Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Scumbags let off Scot Free -Daily Grind here

• 13-10-2011 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭

This happens everyday here,

The victim in this instance pleaded for leniency on the attackers. (probably afraid they would come back again. Little Runts

As you can see from the photos in the article the little runts obviously dont give a flying f*

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/pensioner-pictured-after-beating-by-two-men-as-60-teenagers-stood-by-2904454.html
    THIS is the horrifically battered face of a grandfather who was viciously assaulted by two men as sixty teenagers watched.

The attack they witnessed occurred when Michael Leech (71) waited to collect his wife from bingo.

But many of their parents refused to allow the children to speak to gardai or identify the culprits who attacked Mr Leech outside the community centre in Athea, Co Limerick.

Garda Gerard Griffin, who investigated the attack on Mr Leech in 2008, said that in his 32 years of service he had never come across anything like what he encountered following the assault.

He had to visit the homes of some of the 60 witnesses five or six times to establish the truth as their parents refused to allow their children talk to him.

The victim's wife, Kit, died a year after the assault and Mr Leech's family believe the assault on her husband accelerated her death.

Commended

Passing sentence on three of the young men involved in the incident in Limerick Circuit Criminal Court yesterday, Judge Carroll Moran praised the officers who investigated the attack.

The judge said they had to be commended for a "very thorough investigation" in the circumstances where they were given very little co-operation and faced a stone wall from many who were present.

Charlie Murphy (22), of Hillside Drive, Athea, Co Limerick, and Mark Murphy (21), of Lisselton, Co Kerry, avoided a jail sentence after their victim pleaded for leniency.

Mr Leech, who moved to Athea 32 years ago from London, said he did not want to see them imprisoned. Both men -- who are not related -- pleaded guilty to assault causing harm to Mr Leech on October 31, 2008, and received suspended prison sentences of two years.

A third man, Nigel Brouder (21), of Coole West, Athea, received the probation act after he admitted engaging in threatening and abusive behaviour during the same incident.

Mr Leech received a broken nose, black eyes, bruising and lacerations to his face and lost teeth after he confronted teenagers throwing bangers at cars in Athea on the Halloween night.

The judge said he was "badly beaten" in a street melee involving 60 youths on a dark night. He said the victim endured a serious beating and suffered serious consequential injuries, which could be seen from the photographs.

He commended Mr Leech for his "extraordinary charitable position" to his assailants.

Both attackers shook hands with their victim before leaving court.

Good Job Judge! Good Job. What about imposing a sentence anyway.

'Ah no its cool man we shook his hand n all' .......................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Another point in the case for vigilantism! Hurrah! Maybe...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

Scumbags can do what they like in this country, just like the rich can. Ordinary Joe is the one who gets screwed by the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

listermint wrote: »
    This happens everyday here,

The victim in this instance pleaded for leniency on the attackers. (probably afraid they would come back again. Little Runts

As you can see from the photos in the article the little runts obviously dont give a flying f*

Good Job Judge! Good Job. What about imposing a sentence anyway.

'Ah no its cool man we shook his hand n all' .......................

:confused: he asked the judge to go easy, why would you assume it's out of fear? it's his choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

godscop wrote: »
    Scumbags can do what they like in this country, just like the rich can. Ordinary Joe is the one who gets screwed by the system.

Talk to Joe.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Garda Gerard Griffin, who investigated the attack on Mr Leech in 2008, said that in his 32 years of service he had never come across anything like what he encountered following the assault.

He had to visit the homes of some of the 60 witnesses five or six times to establish the truth as their parents refused to allow their children talk to him

Shame on the people in this community. They come across as a pack of cowards. I feel for the decent people in the area who are forced to put up with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The garda must be wondering why he even bothered
    All that work and little achieved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Talk to Joe.........

im talking to your ould one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Fair play to the Auld lad for showing some compassion.

The two litlle Bastids could learn something from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

:confused: he asked the judge to go easy, why would you assume it's out of fear? it's his choice.

