Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chronicles of a fish: the days of surf and turf

• Registered Users Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

interested wrote: »
    hey DD
    That injury sounds like its really starting to become a total pain in the ass.

too easy ?

Way too easy! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Dory Dory wrote: »
    ........ and I'll be grand.

Sure, begorrah, and why wouldn't ya............:D

I still get a small kick out of seeing this stuff in your log without you ever having had to resort to this

Go on ya good thing! :)

RedB wrote: »
    Sure, begorrah, and why wouldn't ya............:D

I still get a small kick out of seeing this stuff in your log without you ever having had to resort to this

Go on ya good thing! :)

:confused::confused: I'm not quite sure if I should be embarrassed or pleased.....so I'm just going to say thanks. ;):)

(at least I've learned to refer to that little purse that goes around your waist as a "bum bag" and not the other American version while posting here :D)

"That injury sounds like it's really starting to become a total pain in the ass."

Yes, interested, it is a pain in the ass....but the good news is, I do believe it's easing up....and because I believe it's easing up, I decided to give it another night's rest. ;)

Dragged the bike and trainer upstairs....
    ....setup by the pool....
    ....iPod tuned to Green Day....
    ....iPad trolling boards and food websites....
    ....coyote prowling the field....
    ....breeze blowing while the sun setting.....
    ....20 miles done and dusted.

Legs are truly feeling good and my injury doesn't seem as angry, so the tentative plan is to start some proper running this weekend. Nothing crazy, but I need to hit the streets and shake out the dust. Pool is still too cold for my <cough, cough> delicate body to endure, so I doubt there will be any cannonball action for several more days. And the bike...the bike. Who knows, maybe I'll run out of excuses and actually get the Mad One out. Giddy up! :)

Actual: 20 miles recovery on the trainer

Hello Kitty!!

Historically, Friday evenings are my no training, no cooking, pour-myself-a-glass-of-wine night...but, combine a beautiful evening with the fact that I have only put in two miles in my runners since Boston, and you get me in shorts and a tank top running around the field immediately after work. Whoop whoop! :D I kept it easy...I kept it slow as I am still in recovery mode, and my left glute is still giving me a bit of a fit. :(:mad: Must get this sorted!!

BUT, my biggest happy surprise on this little run was my reunion with Mr. Smith's very sweet black cat who I interrupted in the middle of some stealthy stalking of a clueless bunny. Good for the bunny that I came along when I did as I'm pretty sure Mr. Rabbit would have been no more in a matter of seconds. To make up for the kitty caper I foiled, I spent a few minutes fusing over my feline friend - patting his head, scratching behind his ears, rubbing his belly - while he rolled in the dirt loving every minute of it. :)

Followed the 2 mile leg stretcher with some attention to the upper body and abs, then busted a few yoga moves and stretched in the grass by the pool. Oh, and speaking of the pool....it occurred to me while I was out there doing my best Gumby impression that it was awfully quiet. Too quiet. It dawned on me at that moment why my pool's water temperature was not rising like I had anticipated it would. The pool heater was NOT on!!! Crap. Two or three days ago the power went off and when I turned the filter back on forgot to hit the heater button too....and now I've wasted a few days waiting for the water to heat up. Drat!!

Actual: 2 very easy recovery miles in the field with Mr. Smith's cat, upper body, abs, yoga/stretching moves

Things I think about when I run....

"That as good athletes, we defined ourselves as special, then submitted to a routine in which we did exactly as we were told. I think of the limitations that 'specialness' requires: doing a series of very unspecial things, very well, over and over, a million times over, so that one special thing might happen, maybe, much later."

"...the difficult will become easy and the easy habitual, so that the habitual may become beautiful."

"After a hundred workouts I might be faster."

"An athlete dies twice."

Absolutely stunning day here!! And with my injury feeling slightly better after a dose of Advil, a slathering of Tiger Balm, and some self-massaging (great visual, eh? ;)), I headed out to the field to see what my body wanted from this session while being mindful of not overdoing it. Translation: I decided I'd run between 4 and 6 miles at a leisurely, Garmin free pace.

