Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anybody eat liver these days ?

• 20-08-2011 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭

Way back in the day, when I was a young lad, we had liver (not sure which animal was the donor!) for dinner. Probably with spuds etc. Not every day, of course! I also remember "liver sausage"

Does anybody eat it in recent times ?

Also kidneys, apart from in a S & K pie.

Any other foods you can think of that aren't so much in fashion these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Liver is awesome.
    Especially with some fava beans and a nice chianti.
    Or rasher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

only eat liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭kate.m

I eat liver, as do my mum and dad :)
    Good source of iron or so I'm told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I used to have liver for dinner when I was a nipper (think it was lamb's liver) and it was delicious.
    I was in a friend's house recently and they were having liver but they cooked it so the inside was still 'bloody' and it put me right off. Even just thinking about it now makes me want to get sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Yep i do when i can get it, kidneys to but there getting very scarce also love lambs heart and cows tongue,Tripe seems to be gone out completely used to love a tripe coddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 AnonDentist

I still eat it occasionally in a mixed grill
    (coat in flour and fry but too too much)

I guess thinks like cows tongues are rarely eaten now I know my dad loved them. Would freak me out as a kid when I opened the fridge and see that sticking out at me!!

Lambs hearts would be another - cheap but rubbery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭CSSE09

I work part time in a butchers, liver is pretty popular, not a fan of it myself though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Fried lamb's liver is nice occasionally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Can't stomach the stuff. Yuck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Kidney is just rotten - the texture...everything.

I don't recall ever having liver though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

No, haven't since I was a kid, when we used to have it every week or two. Then my mom just stopped cooking it. Not sure why. I used to LOVE it. That was before I really considered what it actually was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

no liver is mank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I used to have liver for dinner when I was a nipper (think it was lamb's liver) and it was delicious.
    I was in a friend's house recently and they were having liver but they cooked it so the inside was still 'bloody' and it put me right off. Even just thinking about it now makes me want to get sick.

Still bloody on the inside? You sure they know how to cook mate.

Also yeah if it's put on my plate I will eat it, same as I eat meat it's all part of the animal. Wouldn't eat eyes, cocks, balls, brains etc.. Just out of personal preference, but if it was life or death yes I would eat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

OP again. From what I remember of eating it years ago, I found it a bit chewy, but maybe that was just the way it was cooked. I tried some lamb hearts a couple of years ago, they were OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Ficheall wrote: »
    Liver is awesome.
    Especially with some fava beans and a nice chianti.
    Or rasher.
    Saila wrote: »
    only eat liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.

FFA-FFA-FFA-FFA-FFFFAAAA!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

FatherLen wrote: »
    no liver is mank.

so loads is good?

msg11 wrote: »
    Still bloody on the inside? You sure they know how to cook mate.

Also yeah if it's put on my plate I will eat it, same as I eat meat it's all part of the animal. Wouldn't eat eyes, cocks, balls, brains etc.. Just out of personal preference, but if it was life or death yes I would eat them.
    Best way to eat it IMO. If you overcook it it's terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

It tastes disgusting! Ew. Only fit for cats!

Degag wrote: »
    Best way to eat it IMO. If you overcook it it's terrible.

like steak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Degag wrote: »
    FFA-FFA-FFA-FFA-FFFFAAAA!!!!!!

Psycho Killer ? Too many F's I think.

like steak
    no!
    the best way to serve a steak is medium rare.
    if anyone disagrees then they are wrong.

like steak
    Worse than overcooked beef i think really.

no!

thats what I said :confused:, if you overcook steak it goes **** like over cooked liver
    and I take my steaks medium rare too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

this thread is making me want to vom. i couldn't eat any of the stuff mentioned. i cook liver for my dogs even tho it gives me the shivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Used to eat it as a child, then did leaving cert biology and had to learn the life cycle of a liverfluke- fasciola hepatica-

Needless to say, I've not eaten liver since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Liver - I luvs the stuff, especially lamb or pork liver. Great with mashed spuds and a nice thick gravy with onions mmmmm!
    Not keen on beef liver or any kidney.

no!

i do not disagree but i dont agree so i am right

cocokay wrote: »
    this thread is making me want to vom. i couldn't eat any of the stuff mentioned. i cook liver for my dogs even tho it gives me the shivers...

