Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you date someone from a foreign country?

13»

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Rookster wrote: »
    That is worse than being foreign. You have no hope!

Clever.

Please respond to threads in the Ladies Lounge in a constructive manner going forward.

Maple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Snoopy1 wrote: »
    Quick question. Im from England, so am i considered foreign???
    I could be wrong, but usually these discussions tend to gravitate towards those who are from markedly different cultures, so I'd say British people are exempt. British culture is quite different to that of Ireland in some ways, but very similar in others. And of course there is quite a saturation here of British media, sport, etc.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

mariaalice wrote: »
    Well I am marrying a Welsh man soon dose that count as dating someone from a foreign country?
    Oh God, I would date a Welsh man, the accent is yummy! :D

I prefer native English speakers because I talk very fast and use a lot of slang and a lot of my foreign friends say they just have to smile and nod around me a lot! :o
    I dated a Chinese guy once for a couple of months but the language barrier was too much to contend with! I found it was very tiring to be with him, having to repeat myself a lot/explain my jokes/slow down my speech.
    I wouldn't mind religious differences so long as the other person didn't try to convert me or preach their religion to me. I'm not changing my beliefs for anyone, sorry.

So long as they're familiar with Father Ted and The Simpsons I think it would be okay, otherwise they won't get a LOT of what I say! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Stacey.

I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

without hesitation and preferably in their country of origin. My ex just returned after spending years in the states and always figured at some point or another I would end up moving there for college or some reason and I always thought that's where I was meant to be. I genuinely don't feel at home in Ireland and still dream of leaving someday, don't believe my other half is here and ultimately I will find them on foreign soil. here's to wishful thinking :)

I wouldn't rule it out, but I never have. I probably would have started a relationship with an American guy I met over there if I hadn't been leaving the country a few weeks later. I've been on a few dates with non-native English speakers and it just didn't work out because of the language thing. I found there were too many misunderstandings and silly disagreements just because one of us wasn't completely comfortable with the language. I have a dry sense of humour and I find it tiring to be with someone if I can't speak normally and I'm always trying to simplify everything. I find it equally tiring to speak in another language all the time. It's fine for friends and social stuff, but not a relationship. That might change in the future, but I've been with an Irish guy for a few years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 SiSi84

My OH is Dutch!I am the one living in the Netherlands so I guess I'm the foreigner! His English is really good, at first I thought he couldn't always follow my accent but now he says "ahh for *eck sake" with a very Irish accent and occasionally will talk about turning off the 'crane' (tap) and to 'close the lights'. I love how he really takes care of himself and is not really interested in drinking. Family is so important here and there is always birthdays and get togethers and I really feel part of the family which I like. The Dutch are very direct which is something that takes getting used to though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 saccharine

I'm originally from Poland and I've never dated a Polish guy in my life (and I'm in my upper 20s). I started to think that I scare them off... But on the upside, I've dated guys ranging from American to Nepalese. I'm all for experiencing different cultures, but hate when religion gets in a way... I found out it will never go anywhere with religious guys (I was head over heels this Muslim guy but it crashed and burned). One of the reason I moved to Dublin from Dubai is a prospect of a better dating scene, no kidding. Hope Irish lads will not disappoint me ;).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Have done. Quite a few times.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

I would. Have never had the opportunity though and probably won't now. :)

I love learning about different cultures and languages so it's something that really appeals to me. The only thing I would be apprehensive about is religion. I could be with someone if they weren't religious or were of the same religion as me but if they were really devout and of a separate religion to me, it would cause big problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

I've done so. I went out with an Asian Muslim for many years , and later went out with an English guy for a year or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

honestly i dont see the problem

if you like or love someone surely their nationality shouldnt be an issue??

i wouldnt have a problem going out with a foreigner at all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

[QUOTE=EGAR;74443669]I am a foreigner living in Ireland for 15 years now and my man is Irish, I met him 9 years ago. English is not my native tongue although by now I sound like a Culchie with a weird accent not many can pinpoint :D.[/QUOTE]
    That's very similar to myself, I've been living in Ireland now for about 16 years and my OH is Irish.

But even though I've been here so long, I still think my Swedish accent comes through:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Quowra

I am engaged to a Swiss guy and moved from Dublin to Zurich earlier this year. English is not his native language but he speaks perfect English. So now I am learning German and then I will have to learn Swiss German (very complicated). What is interesting is that now I am the foreigner :)

But it is nice to step out of your comfort zone and experience a different culture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I have done .i dont care where someone is from if they care about me .
    Although I have weird guys following me when I go out and coming after me and they are never irish.They cant take no for an answer.irish guys dont hardly bother ,but if you say no ,theyre gone .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭MacieC

I'm usually quite attracted to guys from foreign countries because I do believe that dating someone who is really similar is just plain boring.

I encountered some Irish and American guys (I'm not Irish) and to be honest, I'd rather date an Irish or American guy than a guy from my own country.
    Irish guys are cute and American guys actually know how to date. They're not awkward with girls.
    The problem with Irish guys is that despite they're hotness, they're very awkward with girls. They're not even trying to make a move which is quite annoying.
    American guys are a bit too straight forward for my tastes sometimes though.

I'm no gold digger because I'm from a very developed country myself and educated, so I couldn't care less where the guy is from, but I have a thing for foreign guys such as Americans, Irish, or Canadians.
    I genuinely do believe that my home country is not for me and the same theory goes for the guys there. I'm pretty sure my heart belongs somewhere else, I haven't found out where yet, but I'm confident I will.

It all lies within the person really, not so much a matter of nationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I've always dated Irish guys, but I would definately be open to dating a foreign guy. If opportunity arose and I liked him it wouldnt matter what nationality he was. A strange thing to take into question imo, unless there were massive cultural difference between us that could cause problems (having to walk five steps behind my man would be a dealbreaker for example).

Naturally some characteristics of certain nationalities will appeal more to some people than others, but it varies so much from person to person itd be pretty impossible to put a definate yes or no on any! Its about the individual.

That said, Ive a guy friend who flat out refuses to date Irish women and will allows go for foreign girls. Doesnt say much for us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Azureus wrote: »
    That said, Ive a guy friend who flat out refuses to date Irish women and will allows go for foreign girls. Doesnt say much for us!

Doesn't say much for him, I would have thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sexter

I think because this question is directed at Irish women the majority of answers will be 'Haven't'. Because foreign men won't worship your fat rolls the way Irish men do, so you might actually have to be somewhat attractive and make some effort with them. Which you aren't used to.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Alright that's enough out of you.

Permabanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

I lived abroad for years so have dated a few different nationalties, mostly non-English speakers as well as Irish men. I can't generalise about them in any way though, I have a 'type' which seems to exist across cultures so where they came from was never an issue. Not having a sense of humour, having a large ego, being religious would all be no-nos for me, whether he came from Thessalonika or Thurles. Language differences are funny, especially if you have any interest in learning other languages (I do) and cultural differences just make someone a bit different if the underlying compatability is right. My delicious husband of four years is a foreigner, it makes him all the more yummy. To me, saying you absolutely wouldn't date someone purely because they come from a different country is extremely closeminded and smacks of xenophobia.