Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Pre-release Discussion - ***DO NOT POST SPOILERS*** (Mod warning in first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I know it will only arrive a day or 2 later but Id rather pay the extra cash than see all my mates online playing it on release day :D

I pre ordered with Gamesnash. They always get a new game to me on release day.

Amazon have got worse lately, well not them but Royal Mail. It's now taking 3-4 working days for delivery instead of 2.

I pre-ordered with Gamesnash too for GTA5. May even get it a day early too like they usually do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

This is excellent...

GTA V Gameplay Trailer - Niko's Dramatic Reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

That is flippin hilarious!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Amazon have got worse lately, well not them but Royal Mail. It's now taking 3-4 working days for delivery instead of 2.

I pre-ordered with Gamesnash too for GTA5. May even get it a day early too like they usually do.

How much is shipping with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I think what I'm hoping for the most after GTA IV and RDR is a happy ending. I thought that IV's storyline was incredible. As a piece of writing it's way above anything they'd attempted in the series up until that point but I for one was completely drained by the ending and it has never really inspired me to replay it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Beefy78 wrote: »
    I think what I'm hoping for the most after GTA IV and RDR is a happy ending. I thought that IV's storyline was incredible. As a piece of writing it's way above anything they'd attempted in the series up until that point but I for one was completely drained by the ending and it has never really inspired me to replay it.

There's more than one ending you know! :D

Two, to be precise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Yeah I know but that's a sad ending as well.

I just want everyone to live happily ever after for once!

Keno 92 wrote: »
    How much is shipping with them?

Gamesnash, €3.50 standard. €6 same day with Fastways.

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Yeah I know but that's a sad ending as well.

I just want everyone to live happily ever after for once!

I think you'd still have the 3 main characters alive by the end of the game, hopefully.

Although for people that you meet along the way? Well, just don't get too attached to them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

marcbrophy wrote: »
    There's more than one ending you know! :D

Two, to be precise!

Yeah, but neither could be considered "happy". Shouldn't really need spoilers at this stage, but just for the sake of peace:
    Neither ending could really be described as "the good" ending. I mean, the ending where Kate is killed by Pegorino is undoubtedly the "right" ending because there is no way Niko would've taken that deal, yet for me it was the saddest. I genuinely sat back for a minute or two after the wedding cutscene and was like... "fuccck...". The other ending Niko's only family in America was killed, so you could hardly call that a happy ending either.

Even take the DLCs, TLAD ends with the destruction of the clubhouse and the gang, TBOGT ends slightly more upbeat to be fair.
    marcbrophy wrote: »
    I think you'd still have the 3 main characters alive by the end of the game, hopefully.

Although for people that you meet along the way? Well, just don't get too attached to them :D

I wonder will they be? Like, the obvious thing to say would be that they have to survive so that you can play with them in freeroam after... but
    John Marston died and was replaced by his son, could we see the same thing happen with Michael and his son?

Standard is €2. Went for the €6.50 option myself to make absolutely sure :D

Same here, always have done for all the big games I want day 1 or even a day early as the case generally is.

I remember getting Gears 3 a day early with a warning in the package that if I played it early I could be banned from Live. Just fired it up anyway.:D

Same here, always have done for all the big games I want day 1 or even a day early as the case generally is.

I remember getting Gears 3 a day early with a warning in the package that if I played it early I could be banned from Live. Just fired it up anyway.:D

In terms of priority dispatch as well we must be near the top of the list cause it only went up for pre order this week :D

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Yeah, but neither could be considered "happy". Shouldn't really need spoilers at this stage, but just for the sake of peace:
    Neither ending could really be described as "the good" ending. I mean, the ending where Kate is killed by Pegorino is undoubtedly the "right" ending because there is no way Niko would've taken that deal, yet for me it was the saddest. I genuinely sat back for a minute or two after the wedding cutscene and was like... "fuccck...". The other ending Niko's only family in America was killed, so you could hardly call that a happy ending either.

