Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's PanDENmonium! [Off Topic Chat]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Jhcx wrote: »
    Today is one of the strangest days for Ireland. So far we have managed to legalize upto 100 types of drugs. And some how in the upcoming gay marriage referendum we have made heterosexual marriage unconstitutional.

Government is being run by a bunch of clowns Joe. Lol (for the record not calling the government clowns)
    The resulting love buzz from a week of nationwide yokefestivities will probably make people more open minded in their view of marriage. If we held it this week. Errbody would marry errybody

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Damn. Really? Well, he supposedly embezzled it from some Lourdes charity.

"You're not going anywhere until every penny of that money is accounted for!"
    "That money was just resting in my account, I-"
    "Enough! You were in Las Vegas, when that poor child was meant to be in Lourdes!"

Bishop Brennan, easily the best character.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Think I've a gambling addiction already tbh..
    It's bad that you get excited about being refunded on a non runner.. Feels like I won that money dear God this can't end well

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I force myself to withdraw €20 as soon as my balance hits €25.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

deise_girl wrote: »
    Think I've a gambling addiction already tbh..
    It's bad that you get excited about being refunded on a non runner.. Feels like I won that money dear God this can't end well

I'm the same, I keep drifting down to Paddy power in between lectures :( every bet is 'the last one'.

Any poker players here? The online type that is. Anyone make any money on it? My housemate gets into those free tournaments online every so off. Free five euro bet or whatever on those poker sites. He comes away with fifty every so often, won a couple of hundred one night. Not bad for a free bet.
    Been thinking of giving it a look. I know the basics of poker but I have the tendency to pick up a game and master it very quickly once I set my mind to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

By the way, if any of ye are ever looking to make guaranteed money off betting, matched betting gives you a guaranteed profit. Basically, you use a free bet to bet on a team winning, then you put cash on that team not winning (drawing or losing) on Betfair. It's a long confusing process though so don't do it unless you fully understand it. It's legal as well. It's explained here:

http://www.savethestudent.org/make-money/what-is-matched-betting.html

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭pajor

And now Champions League for your gambling delectation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Driving is my only addiction. my nan was giving out today about it so i turned around and said is it not better than doing drugs or gambling.

was always told "gambling is a mugs game" so i found this lol

Mugs_game.gif

Is mother's day soon?. I feel like it is but I don't know.
    I always forget.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Is mother's day soon?. I feel like it is but I don't know.
    I always forget.

It's tomorrow. I was relieved to find out it's not today!

An File wrote: »
    It's tomorrow. I was relieved to find out it's not today!
    Well, s.hite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Any poker players here? The online type that is. Anyone make any money on it? My housemate gets into those free tournaments online every so off. Free five euro bet or whatever on those poker sites. He comes away with fifty every so often, won a couple of hundred one night. Not bad for a free bet.
    Been thinking of giving it a look. I know the basics of poker but I have the tendency to pick up a game and master it very quickly once I set my mind to it.

I used be mad into online poker a few summers ago. Made a substantial amount of money in it..we're talking 4 figures here. It's a crazy addiction though. It consumed every hour of my life for weeks on end. You'd leave the laptop for food, gym/training/matches and cinema/pub/club and that would be it. I was gone half insane by the time I actually decided to stop. Nowadays I have controlled it a bit. Mainly down to being busy. To be serious with gambling you need to devote the majority of your time to it.

But yeah now I prefer playing "real life" poker now with the lads for a fixed buy in and over a few drinks....casual stuff. I go to the casino maybe once every two/three months to play alright for maybe a buy in of 200-300 euro but I'd say my serious days of poker are behind me for now. To be truthfully honest if I dropped out of my college course or couldn't get a job in the near future I'd turn to it as a source of income. I think I could be pretty successful at it if I really set my mind to it but it's gambling, it's a massive risk. I have savings to my name that most 20/21 year olds would dream of having and that I could possibly "invest" in poker but I wouldn't trust my self.

As for getting into it, there are loads of free poker apps and sites to practice...lots of them are with other real people so you can actually benefit from the whole mental aspect of poker and not just play your cards like a lot of computer based opponent sites do. Having a friend or two is great as you can get involved in real life poker. Online differs from live poker obviously but it is great practice. Watching poker on tv helps a lot. That's how I got hooked. Late summer nights watching poker after dark. You pick up tips and tactics from the guys who have won millions. Undoubtedly practice is key. I occasionally lose to the lads at poker now but back in my craze for it I'd barely lose a hand never mind a whole game.

