Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Kehoe - getting sacked in the morning?

• 02-10-2011 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭

Talk about asking to get sued. Not really the smartest of moves.

From his twitter -

Four hours ago he said - "Gay has MC Guinness under pressure on newstalk."

Fair play, giving your colleague a bit of support.

Then followed that with - "I wouldn`t trust martin MC Guinness to take my dog for a walk"

OK a little nasty - but always fair in love and war etc!

Then he ended with this ditty - "Why would you need your salary when you have the proceeds of the northern bank at your disposal" :eek:

Fuppin hell thats some accusation for a public official to b making, even if he believes it to be true.

A sackable offence or just claim your twitter was "hacked"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭LaFlammeRouge

Let McGuinness sue LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

He should be sacked. He should know better. Party leaders should ban all members from twitter and social networks. They cant be trusted to behave themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Let him sue :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

What could McGuiness sue for?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

You are having a laugh? He accused him of having a hand in the Northern Bank robbery!

Very unprofessional.

He'll need proof for accusations like that. Could be in big trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Serious accusation to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Anyone seriously think Martin McGuinness will launch a court case which will throw open all of his behaviour in connection with potentially criminal activities ?

If anything the title to this thread is more likely to get boards.ie and the OP sued.

Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    You are having a laugh? He accused him of having a hand in the Northern Bank robbery!

and ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Ha Ha another twitter or tweet cock up

Twitter is muttering, its something you mutter to yourself, but like all mutterings they should be kept to yourself.

I am afraid if it was him who made the public allegation and publicised it, he is liable.

But how do you prove it was him, there are ways you can prove which IP address it came from, but that is not proof he made the tweet.

But if newstalk want a rep of a fair and unbiased media, the have to sack him, they don't need a real excuse to sack anyone, all they have to say he was doing a crap job.

In order to plead fair comment, the publisher must be able to show that

the report was on a matter of public interest
    the statement was a comment, rather than a fact and
    the comment was fair, in that the belief was honestly held

Can people argue why any of these three cannot be used to defend the tweet? It is certainly a matter of public interest, it was a comment rather than a fact and the comment is fair because he would honestly hold that view.

In order to plead fair comment, the publisher must be able to show that

the report was on a matter of public interest
    the statement was a comment, rather than a fact and
    the comment was fair, in that the belief was honestly held

Can people argue why any of these three cannot be used to defend the tweet? It is certainly a matter of public interest, it was a comment rather than a fact and the comment is fair because he would honestly hold that view.

No it was not, it was never proven that Martin Mc Guinness had any part in that robbery.

I sincerely doubt he even knew about it at the time it took place, we was involved with the assembly at that time.

So it was not a fair comment. It was opinionated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I think Paul Kehoe has done himself no good career-wise for a while.
    Sacked? I dunno but certainly not the best tweet he could have made.
    He should have really known better. He let himself down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

4leto wrote: »
    No it was not, it was never proven that Martin Mc Guinness had any part in that robbery.

I sincerely doubt he even knew about it at the time it took place, we was involved with the assembly at that time.

Does it diminish McGuinness' reputation ?

given his history it probably doesn't.

Yeah, you kinda just added to the second point, that it was not presented as a fact but as a comment.

The first point, public interest, of course, this is a man running for President so that argument will stand 100%.

You have argued but actually backed up the second point, that it is a comment not a fact.

The third point, well only the author can say he honestly believes that, but you can be sure they can argue that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't see the point in any TD attacking any of the presidential candidates. On the very slight chance that McGuinness wins the election, the TD's who so aggressively decry him are going to be left with eggs on their faces when they have to work alongside him. At worst it makes a mockery of governance in this country when democratically elected representatives are able to use their bestowed position to interfere with another aspect of democratic will.

Political commentators and journalists are well able to manage on their own without TD's being vitriolic towards the candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Most people think the Provisional IRA were responsible,If they were Martin McGuinness knew about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

A serious accusation to make, but I have to say, it's quiet funny!

That would be one civil suit you could sell tickets for!

Does it diminish McGuinness' reputation ?

given his history it probably doesn't.

No but it aids his campaign it means others can't imply other unproven comments which he probably has some guilt over, which seem to be bandied about the media about him.

Someone was eventually going to be pulled on one of them. That happens to be Paul Kehoe.

I THINK I may have heard one from V Brown, but largely I think he is not against M Mc Guinness.

hondasam wrote: »
    Most people think the Provisional IRA were responsible,If they were Martin McGuinness knew about it.

Not necessarily, the IRA does have errant members and it was largely stepping down at that time.

