Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverse Reaction to chatting someone up/asking someone out

• 29-07-2011 10:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭

Hello all,

I thought this might be an interesting idea for a thread. Some girls, or possible fellas (although I'd say they're in the minority) react strangely to basic human nature.

I once tried to get off with a girl in a late bar in Limerick, was getting on great with her, dancing, I threw the head on her and she pulled away. Fair enough I thought, shot down but sure it happens. Then she starts desperately pushing her way through the crowded pub as quick as she could glancing back at me frantically with terror etched all over her face, as if I had tried to rape her.

Friend of mine in a pub in Galway approached 2 girls sitting on stools near the bar, said hello how's it going to 1 of them. Instantly, the other girl leapt off her seat and whacked my friend as hard as she could in the jaw. I thought it was the funniest story I ever heard.

So, good people of After Hours, entertain us with your jocular anecdotes of unrequited love and/or lust!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Bitches be crazy!

They're just playing hard to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Dan133269 wrote: »

Friend of mine in a pub in Galway approached 2 girls sitting on stools near the bar, said hello how's it going to 1 of them. Instantly, the other girl leapt off her seat and whacked my friend as hard as she could in the jaw. I thought it was the funniest story I ever heard.

Kind of extreme! But this negative reaction to guys (they don't find attractive) seems to be a regular occurrence among younger women! If your not good looking in their eyes you are a 'creep' or a 'looser'.

Being a little older, I wouldn't expect that off women my own age but it would put me off saying hello to certain types of women!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Went to a house party in London, when I lived there years ago, met a guy called dinny anyway long story short, he said he wanted to walk me home, which meant a journey on the tube ....this was at 6am on a monday morning...for the whole journey, in a packed tube...he sung Dire Straits..'Romeo and Juliet' start to finish...whilst the whole of the tube sung along....beautiful memory....wonder where he is now...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,234 ✭✭✭amacca

this sort of thing has never happened to me

(the wimmins generally take pity on me and tell me they have a boyfriend etc etc before I even get around to asking them out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ah nuts

looky loo wrote: »
    Went to a house party in London, when I lived there years ago, met a guy called dinny anyway long story short, he said he wanted to walk me home, which meant a journey on the tube ....this was at 6am on a monday morning...for the whole journey, in a packed tube...he sung Dire Straits..'Romeo and Juliet' start to finish...whilst the whole of the tube sung along....beautiful memory....wonder where he is now...:rolleyes:

A mental institution

Ah Nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Myself & a mate went out for pints after work once and got chatting to a couple of birds, the rose selling people came round he brought one for the girl he was sitting next to. I foolishly brought one and turned to the girl I was talking to and said sorry this isnt for you, this is for my girlfriend who I'm meeting later.....

What a c0ck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I once tried to get off with a girl in a late bar in Limerick, was getting on great with her, dancing, I threw the head on her and she pulled away. !

I would have thought head-butting somebody was a perfectly valid mode of foreplay in Limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Mate is chatting up girl in busy bar.

Other mate standing idle attempts to strike up conversation with her mate who is also only out with one other friend.

Mate: "So what do you do?"
    Girl: "No" *turns around on chair and faces other way with back to him*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

What annoys me about them b*tches is if you start a convo with them they automatically assume you want the leg over :confused: and the other b*tches that desert the b*tch you start a convo with because they think it's the right thing to do so she can get her game on and I'm all like :confused: ffs she's an ugly b*tch, I was only asking her the time and then ya get stuck with the ugly b*tch cos ya'd be too much of a softy to leave the b*tch standing by herself.

B*tches be crazy :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Fauntleroy

I was trying to chat up this girl once in a bar, I went over to her and said, "Hey, can i buy you a drink?" and she literally took out a sword and cut my head off in one go. Won't be going to that bar again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Wait. So one poster is giving out about chatting up and dancing with a bird, only to get shot down with surprise when he puts the moves on her, and another is giving out that all women automatically assume that when a bloke speaks to them it's to chat them up.

Haha, can't win.

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    Wait. So one poster is giving out about chatting up and dancing with a bird, only to get shot down with surprise when he puts the moves on her, and another is giving out that all women automatically assume that when a bloke speaks to them it's to chat them up.

Haha, can't win.