I love being drunk cause I can imagine those fantasy stories where in 10 years I'll bump into the ex and we'll catch up over a few drinks and re start the past. Ya only a dream I don't believe you should get back with an ex no matter how much you love them even if it's driving you to your death bed. Guess I have to stick by that.

Ex is moving off for few years abroad. There goes that open window shut . Ya ya I know I'm conflicted and confusing. If I'm not who will be. Might explain and help me come to terms with my bi sexuality. Why settle when you can have everything you want. Be greedy it's what this world is anyway. You know it's very strange I can't help wonder that even though I've come to accept who I am there's that little voice in the back of my head that refuses to accept who the hell I am and causing me these great wars within myself driving me to the brink of my own extinction simply because it's afraid to that that leap into the world because there are still people out there willing to kill other humans because it's wrong.

Lads it's a beautiful day out I have no idea what to do

There's a first time for everything; just drove a LHD for the first time. :D

Still in one piece!

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭LoveLamps

pajor wrote: »
    There's a first time for everything; just drove a LHD for the first time. :D

Still in one piece!

In my sleepy daze I thought you said you just did LSD for the first time... was about to ask how was it :pac:

LoveLamps wrote: »
    In my sleepy daze I thought you said you just did LSD for the first time... was about to ask how was it :pac:

Nah, nothing that exciting. Never say never though. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Nothing to see here...
    LSD is a helluva drug!

Ya know i cant help sit here most nights and think about my future. i regret everything but regret nothing. Im very thankful for the life i have lived. if i could just expand on it a hell of a lot more perfect! But i just cant stop that ticking image that if i die tomorrow blady blady blah. probably fair to say i have a fear of dying. so much i wish to accomplish. 22 years of age my life is finished(#growdafuqup) I have no idea why im still typing. im gonna be looking over these in a few years and cringing so much i'll have the funeral home on speed dial. but its a nice reminder to show how one progress' in life. how i can look back and hope that i have changed from what i am today to something i can only see in my dreams right now. I think that no matter if i ticked everything off my bucket list and done everything i wanted to id still feel incomplete but thats just me

HugsiePie wrote: »
    delete button is love, delete button is life.....

I actually realised i do that on facebook and thought of you

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    That's capitalism tbh. Expecting companies to have a social conscience is very naive.
    I'm not naive. I know what capitalism is. It's not a system that can be reformed. A boom and bust cycle. Concessions for the workers during the bust so everyone thinks it's great and when overproduction leads to recession; austerity and wealth hoarding by the minority. It's a system without a social conscience. That's why a new system is needed. A genuine socialist system like Russia was before the European and American powers isolated it and Stalin carried out his purges. A system that can only work globally. Never work in one countrY but in the age of the internet it would be possible if people put the work in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Socialist economic policies contributed hugely to the plight of this country's economy. Exorbitant taxes on the middle class and ridiculous levels of welfare. The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money to spend.

Macavity. wrote: »
    Socialist economic policies contributed hugely to the plight of this country's economy. Exorbitant taxes on the middle class and ridiculous levels of welfare. The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money to spend.
    Wasn't really a genuine socialist system though was it? Capitilism with some socialised aspects but without the level of investment actual socialism entails. Of course it was never going to work.

Welfare is a bit ridiculous In this country. I'm not a bleeding heart liberal . Those unwilling to contribute do not deserve to benifit. Not exactly easy to find work nowadays though is it for those who are genuinely in need. You can't only look at welfare as being the problem. Plenty of money sitting at the top though that isn't being contributed either.

One week to go. Looking forward :D

Plenty of money sitting at the top though that isn't being contributed either.

That's entirely untrue. The top 5% of earners contribute almost 55% of this country's taxation, whilst the top 1% contribute a massive 30.4% of taxation income.

I mean what more could you want? The taxation system here is one of the most redistributive in the world - to the point where the incentive for success and career progression has really been hindered.

That's entirely untrue. The top 5% of earners contribute almost 55% of this country's taxation, whilst the top 1% contribute a massive 30.4% of taxation income.

I mean what more could you want? The taxation system here is one of the most redistributive in the world - to the point where the incentive for success and career progression has really been hindered.

more is what I want, maybe not from individual huge earners but companies themselves should not be getting away with what the likes of Apple can shifting money around different accounts and exploiting different loopholes so they can pay as little of the 12.5% as possible. Ideally state owner ship. With a greater proportion of all profits going towards health, education, public transport, science. Etc.

Things might not be too bad in this country relatively. But should we really settle for a country where so many people are waiting on trolleys in hospital it's become a standing joke.
    Or where college fees go up year after year ? Driving more abd more capable intelligent people away from education simply because they haven't got the money?.