No need for much elaboration....but suffice it to say, other than the injury (that I think is getting better), I feel just about fully recovered and fairly strong considering what 26.2 really tough miles at Boston can do to the body. I will admit, this marathon took more out of me than the previous marathons. Gah. But....I put down ~6.5 very enjoyable field miles and thought about a lot of things and solved a lot of problems and even formulated a loose race schedule between now until November. No music on today's journey....just me and a buch of ideas floating in my head.

Enjoyed a little pool deck time in the sun with upper body and abs work....then did some really nice stretching and relaxing yoga (loving the shoulder stand and plow pose...) moves to finish off the session. :)

Actual: ~6.5 easy field miles, upper body, abs, stretching, yoga moves

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

What's up next Dory??? Great stuff to be back at it already

It's a girl's prerogative to change her mind

Last night as I sat at a friend's house sipping champagne which then led to white wine, I had grand visions of doing an inappropriately long training run today. I had plotted out in my mind a 13 miler, which sounded reasonable and wise while under the influence of bubbly. Today, however, is a different story. Not feeling quite as spiffy nor as ambitious as I did last night, so the 13 mile proper run idea morphed into a 6 mile field run which then morphed into a 20 mile spin on the trainer in the basement due to the cold, dreary, rainy day that was being served up. The spin was fine....best one since I've been back on the trainer, but I swear, my derriere cannot take more than 20 miles in that saddle at this point. It's the same saddle I've always used, but I guess all this running has made my south side forget what characteristics it needs to tough-it-out in the sitting position for long periods at a time. Of course I'm just wearing normal running shorts, but that's what I usually wear while on the trainer. Hmmmm.....a gel seat....for some crazy reason the notion of a gel seat just popped into mind. Probably would be a disaster....

Actual: 20 miles on the trainer

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Gel seat would be worse. Not entirely happy with the saddle on my new bike myself but a gel saddle would have you killed if you were doing any sort of distance. The hard saddle is designed to take the pressure of your weight. You'd probably end up with saddle sores with a gel saddle, pain is way better than icky oozy cysts :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Nothing beats a good pair of reassuringly expensive bib shorts. Castelli or even better Assos will sort out that fanny of yours!

catweazle wrote: »
    Nothing beats a good pair of reassuringly expensive bib shorts. Castelli or even better Assos will sort out that fanny of yours!

So, is it culturally correct then to use the word "fanny" if it is preceded in a sentence by "Assos"?? This begorrah :confused: is just trying to figure it all out so poor RedB doesn't die of laughter. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

So, is it culturally correct then to use the word "fanny" if it is preceded in a sentence by "Assos"?? This begorrah :confused: is just trying to figure it all out so poor RedB doesn't die of laughter. ;)

I before E ...................... except after C!

It is never culturally correct to use the word fanny on this side of the Atlantic, however we can all get our cheap laughs by mentioning it on this log as we can call it a North American blog

Assos should rename the company boobos judging by these practically soft porn shots

assos-wmn-uma-ll-bbtght-09-zoom.jpg

Oh good god...
    And BTH, you're getting married in a matter of a few weeks so you're not allowed to "thank" posts like this any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

Oh good god...
    And BTH, you're getting married in a matter of a few weeks so you're not allowed to "thank" posts like this any more.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Izoard

catweazle wrote: »
    I before E ...................... except after C!

It is never culturally correct to use the word fanny on this side of the Atlantic, however we can all get our cheap laughs by mentioning it on this log as we can call it a North American blog

Assos should rename the company boobos judging by these practically soft porn shots

assos-wmn-uma-ll-bbtght-09-zoom.jpg

And these pics were taken *after* a 6 hour bike ride...

Great. And if having Assos soft porn photos posted twice on my log isn't enough, this second posting of the hussie-in-triplicate is at the very top of the page to welcome all visitors immediately with a wink and a smile. First impressions and all that. Thanks cw...thanks Izoard.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Izoard

Great. And if having Assos soft porn photos posted twice on my log isn't enough, this second posting of the hussie-in-triplicate is at the very top of the page to welcome all visitors immediately with a wink and a smile. First impressions and all that. Thanks cw...thanks Izoard.

Ah here, I though that was you, after a 6 hour bike ride...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭griffin100

I just bought the wife a bike :D

And.....doing my best Assos bimbo impersonation....

