Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscommon GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Was at the Dublin/Mayo game the other night and if Mayo could find two corner backs they would win the All Ireland.Its hard to say but Roscommon have regressed in the last few years from mediocrity to down right shambles.Paddy Power offer Roscommon at 200/1 and have them bracketed with the might of Limerick.Westmeath and Longford to win the All Ireland that tells the truth of where Roscommon are at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

sting60 wrote: »
    Was at the Dublin/Mayo game the other night and if Mayo could find two corner backs they would win the All Ireland.Its hard to say but Roscommon have regressed in the last few years from mediocrity to down right shambles.Paddy Power offer Roscommon at 200/1 and have them bracketed with the might of Limerick.Westmeath and Longford to win the All Ireland that tells the truth of where Roscommon are at.

considerin Westmeath are top of division 2 it should be them embaressed to be in the same bracket as Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭cuculainn

considerin Westmeath are top of division 2 it should be them embaressed to be in the same bracket as Roscommon

Think it is also disrespectful to Longford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

roscommon would have a better chance of winning all ireland than either of them two counties due to being in Connacht
    but non of the three will get near a provincial title in 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

We've a match report for ye here if anyone wants a look:

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/allianz-football-league-report-roscommon-vs-wicklow/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

A shambles, embarasing to lose to the likes of Wicklow. its backwards were going I'm afraid. I had great hopes OF THE PROMOTION BUT I THINk its down well be going

Ye didn't lose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

keane2097 wrote: »
    Ye didn't lose...

B*stard - I spat some coffee on my keyboard from laughing :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

sting60 wrote: »
    Was at the Dublin/Mayo game the other night and if Mayo could find two corner backs they would win the All Ireland.Its hard to say but Roscommon have regressed in the last few years from mediocrity to down right shambles.

the seniors have regressed horribly whereas mayo have progressed as much as we have regressed over the same period, hard to believe roscommon were 5 points up against mayo in the 2011 connacht final (looking for back to back titles) and here we are 18 months later, this despite roscommon winning the last two minor titles (beating mayo and galway on the way to both), 2 of the last 3 under 21 titles (beating mayo last 3 years in a row at that level) and bridgets winning the last 3 connacht titles

i truly feel that the way we are headed that come 3 or 4 years down the road alot of these leitrim lads will be beating our seniors... http://www.roscommonpeople.ie/itemdetail.asp?itemID=9892&menu=d9892 http://www.roscommonpeople.ie/itemdetail.asp?itemID=20301&menu=d20301

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Some perspective is needed. Players are coming through, even on Sunday it was clear to see that Cathal Shine, Donie Smith and Conor Daly are talented players already starting to find their feet at senior level. Two of them are still U21s, the other is just over-age this year.

Injuries, Brigid's players, whatever. The only thing we should be worrying about right now is sorting out our midfield and trying to beat Evans' old charges next weekend so that we avoid getting dragged into a relegation dog-fight.

Give Evans time with the full squad and we'll see how we're looking come championship time, I wouldn't be penning the doomsday predictions when the man has been hamstrung by a late appointment and a plethora of absentees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭megadodge

rossie1977 wrote: »
    the seniors have regressed horribly whereas mayo have progressed as much as we have regressed over the same period, hard to believe roscommon were 5 points up against mayo in the 2011 connacht final (looking for back to back titles) and here we are 18 months later, this despite roscommon winning the last two minor titles (beating mayo and galway on the way to both), 2 of the last 3 under 21 titles (beating mayo last 3 years in a row at that level) and bridgets winning the last 3 connacht titles

i truly feel that the way we are headed that come 3 or 4 years down the road alot of these leitrim lads will be beating our seniors... http://www.roscommonpeople.ie/itemdetail.asp?itemID=9892&menu=d9892 http://www.roscommonpeople.ie/itemdetail.asp?itemID=20301&menu=d20301

If you "truly feel" that way, you are beyond help.

And I'm not joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

megadodge wrote: »

And I'm not joking.
    In the context of regression we will be no better than those Leitrim lads,but time will tell.We all hope it is incorrect and unless we wake up to that fact the better for us all.We are a very poor county in a very poor province and I dont need any help to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

megadodge wrote: »

And I'm not joking.

its not that hard to believe, a couple of the leitrim lads from 2009 were in the victorious fbd team this year

when roscommon were winning this match 1-7 to 0-1 in the second half i wonder how many would have said "5 of those mayo lads will start the all ireland final in 5 years" http://www.roscommonpeople.ie/itemdetail.asp?itemID=1059&menu=d1059

only donie shine has done anything at senior level for us from that team, compare and contrast the likes of jason doherty and darren mcdermott, doherty has continued to improve year on year, i saw him last week at the sigerson finals and he is now a top player, he has improved 100% from 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I agree

we've been poor at improving players since minor

lack of strength and conditioning facilities in the county
    poor standard of club games

plus I still don't think enough players are playing sigerson football with a range of third level colleges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I agree

we've been poor at improving players since minor

lack of strength and conditioning facilities in the county
    poor standard of club games

plus I still don't think enough players are playing sigerson football with a range of third level colleges

We have had more players at Sigerson level than ever. But there can always be more.

