Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long does it take for a Garda to come to the front desk in Store St?

• 09-10-2011 6:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭

I was heading to Bus Aras for an architectural tour via Talbot St this afternoon (2pm) when my OH and I came across a fight between 2 drunken men outside a shop.
    It started to get pretty heavy but what alarmed us was a little boy of about 7 was crying and trying to get the men to stop fighting, meanwhile the rest of the local lowlifes were egging them on.
    As we were right beside store St I popped into the station, rang the bell twice and waited. A young east european girl was also waiting and told me she had been waiting for 10 minutes with no garda attending to the desk! I ended up walking out of the station without seeing a garda.

My questions are: Is this normal in a busy city centre station or is this a result of cutbacks?
    I'm pretty sure the incident could be seen on CCTV in there anyway, but surely members of the public should not be discouraged from reporting incidents to the station!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

This comes as no surprise to be honest. Two weeks ago I was left waiting at the front desk in Finglas for 15 minutes before leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I was in there about 6 years ago when my friend got dipped in a near by hotel during the afternoon, wallet and money all gone. Went to report it and ended up waiting for 30mins with no sign of any staff so we just left. Crazy setup in the middle of the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I've found some stations to be really bad at this and others grand. The Bridewell sticks out as one where they'll come to the desk fairly lively. Might be something to do with proximity to the courts, I dunno. They're quick enough at Pearse Street too, a little tardy at Mountjoy and downright donut-eating at Fitzgibbon.
    This is just my personal experience, though, due to a combination of a particular job I once did and being the victim of a series of crimes :( at one point I was in and out of quite a few stations in a short period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Thankfully I have had very few reasons to visit stations in the past but I was just gobsmacked that nobody was attending, in what is a busy city centre station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Standard operating proceedure as far as I'm concerned for all stations, not just store street.

I waited five mins at my local and I kid you not your man came out wiping sugar off his cheek.

Typical civil servant behaviour imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

I heard of someone standing waiting in a station.

When no guard appeared after 15 mins they rang the station on their mobile. When a guard answered they asked would they come out to the public counter to assist everyone who was waiting!

amdublin wrote: »
    Standard operating proceedure as far as I'm concerned for all stations, not just store street.

I waited five mins at my local and I kid you not your man came out wiping sugar off his cheek.

Typical civil servant behaviour imo.

It did cross my mind it was lunchtime and the kettle might be brewing. bet if I'd jumped up on the counter they would have been out like a shot :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

That bit about the poor child is disturbing, I wonder what type of future that poor boy will have, Absolutely disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭robjones1981

I waited for 27 minutes on one occasion at pearse st

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Alot of things take priority in a station and if there is only one or two Gardai on duty the hatch/front desk sometimes comes last.

Prisoners are the main priority, if 4 or 5 prisoners are detained this will take up a lot of time.

With most prisoners being drunk they have to be checked and roused every 15 mins.

Other prisoners require consultations with solicitors or doctors or require ambulances. Gardai have to be present and supervise all these visits.

Then the phones have to be answered, cctv operated, radios operated and assiatance given to car crews.

Unfortunately signing papers and passports at the front desk takes a low priority.

If you require the Gardai urgently dial 999, these operators have no other jobs to do apart from answer your call. And are in direct contact with car crews.

OP if you had made enough noise or shouted for assistance in the public office somebody would have come out, but then again the Gardai in the staiton looking after prisoners would not have been able to leave the station, or would have been equipped to deal with a fight.

It would have been diverted to the car crew.

Hope this explains what goes on in a Garda Station. And Sundays are a very busy day.

edit.

Oh and being store street i presume they would have 10+ cells maybe even 20 I dont know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Part and parcel of going to any station really, similar situation myself a few weeks ago, waiting 15 mins after ringing the bell listening to em chatting in the back before another guy comes in rings bell, waits 5 mins, asks me how long I waited and says 'fcuk that' and proceeds to hold down the bell till they decided to actually attend the front desk, your man gave the guard some earful about it too:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭miketv

Pearse street can be hit and miss but mostly positive in my opinion.
    I've had fantastic experiences and one particularly awful experience, Unfortunately the bad experiences sticks with you longer.

