Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Samaritan Gets Shafted Stories.

• 25-08-2011 9:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭

As I sit here at my desk one of my best mates that was a great support to me over the last few year lies snoring on my couch.

He was up in Dublin to see his Czech girlfriend off at the airport.

We went for a few beers last night with my cousin as you do- she had an early flight and out they went. I went home about one as I had work this morning. Gave him my keys to the apartment and got my housemate to let me in.

Que drunken phonecall to let him in at 3 am even though I had his keys. He had a fist fight with my cousin over the Czech girl- (totally out of character for both lads but my cousin would not be the brightest bulb ) Que bleeding all over my apartment- He lost my keys-

Patched him up- He took my phone to put his sim in to go sort everything as she had a 5 am flight- I gave him some coffee and told him to cop on- rang my cousin to make sure he was home okay. Will deal with that another time.

Off he went- I went back to bed.

Que phone call at 6 am to leave him in from a public phone down the road- He lost my phone.

Next time someone says- hey can I crash with you. No. No you can't.

This is probably small potatoes to the stories out there so lets be having it.

The person ya did a favour to that ran off with your hubbie..............

etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Your cousin sounds like a spa

Misleading thread title is misleading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ottostreet wrote: »
    Your cousin sounds like a spa

It was the other guy, not the cousin.

I don't give my phone or keys to anyone. Ring me when you're outside, there's a 24 hour bar across the road, ring from there if you have difficulty. I will let you in. I have a cheap backup phone he can make calls from.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

I don't give my phone or keys to anyone. Ring me when you're outside, there's a 24 hour bar across the road, ring from there if you have difficulty. I will let you in. I have a cheap backup phone he can make calls from.
    To be fair, by the sounds of it his cousin was makin a move for his mates gf. They both sound like tools.
    And OP, why were you letting your mate wander round town drunk with your phone after he had just gotten in a fight and had already lost your keys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

OP, how did the fight over the Czech girl start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Que drunken phonecall to let him in at 3 am even though I had his keys. He had a fist fight with my cousin over the Czech girl- (totally out of character for both lads but my cousin would not be the brightest bulb ) Que bleeding all over my apartment- He lost my keys-

Que phone call at 6 am to leave him in from a public phone down the road- He lost my phone.

Que? what are we, spanish? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

To be honest - Don't know- don't care.

Drink was involved- Logic goes out the window- I'm taking the both were tools judgement on it,

and I could give a **** at him wandering around town- I had to go back to bed for work- He's over 6 foot and a big lad- he's not going to get attacked.

Anyway- it was an illustrative example- would love to hear other people's stories to distract me this fine morn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Aodan83 wrote: »
    To be fair, by the sounds of it his cousin was makin a move for his mates gf. They both sound like tools.
    And OP, why were you letting your mate wander round town drunk with your phone after he had just gotten in a fight and had already lost your keys?

Assumption, really. Could have been anything and the OP was not there.
    ottostreet wrote: »
    OP, how did the fight over the Czech girl start

See answer above.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

You have the patience of a saint, I'd have dropkicked both of them by now :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

That is a hell of a confusing OP. I still don't understand what happened and I'm not convinced I care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

I went out on the town with a college mate years ago - didn't know him particularly well but he'd been to my gaff a few times and he was there drinking cans before we went out. He asked if he could stay that night to save a taxi back to Rathfarnham, no worries. I got locked, practically fell asleep in a nightclub and thought f'uck this i'm going home. So I get home, smoke a J and falll asleep on the couch. I wake to him standing over me screaming at me.

I lived in an apartment with a large security gate to the carpark, a security door into the block and then the front door to the apartment - how he happened to be standing over me was beyond me. Turns out that when I wasn't waking to the sound of the buzzer he scaled the gate, hung about until someone came in/out and got into the block....he then KICKED IN my apartments front door completely wrecking it. the c'unt.