The problem is these talented youngsters are expected to go into the starting 15 and play the role that our more experienced lads should be carrying out.

The standard of player in the senior panel from say 27-31 is shocking. These are the guys that should be leading the way.

I also agree about the lack of strength and conditioning facilities in the county, the game has moved on and this is a vital aspect in terms of preparation.

Emigration also plays a big part of cours, as it does in alot of counties.

We are also suffering from a lack of leadership I feel. The transition from Minor/U-21 to senior is a big step.

Its a very interesting point a previous poster brought up about Mayo being successful in blooding younger lads. Lads that have been on teams well beaten by Ros at underage level in recent years. I think this is down to the fact that Mayo have a core of senior players that ensures too much pressure is not placed on the younger lads from the word go.

You may not see the fruits of Roscommon's underage success until the next wave come through, and the first batch of successful underage players have hit 28 or 29, and are providing the core group who have extremely high standards in themselves.

Early preview of the weekend's game here lads if ye want to have a look:

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/allianz-football-league-preview-roscommon-vs-meath/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭patmac

You don't support Coventry City as well?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21534620

rossie1977 wrote: »
    its not that hard to believe, a couple of the leitrim lads from 2009 were in the victorious fbd team this year

when roscommon were winning this match 1-7 to 0-1 in the second half i wonder how many would have said "5 of those mayo lads will start the all ireland final in 5 years" http://www.roscommonpeople.ie/itemdetail.asp?itemID=1059&menu=d1059

only donie shine has done anything at senior level for us from that team, compare and contrast the likes of jason doherty and darren mcdermott, doherty has continued to improve year on year, i saw him last week at the sigerson finals and he is now a top player, he has improved 100% from 2012

Darren McDermott has looked excellent when he's played and is every bit as talented as someone like Jason Doherty - he's been plagued by injuries since primary school and that's pretty much the only reason he's in and out of the team since he made his senior championship debut all those years ago in 2011 AD.

Niall Carty is by some margin our best full-back right now and he's currently playing the football of his career. You're also glossing over Neil Collins, one of our best defensive prospects and Kevin Higgins who is a good intercounty half-forward being set up to fail in a position he's clearly uncomfortable in. James McKeague is a panel player too so we did plenty well from a single arbitrary team among a flood of good underage sides. Players need time - even the 2006 minors are barely out of college - before they can join together into a senior team that reflects their successes at other grades.

Those Mayo players came into a squad coming off the back of two All-Ireland final appearances and continuous Division 1 football, we're asking young guys to be the leaders, we almost literally started building a team from scratch under Fergie. Would Mayo be where there were if the likes of Andy Moran and Alan Dillion had left the panel before their times? That's essentially what happened to us when we lost lynchpin players forever before and during Maughan's reign.

It'll come as long as we don't indulge in much hair-brained behaviour as a county board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

God almighty I think its worse were getting, not a hope of the promotion now. The brigits run is great but its been bad for the county team, sooner we get them fellas back the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Always_Running

God almighty I think its worse were getting, not a hope of the promotion now. The brigits run is great but its been bad for the county team, sooner we get them fellas back the better

Any hope of staying up is real question? after long club season it's doubtful if any of St Brigids guys will return for relegation dogfight.

I'd expect plenty of Brigids players to be available for the Cavan game if a win is needed for survival. Probably Mango starting or Senan and Ian on the bench would be the set-up.

Some of them pulled on the jersey two weeks after that devastating loss to Garrycastle last year, and the match was against Longford in the same ground they lost the AISF in. With over two months to the championship after the Cavan game the Brigids lads can rest up for a few weeks after that. Not ideal circumstances but fighting for survival never is.

8567557694_57db9bd409_b.jpg

..and the U21s kick off their Connacht championship at the home of our newly-minted All-Ireland champions on Saturday. The year's only just begun.