It's a bit maddening (and very unreasonable imo) to have to wait 15/20 mins to get something signed that only take 2 mins or less to do. You'd think they would have a clerical officer or something doing this type of work anyway.

charlemont wrote: »
    That bit about the poor child is disturbing, I wonder what type of future that poor boy will have, Absolutely disgraceful.

Charlemont :This was my sole reason for heading into the station to try and report the incident. My husband who is well used to what goes on in Dublin was sickened when he saw the small boy crying and trying to break it up :(

@Chief: well I guess I could have rung 999 but surely this would have been a bit drastic when it was happening right behind the station!!! Will do this next time :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I find it amazing that some people find calling 999 so difficult. It's there for a reason, and this was a perfect example of when it should be used. As Chief mentioned already, the 999 dispatcher has direct contact with any units.

I heard of someone standing waiting in a station.

When no guard appeared after 15 mins they rang the station on their mobile. When a guard answered they asked would they come out to the public counter to assist everyone who was waiting!

That's ridiculous that someone had to do that.

Blay wrote: »
    Part and parcel of going to any station really, similar situation myself a few weeks ago, waiting 15 mins after ringing the bell listening to em chatting in the back before another guy comes in rings bell, waits 5 mins, asks me how long I waited and says 'fcuk that' and proceeds to hold down the bell till they decided to actually attend the front desk, your man gave the guard some earful about it too:p

If anybody tried that in my station they'd be shown the door fairly quickly. As chief said, the front counter is the least important duty of Gardaí on station duty.
    Sundew wrote: »
    Charlemont :This was my sole reason for heading into the station to try and report the incident. My husband who is well used to what goes on in Dublin was sickened when he saw the small boy crying and trying to break it up :(

@Chief: well I guess I could have rung 999 but surely this would have been a bit drastic when it was happening right behind the station!!! Will do this next time :-)

Would your husband not have tried to intervene?

foreign wrote: »
    If anybody tried that in my station they'd be shown the door fairly quickly. As chief said, the front counter is the least important duty of Gardaí on station duty.

Yes. Patently obvious.

As a service is this acceptable?

I take it you are kidding :p
    My husband has lived long enough in Dublin to know NOT to get involved in such matters...........I thought thats what the law was for ;)

In retrospect I should have rang 999 as I have not been able to get the little boy out of my head since today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

The few times Ive been to my local station for things like forums, passports, age card, vetting etc there has always been someone on the desk. I never have to wait long, only if the garda is on the phone. Usually have a nice chat with her too, it seems to be the same girl every time.

However, the station is 10km away, and as Im sure you have heard, their traffic unit has no car :pac:

The one in my village is never manned anymore. Only occasionally I see a little red nissan micra parked outside it.

Yeah you're probably right, having a good chat is more important in the grand scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

The only time I was at the counter in Store Street I gave up waiting.

As Chief--- has pointed out Store Street would be a very busy station in terms of prisoner numbers.
    If a Guard left to deal with someone at the counter and a prisoner self-harmed in his/her absence guess who would be in a world of sh1t ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

People need to understand there is usually 1 Garda detailed for the public office depending on the station. The public office is his/her sole responsibility. Every Garda in the station is detailed to do something. You may see Gardai walking around but they could be after coming out of an interview room for a cup of tea and a break, they don't need to be dealing with passport forms. Likewise they may be assigned to patrol duties so can't get stuck doing enquiries at the front desk.

You may wait in line for 30 minutes at the post office. Do you complain about that? Or do you just accept that the reality is the post office is very busy and there are only so many staff?

