How long does it take for a Garda to come to the front desk in Store St?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I was being sarcastic :rolleyes:

I read that post, and I have no problem with it as long as no problems arose later in regards to details being lost....

That was my post. I often wonder if I went into the station tomorrow and waited at the desk and asked a bard to pull it up on pulse would the report be there.

It just seemed really really unofficial and unprofessional to me at the time. Actually increibly strange. I was looking at your man with sugar on his cheek thinking is this for real??

Edit. Wonder if I paid €6.50 or whatever for a Data protection report would it show?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

I was being sarcastic :rolleyes:

I read that post, and I have no problem with it as long as no problems arose later in regards to details being lost....

Well that is the issue isn't? Chances are something written down on a scrap of paper will get lost. You can't really justify a Garda writing down the details of a crime on a piece of loose paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

amdublin wrote: »
    That was my post. I often wonder if I went into the station tomorrow and waited at the desk and asked a bard to pull it up on pulse would the report be there.

And if it was would you be satisfied?

You post with the presumption it is not and use it against the AGS.

This boils down to the AGS being an easy target for the public, its the same with the Defence Forces. The public have little knowledge of the workings of either because they don't see the work on a daily basis.

They say "them lazy feckers in the army just sit around all day drinking tea and watching TV,wasters the lot of them" They do that yes but in between guard duties, Cash-runs, pre-deployment exercises, range days and general office work.

I imagine its the same in the AGS.

This boils down to the AGS being an easy target for the public, its the same with the Defence Forces. The public have little knowledge of the workings of either because they don't see the work on a daily basis.

They say "them lazy feckers in the army just sit around all day drinking tea and watching TV,wasters the lot of them" They probably do that yes but in between guard duty, Cash-runs, pre-deployment exercises, range days and general office work.

You posted a fair amount of presumptions there yourself :confused:
    (and imagines)

I "wondered" not "presumed"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Oddjob

They say "them lazy feckers in the army just sit around all day drinking tea and watching TV,wasters the lot of them" They do that yes but in between guard duties, Cash-runs, pre-deployment exercises, range days and general office work.

I haven't heard anyone criticise the Army, or the navy or the air force. Apart from you.

You posted a fair amount of presumptions there yourself :confused:
    (and imagines)

I "wondered" not "presumed"

You have said that its an unprofessional practice that this was done.

Yet what if it was logged into the computer?

I wouldn't care if the guard on the front desk wrote my details down on the back of a take-away menu if the details were logged.

Sorry, I posted one presumption relating to you wondering about your details being logged.

Oddjob wrote: »
    I haven't heard anyone criticise the Army, or the navy or the air force. Apart from you.

Good job on reading my post, especially the part were I criticised the DF.

I wouldn't care if the guard on the front desk wrote my details down on the back of a take-away menu if the details were logged.

Sorry, I posted one presumption relating to you wondering about your details being logged.

As well as worrying about whether the crime report got transferred from the slip of paper to the computer, I'd worry about what happens the slip of paper. Does it just get thrown in the waste paper bin? This could be a data protection issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Sempai

Yeah how about a sign there permanently giving information like:

Average wait time is xxxx
    The reason you may have to wait is because of yyyy.
    We apologise for any inconvenience caused, please bear with us.

Ps. I know earlier on someone refuted that they'd ever deign to apologise. Well I'm reiterating that it's needed.

I've never seen this in any dental or doctor's surgery and never received an apology for waiting for 45mins or even up to 6hours in A+E so I certainly wouldn't expect something like this from Gardai.

As for original post, if the person went to report it to a Garda in a station, would that member be allowed to leave his/her post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

This thread is getting more and more stupid by the post, I'm outta here.

Yes, IF being the objective word.

Now if I don't see someone transferring info from the loose sheet of paper or the menu(!!) surely I am justified and entitled to wonder if it ever made it to the computer.

Throw in hearing how busy gards are with people self harming in the station makes me wonder some more about the fate of my little a4 piece of paper :o

Good job on reading my post, especially the part were I criticised the DF.

So in between doing a bit of work, they drink tea and watch TV, and that's not a criticism?

Sempai wrote: »
    I've never seen this in any dental or doctor's surgery and never received an apology for waiting for 45mins or even up to 6hours in A+E so I certainly wouldn't expect something like this from Gardai.

As for original post, if the person went to report it to a Garda in a station, would that member be allowed to leave his/her post?

In A&E you would have been triaged by a nurse. They would give you an estimation of how much time you would have to wait (I've been given apologies about the length of wait too)

So in between doing a bit of work, they drink tea and watch TV, and that's not a criticism?

No,that's called a break.

source wrote: »
    Very incorrect, there is a shift review going on at the moment, Gardai are not looking for more money. Gardai are however looking for a proper shift system at the moment which will allow them a decent work life balance, while providing the proper cover required.

How does every other police force in the world achieve a proper work life balance? We're not re-inventing the wheel here, how about borrowing the shift system from the London met. would that suit you?