We'd a bit of a shouting match, I went to bed and he stayed and left in the morning. Didn't see him again (until he turned up working in the same office as me last year!) and I'd to fork out hundreds for the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kitty_Ears

Had a friend who's ex gf was apparently feeling lonley and threatning suicide as she had no friends.
    I start inviting her out with me and my group to cheer her up, let her stay in my house as often as she liked, stayed on the phone with her for nights while she was bawling and all that craic.

Few months down the line she starts making weird comments about how jealous she is of my life and about mine and my boyfriends relationship.

Dyes and cuts her hair the same colour as mine (I change my hair fairly often) She does this 5 times in a row.

Have her out with us one night, she asks can she go back early as she isn't feeling well so I give her my keys and she goes back.

I come home and she's sitting in my bed, wearing my dress, stroking my cat.

I find out later that this wan has been trying to get in with my boyfriend.

I threw that cnut as suprise party in my house too. The biiiitch.

Kitty_Ears wrote: »
    Had a friend who's ex gf was apparently feeling lonley and threatning suicide as she had no friends.
    I start inviting her out with me and my group to cheer her up, let her stay in my house as often as she liked, stayed on the phone with her for nights while she was bawling and all that craic.

Few months down the line she starts making weird comments about how jealous she is of my life and about mine and my boyfriends relationship.

Dyes and cuts her hair the same colour as mine (I change my hair fairly often) She does this 5 times in a row.

Have her out with us one night, she asks can she go back early as she isn't feeling well so I give her my keys and she goes back.

I come home and she's sitting in my bed, wearing my dress, stroking my cat.

I find out later that this wan has been trying to get in with my boyfriend.

I threw that cnut as suprise party in my house too. The biiiitch.

sound to me like you're lucky she wasn't wearing your skin in the bedroom stroking your cat. count your blessings etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I went out on the town with a college mate years ago - didn't know him particularly well but he'd been to my gaff a few times and he was there drinking cans before we went out. He asked if he could stay that night to save a taxi back to Rathfarnham, no worries. I got locked, practically fell asleep in a nightclub and thought f'uck this i'm going home. So I get home, smoke a J and falll asleep on the couch. I wake to him standing over me screaming at me.

I lived in an apartment with a large security gate to the carpark, a security door into the block and then the front door to the apartment - how he happened to be standing over me was beyond me. Turns out that when I wasn't waking to the sound of the buzzer he scaled the gate, hung about until someone came in/out and got into the block....he then KICKED IN my apartments front door completely wrecking it. the c'unt.

We'd a bit of a shouting match, I went to bed and he stayed and left in the morning. Didn't see him again (until he turned up working in the same office as me last year!) and I'd to fork out hundreds for the door.

How is that a good Samaritan story though?

Both of you look like pricks in that story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Its Queue.

CJC999 wrote: »
    Its Queue.

Actually, it's cue. Like a theatrical cue.

A queue is when you get in line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kitty_Ears

sound to me like you're lucky she wasn't wearing your skin in the bedroom stroking your cat. count your blessings etc.

I would't be supprised :L
    Girl was a freak, Used to come up to me with these tiny scratches on the thigh and tell me she nearly bled to death, looked like she'd done them with a spoon :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

CJC999 wrote: »
    Its Queue.

or.........plain old Q is acceptable

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    How is that a good Samaritan story though?

Both of you look like pricks in that story.

suppose you're right - the OP's story though made him out to be a good samaritan for allowing the guy stay in his gaff and yer man then ruining his night...so i was coming at it from there.

anyway - what did i do that makes me a prick? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭28064212

suppose you're right - the OP's story though made him out to be a good samaritan for allowing the guy stay in his gaff and yer man then ruining his night...so i was coming at it from there.

anyway - what did i do that makes me a prick? :confused:
    Invited your friend to stay, then ****ed off home and left him there. Not that he wasn't a prick too

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This is why i have a public image of "If you are fecked, its your problem." "If i am fecked, its my problem". If anyone trys to unload a problem or need a friend to talk to they are usually met with a response along the lines "I dont care". Its how i roll :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Once I was in the Fun Factory and some little bratty boy was breaking all the balls at the end of the freefall.
    I was fixing them all.
    The girl that worked there saw me, and thought I was breaking them, and she gave out to me and banned me from the freefall :(

(Sorry, I didn't read the op.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

Met a girl out one night who was living in Italy, just visiting Dublin. End up back in mine, get on like a house on fire so she spends the weekend with me. Grand. Keep up contact on skype.