Double post, but if ever there was a reason.. ;)

Shannonside have uploaded the entire match commentary to their iTunes Weekend Sport feed (https://itunes.apple.com/ie/podcast/weekend-sport/id610307343?mt=2). There was no direct download link but I pieced together one from the RSS feed (I'm a complete genius like that) so lads who aren't up with the iTunes craic can listen/download it and stick it on something else to listen to.

(Right click the links and then left click 'Save target as..' or 'Save link as..' to save the files as MP3s)

St. Brigid's vs Ballymun Kickams Match Commentary First Half
    http://media.shannonside.ie/mediamanager....ckhams_4281.mp3

St. Brigid's vs Ballymun Kickams Match Commentary Second Half + Post-Match
    http://media.shannonside.ie/mediamanager....ckhams_4264.mp3

St. Brigid's Homecoming
    http://media.shannonside.ie/mediamanager....coming_4267.mp3

Syferus wrote: »
    Double post, but if ever there was a reason.. ;)

Shannonside have uploaded the entire match commentary to their iTunes Weekend Sport feed (https://itunes.apple.com/ie/podcast/weekend-sport/id610307343?mt=2). There was no direct download link but I pieced together one from the RSS feed (I'm a complete genius like that) so lads who aren't up with the iTunes craic can listen/download it and stick it on something else to listen to.

(Right click the links and then left click 'Save target as..' or 'Save link as..' to save the files as MP3s)

St. Brigid's vs Ballymun Kickams Match Commentary First Half
    http://media.shannonside.ie/mediamanager....ckhams_4281.mp3

St. Brigid's vs Ballymun Kickams Match Commentary Second Half + Post-Match
    http://media.shannonside.ie/mediamanager....ckhams_4264.mp3

St. Brigid's Homecoming
    http://media.shannonside.ie/mediamanager....coming_4267.mp3

Where are these on itunes Syferus?

Cant find a link for them on there

Where are these on itunes Syferus?

Cant find a link for them on there

Yeah, it's strange. I subbed to the Weekend Sport podcast feed through the iTunes link on their site before the match and all three of those turned up in my feed in iTunes, as well as loads of other stuff that doesn't appear on the link there.

Seems the direct links have been deleted at those links too? Either Shannonside are watching or they've made a mess of updating their RSS feed.

Syferus wrote: »
    Yeah, it's strange. I subbed to the Weekend Sport podcast feed through the iTunes link on their site before the match and all three of those turned up in my feed in iTunes, as well as loads of other stuff that doesn't appear on the link there.

Seems the direct links have been deleted at those links too? Either Shannonside are watching or they've made a mess of updating their RSS feed.

They are a brilliant listen Syferus fair play for the post.

Who do you see from the Brigids panel making a difference to the county set up this year apart from the usual suspects of Mannion, the Kilbrides, Dominican etc...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Irish94

Who do you see from the Brigids panel making a difference to the county set up this year apart from the usual suspects of Mannion, the Kilbrides, Dominican etc...?

Darragh Donnelly, arguably Brigid's best player this season in my opinion. Hope he gets the call up.

For me Darren Dolan would be top of my list. Very talented but there was a question mark over how easily he was wound up by opposition players. Cross tried every trick in the book to get him to lash out last month and he showed plenty of maturity on Sunday too. He's proven that if he's focused there's no reason he can't be a big part of the county team. He just sets a tempo we currently don't have, hard tackling, fearlessness, pretty much the patented Dolan brand of football. He'd bring an edge to the forwards we desperately need and he an excellent passer of the ball as well.

Cuniffe and Donnelly were two of the nine Brigid's players Evans had on the panel so they deserve a look too. Cathal McHugh was a county player last year and when he works his way to fitness he offers plenty to the panel too, he was MotM material against Cross despite nursing an injury for months.

In terms of one for the future Ronan Stack is an excellent prospect, he maybe needs to gain a stone or more to play senior intercounty but some of his play on Sunday was nothing short of jaw-dropping, it's not an exaggeration to say his interceptions in the second half prevented goals that would have won the game for Ballymun.

The problem with Brigid's players outside the usual four is that they come in so late in the league they have little time to establish themselves on the panel. If any of the above are ambitious for county football the next two league games with all our injuries and absences could offer a chance to stake their claims. It's hard to say if any are even thinking about the county team right now and if they aren't it's hard to blame them, they've just achieved something very special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Frankie Dolan remains one of the best club forwards around however, at his age he's unlikely to return to county football. Can the rossies get the best out of Senan Kilbride? his strength and aerial prowess makes him almost unplayable if the supply line is good.

Had Leitrim beat by HT at U21 today, we were asleep for almost the entire second half. Compton picked up an ankle injury so he's doubtful for the Connacht final.