Or any other job that involves unsociable hours, I doubt that when you joined the gardai that you thought you'd get evey 2nd weekend off.

How do taxi drivers manage this magical work life balance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

It's obvious that that Garda are currently working under conditions which are inefficient. They shouldn't be required to babysit prisoners and they shouldnt be out checking cars for motor tax. It's a complete waste of resources. When will we ever get a government who will cope on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

This has turned into yet another '' lazy overpaid public servants '' thread, full of posts by people who have never previously posted in the ES forum.

You need to accept that we don't live in a perfect world. I'm a Reserve Garda myself, so I am essentially a civilian who has a unique insight into AGS. Gardai are under resourced; poor uniform, poor vehicles, poor stations etc etc. Gardai are understaffed; according to Govt in 2006 we needed almost 15-16000 Gardai, yet today they tell us we only need 13000 despite an increase in population. Gardai are overworked; between court appearances, files and day to day duties work is just piling up on them.

Bottom line is the individual Gardai are doing their best with the very little they have. Unfortunately, they not only have to deal with the worst of Irish society and life EVERY DAY.. they have to put up with snotty attitudes from people who don't understand that there are no patrol cars available to come out and tell kids to stop kicking a ball off their wall, due to the fact they are securing the scene of a fatal road traffic accident.

Despite all the criticism, I am desperately waiting to apply to join An Garda Siochana as a full time Garda. I'd be proud to work alongside those you all criticise. I've said all I've had to say in this thread!

eroo wrote: »
    This has turned into yet another '' lazy overpaid public servants '' thread, full of posts by people who have never previously posted in the ES forum.

You need to accept that we don't live in a perfect world. I'm a Reserve Garda myself, so I am essentially a civilian who has a unique insight into AGS. Gardai are under resourced; poor uniform, poor vehicles, poor stations etc etc. Gardai are understaffed; according to Govt in 2006 we needed almost 15-16000 Gardai, yet today they tell us we only need 13000 despite an increase in population. Gardai are overworked; between court appearances, files and day to day duties work is just piling up on them.

Bottom line is the individual Gardai are doing their best with the very little they have. Unfortunately, they not only have to deal with the worst of Irish society and life EVERY DAY.. they have to put up with snotty attitudes from people who don't understand that there are no patrol cars available to come out and tell kids to stop kicking a ball off their wall, due to the fact they are securing the scene of a fatal road traffic accident.

Despite all the criticism, I am desperately waiting to apply to join An Garda Siochana as a full time Garda. I'd be proud to work alongside those you all criticise.

All fair points.

What do you think of a Garda apologising to the public who are waiting at the counter when they finally appear? This doesn't put a further drain on resources does it?

Despite all the criticism, I am desperately waiting to apply to join An Garda Siochana as a full time Garda. I'd be proud to work alongside those you all criticise.

Fair play.

But you could help yourself make conditions better:
    Don't jot things on loose pieces of paper (it doesn't really inspire confidence), at a minimum use a notebook.
    Would be better if you can somehow generate change, so that you that you skip the jotting down and go straight to computer.
    Apologise if someone is waiting a long time (good manners doesn't cost anything).
    Set expectations with people of how long they could have to wait, a sign could be the answer/an option to consider.
    Get your shift pattern in line with modern forces all over the world eg. Copy the London model.

There is so much things you could at least "try" instead of responding (as some have already in the thread) : "that's unworkable".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Have waited over ten minutes in Ballyfermot

It's a nice modern station, however....
    The walls have writing and are marked by little scrotes.
    If you can get away with graffiti in a garda station you can do it anywhere I suppose

I've had to call down a few times for various issues and there is almost always a few men there looking for getting forms stamped to declare vehicles off the road.
    Maybe take this off the gardaí and give it to a revenue officer in motor tax.
    Gardaí don't need to stamping forms for motor tax

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Look at the list of priorities at every General Election you'll find your explanation there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Eroo: This was not my intention when starting the thread. My OH and I are both public servants and I am well aware how much grief the public can cause! I didn't post the thread in the Dublin forum (for obvious reasons!).

I have been lucky as a civilian to have had a guided tour of a busy working Boston police station by my cousin some time ago and have seen some of the stuff which goes on in the station over a 2 hour period....light years ahead of Dublin City Centre I'm sure, as their guy on the front desk was welcoming in a boyscout troop to give them a station tour whilst a cop car was bringing in a prisoner.......not something I anticipate seeing here in the future, if my experience is anything to go by!

I wish you well in your future career. One of our Grandfathers was a serving member and the big lesson I have learnt is to ring 999 outside if I see a crime being commited outside a garda station in future ;)
    Bullseye1 wrote: »
    It's obvious that that Garda are currently working under conditions which are inefficient. They shouldn't be required to babysit prisoners and they shouldnt be out checking cars for motor tax. It's a complete waste of resources. When will we ever get a government who will cope on.