Its Limerick.... Those little gob****es would be back around at his door. Or their families.

Thats how it goes.

Compassion my arse..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

lastlaugh wrote: »

I doubt they will though. :(

Their friends have all learned you can beat the tar out of vulnerable man and even if they manage to catch you, and then manage to convict you, you still walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Shame on the people in this community. They come across as a pack of cowards. I feel for the decent people in the area who are forced to put up with them.
    i wouldn't worry about it, it doesn't sound like there are many (if any) 'decent' people in that area from the trouble the garda had finding out the truth of what happened.

bring on the flaming torches and pitchforks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Absolutely disgusting. Just another breed of scumbag.
    The investigating Gard was brilliant, the parents should be ashamed of themselves.

Its Limerick.... Those little gob****es would be back around at his door. Or their families.

Thats how it goes.

Compassion my arse..

Feckin Limerick, why can't it be more like the sprawling peaceful metropolis of Dublin :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Thats how it goes.

that's how what goes? you have personal experience with this kind of situation do you?

and it's limerick city that has a reputation, this is limerick county, but sure let's just make assumptions all over the place shall we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Thats how it goes.

Compassion my arse..

The lads are both early 20's, the teenagers were witnesses.

Do you read what gets you irate or are you just set off by keywords like "Limerick"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

lastlaugh wrote: »

No, all they learn is they can beat the f*ck out of someone and get away with little consequence, free to do it again the next time someone confronts them.
    I'm no fan of the gardaí but I feel for them when they go through all the rigmarole of putting a charge to these c*nts only for it to lead to suspended sentences.
    This isn't an isolated case either...suspended sentences in assault cases are all too common... you get more time for crime agianst property (theft burglarly etc) as far as I can see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

godscop wrote: »

The bottom and top levels of society are where the real scum are. (Not tarring them all with one brush). You wanna keep yourself in the middle. That's where it's at! :D

From Robinson Crusoe:
    My father, a wise and grave man, gave me serious and excellent counsel against what he foresaw was my design. He called me one morning into his chamber, where he was confined by the gout, and expostulated very warmly with me upon this subject. He asked me what reasons, more than a mere wandering inclination, I had for leaving father's house and my native country, where I might be well introduced, and had a prospect of raising my fortune by application and industry, with a life of ease and pleasure. He told me it was men of desperate fortunes on one hand, or of aspiring, superior fortunes on the other, who went abroad upon adventures, to rise by enterprise, and make themselves famous in undertakings of a nature out of the common road; that these things were all either too far above me or too far below me; that mine was the middle state, or what might be called the upper station of low life, which he had found, by long experience, was the best state in the world, the most suited to human happiness, not exposed to the miseries and hardships, the labour and sufferings of the mechanic part of mankind, and not embarrassed with the pride, luxury, ambition, and envy of the upper part of mankind. He told me I might judge of the happiness of this state by this one thing-viz. that this was the state of life which all other people envied; that kings have frequently lamented the miserable consequence of being born to great things, and wished they had been placed in the middle of the two extremes, between the mean and the great; that the wise man gave his testimony to this, as the standard of felicity, when he prayed to have neither poverty nor riches.

He bade me observe it, and I should always find that the calamities of life were shared among the upper and lower part of mankind, but that the middle station had the fewest disasters, and was not exposed to so many vicissitudes as the higher or lower part of mankind; nay, they were not subjected to so many distempers and uneasinesses, either of body or mind, as those were who, by vicious living, luxury, and extravagances on the one hand, or by hard labour, want of necessaries, and mean or insufficient diet on the other hand, bring distemper upon themselves by the natural consequences of their way of living; that the middle station of life was calculated for all kind of virtue and all kind of enjoyments; that peace and plenty were the handmaids of a middle fortune; that temperance, moderation, quietness, health, society, all agreeable diversions, and all desirable pleasures, were the blessings attending the middle station of life; that this way men went silently and smoothly through the world, and comfortably out of it, not embarrassed with the labours of the hands or of the head, not sold to a life of slavery for daily bread, nor harassed with perplexed circumstances, which rob the soul of peace and the body of rest, nor enraged with the passion of envy, or the secret burning lust of ambition for great things; but, in easy circumstances, sliding gently through the world, and sensibly tasting the sweets of living, without the bitter; feeling that they are happy, and learning by every day's experience to know it more sensibly,

