Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€3 bounty to be put on dead mink

• 01-11-2011 7:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/farming/news-features/euro3-bounty-to-be-put-on-dead-mink-2921730.html
    Tuesday November 01 2011

Jimmy Deenihan, the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, has announced that he is about to introduce a bounty for dead mink.

The news comes on the back of increasing reports of incidences with mink, which are believed to be harming populations of native ground nesting birds and game birds.

It is hoped that a bounty of around €3 will increase the 5,000 mink being trapped or shot here every year by at least 10pc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

nice one
    will get a few bob for them now lol
    buy phesants next year
    any idea where ye might hand them in when ya kill them
    also wonder what part ya supply tail i presume

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Haven't got a clue, that's all I know about it thus far. Perhaps they'll issue each Post Office with a "free post" mink sticker, just shove him in the box then :D

johngalway wrote: »
    Haven't got a clue, that's all I know about it thus far. Perhaps they'll issue each Post Office with a "free post" mink sticker, just shove him in the box then :D

thats sound like the most practical way alright lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Sounds good, they will also need to develop a code of practice to make sure other mustelids aren't harmed unintentionally by unscrupulous trappers.
    Not painting anyone in particular but if there is money involved you can be sure there are some that will stop at nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Sounds good, they will also need to develop a code of practice to make sure other mustelids aren't harmed unintentionally by unscrupulous trappers.
    Not painting anyone in particular but if there is money involved you can be sure there are some that will stop at nothing.

I see what your saying CJ but I assume appropriate verification will be required to claim said money - especcially when the state is so strapped for cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

there will be lads poaching for mink now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

This is a great idea and it will encourage more lads to trap them. Nearly a pint of the black stuff per mink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

wish i had round me now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

same here!must be ones near you kildare!

wish i had round me now!

Canals around Naas should be a happy hunting ground - plenty of cover for setting traps too:cool:

thats true lads didnt think about trappin just shootin! Would be a good way to pay for some cartridges all the same!

will buy a lot of birds for a gunclub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

it will be a great idea if they did introduce it but i would be very doubtful they will alot of guys are trapping them anyway especially gun clubs and anyone associated with fishing and the likes. it would be a great revenue boost to any club who put in any few every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

http://www.independent.ie/farming/news-features/euro3-bounty-to-be-put-on-dead-mink-2921730.html
    Tuesday November 01 2011

Jimmy Deenihan, the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, has announced that he is about to introduce a bounty for dead mink.

The news comes on the back of increasing reports of incidences with mink, which are believed to be harming populations of native ground nesting birds and game birds.

It is hoped that a bounty of around €3 will increase the 5,000 mink being trapped or shot here every year by at least 10pc.

He announced the mink bounty when he spoke at the recent NARGC AGM in Cork, he did'nt specify how much per mink though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

How about fining the groups that want to release these "warm, fuzzy little creatures" into the wild at €3 per animal released?

I hope it steps up the hunting of these. They are a plague. One thing is to be sure what you're shooting. Last thing we want is a load of pictures of "mink" being posted or returned that aren't mink. Identify your quarry.

Mink
    Mink.jpg

Stoat
    stoat-04.jpg

Pine Marten
    Pine_1212373c.jpg

Otter
    73530.JPG
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

Don't want to go too far off topic but anyone suggest good way to trap mink.

I remember reading somewhere where a guy was using a metre lenght of 4" pipe buried into the ground at a slight angle near a river, stream. The bottom end of pipe is sealed closed with concrete or pipe cap. Sardines or similar are placed at the bottom end of pipe. Mink goes in to eat but can't turn around to get out.

Can't remember if above trap was for mink or something else.

I remember reading somewhere where a guy was using a metre lenght of 4" pipe buried into the ground at a slight angle near a river, stream. The bottom end of pipe is sealed closed with concrete or pipe cap. Sardines or similar are placed at the bottom end of pipe. Mink goes in to eat but can't turn around to get out.