....I threw on a pair of baggy shorts, donned a man's Fruit of the Loom basic white t-shirt, pulled my hair back, and slipped into my dorky clip-in bike shoes...then did my best bike mount (without a pole!) and put down 15 very quality miles perched on my stationary steed. Good session, actually. Legs felt very strong and pretty clear of any issues, so I kept the pressure on the effort for the entire duration. :)

After a super spiffy dismount, I hit the yoga mat for some stretching, abs and upper body work while both of my cats weaved in, out and over various parts of my body. :)

Pool is getting VERY close to being swimmable by my standards. Woo hoo and whoop whoop!! I won't dare mention what my "standards" are (
    82 degrees :o
    ) - I just feel if you're going to have a heater, it would be a disservice not to tap into it's potential. :D

Actual: 15 miles of the trainer, yoga, abs, upper body

Yawn....

Not a whole lot going on around here....just a lot of time on the trainer. 20 miles tonight. At least the legs feel good and my injury is greatly improved. Whoop whoop.

Actual: 20 miles on trainer

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Yawn....

Not a whole lot going on around here....just a lot of time on the trainer. 20 miles tonight. At least the legs feel good and my injury is greatly improved. Whoop whoop.

Actual: 20 miles on trainer
    Re the injury. Ride cream will help, and good shorts are essential. Do not under any circumstances get a gel seat, you might as well write 'lemon' on your forehead. Your weight needs to be on your sit bones and not your delicates, make sure the saddle is adjusted to allow this.

But really the only way to deal with it is to not think about it. Focus on the parts of your body that don't hurt (if you have any). You will always get issues if you ride long enough, its all part of the fun and games. If its not painful and its not sweaty, and you dont end up with wounds, girl, youre not doing it right*.

*and yes, we are still talking about cycling.

Oryx wrote: »
    Re the injury. Ride cream will help, and good shorts are essential. Do not under any circumstances get a gel seat, you might as well write 'lemon' on your forehead. Your weight needs to be on your sit bones and not your delicates, make sure the saddle is adjusted to allow this.

But really the only way to deal with it is to not think about it. Focus on the parts of your body that don't hurt (if you have any). You will always get issues if you ride long enough, its all part of the fun and games. If its not painful and its not sweaty, and you dont end up with wounds, girl, youre not doing it right*.

*and yes, we are still talking about cycling.

The gel seat comment was said tongue-in-cheek...no seriousness behind it at all. Heck, I don't even know if they make gel seats!!

The injury is from running - a glute/hamstring issue that does not give me any trouble on the bike. Tiger Balm has been helping some (as well as rest, massaging, stretching, yoga)...but boy howdy will that balm wake you up if it migrates to your (as you put it) delicates. Yikes!!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

I take a break for some recovery and I arrive back to a den if iniquity:eek:
    I know you're still recovering from Boston but resorting to posting inappropriate photos of yourself after a 6 hour bike ride and now discussing alternative uses for Tiger Balm in the boudoir...
    Dory, get those rosary beads out and beg for forgiveness;);)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Marthastew wrote: »
    I know you're still recovering from Boston but resorting to posting inappropriate photos of yourself after a 6 hour bike ride and now discussing alternative uses for Tiger Balm in the boudoir...
    Nah... just do a six hour bike ride and you wont want to do anything inappropriate afterwards, tiger balm or not!

Marthastew wrote: »
    Oryx wrote: »
    Nah... just do a six hour bike ride and you wont want to do anything inappropriate afterwards, tiger balm or not!

Ladies, ladies!!! Don't knock it til you try it!! ;)

And we add a bit of structure once again...

Plan: 20 minutes recovery

After two weeks of taking it pretty easy and avoiding the runners (other than 10.5 miles put in over 3 sessions :eek:), it is time to be re-introduced into the art of running. So, I did this one sneaky-lunchtime-run style....and in summary:

The good: Absolutely gorgeous day here - low 60s, crazy sunshine, bit of a breeze, and no humidity. It would be a sin not to be outdoors on a day like today. Also, there were two adorable ground hogs frollicking about in the field that gave me a good smile (they're so roly-poly and cute!)...and I had some very good tunes to keep me company.