I don't get how people arE So afraid to rock the boat. "If companies get taxed more they'll pull out" F.uck em. If you're wealth comes from the labour of the workforce than you should be paying more towards the benefit of that workforce. Paying towards an education for all so that your workers get more. And more skilled. Paying towards their health system. Which would not be so understaffed because of all the working class doctors who had acces to the courses they previously didn't. Paying towards providing more jobs so that all those newly educated people don't have to leave the country leaving us with only unskilled labour working zero hour contracts in ****ty jobs that pay so little you can't spend anything and keep the ecobony going.

Incentives? At what Do you reach a stage where you earn more than you'll ever spend.? I've worked hard in any job I've ever had. I've never been out of work. Working hard is all I know how to do. I work this hard because I would like to earn more money because I know that if I ever get sick I'll be out of pocket sitting in my hallway trolley. I work because I know if I ever want to make it back to college I'm looking at thousands upon thousands for a degree that isn't really work Jacks.hit in a country where little jobs creation happens.

I'd still work just as hard in a socialist system. Knowing I'd not have to worry about getting sick. Or my kids not being able to go to college because all of it is free and properly so.

All the extra profit than would be mine and mine alone than because there would be very few costs you would have to worry about.

. Posts this long are much harder on phones. That's probably riddled with spelling and grammar errors but feck it

more is what I want, maybe not from individual huge earners but companies themselves should not be getting away with the like of apple can shifting money around different accounts and exploiting different loopholes so they can pay as little of the 12.5% as possible. Ideally state owner ship. With a greater proportion of all profits going towards health, education, public transport, science. Etc.

Things might not be too bad in this country relatively. But should we really settle for a country where so many people are waiting on trolleys in hospital it's become a standing joke.
    Or where college fees go up year after year ? Driving more abd more capable intelligent people away from education simply because they haven't got the money?.

I don't get how people arE So afraid to rock the boat. "If companies get taxed more they'll pull out" F.uck em. If you're wealth comes from the labour of the workforce than you should be paying more towards the benefit of that workforce. Paying towards an education for all so that your workers get more. And more skilled. Paying towards their health system. Which would not be so understaffed because of all the working class doctors who had acces to the courses they previously didn't. Paying towards providing more jobs so that all those newly educated people don't have to leave the country leaving us with only unskilled labour working zero hour contracts in ****ty jobs that pay so little you can't spend anything and keep the ecobony going.

Incentives? At what Do you reach a stage where you earn more than you'll ever spend.? I've worked hard in any job I've ever had. I've never been out of work. Working hard is all I know how to do. I work this hard because I would like to earn more money because I know that if I ever get sick I'll be out of pocket sitting in my hallway trolley. I work because I know if I ever want to make it back to college I'm looking at thousands upon thousands for a degree that isn't really work Jacks.hit in a country where little jobs creation happens.

Well, we're not going to see eye to eye on this one. I don't agree with excessive state ownership - many of which are loss making. As for education, we have free fees in this country - your tuition fees are paid for by the government. Yes, there are student service fees (examinations, insurance and registration, it all costs money) but getting a third level education in Ireland is relatively easy compared to elsewhere. Some people in the USA will have dept of 100,000+ Dollars after graduating.

You talk about job creation? Ireland isn't appealing to big foreign companies generally, we are on the periphery of Europe which makes transport costly, unlike mainland European countries. That is why we have a low corporate tax rate, to attract big companies despite our other disadvantages.

The country needs a right-libertarian party, as opposed to all of these wishy washy "socialist" ones who merely blind people with populist nonsense.

Well, we're not going to see eye to eye on this one. I don't agree with excessive state ownership - many of which are loss making. As for education, we have free fees in this country - your tuition fees are paid for by the government. Yes, there are student service fees (examinations, insurance and registration costs, it all costs money) but getting a third level education in Ireland is relatively easy compared to elsewhere. Some people in the USA will have dept of 100,000+ Dollars after graduating.

You talk about job creation? Ireland isn't appealing to big foreign companies generally, we are on the periphery of Europe which makes transport costly, unlike mainland European countries. That is why we have a low corporate tax rate, to attract big companies despite are other disadvantages.

The country needs a right-libertarian party, as opposed to all of these wishy washy "socialist" ones who merely blind people with populist nonsense.
    No we're not, but who doesn't like a good debate :pac: Important to have opinions on this kind of stuff at our age. Important to talk about them too.

The excessive state ownership is only a problem if the state is not held accountable to the people who elect it. which it would be if things were done correctly

Whenever I think of libertarianism (not that I often do), I think of society ending up like this:
    Springfield-2.png