But it doesn't matter what people think, it matters what can be proven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

I suppose when your own candidate is no good then you need to bring the opposition down by any means, even fabricating stories!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I await the "Paul Kehoe twitter account hacked" get-out clause.

Not necessarily, the IRA does have errant members and it was largely stepping down at that time.

But it doesn't matter what people think, it matters what can be proven.

True I suppose. Did you read his interview in the Daily Mail yesterday?
    He still avoids answering the questions.

mikom wrote: »
    I await the "Paul Kehoe twitter account hacked" get-out clause.

They are possibly busy using that excuse at the moment for Fine Gael!
    See: http://www.thejournal.ie/twitter-attack-on-mcguinness-launched-from-chief-whips-account-243201-Oct2011/

Mr Kehoe and co will have to wait in line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

413292351.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJF3XCCKACR3QDMOA&Expires=1317572851&Signature=A9Sm6I7cIFQzRKkeqbBaW1rPPws%3D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Hogan's comments were just as bad - absolute rubbish spouted.
    How about FG ministers campaign positively for their own candidate? Even one piece of positivity about why we should back Gay Mitchell?
    Bit difficult for 'big' Phil seeing as he was prime mover behind Mr Cox in the FG presidential debacle!

I am seriously annoyed by FG in this election.
    They are doing themselves absolutely no favours.

gambiaman wrote: »
    Hogan's comments were just as bad - absolute rubbish spouted.
    How about FG ministers campaign positively for their own candidate? Even one piece of positivity about why we should back Gay Mitchell?
    Bit difficult for 'big' Phil seeing as he was prime mover behind Mr Cox in the FG presidential debacle!

I am seriously annoyed by FG in this election.
    They are doing themselves absolutely no favours.

They know Mitchell hasn't a hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

This is what happens when you elect a farm boy.

I'm still waiting for his response to an email from before the last election where I asked him for his opinion on parish pump politics......

rarnes1 wrote: »

True.
    (And thank heavens!)

rarnes1 wrote: »

And so now they go for a negative campaign - senior state officials who will have to work with the next President who may or may not be the one they are attacking without one bit of thought amongst them.

By engaging in such absolute rubbish in todays S.Independent (no impeachment process, really 'Big' Phil? - US MNCs not investing in lowtax EU member Ireland because of a possible Pres McGuinness, really 'Big' Phil?), Hogan is showing himslef up as a complete eejit or he's relying on his lies to soak up a few more percentage points for anyone but McGuinness.

And he has the cheek to say if people democratically vote McG as President, Ireland will be seen as a Banana Republic!
    Too late 'Big' Phil, way too late for that!

I know where my vote will not be going for sure.

Rubbish and we both know it, Your only using it as an excuse to take a pop shot at Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

charlemont wrote: »
    Rubbish and we both know it, Your only using it as an excuse to take a pop shot at Martin.

So if it wasnt the IRA then who?

What did Cowen say to mcguinness at a meeting in the north about consulting with the IRA leadership about a certain thing.
    "There is a mirror in the toilet if you wanna talk to the IRA leadership"

Seriously, what was McGuinness doing for the last 30 years if he wasnt in the IRA? MAKING THE TEA!!

I'm not sure if you are saying the IRA did it but Martin did not know about it.
    If not the IRA then who did it?

I have no time for Sinn Fein, never have and never will.
    I would hate to see him President of Ireland but that's not going to happen anyway.

I'm not sure if you are saying the IRA did it but Martin did not know about it.
    If not the IRA then who did it?

I have no time for Sinn Fein, never have and never will.
    I would hate to see him President of Ireland but that's not going to happen anyway.

I'm referring to Martins knowledge of the raid, Although I just had a quick look at the details and those responsible were well trained, Almost too well trained to have been in the IRA.

With regard to your dislike of Sinn Fein, That's understandable but from my point of view the so called "good" in Irish society has completely let this country down, The Catholic Church, FF, Banks, etc And the same media that benefits from the same politicians being in power that ruined the country can spin about Sinn Fein being evil terrorists till the cows come home, These same journalists could well have being exposing the corruptness in our society for the last few decades but no its against their interests and the interests of the "good", So F em, I'll be voting for Martin. Martin has taken more risks than any of the politicians here, He could have been assassinated, in jail for life or on the run and he took his chances due to the strength of his beliefs. Pity more were not like him.

I'm referring to Martins knowledge of the raid, Although I just had a quick look at the details and those responsible were well trained, Almost too well trained to have been in the IRA.