Can't argue with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Wertz wrote: »
    No, all they learn is they can beat the f*ck out of someone and get away with little consequence, free to do it again the next time someone confronts them.
    I'm no fan of the gardaí but I feel for them when they go through all the rigmarole of putting a charge to these c*nts only for it to lead to suspended sentences.
    This isn't an isolated case either...suspended sentences in assault cases are all too common... you get more time for crime agianst property (theft burglarly etc) as far as I can see...

Unfortunately the 2 guys may have violent reputations and parents of the witnesses may have worried for their kids safety.

It's an unfortunate truth that an established criminal element in a community can have a lot of power over people.

A judicial system that appears to be soft on assault isn't helping anything either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They should give Garda free reins for a months to clean up Limerick and Dublin, no questions asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

biko wrote: »
    They should give Garda free reins for a months to clean up Limerick and Dublin, no questions asked.

Something like a 'Special Scumbag Snatch-squad unit'?

You could be onto something there!

biko wrote: »

Yep, we can throw them into all the virtually empty prisons we have......oh........wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Unfortunately the 2 guys may have violent reputations and parents of the witnesses may have worried for their kids safety.

It's an unfortunate truth that an established criminal element in a community can have a lot of power over people.

A judicial system that appears to be soft on assault isn't helping anything either.

Yeah I'm not going to roll in and criticise parents for not letting their teen make a statement...the threat of reprisal and intimidation means it's not worth it. Terrible but that's how it is in some places.

But I'd be of the opinion here that the victim shouldn't have been allowed input into sentencing...that should be down to the judge IMO.
    Maybe the old fella got intimidated himself or regretted making initial statements...at that stage it was down to the DPP and the judge and should have been left to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Least you can smile knowing they will probably end up dead before they are 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

If my kids beat up an old man or had any part in something like that then I'd march them to the Gardai myself, not a hope in hell would I protect them from the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

It's kind of hard to balance this case (beat an OAP senseless - walk off scott free) with this :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056415916

I think people should remember both of these cases on referendum day.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0727/1224301448082.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Who's Scot Free? maybe he was innocent the whole time! Well done scumbags!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

the legal system (Gardai and judges) just arent bothering any more, they know that once a scumbag, always a scumbag.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

The Telly teaches it's good to be bad and the rest is superfluous commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Morlar wrote: »
    It's kind of hard to balance this case (beat an OAP senseless - walk off scott free) with this :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056415916

I think people should remember both of these cases on referendum day.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0727/1224301448082.html

What does this have to do with the referendum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Both attackers shook hands with their victim before leaving court.

Seems fair.

The victim who was fully aware of the situation, who knows the full shtory, not some furious internet posters looking for a bogey man, one day it's the polish, the next it's gays, now it's the welfare class, any excuse to blame someone else and get outraged.

There was some sally on here a few weeks ago ballin over her handbag getting robbed from a parked car in Dublin city, scum this, scum that. No idea what scum is. Try needy, poor and marganilised.

Leftist wrote: »
    There was some sally on here a few weeks ago ballin over her handbag getting robbed from a parked car in Dublin city, scum this, scum that. No idea what scum is. Try needy, poor and marganilised.

If you steal a handbag from a car you are a scumbag. Not 'needy, poor or marginalised' but . . .. Scumbag.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Seems fair.

The victim who was fully aware of the situation, who knows the full shtory, not some furious internet posters looking for a bogey man, one day it's the polish, the next it's gays, now it's the welfare class, any excuse to blame someone else and get outraged.

