjects like English, History, Social and Political Studies, a language or anything that interests you. In journalism the degree isn't important, it's all about your work experience. As far as I know about half of today's journalists did Arts and half did Journalism, so both are perfect for getting into a career in journalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭jmclee

I'm looking into journalism too and I'm always told to go for arts because you've got your own area to specialise in then with journalism. What im debating is how a journalism degree would give you far more experience and knowledge than what you'd gain all squashed into a one years masters, cos it's 4 years in DIT where I'd be hoping to go.. And yeah journalisms fairly broad itself so there's lots you could end up in. Deffo all about what ya put into it yourself as the previous poster said !
    Its dit journalism or history and english in trinity for me, it's a tricky one alri..
    English media and cultural studies in iadt seems interesting also.
    Id be forever grateful for any dit journalism opinions though ?? The course doeees look tempting

This is my first post so go easy on me lads.. dunno if I'm posting it right, I'm on my pod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭Meowth

finally did mine :D
    level 8:
    1. Actuarial and financial studies in UCD
    2. Actuarial Maths DCU
    3. Education Mary I
    4. Education Maynooth
    5. Arts Maynooth
    and thats it ... will probably change it around in may and slot in a few more courses :)

• Registered Users Posts: 46 yamadeejit

1.TR072 Pharmacy
    2.RC005 Pharmacy
    3.TR075 Medicinal Chemistry
    4.TR073 Human Genetics
    5.CK703 Pharmacy
    6.TR056 Human Health and Disease
    7.TR053 Physiotherapy
    8.TR054 Occupational Therapy
    9.TR071 Science
    10. DN200 Science - Chemistry and Chemical Sciences

I have a problem that I'd reallllllllly appreciate help with. I definitely want to do Pharmacy, that's my dream. But the problem is there's only 3 pharmacy courses in Ireland, in TCD, RCSI and UCC. TCD and RCSI are fine because they're in Dublin but Cork is literally hours away. I'd only be able to go home once a month because of transport costs, etc. So should I follow my dream of doing pharmacy and put UCC higher up regardless or should I stick to Dublin for convinience?

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭mockshelp

Here's mine!

1. GY314 Earth and Ocean Science
    2. GY308 Environmental Science
    3. DC166 Environmental Science and Health
    4. DC115 Accounting and Finance
    5. DC231 International Relations
    6. DN650 Commerce

That's how it stands at the moment. I'll probably change it round a lot and add more.

Can't decide whether to go down the business or science route. I'm good at science+geography and business/accounting! Maybe the science area because the business sector is bad with job losses etc. I know accountants who have been made redundant. They take people on as trannies only for a short period. It can be hard to get full time job. If I decide I want to do accounting probably Dublin would be better for job prospects whereas Galway's location is better for earth and ocean related fields. Anything environmental related is supposedly a growth area in Ireland...so hopefully jobs will be here when I fininsh my 4 yrs (if I do it).

Can anyone explain the difference between the Earth and ocean science and environmental science programme at NUIG? I see the Earth and Ocean one is more geology (like earthquakes, volcanoes etc.) and the Environmental one is...just how to manage the Earths environment?? -- It's more chemistry and less geography/geology? I'd probably prefer the Earth and ocean science one as I prefer physical geography to chemistry!

What jobs do people go onto after doing these courses?? -- The environmental science one seems to have more career opportunities in Ireland....Is there less career opportunities in Ireland for earth and ocean science? (as its more geology...and a geologist has to travel a lot.) I'd want to stay in Ireland. Can't decide! Which one will get me a job? I'll do the extra chemistry in environmental science if it means I get a job in Ireland. What about lecturing jobs? Are they hard to get? Would I just have to do a masters to get one if I wanted that?

Hopefully someone can give me info on the differences in career opportunities from both these courses.

Thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Buttons94

Hmm, I was looking at DCU, Gaeilge agus Iriseoireacht. Or just plain journalism. The course in DIT looks good too! I'm torn between that or Music and Irish through arts in St Pats. :confused: But cheers for the replys, very helpful! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Wesc.

finally did mine :D
    level 8:
    1. Actuarial and financial studies in UCD
    2. Actuarial Maths DCU
    3. Education Mary I
    4. Education Maynooth
    5. Arts Maynooth
    and thats it ... will probably change it around in may and slot in a few more courses :)

Ahhh you're doing actuary in UCD!! I'm 50-50 whether im picking that or not! Are you sure though that you want to become an actuary?.. I think I'll just do mathematical science instead still not sure though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭Meowth

Wesc. wrote: »
    Ahhh you're doing actuary in UCD!! I'm 50-50 whether im picking that or not! Are you sure though that you want to become an actuary?.. I think I'll just do mathematical science instead still not sure though!

Pretty sure i want to do it, in theory i think it will be great :) i've read up a lot on it , know all the ins and outs did work experience :) but then again its all great in theory, wont know till i'm actually in it :O
    why are you so unsure ? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭crayon1

yamadeejit wrote: »
    So should I follow my dream of doing pharmacy and put UCC higher up regardless or should I stick to Dublin for convinience?

I'd put UCC down.....you will regret it come August and you will always be asking yourself what if! Plenty people make it moving from Cork to Dublin so i'm sure it can be done the other way around too! And the bus is only €22 Cork to Dublin so if you want pharmacy that much i'd definately put it down! :D

I dunno whether I should ask this question here, but since it has to do with the CAO.....

If you qualify for both your first choice in level 8 and your first choice in level 7, do you get both choices or does the level 7 delete straightaway?

I know it's probably a straightforward answer an' all, I just can't remember what my careers teacher said.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

You get both. You choose which one you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

silversky wrote: »
    I dunno whether I should ask this question here, but since it has to do with the CAO.....

If you qualify for both your first choice in level 8 and your first choice in level 7, do you get both choices or does the level 7 delete straightaway?

I know it's probably a straightforward answer an' all, I just can't remember what my careers teacher said.

You get a choice of both. They'll both come up on your online form and you click "accept" to one of them.

Neeson wrote: »
    You get both. You choose which one you want.

Oh thanks very much!