Yup thats it afaik, im sure there might be a bit more to it but you have the jist of it anway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Rub fish oil inside pipe so can't climb out.
    Wavin 4" sewer pipe is good put most of pipe into ground so it is easy climb in, not so easy out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Right to practicalities.
    WHERE do we deliver these critters to to collect our bounty?
    WHAT condition do they want them in??Dead or alive??:),skinned? whole?
    WHO is paying us??
    HOW are they paying out??
    WHEN is this kicking off??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

its was on the back page of the farming supplement of the irish independent

Okayyyy......Seeing that I dont have said farming supplement to hand,as I dont buy papers...Does anyone have a scanned copy or link to this article??:pac:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

How much is a pelt worth to the right man , surly more than 3euro, are their any farms left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

How much is a pelt worth to the right man , surly more than 3euro, are their any farms left?
    ah now dont be thinking like that,would be like shooting fish in a barrell:p:D

TBH ,they really arent worth much more than that.The reason a Mink coat costs so much is because of the designer label and work put into it.
    The raw material[mink] pelts have to be matched up so they get a consistent colour and pattern in the coat,and for that they need thousands of them,which is why they were farmed in the first place as wild mink dont have the same consistency in their pelt.
    Only other thing you can do with these bad temperd rodents ,is render their fat down for a gradeA waterproof dressing for leather boots and shoes .:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

I heard a length of 22" of 4" wavin pipe mentioned as being the correct measurement before, buried in the ground at an angle with a flat stone at the base of the pipe, using fish oil as bait,(can be got in the creamery,5L cod liver oil)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Ezridax wrote: »
    <photos>

That Stoat is a beauty.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Right to practicalities.
    WHERE do we deliver these critters to to collect our bounty?
    WHAT condition do they want them in??Dead or alive??:),skinned? whole?
    WHO is paying us??
    HOW are they paying out??
    WHEN is this kicking off??

And possibly the most important question - Will it be treated as income by the taxman??;)

Of course it will!!! We DO have to pay our banking bill dont we???:rolleyes:

Not a fan of pipe traps, unless they have some outlet to stop them filling up with water. It is not a kind death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

there isn't a hope in hell a bounty for mink is going to be paid for by the government, that denihan is full of ****e.mayo rgc put forward a motion at the recent agm for the nargc to pay a five euro bounty on all mink killed.they were promised support by there neighbouring countys all of which failed to vote yes for the motion when it came up.it was estimated that it would only cost 30,000 a year to run this scheme.even if the government did agree to the bounty we'd be the next six years waiting for them to get it up and going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

I don't like the whole pipe in the ground idea! There not very humane, plus there's a big risk of killing non target species! My advise to anyone that wants to take up Mink trapping is to ask someone whose experienced in trapping to show them the ropes!

It only costs around 25 euro for a mink cage, and they last for years. There easy to set, and it's easy enough to release non target species from them!
    I wouldn't advise anyone to go down the road of kill traps and snares unless they have plenty of experience with trapping! saying that, they are very good methods of mink controll!
    My fear is that there'll be a lot of lads that don't have a clue, going out setting kill traps, catching livestock, non target species, and fingers, and end up doing more damage than the mink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Eddie B wrote: »
    My fear is that there'll be a lot of lads that don't have a clue, going out setting kill traps, catching livestock, non target species, and fingers, and end up doing more damage than the mink!

Yeah sorry to be a downer but i totally agree.
    It is a recipe for disaster unless there is blanket coverage of what a mink actually is and more importantly what it actually isnt and how to go about catching/killing them so no other species can get harmed in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭minktrapper

About bloody time,our great trout rivers are destroyed with them.If it ever happens of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭snipeface

Invincible wrote: »
    I heard a length of 22" of 4" wavin pipe mentioned as being the correct measurement before, buried in the ground at an angle with a flat stone at the base of the pipe, using fish oil as bait,(can be got in the creamery,5L cod liver oil)

Unfortunately mink aren't the only critters that will end up at the bottom of the pipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭donegal2011

to get this right, you get paid if you kill or get a mink. when this come to affect and who you contact...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 MackyF

So last month and a half i bought 2 traps but i have n't caught a mink yet i started of using eels and when i check the traps one of the traps was knocked over and the eel was gone then i started of using tuna in brine and in both traps there was mouse droppings i think. One conclusion was that the weather was n't cold enough so what you mink trappers use as bait and ps the traps are well covered so covered in fact my silly 6 month spaniel kept running into it and kept setting it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Mink are odd In one place I used to trap it was hard even get 1 or 2 this time of year but in April i got 3 in d space of 3 days! Depends where their travelling/ breeding! And in another place it was the other way around! Fish oil or smoked kippers are a good bait! And I always found that you would want to have the trap within a foot of the water or it was no good!Under a bridge is a good place to set 1! If your not having any luck, keep moving the trap! Look out for runs and locate your trap as near as possible!