The Gardai are no different; understaffed, under resourced and an increase in workload. Remember this the next time you complain about how your taxes pay their wages etc etc

OP, Store Street is considered the busiest station in the country. If you see an incident like that ring 999 or 112 and ask for the Gardai. By leaving the scene the two males fighting may have left the area by the time Gardai arrive, whereas you staying there you can notify Gardai which direction they went, seperate or together etc.

eroo wrote: »
    You may wait in line for 30 minutes at the post office. Do you complain about that? Or do you just accept that the reality is the post office is very busy and there are only so many staff?

I certainly do not accept this either.

Lookit. We all have jobs to do. I have other priorities too. But I'd never ever leave someone waiting that amount of time with no indication of how long they could be waiting.

It's about setting expectations.
    For example if Store st is that busy with all other stuff wouldn't it be great if there was some kind of sign at reception indicating the potential wait time and the reason why. Also indicating to call 999 if it is any kind of emergency, even of a reasonable small nature.

Finally when i eventually did come out to the customer at the desk I'd have the decency to:
    - apologise for them having to wait
    - explain to them why they had to wait
    - and most importantly look like the above was true ie. Not be wiping off sugar off my cheek or chatting to a colleage as i came out. Both which i have had experience of.

Edit. Oh and also I'd be fully prepared to assist the member of the public.
    In the sugar incident the gard who came out to me had no notebook or computer and proceeded to write down my issue/details on a loose A4 piece of paper. I often wonder what happened to that piece of paper when I walked out of the station....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

I don't think calling 999 will necessarily help either. I had an attempted house break in a few months ago and called 999. They told me a car was on the way but it never came. Yes I could have called back but after I realised they weren't going to show up enough time had passed that it would have been pointless. From what I hear this would not be an isolated incident either. I don't blame the Gardai, I think they are seriously under resourced and I think things will only get worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

I was under the impression that intervening in a fight is something you would not be advised to do by any member of law enforcement. If I was to intervene in a fight and god forbid I did some serious damage to one of the people involved in the fight by accident, lets say I grabbed one of them and they fell and whacked their head (which could so easily happen if the person is drunk) then that's me done for assault.

Also, a lot of the people are commenting on the fact that they can hear gardai chatting in a back room - there's a difference between that and there only being one garda on duty.

Generally if you are waiting in a queue in any other establishment, you can see other people being dealt with, you have some vague of idea of when you might reach the top of the queue and you know that you are waiting because the people behind the counter are busy. Most people don't see any of this in a garda station and I'm sure complaining about it would really make a bit of difference.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Surely handing out passport forms, signing photos, stamping forms etc. does not require Garda training to perform?

Why not free up personnel for 'proper' Garda work and employ non-Garda office staff to staff the front desks?

spurious wrote: »
    Surely handing out passport forms, signing photos, stamping forms etc. does not require Garda training to perform?

Why not free up personnel for 'proper' Garda work and employ non-Garda office staff to staff the front desks?

Or why not improve other processes and be more efficient at other processes which would then provide capacity/time to man the front office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Am absolutely amazed to see this response committed to text by a serving member.

Chief Wiggum once said something not unlike it to raise a laugh.

I certainly do not accept this either.

Lookit. We all have jobs to do. I have other priorities too. But I'd never ever leave someone waiting that amount of time with no indication of how long they could be waiting.

It's about setting expectations.
    For example if Store st is that busy with all other stuff wouldn't it be great if there was some kind of sign at reception indicating the potential wait time and the reason why. Also indicating to call 999 if it is any kind of emergency, even of a reasonable small nature.

Finally when i eventually did come out to the customer at the desk I'd have the decency to:
    - apologise for them having to wait
    - explain to them why they had to wait
    - and most importantly look like the above was true ie. Not be wiping off sugar off my cheek or chatting to a colleage as i came out. Both which i have had experience of.

Edit. Oh and also I'd be fully prepared to assist the member of the public.
    In the sugar incident the gard who came out to me had no notebook or computer and proceeded to write down my issue/details on a loose A4 piece of paper. I often wonder what happened to that piece of paper when I walked out of the station....