Even take the DLCs, TLAD ends with the destruction of the clubhouse and the gang, TBOGT ends slightly more upbeat to be fair.

I wonder will they be? Like, the obvious thing to say would be that they have to survive so that you can play with them in freeroam after... but
    John Marston died and was replaced by his son, could we see the same thing happen with Michael and his son?

Yeah, looking back, they weren't the happiest of endings at all. Guess I only remembered the good stuff :)

It's quite possible that 1 or all of the characters might not make it to the end. But if it was based on decisions that you made through the game, I'd like that. Rather than a pre-determined story by the writers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

You guys are a bad influence. Game ordered from Gamesnash and worked booked off for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wonder will PC users be getting all this special edition in game stuff included for free?

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Just to clarify this: :)

Our standard post is €2.00 for a single game / it could be €3.50 if there were multiple games in an order. Standard post has approx a 95% rate for next day delivery particularily in major urban areas with a daily delivery service.

The express delivery option is €6.00 and ships either via Nightline couriers or An Post express post service for delivery next day (guaranteeing release day delivery)

We will be aiming to ship on Monday 16th but as always will react to any moves by our competitors to ship earlier. If they do we do but please do not place orders assuming we will get it to you early. That could have us shut down :D We respect the release date the publishers have given on this! That said we can of course prioritise boards orders for early picking / in the first bags processed (and shipped whatever day that is ;)) so drop me a PM with your order number or mention being a boardsie in the orders comments and we will label your order for priority picking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I've never pre ordered a game online but I might put one in on Gamesnash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭Passenger

Is Gamesnash also selling the Special Edition? I only see the standard edition release on the website. For €54 too, which seems like a good deal. Thanks guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Why are games €55-60 on release these days?

What happened to all games being €50 like they always are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

1ZRed wrote: »

Game retailers annual conference 2011.

Greedy4.jpg

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

RRP has always been €59 - €69 for big titles.

In the past suicidally heavy discounting amongst retailers has created an artificial view that games are / should always be cheaper. That discounting was a big part of the collapse of Game and HMV in particular whom it was cheaper for us to buy off than off the publishers. GTAV will be costing us well over €50.00 to buy in for example. The reasons behind the discounting and lack of or less of it now I've mentioned before here so won't drag this off topic by going into it on the thread for the greatest game of this generation !

Passenger wrote: »
    Is Gamesnash also selling the Special Edition? I only see the standard edition release on the website. For €54 too, which seems like a good deal. Thanks guys.

We haven't been able to secure stock of it but are still trying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Keno 92 wrote: »
    I've never pre ordered a game online but I might put one in on Gamesnash.
    I'm in the same boat. Always bought games like this in Tesco at midnight but my local Tesco aren't 24 hour anymore. Might as well get a pre order in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Are you able to cancel a preorder with Gamestop?

Gamesnash are great if anyones considering using them.

Even using standard post in the past they always get new games to me on release day. Great customer service as well.

RRP has always been €59 - €69 for big titles.

In the past suicidally heavy discounting amongst retailers has created an artificial view that games are / should always be cheaper. That discounting was a big part of the collapse of Game and HMV in particular whom it was cheaper for us to buy off than off the publishers. GTAV will be costing us well over €50.00 to buy in for example. The reasons behind the discounting and lack of or less of it now I've mentioned before here so won't drag this off topic by going into it on the thread for the greatest game of this generation !

We haven't been able to secure stock of it but are still trying.

Feck it. Was gonna wait it out to see if a PS4 version would come but I'll just get it. Sure it'll pass two months before it comes out anyway.

Think I'll pre-order from ye lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Feck it. Was gonna wait it out to see if a PS4 version would come but I'll just get it. Sure it'll pass two months before it comes out anyway.

Think I'll pre-order from ye lads

If it only passes 2 months, you're playing it wrong. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,658 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I think he meant until the PS4 comes out

I know, if only the PS4 was BC! :/