Welfare Class dripping with jewellery and new clothes carrying six packs and taking everything they can.Overweight full of Dirty habits cursing and swearing on the streets i have little sympathy for them..See them all the time in dublin City Centre.

paddyandy wrote: »
    Welfare Class dripping with jewellery and new clothes carrying six packs and taking everything they can.Overweight full of Dirty habits cursing and swearing on the streets i have little sympathy for them..See them all the time in dublin City Centre.

Now thats a description! ;)

Throw in "inbred" though. Thats always a good'un when describing them!

Seems fair.

Ah! Im needy poor and marginalised so i need to trounce on someones head and kick all of his teeth in. Doesnt really matter that he is an old man and cant really fight back.... its the way i was brought up man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Ouijaboard

Thats how it goes.

Compassion my arse..

Agreed, ...intimidation induced plea for compassion, makes me sick, scumbags probably had a couple of years before it got to court to drill into him that they'd torture him and anyone connected with him if they went down. That is how it works.....can't these fcuking judges read between the lines.

Should've given the bstards 10 years each, and made the families pay for the ould fellas new accommodation elsewhere.

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Feckin Limerick, why can't it be more like the sprawling peaceful metropolis of Dublin :rolleyes:
    that's how what goes? you have personal experience with this kind of situation do you?

and it's limerick city that has a reputation, this is limerick county, but sure let's just make assumptions all over the place shall we.
    The lads are both early 20's, the teenagers were witnesses.

Do you read what gets you irate or are you just set off by keywords like "Limerick"?

Limerick has nothing to do with it really. I was making a jest on the fact that limerick has a reputation. But other posters are clambering to this rather than looking at the real issue are hand.

These 2 jaws are known thugs locally, Why the hell would an OAP go up against them after they already kicked the face off him.

Its clear that anyone involved with the case felt intimidated limerick or not. These 2 tools could have been from the bog of allen for all i care, Whatever the old man said in court shouldnt stand and the judge should have dealt with them properly.

Typical though you see them strolling up to court hard jaws sticking their fingers up at everyone and laughing all they way back out again.

If you steal a handbag from a car you are a scumbag. Not 'needy, poor or marginalised' but . . .. Scumbag.

Nah, it's only a purse, up to people not to be leaving valuables in sights.

Thiefs aren't scum. Rapists are scum. Bit of realism here please, infact it's more obscene the more I think about it.
    paddyandy wrote: »

Major generalisation there but what do you expect from the daily mail brigade. 'they're all the same' and 'what about us poor middle class white people?' is the slogan around here it seems.

Thiefs aren't scum. Rapists are scum.

I am surprised Rapists are not just 'romantically disadvantaged' according to your fcuked up in the head twisted world view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Seems fair.

Polish and gays aren't going around beating up vulnerable old people to get their jollies.

I am surprised Rapists are not just 'romantically disadvantaged' according to your fcuked up in the head twisted world view.

Romantically disadvantaged is quite good. Fair play.

If you categorise thiefs and rapists as scum you are basically categorising them in the same bracket.

It's ridiculous and ignorant. A rape is one of the most vile crimes commitable if not the vilest, robbing some clown's purse from a car to buy heroin to stop yourself from being sick is slightly different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

What sort of message is this?

Kick an old man half to death and walk away scot free??? It shouldn't matter that the old man said to be lenient. These scumbags should be punished severely and the parents of the witnesses should be ashamed of themselves

Thiefs aren't scum. Rapists are scum. Bit of realism here please, infact it's more obscene the more I think about it.

Major generalisation there but what do you expect from the daily mail brigade. 'they're all the same' and 'what about us poor middle class white people?' is the slogan around here it seems.

Sorry mate but anyone who goes around purposefully to make another persons life worse of is a scumbag.

Whos to know that purse didnt have someones months pay in it. SCUMBAG. just because someone leaves something unattended its free game is it ?

We have social welfare for these people the highest social welfare in Europe and yet you say its okay to steal because they are marginalised. Get real.

Its about morality or the lack there off. Scumbags dont have it and have no conscience either .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Sorry mate but anyone who goes around purposefully to make another persons life worse of is a scumbag.