I don't mean to be smart but a Garda Station is not a customer service centre. Gardai shouldn't have to apologise for being busy. It's a police station which can be dealing with a variety of different prisoners for a variety of different crimes. Gardai can't just let a prisoner sit in a cell for an hour without being checked because a person needs to get a form stamped.

Also, Gardai need to get a break too. That Garda might have been trying to get a quick bite to eat, as a shift can be so busy they might not get a chance. I'm sure you are entitled to and actually get a break in your workplace. That is not always the case for Gardai.

Finally, writing details down on a loose A4 piece of paper is perfectly acceptable. A Garda's notebook can be used as evidence in court so it shouldn't have jottings or short hand notes. So for example, if you produce your insurance certificate at a station the Garda may require some very basic details so as to put the insurance cert details on the system. Writing these in an Official notebook is unnecessary.

Unfortunately, as always, most people assume the worst of Gardai. Bottom line: They are understaffed, under resourced and overworked.. but they will still be the first to come to your aid in an emergency.

I don't mean to be smart but a Garda Station is not a customer service centre. Gardai shouldn't have to apologise for being busy. It's a police station which can be dealing with a variety of different prisoners for a variety of different crimes. Gardai can't just let a prisoner sit in a cell for an hour without being checked because a person needs to get a form stamped.

Also, Gardai need to get a break too. That Garda might have been trying to get a quick bite to eat, as a shift can be so busy they might not get a chance. I'm sure you are entitled to and actually get a break in your workplace. That is not always the case for Gardai.

Finally, writing details down on a loose A4 piece of paper is perfectly acceptable. A Garda's notebook can be used as evidence in court so it shouldn't have jottings or short hand notes. So for example, if you produce your insurance certificate at a station the Garda may require some very basic details so as to put the insurance cert details on the system. Writing these in an Official notebook is unnecessary.

Unfortunately, as always, most people assume the worst of Gardai. Bottom line: They are understaffed, under resourced and overworked.. but they will still be the first to come to your aid in an emergency.

Common sense and and common manners would dictate you should apologise. Maybe it is the attitude that there is no need to apologise is why people think the worst?

So over the course of the night if there are ten or twenty loose sheets used, what happens these loose sheets :confused: is the info transferred to computer? In my job I need to record things and the last place I record them is on a loose sheet because nine times out of ten that loose piece of paper gets lost.

My point about improving prcesses stands. Wouldn't it be better to record straight on to a computer rather then on a loose sheet of paper? Doesn't that sound much more efficient? (and save on double work later IF the info is transferred to a computer. IF being the operative word :()

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I don't mean to be smart but a Garda Station is not a customer service centre.
    You should come up here. In some UK prisons, there's a movement to get the prisoners recognised as "customers".

Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

If someone needs Police to come to a scene they should dial 999. If you ring/call to the Station chances are they dial 999 for you and request Police to come to you.

If someone just needs to inform police of a crime they witnessed there is some sort of 1800 number if memory serves me right?

So if someone attends a Station chances are its for some clerical issue, non urgent report or advice etc.

From what I know of Store St's patch and What Chief stated was handled by the Station it would need a staff of about 5 Officers and A Sergeant to Handle that watchhouse. To the degree that people would be seen Promptly.

I am going to take a Gamble and say they don't have 5 Staff during peak hours.

So over the course of the night if there are ten or twenty loose sheets used, what happens these loose sheets :confused: is the info transferred to computer? In my job I need to record things and the last place I record them is on a loose sheet because nine times out of ten that loose piece of paper gets lost.

My point about improving prcesses stands. Wouldn't it be better to record straight on to a computer rather then on a loose sheet of paper? Doesn't that sound much more efficient? (and save on double work later IF the info is transferred to a computer. IF being the operative word :()

I can assure you the information is put on the system. The reason for jotting it down is usually because the computer is away from the counter.

As for your last point, that is not an issue for individual Gardai. Gardai are extremely efficient with the limited resources they have. I can't be any clearer about they being understaffed, under resourced and overworked. Until the Government decides AGS needs proper resources and funding (which they didn't even get during the boom), it is the public who will suffer.

