Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weird laws

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

it's illegal to reverse out of your driveway

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

But it's not illegal to shoot an unarmed traveller in the back & kill him as he's walking away from you.

In fact, it's hardly even frowned upon.

On the contrary, such an act would certainly be illegal, although I have never heard of anything exactly like you describe happening in Ireland.

Have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

shannie wrote: »
    And should stay that way unless the pregnancy was caused by rape any other form of sexual assualt.

This doesnt make sense.

If foetus = baby why should anyone -even a rape victim be allowed to kill a baby ?

If foetus /=/ baby why should a woman -even if shes not a rape victim be denied the right to choose to do what she wants with her own body ?

And from a practical standpoint its unworkable unless one can come up with a system which can reliably determine the veracity or otherwise of all rape claims within nine months.
    biko wrote: »
    The Tippling Act of 1735 prohibits a publican from pursuing a customer for money owed for any drink given on credit.

I believe there is something similar in relation to gambling debts.

In both instances there may have been method to the madness in that it strongly disencentivised publicans from offering drink on credit ?
    faceman wrote: »
    We had a witchcraft law for a long time that was only quashed in 2006. It basically said that if anyone practiced witchcraft or pretend to practice witchcraft shall be imprisoned for 1 year.

Given that the definition of witchcraft included astrology perhaps the repeal of this legislation was somewhat hasty and ill considered ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    On the contrary, such an act would certainly be illegal, although I have never heard of anything exactly like you describe happening in Ireland.

Have you?

Yes. In 2004, a farmer from Mayo shot a traveller who was trespassing on his farm, injuring him.

When he fell to the ground, the farmer walked up to him, stood over him & shot him again from close range, killing him.

After an appeal & a re-trial, the farmer walked free.

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

Yes. In 2004, a farmer from Mayo shot a traveller who was trespassing on his farm, injuring him.

When he fell to the ground, the farmer walked up to him, stood over him & shot him again from close range, killing him.

where as if he had let him get up, said traveller would have considered his life of crime and turned over a new leaf............or more likely come back angrier and with his brother-cousins in tow.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,475 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

121 km/h on Irish roads is illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

also...apparently, if you're from Trinity, you are allowed to wear a suit of armour and wield a sword.

Ah, the old demand a mug of beer and a cake during an exam story

This was going around Cambridge and Oxford in the Readers Digest twenty years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I have a book on old Irish Brehon laws.These are two that caught my eye.

If a youth incites a pig by shouting at it for sport, and the pig charges at idlers in the farmyard, the pig is exempt from liability for injuries.

If a woman makes an assignation with a man to come to her in a bed or behind a bush, the man is not considered guilty even if she screams.
    If she has not agreed to a meeting, however, he is guilty as soon as she screams.

We were a bit bonkers back then by the looks of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Ste_D

Thats an incredibly biased view of what happened. The court found in the farmers favour with good reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

if you get married, charles has to have a poke at her before you do:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

if you get married, charles has to have a poke at her before you do:eek:

Hi, I'm Charles, (well only if she's good looking):D

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

Bunreacht Na hÉireann - Article 40 , paragraph 2 subparagraph 2 -"The state shall therefore endeavour to ensure that mothers shall not be obliged by economic necessity to engage in labour to the neglect of THEIR DUTIES IN THE HOME . "

The Irish Government, looking after the lads since 1937.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,845 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

As far as I can remember there is a law stating that any politician going to or from the Dail must not be stopped and get to their appointment by any means necessary.

A garda Told me that, he can do a hit and run if he is late!
    But only if going to the Dáil and they can arrest him after the vote

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,845 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

mikemac wrote: »
    Ah, the old demand a mug of beer and a cake during an exam story

This was going around Cambridge and Oxford in the Readers Digest twenty years ago
    It was the old glass of red wine and then get fined a few days for not wearing your sword story

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

foxyboxer wrote: »
    That only the Queen of England may eat swan.

Why don't you state a REAL law rather than just making one up?

Apparently in Ireland, it's still illegal to get an abortion! :eek:

Abortion should be outlawed in Britain, too.

It's unbelievable that in the early 21st Century women are allowed to kill babies.

Britain has several strange laws which are still on the statute books.

Here are some:

Armour Wearing - It is forbidden for MPs to wear suits of armour in the House of Commons - apparently it hinders the process of duelling. It is also illegal to die in the Houses of Parliament - since anyone dying in Parliament would be legally entitled to a state funeral. And, additionally, the British monarch is forbidden to enter the House of Commons.

Scots Injustice - In the city of York, it is legal to murder a Scotsman within the ancient city walls, but only if he is carrying a crossbow. Except on Sundays when he can wander around with impunity.

Beached Whales - Any whale discovered on the British Coast, must be offered to the Crown. The head belongs to the King and the tail goes to the Queen for use in making her corsets. Unfortunately, corsetry was made using the baleen plates, which are actually found in the head. So this law was of no practical use when launched in the 14th century, but has somehow survived. In reality the Natural History Museum in London is contacted when whales become beached.

Bovine Driving - One may not drive a cow while drunk. The Licensing Act of 1872 explains that operating a cow while intoxicated carries a prison sentence or a £200 fine.

Pelican Touching - Section 23 of the London, Royal and Other Parks & Gardens Regulations of 1977 states that 'Touching a pelican' is expressly forbidden, unless prior written permission is obtained. Presumably from the park, rather than the pelican. (There is a colony of pelicans living in St James's Park in London. They were introduced into the park during King Charles II's reign as a gift from the Russian ambassador).