With regard to your dislike of Sinn Fein, That's understandable but from my point of view the so called "good" in Irish society has completely let this country down, The Catholic Church, FF, Banks, etc And the same media that benefits from the same politicians being in power that ruined the country can spin about Sinn Fein being evil terrorists till the cows come home, These same journalists could well have being exposing the corruptness in our society for the last few decades but no its against their interests and the interests of the "good", So F em, I'll be voting for Martin. Martin has taken more risks than any of the politicians here, He could have been assassinated, in jail for life or on the run and he took his chances due to the strength of his beliefs. Pity more were not like him.

yes of course you are right about Church and FF etc.

One question he was asked in the interview in the Mail was,
    ''Do you feel guilty, find it hard to sleep'' he answered No.
    He has not moved on at all really, he just wants us to think he has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

skelliser wrote: »
    Seriously, what was McGuinness doing for the last 30 years if he wasnt in the IRA? MAKING THE TEA!!

Terrorist stuff most likely, just like that other ex-terrorist Nelson Mandela before he got caught and convicted for bombings. Scurrilous chap altogether.

tricky D wrote: »
    Terrorist stuff most likely, just like that other ex-terrorist Nelson Mandela before he got caught and convicted for bombings. Scurrilous chap altogether.

Awful, Awful carry on, Why cant they just take the discrimination ?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Where in the tweet does it accuse that terrorist fellow of actually taking part in the raid. does it not just allege that he may have a beneficial use of the stolen money.

Who can say whether some of it has ended up in SF coffers through various means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I'm from Paul Kehoe's constituency.

He's not the brightest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Wonder would Paul tweet and ask did Gay ever receive any proceeds from hes cousin?

I hear the penguins in european zoos are worth a fortune!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Libel consider he was neither charged or convicted of such an offence

Firstly, you had a quick look at the details of the Northern Bank raid and can judge that from that wikipedia article, you have deemed the IRA not well enough trained to do that. :P Bit of an ego?

Secondly, many journalists have written about the Church, FF, Banks for years so that is a bad argument and empty of any substance.

Thirdly, before you end the rant of how others ruined this country, have a thought for the millions/billions lost because companies would not invest in this country because of the IRAs campaign during those thirty years?

Plenty of blame to go around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Prove it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

OMG, is this true about Gay Mitchel and the penguin, he will deffo have some explaining to do. This is terrible. Why is he saying those bad things about Mr Mcguiness, is he trying to take the heat off himself? Why are the newspapers not carrying this story? Is the penguin funding his election bid, the public have a right to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

tricky D wrote: »

Comparing McGuinness to Mandella!! lol!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

orourkeda wrote: »
    Libel consider he was neither charged or convicted of such an offence

First of all, there is no such thing as libel any more. It is defamation.

Secondly, the quote in the OP merely had him asking a question and didn't refer to McGuinness at all.

Finally, a statement is only defamatory if it is untrue. And, unlike a criminal case, in civil court truth is decided on the balance of probabilities as opposed to beyond a reasonable doubt so it is much easier to defend a statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

skelliser wrote: »
    Comparing McGuinness to Mandella!! lol!!

Suppose so, afterall 27 years versus 6 months in prison is quite a comparison for similar terrorist activities.

The peace process was meant to leave all this behind, in return for laying down the gun, all the prisoners would be released and any existing provos would get an amnesty, then in time there would be a reconciliation, thn the provos would fully enter and engage with politics only.

Sinn Fein and the IRA lived up to their side of the bargain.

Now look at Martin Mc Guinness without his provo history.

He guided active IRA members through the peace process, I would imagine that was a herculean task, he succeeded.

He got on famously with Ian Paisley he develloped a very good working relationship, the chuckle brothers as some unionists use to call them

He then got on with the very aloof Peter Robinson, again he developed a very good relationship.

He has done a good and fair job in Northern Ireland, he has been incredibly successful.

So now us, why don't we live up to our end of peace process and see the man beyond his history which we are meant to forgive. The more I think about it he is the best candidate for the job. Although I am still undecided so far he maybe getting my vote.

headmaster wrote: »
    Is the penguin funding his election bid,

Only in Ireland would you get a sentence like that!:D
    (Not having a go at you, headmaster, I just cracked up reading that line - Paul Williams has a lot to answer for!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Pretty tactless and regardless of whether it was believed by every dog in the street he could have put it a little more subtly.

Something like "Wonder if Northern bank will be making any corporate donations to MMGs campaign?" would have got the point across just as well.

Its a valid point to question the finances of somebody who has spent a long time involved in illegal activities outside the state, just badly put.