MackyF wrote: »
    So last month and a half i bought 2 traps but i have n't caught a mink yet i started of using eels
    You would want to watch using Eels, you aren't allowed to take Eels at all now.
    Getting rid of Mink is a good thing but a bad fishery officer could make life very unpleasant for you if they thought you were doing the wrong thing.

You would want to watch using Eels, you aren't allowed to take Eels at all now.
    Getting rid of Mink is a good thing but a bad fishery officer could make life very unpleasant for you if they thought you were doing the wrong thing.
    Well it was lamprey eels that i had bought in a local fishing shop for my pike fishing:o

MackyF wrote: »
    Well it was lamprey eels that i had bought in a local fishing shop for my pike fishing:o
    Fair enough, I was just letting you know. Better to be informed than find out at a bad moment.

I done work experience with the fisheries boards in March and they get a few calls from me because of unsporting behaviour I take it that you fish not alot of people know about the law for protection of eels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭stevie_b

...... a bad fishery officer could make life very unpleasant for you if they thought you were doing the wrong thing.

you mean a good fishery officer

stevie_b wrote: »
    you mean a good fishery officer
    No a Bad one, there are decent people and jobsworths in all professions and sometimes you come across bad ones.
    A good fishery officer might look at the bigger picture and see that a person trapping Mink is likely to be doing more good than harm.
    A bad one might just write you up for taking Eels without thinking that maybe the dead mink means that lots more Eels will survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Got the offical word on the Mink Bounty this morning from the the Galway Game Hunting Assocation. Fair play to the NARGC for getting this.
    The NARGC, in conjunction with the Department of Arts, Heritage and
    the Gaeltacht, has introduced a €3 bounty on mink (i.e. per full mink
    tail submitted). This scheme will run from the 1st of January 2012 to
    the 31st of December 2012. This scheme is only available to NARGC gun
    clubs and their members.

For ease of administration, and to complement the GGHA Vermin Control
    Competition, the mink bounty scheme will be administered by the GGHA.
    Please note that no mink will be counted on Monday, 19th December
    2011. Mink tails will, however, be counted, and collected on the two
    vermin count dates in 2012 (i.e. Monday, 27th February 2012 and
    Monday, 30th April 2012). The GGHA will also be organising additional
    mink count dates during 2012. At each count, full mink tails will be
    collected by the GGHA vermin counters and receipts will be provided to
    all gun clubs/individuals that submit tails. Money will be paid to gun
    clubs, through the GGHA, after tails are submitted.

Each gun club secretary should make their members aware of this new
    scheme. The Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and the
    NARGC are insistent that only live traps (and shooting) should be used
    and any protected species captured MUST be released. When gun clubs
    produce mink at the GGHA vermin counts in 2012, a relevant form must
    be completed by each gun club/individual submitting mink tails to the
    GGHA. The number of tails submitted must complement the information on
    the relevant form. This form can be downloaded at:

http://www.nargc.ie/downloads.aspx

Finally, the GGHA, as per usual, are offering a prize of €300 to the
    gun club with the most mink for the Vermin Control Competition.

"This scheme is only available to NARGC gun clubs and their members."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

"This scheme is only available to NARGC gun clubs and their members."

Typical, and all the threads about a certain other organisation trying to corner the market for themselves :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

typical more bolloxology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Money will be paid to gun clubs

so the fella who does all the work doesnt get a penny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

Great to see this scheme coming in as many of you doubted it ever materializing. Now that it is coming in your still not happy.

Shove it where the Sun dont shine then!! :mad:
    Another CON operation.