She flies back over for 5 days about a month later for Trinity Ball, Grand. She ends up getting sick so i bring her to the doctor and pay her bills out of my overdraft as she said she'd send it back to me, wasn't gonna see her stuck as she was broke after the week over.

She flies home then, give her the lend of a jumper (****ing expensive too) as her flight was early and it's chilly out (Had made plans to go over to Italy myself in 3 weeks time)

2 weeks later i text her to confirm my flight details are cool, she says yeah so i book.

Two weeks later she says it dosen't suit for me to go over as she has exams coming up, I'm a bit put out but she says she'll get me back for the flights and we'll rearrange so it's not too bad. Then I find out shes ****ing a guy in London (that she met at a party in my mates when over) and has him over instead.

Result - refuses to refund flight, still waiting on money she owes me, still waiting on jumper. This was March.

Reckon I got stung for about E250 all in all. Skanky american bitch:rolleyes:

I DO have many sexy photos I could send about out of poor spite but I'm just not that mean

TL;DR Bitches be trippin' Pics or GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I was living in student accommodation. I was living with a really good friend. A mutual friend of ours came up from back home. My good friend knew him a lot better than I did. So we all head out to the George.

At the George we meet my good friend's ex and his new boyfriend. They have just come off a flight and have no where to stay for the night. Mutual friend has beef with good friend's ex due to the way he treated good friend and the ex's new boyfriend is a complete knacker. So it's decided that they will stay out our house. Much to the protests of myself and mutual friend but we back down when we realize we can't leave them on the streets for the night and they can sleep on the floor in the sitting room.

Are you still following?

Good friend goes home with another guy leaving me with mutual friend and about 10 people that have came back to our house. We're having a right session.

In walks the ex with his new knacker boyfriend and they are off their faces. Mutual friend has been promised good friends bed. But new Knacker boyfriend doesn't agree with this and starts beating the ****e out of mutual friend.

There's blood all over the walls in the sitting room and the bedroom. The ex punches me when I go to block a punch mean't for mutual friend that has already been hit. I start to cry. Good friend won't answer his phone so I can get him to come home and sort out the mess.

It's getting so loud that I'm sure the cops are going to be called. The 10 strangers we brought back for the house party try and calm things down. I try to throw the ex and his knacker boyfriend out. They won't leave. I let them have good friend's bedroom.

One of the strangers we brought back tries to console me. He put's me on his knee and rolls me a joint and tells me that "its not a real gaff till the cops are called". The strangers leave after things have quietend down and told me that it's not my fault and if anything else kicks off to give them a call (Imagine strangers being sounder than people you know).

I put mutual friend in bed with me and a bag of peas. Good friend calls around 9am asking why he had about 20 missed calls on his phone. I tell him what has happened. He just goes "Oh right" and doesn't come home until 1 o clock. The other two knack bags don't even apologise either the next morning.

I'm still angry about it, never had or have since experienced anything like it. Three gay guys beating the **** out of one another and 10 other gay guys trying to calm things down.

Friendships still haven't recovered from that night. Probably the scariest thing I've ever seen. I'd never been around violence before. It was awful.

TL;DR - Friends ex and new fella have no place to stay, my house party turns into gay mortal kombat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

wild_cat wrote: »
    I'm still angry about it, never had or have since experienced anything like it. Three gay guys beating the **** out of one another and 10 other gay guys trying to calm things down.

And I thought ye were all supposed to be nice! :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    And I thought ye were all supposed to be nice! :eek::eek::eek:

Two of them weren't nice. Everyone one else was a ray of sunshine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Good Samaritan Gets Shafted

Got a lift home from a fellow student once who then let me ride her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

gay mortal kombat.