I agree.......crazy stuff!!!!!

I'm probably a bit older than some on here but I was raised to have the utmost respect for the Gardai, I never had any problem with them when I was younger, but I always knew that my parents would kill me if I was ever brought home by a guard. No questions asked. I got older and all my interactions were motor tax renewals, passports etc.

Flashforward until the last ten years, I've made two statements to Gardai for incidents I've witnessed, said I'd attend court if needed, never heard anything since, so I have no idea what happened.

I've had the same level of interaction in stations for form filling etc, but the attitude has started to harden, it's what the **** do you want? It's smart comments, it's like everything is a bother.

On the street, on the rare times I interact with gardai, it's the same. It's an attitude. If I'm walking along the street and I nod at one, it's what the **** do you want, or you get ignored.

Yet I see the news and I see them looking for witnesses for various crimes and I think, why the **** would I bother?

If I witnessed a mugging tonight, I call to my local station tomorrow, I wait for 20 minutes and the Guard responsible is not there, he'll ring you tomorrow, he never does, you can bother calling back, and he's not there, and he'll ring you...........

And you think, why do I bother?

The last interaction I had with the gardai was when someone was being arrested and I was passing by, I stopped to watch and a guard walked over and stared and then shouted what the **** do you want?

When I was younger I used to think it was an odd Guard that was a prick, now I think the opposite.

I'm probably a bit older than some on here but I was raised to have the utmost respect for the Gardai, I never had any problem with them when I was younger, but I always knew that my parents would kill me if I was ever brought home by a guard. No questions asked. I got older and all my interactions were motor tax renewals, passports etc.

Flashforward until the last ten years, I've made two statements to Gardai for incidents I've witnessed, said I'd attend court if needed, never heard anything since, so I have no idea what happened.

I've had the same level of interaction in stations for form filling etc, but the attitude has started to harden, it's what the **** do you want? It's smart comments, it's like everything is a bother.

On the street, on the rare times I interact with gardai, it's the same. It's an attitude. If I'm walking along the street and I nod at one, it's what the **** do you want, or you get ignored.

Yet I see the news and I see them looking for witnesses for various crimes and I think, why the **** would I bother?

If I witnessed a mugging tonight, I call to my local station tomorrow, I wait for 20 minutes and the Guard responsible is not there, he'll ring you tomorrow, he never does, you can bother calling back, and he's not there, and he'll ring you...........

And you think, why do I bother?

The last interaction I had with the gardai was when someone was being arrested and I was passing by, I stopped to watch and a guard walked over and stared and then shouted what the **** do you want?

When I was younger I used to think it was an odd Guard that was a prick, now I think the opposite.

This makes me sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I confess, the unbelievably terrible suggestion that the public should play vigilante rather than attempt to avail of the neighbouring station - made by a serving member of AGS at the start of this thread, and then reinforced by another - stopped a few regular lurkers like myself in their tracks.

It's not unreasonable to wonder why there are no guards available to attend an incident happening essentially under the nose of a station, although some good justification and explanation has been offered on this count since, which is all the OP was actually asking for.

We're encouraged from birth to seek Gardai assistance from in such situations, so to turn around and declare sniffily that people should know better than to look for an actual guard and phone instead is naturally going to get people's back up. Because they/we have no reason to know better - this advice is not commonly circulated, the reasons for it are not common knowledge, and it's hugely counterintuitive.

It will also get people's back up to aggressively dismiss out of hand the possibility of a cursory "Sorry for the delay folks, had to attend to something else" which strikes me as basic bloody manners for anybody in any profession anywhere tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Paulzx

After 145 posts i've established all the solutions to our policing problems.

1- Loads of signs in waiting areas of police stations. The more the better.

2- A compulsory "sorry", "please" or "thankyou" in all interactions with the public.

3- Don't write on paper. Maybe write on the desk instead?

Now if only the Minister for Justice or the Commissioner would read this thread and implement the aforementioned policing reforms we'd have the criminals on the run

Paulzx wrote: »

2- A compulsory "sorry", "please" or "thankyou" in all interactions with the public.

Now if only the Minister for Justice or the Commissioner would read this thread and implement the aforementioned policing reforms we'd have the criminals on the run

1. Yes signs would be helpful. Do you not agree?
    2. Would it kill to have a bit of decent manners to acknowledge someones waiting time and to apologise for same?
    3. Don't write on LOOSE sheets of papers. No why would you write on a desk??

There's a million of other solutions for inefficiencies in the gards. These are just three, not ALL.

Paulzx wrote: »

Or shorten it down to showing a bit of respect for the people that you serve.

Feel free to Google the word 'Respect'

Or shorten it down to showing a bit of respect for the people that you serve.

Feel free to Google the word 'Respect'

Feel free to tell a copper because i'm not one

There's a million of other solutions for inefficiencies in the gards. These are just three, not ALL.

I wait with bated breath. The other 3 were such doozies that i'm sure i'll be impressed with the other million