Whos to know that purse didnt have someones months pay in it. SCUMBAG. just because someone leaves something unattended its free game is it ?

We have social welfare for these people the highest social welfare in Europe and yet you say its okay to steal because they are marginalised. Get real.

Its about morality or the lack there off. Scumbags dont have it and have no conscience either .

He obviously wants a scumbag grading system of 1 to 10, but there's no point in anyone wasting valuable time on that.

Nah, disagree with that thesis tbh. If you want to clasify everyone who commits a crime as scumbag then that's your buzz. Couldn't be less arsed trying to change it. Refusing to understand something won't make it go away and only frustrates you.

Robbing someone's purse is not going out of their way to make someone's else life worse either, it's a means to gain quick cash in order to pay off a debt or pay for drugs, most like that he thief is physically addicted to.
    I'd ganer most of the thiefs like this are addicts, the only solution to addicts is long term social regeneration. Not 'locking them all up'. :D sorry, just laughing at the stupidity of the notion tbh.

Nah, disagree with that thesis tbh. If you want to clasify everyone who commits a crime as scumbag then that's your buzz. Couldn't be less arsed trying to change it. Refusing to understand something won't make it go away and only frustrates you.

Robbing someone's purse is not going out of their way to make someone's else life worse either, it's a means to gain quick cash in order to pay off a debt or pay for drugs, most like that he thief is physically addicted to.
    I'd ganer most of the thiefs like this are addicts, the only solution to addicts is long term social regeneration. Not 'locking them all up'. :D sorry, just laughing at the stupidity of the notion tbh.

So if one comes up to your vehicle and takes your stereo and phone say, you realise its a crime, but you dont blame them, you actually understand why they did it? You wouldnt call them a scumbag?

I'm trying to understand what your saying, but its very hard when I (like many others here I'd bet) have been subject to such behaviour.

Right so back to the original case in the first post, These lads kicked the head in of this oul lad for what exactly? Drugs? - Em no Money ? - Em no. Marginally disaffected? - Em no.

Because he gave out to them for throwing bangers at passing cars. They decided to kick his head in.

What would YOU call them ????

So if one comes up to your vehicle and takes your stereo and phone say, you realise its a crime, but you dont blame them, you actually understand why they did it? You wouldnt call them a scumbag?

I'm trying to understand what your saying, but its very hard when I (like many others here I'd bet) have been subject to such behaviour.

Yeah I'd understand why they did it. Obvious really. Doesn't mean I like them but I'm not up for labelling everyone who's commited a crime as scum. Seems daft really.

Oh he's pure scum, he downloads films.

Where does it stop?

I've seen those addicts in town, they cycle about looking in cars, seen them hundreds of times, desperate people. They never just break up cars for no reason. That's more for stupid kids. So you shouldn't be leaving purses in sight. In the middle of north dublin city. bit obv really.

Right so back to the original case in the first post, These lads kicked the head in of this oul lad for what exactly? Drugs? - Em no Money ? - Em no. Marginally disaffected? - Em no.

Because he gave out to them for throwing bangers at passing cars. They decided to kick his head in.

What would YOU call them ????
    Scumbags to be fair. Battering auld lads is just not kosher but we don't know the whole story. Maybe the auld lad came in windmilling. Thought age = strength.

Scumbags to be fair. Battering auld lads is just not kosher but we don't know the whole story. Maybe the auld ladscame in windmilling. Thought age = strength.

The whole story? are you for real? I cant tell at this stage.

There was 1 OAP. Windmilling ? What movies are you watching.

x2 Early twenties hard jaws attacked an OAP and kicked his teeth in leaving him in hospital for weeks when he was just picking his OAP wife from Bingo. She dies within the year of the incident. And your making excuses for them.

Beggars belief mate. You have a sadistic grading system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Leftist wrote:
    So you shouldn't be leaving purses in sight. In the middle of north dublin city. bit obv really.

I suppose you also think the old man shouldn't have let himself be seen outside the bingo hall?