Brings new meaning to "FINISH HIM"....... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Cue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

This is why i have a public image of "If you are fecked, its your problem." "If i am fecked, its my problem". If anyone trys to unload a problem or need a friend to talk to they are usually met with a response along the lines "I dont care". Its how i roll :cool:

A friend in need...... is a pest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I was living in student accommodation. I was living with a really good friend.......TL;DR - Friends ex and new fella have no place to stay, my house party turns into gay mortal kombat.

1. Do gay guys find other gay guys fighting as hot as straight fellas find women fighting?

2. Why roll a joint when you are pretty sure the cops are on the way?

3. If you edited that story and gave everyone a fake name it would be way easier to understand.

4. That's a really crap thing to happen to you.:(

28064212 wrote: »
    Invited your friend to stay, then ****ed off home and left him there. Not that he wasn't a prick too

i'm sorry but where did i mention i had to babysit him through a night out? he was a grown man you know? what i did was fall asleep on the couch and not hear the bell - unfortunate, but not 'prickish'. imo - when you're a prick you do it on purpose.

Say he hadn't been a prick and kicked in your door, what would you have been then? Told your mate he could stay in yours, then shagged off and left him outside and no way to contact you?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

28064212 wrote: »
    Say he hadn't been a prick and kicked in your door, what would you have been then? Told your mate he could stay in yours, then shagged off and left him outside and no way to contact you?

He kicked down a door to save himself a €20 taxi fare. It was crap of biffo to forget him, but it hardly justifies that.

Knasher wrote: »
    He kicked down a door to save himself a €20 taxi fare. It was crap of biffo to forget him, but it hardly justifies that.
    That's the point. I in no way suggested that his mate was justified, but it's certainly not a "good samaritan getting shafted" story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Walking to my ****ty minimum wage hotel night porter job in Galway and dodging the drunks in Eyre Sq

Some lad slaps his girlfriend and she falls to the ground
    Me being the noble fool step in to cool heads and help her up
    "Ye starting on ma fella" in that broad foul accent only someone out Whest can manage
    She pushes me, the lad squared up to me and so I walked away

Maybe she got battered to a pulp that night.
    Meh, not my problem anymore, they deserve each other

Not a funny, witty story, just a very common one

TL;DR - If you see a drunk couple fighting steer clear, both will probably turn on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

It's getting so loud that I'm sure the cops are going to be called. The 10 strangers we brought back for the house party try and calm things down. I try to throw the ex and his knacker boyfriend out. They won't leave. I let them have good friend's bedroom.

This is irritating. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

mikemac wrote: »
    Walking to my ****ty minimum wage hotel night porter job in Galway and dodging the drunks in Eyre Sq

Some lad slaps his girlfriend and she falls to the ground
    Me being the noble fool step in to cool heads and help her up
    "Ye starting on ma fella" in that broad foul accent only someone out Whest can manage
    She pushes me, the lad squared up to me and so I walked away

Maybe she got battered to a pulp that night.
    Meh, not my problem anymore, they deserve each other

Not a funny, witty story, just a very common one

TL;DR - If you see a drunk couple fighting steer clear, both will probably turn on you
    Yep, it's usually better just to cut to the chase and beat the crap out of both of them- this happens a LOT, couple fighting, stranger steps in to help female in distress, stranger gets battered by both members of couple. Just deck the lad quick as you barely break stride in passing. Don't give the bird the chance to sink her stiletto heel in your back.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

To be honest - Don't know- don't care.

Drink was involved- Logic goes out the window- I'm taking the both were tools judgement on it,

and I could give a **** at him wandering around town- I had to go back to bed for work- He's over 6 foot and a big lad- he's not going to get attacked.

Anyway- it was an illustrative example- would love to hear other people's stories to distract me this fine morn
    I think he meant you letting him wander around town with your phone after he already lost your keys. Nobody's worried about him here. 'Tool' sounds about right.