Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Christ I'm ****ting it!

• 23-10-2011 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭

Ok, heres what happened

I'm on co-op in Ballina Mayo but I live in Tipp. I was home for the weekend and was on the connecting train from Manulla Junction to Ballina, a 30 minute journey.

Things started to get weird about ten minutes from Ballina

The train was fairly empty and I was occupying a seat with no-one around me apart from a lady in her early 40s in the seats across from me.

Then this guy, black hair, shaggy and unshaven wearing a chequered shirt and carrying a supervalu shopping bag makes his way down the carriage towards us and sits in the seat next to the woman.

He's about 20 or 21 and carrying a small can of Guinness. At first I thought he was just drunk but it was when he started to ask the woman for a lighter things got even weirder.

She didn't have one and neither did I. I thought upon finding this out he'd take the hint and leave the woman alone but instead he sat there trying to make weird small talk.

I looked over and noticed a white powder dripping out of his nose. He was clearly on coke.

Then things started getting even weirder.

He took a €50 note from the shopping bag and wiped the coke off his nose with it. He then took a box of Butlers chocolates out of the bag and tried to give it to the woman who politely refused. It was clear at this stage how uncomfortable she was but I decided not to intervene given we were nearly in Ballina and he wasn't being aggressive, more weird.

He took what must have been at least €1,500 in crumpled up 50s out of his shopping bag and started to carelessly count them on the table. By the end of the counting there was about €400 on the floor around him which he picked up and stuffed back in the bag. Just before we got into Ballina he started offering me and the woman a fifty each which we both declined. Then he said he was leaving a 50 on the seat for the "bus driver".

We got off the train and watched him walk across the road to Paddy Jordans pub where he started to try and talk to an old man on the phone at the door. I presumed that he would be set straight in the pub and started walking up the road behind the train station to my flat.

The flat is about half a mile up the road. the road is a cul de sac after about a mile and never busy aswell as being dark.

Usually I get a taxi but considering it wasn't raining and I didn't have much luggage I decided to walk home.

On the way I rang my girlfriend to tell her about the drugged up man on the train. Still on the phone chatting to her about 100 yards from my landladies house (my flats out the back) I turned around around to see the man from the train about 100 yards behind jogging after me in the midddle of the road.

I immediately shat myself six ways to Sunday and hung up the phone. When he noticed I'd spotted him he stopped running.

I sprinted around the bend and into the lane-way of the house. I got into my flat and locked the door and have been sitting here ****ting it since!

Rang the landlady to warn her too by the way

Was anyone else on the Heuston to Westport train this evening and did they notice this guy? The first time I saw him was when he came down the woman on the connecting train to Ballina.

Genuinely terrified and doubt I'll sleep. Sorry if the story of what happened isn't written very well but I've been typing in a hurry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Could be on a cocktail of drugs. His behaviour sounded more like he was on yoks. Could have been MDMA powder on his nose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Its not F*ckin scarface your in for f*ck sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Why don't you phone the local gardaí and tell them the story. The chap sounds like he's a danger to himself or others, and people in the neighbourhood might not be in the habit of locking their doors. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Why don't you phone the local gardaí and tell them the story. The chap sounds like he's a danger to himself or others, and people in the neighbourhood might not be in the habit of locking their doors. :(

Done!

I wouldn't get the guards involved. He has a load of money and drugs. If he is done for it he knows where you live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

He was probably running after you to offer you more money. You shoulda stayed put.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Artur Foden

Update the post in the morning, if you don't we will assume you have been murdered and will get the guards over to yer gaff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

was there some acid involved before your train journey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

You usually get a taxi for a half a mile? Jesus.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Em, you could've got €50 out of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

I expected a big finish to that story after reading it all. I'm disappointed and your easily frightened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Why didn't you take €50 off him? Wish I had come across him.

woodoo wrote: »
    I wouldn't get the guards involved. He has a load of money and drugs. If he is done for it he knows where you live.

He wasn't scummy though

I even got the vibe that he was very camp

I remember he told the woman he was a student nurse too

He was also fairly weedy

That still didn't make me less scared when I saw him running after me though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

woodoo wrote: »

I would imagine that they would either just tidy him up off the street, or preferably keep him a few days to find out what the story is with him. Either way he sounds so out of it that I doubt he would be able to find his way to the OP's residence again.

The saying goes something like this... "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing".

He offered you a 50 and you said no?

Bah!

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    You usually get a taxi for a half a mile? Jesus.

I usually have a lot of heavy luggage and shopping and it's often pissing rain in Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

To be honest, he probably thought he was just being friendly, even though it didn't come across that way. He's probably forgotten about you by this stage and off trying to make new friends. Just keep your door locked and it should be okay.

I haven't seen too many people on coke give away money :D

Must have been on something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

I would have invited him back to the flat. Shovel in to the back of his skull.
    Take the greens and dumped hes ass out side on the road and than phone the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

a lad of his tits scared you
    you have clearly never been in tipp town

Aoifey! wrote: »
    To be honest, he probably thought he was just being friendly, even though it didn't come across that way. He's probably forgotten about you by this stage and off trying to make new friends. Just keep your door locked and it should be okay.

The road behind the train station is very isolated and dark

That's what made it all the weirder

I hate to think where he is now because I wouldn't want him to hurt himself either

Plus it's pissing rain out now and gale force winds

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    He wasn't scummy though

I even got the vibe that he was very camp

He was also fairly weedy

That still didn't make me less scared when I saw him running after me though
    Was it David Norris by any chance?