I don't mean to be smart but a Garda Station is not a customer service centre. Gardai shouldn't have to apologise for being busy.

We know it's not a customer service centre but is it not also supposed to be a place where one can report a crime to? Thats what I as an ordinary member of the public was always led to believe however now I know otherwise.I didn't hang around because I knew by the time somebody came to the desk, the assault was probably over and done with!

Yes crimes can be reported at a station, but it is not the Gardai's fault they are busy with other issues. It doesn't mean they don't care, just they cannot deal with every issue straight away.

As I said, if you had rang the Gardai they would have been able to dispatch a car there immediately as opposed to the time it would have taken to report it, then that Garda to ring comms room to get a car dispatched. Also, if you had remained at the scene you may have been able to direct the responding unit to the suspects, if they were no longer there.

All of that aside your intentions were good and fair play for trying to do something about the fight as most people, sadly, don't.

Here's a question for ye Gardaí;

I'd have been in and out of the Drogheda station a handful of times, and at night time it's usually dead inside. No one around and no noise of anything being done. What I usually do is ring the station and politely ask them to come down, which they usually say "ok, someone will be down to you now" and a Garda would appear a minute or two later.

My question; is that me being a prick and interfering in their work, or would I be better off continuing to do that in future?

Also, for places like Store St. (which I've never been in, or even seen), if it's so busy at all times, does it not make more sense to remove the desk altogether and block public access? No passports, forms, etc. allowed to be signed, and a notice advising people to use a nearby Garda Station instead?

Have a Garda on the desk full time at one of the stations in the city, and have all the other stations divert people to the designated one for non-emergency issues?

This is a mad thread altogether!

From this thread I have garnered the following info:
    1. When you see a fight don't attempt to head to the station in close proximity instead call 999 or get involved and try and stop the fight yourself:eek:

2. Gardai are basically not available to sign passport forms etc. (why are we sent here to get this done???)

3. Scraps of paper are fine for crimes reported by the public to be marked down on

4. Long waits are to be expected (this is without the Gardai on duty ascertaining what you are waiting to speak to them about - at least when you visit A&E a triage nurse will place you in a line and indicate a wait time)

5. Gardai are not here to provide customer service(!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Or why not improve other processes and be more efficient at other processes which would then provide capacity/time to man the front office?
    Gardai occupy one of the few professions, along with medical staff and a few others where their duties cannot be broken down into simple predictable processes that can be tweaked, automated and improved to within an inch of their life. There just too much variance to slot everything into a neat like box.

If we were paying a member to stand at the counter for the 12 hours of their shift, people would be complaining that we're paying good money to get members to stamp forms.

That is in fact the primary issue here. Other duties must take priority over manning the public counter. It's not an emergency counter. We shouldn't be paying Gardai to stand at a counter and stamp forms.

The most logical thing to do would be to make more use of the Peace Commissioner system and arrange to have such people manning the counter from morning to evening, freeing up members' time. If someone comes in to report a crime, the commissioner moves them into a separate area where a member can talk to them.

1. When you see a fight don't attempt to head to the station in close proximity instead call 999 or get involved and try and stop the fight yourself:eek:

Diddler: I'm also amazed that a garda would advise this on a public forum. I took it as "tounge in cheek" but Gardai are not exempt from using smilies to convey exactly what they mean ;)

I should stress that I didn't start this thread to knock our Gardai but to genuinely find out why it was so difficult to report an incident which was unfolding at the back of the station.

Diddler: I'm also amazed that a garda would advise this on a public forum. I took it as "tounge in cheek" but Gardai are not exempt from using smilies to convey exactly what they mean ;)

I should stress that I didn't start this thread to knock our Gardai but to genuinely find out why it was so difficult to report an incident which was unfolding at the back of the station.

I'm also amazed that you could not get a Garda to assist you at the public counter.

I am also amazed by the litany of reasons that turned up here as to why you should not be reporting crimes at the public counter.