The bad: I felt creaky and sluggish, and it took way too much effort for even a recovery run as my breathing reminded me. Which begs the question: have I lost that much running fitness in two weeks?? :eek:

The ugly: My injury is still alive and well. Not really sure what I'm going to do about it. :(:mad:

Actual: ~2.7 recovery field miles

Tonight......I SWIM!!!!!!!! :D:D:D

The pool is now open for business!! Whoop whoop!!! :D

Scurried home from work....dragged the yoga mat outdoors...grabbed some weights....laced up my shoes....scooped up the medicine ball...and did some serious stretching, yoga, abs and upper body out by the pool in the evening sunshine as the sun was slowly getting lower and lower in the sky, and casting longer and more extreme shadows as it descended.

Ripped off the t-shirt....tossed off the shoes.....adjusted the goggles...and did my very best cannonball into my 81 degree pool in interested's honor. It was a thing of beauty, really. Interested, you would have been so proud. Great tuck...impressive splash.....deafening sound. It contained all the elements and all the reasons cannonball's should be allowed with a high degree of difficulty in competitive diving. ;)

Swam 1,000 yards straight mainly doing freestyle but also throwing in a few laps of breaststroke....and the wonderful and familiar feel of the water moving across my body immediately reminded me that it is in water that I belong. I could feel my glute/hamstring injury as I swam freestyle, but it was a manageable dull pain while in the water, and I wondered if perhaps strengthening the muscles used when kicking freestyle might help strengthen the muscles I've injured. The injury does feel better at this moment, so we'll see how it behaves during tomorrow's 5 mile run.

Actual: 1,000 yards swimming, stretching, yoga, abs, upper body

• Registered Users Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

The pool is now open for business!! Whoop whoop!!! :D

Ripped off the t-shirt....tossed off the shoes.....adjusted the goggles...and did my very best cannonball into my 81 degree pool in interested's honor. It was a thing of beauty, really. Interested, you would have been so proud. Great tuck...impressive splash.....deafening sound. It contained all the elements and all the reasons cannonball's should be allowed with a high degree of difficulty in competitive diving. ;)

Now THATS how to open a pool for the summer !!! Chapeau !!!

And so it begins....

...my familiar decent into the land of undisciplined runs.

Plan: 5 miles easy

My excuse is I am frustrated. Frustrated because the body is 17 days into recovery from the worst insult it has taken in a very long time. Frustrated because in those 17 days I have only run ~13 miles. Frustrated because I am nursing the same injury I've been nursing for almost a year. And frustrated because I hate the thought of any loss in running fitness.

This was another gorgeous evening here in Luray - sunshiny with a decievingly strong breeze - and the plan was to actually put down a proper road run (albeit easy) and to utilize my Garmin for the first time since Boston. I bolted out into the fresh air as soon as I could get away from work and set sail with no particular thoughts in my head other than concern for my left glute/hamstring. I wore my thigh compression sleeves hoping that they would keep things in place and limit any pain or further aggravation.

The first two miles were into the crazy wind and I found myself stubbornly fighting it...pushing it back....and working too hard in the process. I knew this was supposed to be an easy run, but I couldn't let it go. In my mind I was cussing the frustrations that I blamed for putting me in this position on this day, and I was cussing the frustrations because to this point they had the upper hand and were dictating what moves I made. But now I had the wind. The damn wind. I had had enough. So I pushed. And I pushed. And I was all business. (7:27, 7:45)

The next two miles were much easier in terms of effort because the first two miles had set the beat of my pace and my body was into that rhythm, plus I now had the wind at my back and the delightfully warm sun at my face. (7:33, 7:39) The last mile was pretty unremarkable and rather boring - I don't really have much to say about this mile other than I was glad when it was over. (7:42)

Immediately post run I did some stretching specific for my injury, and as I type this, it feels relatively good. I have a massage set for tomorrow morning so here's hoping it will work a treat. (RedB, did I use "treat" properly in that sentence??;))

Actual: 5 miles in 38:07.88 for an average pace of 7:37 min/mile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Re the pain in the ass, is it causing dull pain in lower hamstring and lower back as well? Have you been to a physio?