Norris aint weedy! :D

The road behind the train station is very isolated and dark

That's what made it all the weirder

I hate to think where he is now because I wouldn't want him to hurt himself either

Plus it's pissing rain out now and gale force winds
    You said you called the Gards, right? If so then you've done all you can do, try not to worry too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

bag of yokes party on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

just dont say "hang on Ill be back in a minute" in this thread anywhere

Yeah i'd say he is off rambling to someone else by now. Forget about it. If he was in the state where he is offering strangers free money he won't remember that much tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

You are no James Bond.

Norris aint weedy! :D
    I've no idea what weedy means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

He wanted to give you a hug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

Strange isnt it? Trains always seem to be the spot or place where you meet headbangers. I've some stories let me tell ya.

Strange aul place the trains, I hate them, at least on the bus the driver sees everything and stops. Cant stop a train late at night if someone is stabbin ya.

*shiver*

I've no idea what weedy means.

as in skinny !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Ha I know the guy you're on about.

Cyril is his name. He won the lotto there a couple of years ago. His entire family were killed in a donkey stampede in Snugboro, very lonely ever since. Likes to talk to randomers who he thinks looks kind. He has a skin condition - that would explain the powder. Poor bastard is always giving away money too. Apparently gave 6 grand to the girl behind the counter in Supermacs a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

I honestly would have taken him for all he was offering me and just legged it. Yeah I have no shame etc. but 1500 euro is 1500 euro and better me spending it than some drug addict.

as in skinny !

Lesson Learned Fishhooks, take somebody with you on the train and never go on it alone at night.

I honestly would have taken him for all he was offering me and just legged it. Yeah I have no shame etc. but 1500 euro is 1500 euro and better me spending it than some drug addict.

If I'm being honest if the woman wasn't there I probably would have taken 50 of the dope

I'm a broke student and can barley afford to stay up here as it is (I'm not getting paid)

If he's stupid enough to get drugged up and offer people money I wouldn't have felt guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

It was probably the governor of the central bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Jaysus, you could have taken that bag off him and he'd be none the wiser tomorrow.

Talk to Druggie,
    Rob plastic bag
    ??????
    Profit.

A missed chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Why are you shitting yourself? You're in your own home safe and sound?

kfallon wrote: »
    Why are you shitting yourself? You're in your own home safe and sound?

Because I was followed down a dark road by a deranged drugged up stranger that's why!

If I'm being honest if the woman wasn't there I probably would have taken 50 of the dope

I'm a broke student and can barley afford to stay up here as it is (I'm not getting paid)

If he's stupid enough to get drugged up and offer people money I wouldn't have felt guilty

He's not a dope. He is a human being with troubles who needs help. Not everyone is as graced as we are. There was a time when his Mother sat him on her knee and loved him more than anything in the world, use this image and perhaps your view of him as a horrid creature of the night may ( we can only hope ) diminish.

Nobody is beyond Redemption.

Jammy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Between you and Duggy, some serious television could be made.

Keep us informed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Probably just a junked out dealer, i wouldn't worry to much about it, you did right by refusing the money and running away from him, he may have been looking for somewhere to stay.

Scumbags.

He's not a dope. He is a human being with troubles who needs help. Not everyone is as graced as we are. There was a time when his Mother sat him on her knee and loved him more than anything in the world, use this image and perhaps your view of him as a horrid creature of the night may ( we can only hope ) diminish.

Nobody is beyond Redemption.

Jammy

Never called him a "horrible creature" but given how much he freaked me out and the fact that he freaked out some poor woman on the train as well as myself I don't exactly have too much sympathy for him

I doubt anyone forced him to take drugs. Everyone has problems in life but we don't all get ****ed up on the 7pm to Westport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Ha I know the guy you're on about.

Cyril is his name. He won the lotto there a couple of years ago. His entire family were killed in a donkey stampede in Snugboro, very lonely ever since. Likes to talk to randomers who he thinks looks kind. He has a skin condition - that would explain the powder. Poor bastard is always giving away money too. Apparently gave 6 grand to the girl behind the counter in Supermacs a few weeks ago.

http://i.imgur.com/PfSHE.png

Never called him a "horrible creature" but given how much he freaked me out and the fact that he freaked out some poor woman on the train as well as myself I don't exactly have too much sympathy for him
    To be fair, all he did was offer you money and try to make conversation. I doubt he meant any harm or intended to "freak you out" at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

A quick google search for "snugboro donkey stampede" yielded 3 results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Because I was followed down a dark road by a deranged drugged up stranger that's why!

So you wouldn't fancy your chances against some weedy, skinny fella who is so out of it he prob couldn't be capable of throwing a dig???

I doubt anyone forced him to take drugs. Everyone has problems in life but we don't all get ****ed up on the 7pm to Westport

Nope Nobody did, perhaps he resorted to it because of his parents abandoning or abusing him either mentally or physically in all ways. Pshychologically messed up and he chose drugs as a means to try and escape a reality he really can not. I've sympathy for people like that, but they'll still get a wee bop on the head if they try anything.

Really wish we could do something about it and get him sorted but I guess we people in society are too busy with other things I guess.

Aoifey! wrote: »
    To be fair, all he did was offer you money and try to make conversation. I doubt he meant any harm or intended to "freak you out" at all.

I don't think he did either and If I was to say why I thought he was following me I'd guess he wanted a place to stay

In saying that it was still very scary turning around on a deserted road to see a guy running after you

Especially when you know he's on drugs and acting UN-predictably

Hope he's ok tbh