The excuses as to why a Garda couldn't come to the counter were quite something too - I am also surprised by the expectation that the public should be fine with waiting maybe 20 mins or so to get a form signed. Why bother offer this service if you can't do it in a timely and professional manner?

Makes you wonder why there is a public counter at all!

I was under the impression that intervening in a fight is something you would not be advised to do by any member of law enforcement. If I was to intervene in a fight and god forbid I did some serious damage to one of the people involved in the fight by accident, lets say I grabbed one of them and they fell and whacked their head (which could so easily happen if the person is drunk) then that's me done for assault.

If your actions are lawful then you have nothing to worry about. You may just be asked to give a statement and then be done with it.

How can you improve the process that requires several members to deal with a violent prisoner? Or a prisoner threatening self harm? Or giving details to beats/mobiles about a robbery in progress, somebody breaking into a premises?

Verbal intervention? If there are other people looking on they may assist if asked. People would rather just stand back and gawp saying "isn't it terrible?" Or better still recording it on their mobiles.

At least you did make an effort to do something about it by going into the station, but sometimes it's not going to be the best option. So bear in mind the 999/112 numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

As a member of the public who wouldn't have a clue about the inner workings of a Garda station I would have assumed too that if you saw an incident outside a Garda station that required Garda attention you would just go in to station.

The worse thing is probably the waiting indefinitely. Why not put a sign up on the hatch that says "Hatch is currently unattended - For urgent attention please dial 999".

That would cost how much time and money to implement? Or God forbid opening the hatch and saying that in person.

The only people who go to Garda stations besides Gardai are people who are there for a reason and chances are have suffered from or are reporting a crime.

As for advising a member of the public to intervene in an incident between two drunken males - Are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Sorry thus intervene thing is on a case by case basis. It really is intervene if safe and legal to do so for you. Anymore goes way Off Topic. There is no hard a fast rule about getting involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

They're not quite in customer service, but actually in the realm of public service which is arguably even more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

2. Gardai are basically not available to sign passport forms etc. (why are we sent here to get this done???)

3. Scraps of paper are fine for crimes reported by the public to be marked down on

4. Long waits are to be expected (this is without the Gardai on duty ascertaining what you are waiting to speak to them about - at least when you visit A&E a triage nurse will place you in a line and indicate a wait time)

Nobody is sent there, there is a list of people on the back of the form who can do this, including, priests, teachers, doctors etc.
    If you dont feel like waiting for a Garda to sign your form ,feel free to pay €50 to a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

the way things are going, i guarantee that in a year or two everyone is going to be looking back at this as the golden age of policing.

totally understaffed and under resourced with incompetant management in a lot of cases. vast duplication of work etc.

people are going to see that its not only delays waiting at the counter but also delays with urgent calls. cars simply wont be available to deal with everything. (a lot of the time they arent now even).

its becoming a responsive rather than pro-active force. get used to it.

Please, re-read my posts and you will see every point you have made in the above post is incorrect. Seriously, re-read my posts. None of the above is true, nor did I ever imply it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Hey Foreign,

Don't forget you are a PUBLIC SERVANT and as such there to SERVE THE PUBLIC. Typical Civil Service attitude "Let some one else do it, I'm on a break".

And as for advising a member of the public to intervene in a street brawl, the mind boggles. Didn't the system jail some taxi driver a few years back for intervening when some girls boyfriend was beating the crap out of her on the quays.

Do us all a favour and hand over your hat and badge and go take up a librarians post.

audidiesel wrote: »
    its becoming a responsive rather than pro-active force. get used to it.

Sure it's always been that way...some like the poster below don't even get a response. Not saying it's the average Garda's fault, they get the sh1t end of the stick and then get blamed for the mess.
    I had an attempted house break in a few months ago and called 999. They told me a car was on the way but it never came. Yes I could have called back but after I realised they weren't going to show up enough time had passed that it would have been pointless. From what I hear this would not be an isolated incident either