Pensioner Impersonating - Dressing up as a Chelsea Pensioner is illegal in the UK, due to their status as national treasures.

Hay Carrying - London Taxis must carry a bale of hay and a sack of oats. The London Hackney Carriage Laws changed little since their introduction. The oats and hay were for the horse, not the driver. Disputes have often arisen, and some firms did manufacture tiny bales of hay, so that taxi drivers could remain within the law when they first became mechanised. (The act was finally repealed in 1976).

Stamp Inverting - It is an act of treason to stick a stamp bearing the British Monarch upside down (or to tear it).

Mince Pie Imbibing - Eating mince pies on December 25th is illegal.

Unlicensed Alien Invasion - Magistrates are permitted to use 'reasonable force' to prevent an alien invasion of the UK - as long as the aliens don't possess a licence to invade. From section 9 of The Outer Space Act 1986. One senses they had too much time on their hands in 1986.

The Royal Pet's Fidelity - A law passed during the reign of George I states that: "The severest penalties will be suffered by any commoner who doth permit his animal to have carnal knowledge of a pet of the Royal house." Bear that in mind if you run into any royal corgis up the local park.

http://www.inlondonguide.co.uk/london-by-londoners/blog/2010-blog-entries/strange-british-laws.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Batsy wrote: »
    It's unbelievable that in the early 21st Century women are allowed to kill babies.

Killing babies is a Mans job ?

Mike 1972 wrote: »

Nobody should be allowed to kill babies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    well, it is, unless she wants to help...

Here are some more bizarre and funny British laws:

No cannons or bear-baiting.
    The Metropolitan Police Act of 1839 states that no one, “except persons acting in obedience to lawful authority, may discharge any cannon or other firearm of greater caliber than a common fowling-piece, within 300 yards of any dwelling house, to the annoyance of any inhabitant thereof”.

Under the same Act, those who “keep or use or act in the management of any house, room, pit or other place for the purpose of fighting or baiting lions, bears or other animals” can be fined £2,500.

The Town Police Clauses Act of 1847 threatens a £1,000 fine for hanging washing across the street.
    Beating or shaking carpets, rugs or mats is also illegal. Doormats may be beaten, but not after eight in the morning.

This Act also outlaws the singing of profane or obscene songs or ballads, wantonly discharging firearms, making bonfires, flying kites, sliding on ice or snow, extinguishing a lamp or willfully and wantonly disturbing residents by ringing their doorbells.

It is illegal for two adult men to have sex in the same house as a third person.
    Henry VIII outlawed homosexuality in 1533. "Molly houses" began to appear in England in the late 16th century. These brothels offered gay men a place to have sex, and also catered to sado-masochistic and transvestite tastes. Lawmakers saw molly houses as a threat to public morality. Police monitored the houses to entrap male prostitutes, especially during the 1840’s, as Victorian moral standards rose. Even though (male) homosexuality was legalised in the 1960s (female homosexuality was never outlawed) it remains illegal for two adult men to have sex in the same house as a third person.

Some kind laws towards women.
    In London it is illegal for a man to hit his wife.......... but only after 9pm.

By law it is legal for a pregnant woman to relieve herself anywhere she wishes.

It is illegal to leave your car keys in an unoccupied vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

This is actually a law,Batsy doesn't know his ****.....batsy****

in the UK it's illegal to go round a roundabout more than three times

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

in the UK it's illegal to go round a roundabout more than three times

I think thats the same here, noticed a sign saying that on the way to Shannon airport when I was about 12 and kept askin mam to go back and break the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

isnt there also an old law reagarding running a sibin,
    a well known limerick personality -ahem - runs one from the back of his mothers house and it takes about a few raids at a time before they have enough for court and then when they get there he get a fine of roughly about 28 euro for running it. same place is like proper pub, poker machine -ladies, gents, pool table, we are not just talking about a few beers in a shed. gotta love irish justice

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

KTRIC wrote: »
    In Ireland you are allowed to rape children and pay off their families with church and state money. Also steal millions from the banks and the state will also cover you. Sounds great :rolleyes:

True, but after I read your post I noticed.......
    mackg wrote: »
    surprised it took 5 posts.

The head in the sand brigade arrived soon after it.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭User Named

If U ever watch any royal ceremonies or comedy shows such as Mock the Week, it's hard to not of heard about this REAL law before Batsy

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭User Named

If U ever watch any royal ceremonies or comedy shows such as Mock the Week, it's hard to not of heard about this REAL law before Batsy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭mikeyboy

Only applies to unmarked mute swans and the right is shared with the fellows of St John's College Cambridge
    Ellis Dee wrote: »
    No, it is not a valid term. The correct word is "onanist".:):):)

Should one who engages in ahem, "self abuse" really be described as an "onanist" given that the context of Onan's punishment was that he spilt his seed upon the ground after marrying Tamar and failing to give her offspring which would suggest that he was engaging in coitus interruptus rather than masturbation.

Birdie086 wrote: »
    isnt there also an old law reagarding running a sibin,
    a well known limerick personality -ahem - runs one from the back of his mothers house and it takes about a few raids at a time before they have enough for court and then when they get there he get a fine of roughly about 28 euro for running it.
    they were fined about ~ €62.70 or whatever the euro equivalent of fifty quid

you used to be able to drive home on your own after failing a driving test