I hate people who cook the **** out of good meat and ruin it and then think the meat is crap :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:) I think i could survive eating human meat happily not much difference between cows,sheep horse & human in the protein department :)

thats what I said :confused:, if you overcook steak it goes **** like over cooked liver
    and I take my steaks medium rare too :p
    my bad i misread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

I hate people who cook the **** out of good meat and ruin it and then think the meat is crap :(

i wouldn't eat it whether it was rare or well done it grosses me out?!

if you get a fresh of piece liver and sit it on you kitchen table before you go to bed, when you get up the next morning it will have moved,

for true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

if you get a fresh of piece liver and sit it on you kitchen table before you go to bed, when you get up the next morning it will have moved,

for true.

Does this only happen on kitchen tables? I tend to store liver in the fridge overnight where it stays in one place. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭MadameGascar

Lambs liver with some onions and spuds is gorgeous! Also tried the liver of a recently deceased cow on my uncles farm and it was one of the best pieces of meat I've ever tasted.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Does this only happen on kitchen tables? I tend to store liver in the fridge overnight where it stays in one place. :D

wrong the liver will still move in the fridge, because the light is on in it the liver will then move back to its original coordinates, fooling you,

that is why you need to leave it on the table because you can switch the light off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Yes i do.

Quite regularly in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Certainly. I eat liver - it's just called foie gras. Lovely stuff, but too much and your heart will implode. :p

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

hhhmmm foie gras :)
    I eat veal and lamb's liver too, and also sizzling chicken livers in a salad with croutons and medium cooked eggs are gorgeous. http://www.saveursetfantaisies.com/article-salade-de-foie-de-volaille-42482266.html

Back in Lyon where I come from, liver has to be pink inside allright, but I like mine pretty well cooked, not to the point of being chewy though.

Don't like kidneys at all, I think they're 10 times worse than liver tbh.

liver pate can be a nice way to eat the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭jc84

Love lambs liver, can't be beaten and so cheap too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

lambs liver is nice, I'm not too crazy on pig liver it has a grainy texture that I dislike. I always rinse the liver under the tap, soak it in milk and put it in flour. i wont eat it any other way, but served like that with some fried onions, mash and gravy it is delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

I like liver but with the way it's presented there makes it looks like maggoty meat found in the rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

cocokay wrote: »

We cook hearts, tongues and livers for our dogs too. Couldn't stomach any of it myself, the smell of liver cooking is horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

texture bothered more than the taste, I did quite like it though. it's super good for you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I'll eat liver pate as it's not shaped like a liver and I don't have memories of my grand father eating it raw out of bag from the butchers.

The texture of a whole one cooked grates me as well. It sticks to my teeth etc.

I feel so ill right now.

Kidneys are even worse.

Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

for true.

Many years ago, I heard of a liver which was said to have moved across to and then climbed up and wrapped itself round a bottle of milk.

There was given some 'logical' explanation for it, at the time. Can't remember now. Something to do with a chemical reaction between the iron and the milk?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I like lamb, goose, rabbit and chicken liver, the rest can feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I like lamb, goose, rabbit and chicken liver, the rest can feck off.

A lot of animals livers can be fatal to eat.

Ditch wrote: »
    Many years ago, I heard of a liver which was said to have moved across to and then climbed up and wrapped itself round a bottle of milk.

There was given some 'logical' explanation for it, at the time. Can't remember now. Something to do with a chemical reaction between the iron and the milk?

something to do with cancer cells in it:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Ah lads, yee dont know what's good for yee!

Liver, thinly sliced, dipped in seasoned flour and (if youre queezy cook the bejaysus out of it) fry it in butter for a couple of mins on each side, pink in the middle is best. Serve it with fried onions and really crispy rashers and a heap of spuds and maybe some sauteed cabbage.

I put it on the menu on a Friday in the Winter and i sell out every single night, because people simply dont cook it at home. Also, you need to trust your butcher, ours kills on a Wed and we get the liver for Friday service.

Heart is really nice too. Clean it well, cross section cut, and again dip in flour, fry it off and eat. Texture is really nice, way nicer than you can imagine.