I've never actually spoken to a woman in my life, I'm just trying to fit in :o

7Sins wrote: »
    I've never actually spoken to a woman in my life, I'm just trying to fit in :o

You're doing a great job. ;D

Can the guys stop calling women 'bitches', it really is offensive. Just because someone didnt want to talk to you its their perogative, incidentally, you invaded their space not the other way around.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Less of the sexism please guys, bitches hate that

GerM wrote: »
    Mate is chatting up girl in busy bar.

Other mate standing idle attempts to strike up conversation with her mate who is also only out with one other friend.

Mate: "So what do you do?"
    Girl: "No" *turns around on chair and faces other way with back to him*

wow..what a cnut.......no need for that..there are much more intelligent less horrible bint ways of letting someone know you are not interested

there was a time when this would have crushed/completely deflated me......now, I think my pint would be spilling all over her head

ooh Im soooooooo soorrrrry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

In a bar once having a drink with a friend and could smell DKNY woman from somewhere. That sh!t makes me want to puke... turned and there was a girl behind me so I said it to my friend and I wanted to move but he said "I bet that's not what she's wearing" so I turned and asked her and the reply I got was "Oooh very original chat up line there". So I just looked at her and said "Actually I asked because it makes me want to vomit", picked up my coat and moved!

Can the guys stop calling women 'bitches', it really is offensive. Just because someone didnt want to talk to you its their perogative, incidentally, you invaded their space not the other way around.

The 'bitches' are the ones who are rude, offensive and obnoxious about not wanting to talk to you! Especially, when all you say is "hello"!

All I'm getting now is unfortunate images of Bbbby Brown giving Whitney a fat lip for hogging the pipe.

The Master wrote: »
    Less of the sexism please guys, bitches hate that

The age of chivalry is dead........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Hello all,
    I once tried to get off with a girl in a late bar in Limerick, was getting on great with her, dancing, I threw the head on her and she pulled away. Fair enough I thought, shot down but sure it happens. Then she starts desperately pushing her way through the crowded pub as quick as she could glancing back at me frantically with terror etched all over her face, as if I had tried to rape her.

Which head did you throw on her? :pac:

Thank fook! :D

What's jam got to do with this :confused:

Chivalry and "bitches" are the polar sides of sexism are they not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

smash wrote: »
    In a bar once having a drink with a friend and could smell DKNY woman from somewhere. That sh!t makes me want to puke... turned and there was a girl behind me so I said it to my friend and I wanted to move but he said "I bet that's not what she's wearing" so I turned and asked her and the reply I got was "Oooh very original chat up line there". So I just looked at her and said "Actually I asked because it makes me want to vomit", picked up my coat and moved!

TBH, this makes you sound like more of an arsehole than her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 whiteknucles

I put my cock in a bitches pint glass once and she loved it. Sometimes you have to take control of the situation and be original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I used to take adverse reactions to chatting someone up really personally. Nowadays, with a bit more experience, I really couldn't give a f00k. You're only young once, one rejection ain't going to ruin your life!

I put my cock in a bitches pint glass once and she loved it. Sometimes you have to take control of the situation and be original.

In fairness that is original................I'm not sure you are in control of anything however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

TBH, this makes you sound like more of an arsehole than her.
    how is that? she was a sarcastic little wagon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

needadvi wrote: »
    this really gorgeous guy trys to chat to me[...]A few hours later he stands up looks down at me on the chair and yells at me. You little bitch, you think you are sooo gorgeous and beautiful that you can't talk to anyone here well f##k you bitch and he walked off

This is the worst behaviour of all, and I've seen a lot of guys do it, because they're embarrassed that they got turned down.
    Sometimes men talk to a girl, and she responds with conversation, or maybe she says something first to him, just casually. At this point, a lot of these men somehow have the deluded attitude that this means she wants him (because if she didn't, she wouldn't talk to him right?). Eventually the polite girl turns down the guy, and he comes out with a torrent of abuse. What a sh*t.

Teasy-flirty girls are around, and they are annoying, because their intention is to needle guys, but men need to learn that just because a woman speaks to you in a social context, it does not necessarily mean they want your cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭adocholiday

In the college a few years ago was mad about a girl but was crap at chatting girls up. I was really apprehensive but dutch courage and all that.

Went up said hi my name is, I'm in your class etc and she just stared with a look of horror on her face! Then she goes eh are you having a laugh? And stormed off!

Confidence shattered, I got with a dog ugly girl to boost my self esteem :-)

Sinfonia wrote: »
    This is the worst behaviour of all, and I've seen a lot of guys do it, because they're embarrassed that they got turned down.
    Sometimes men talk to a girl, and she responds with conversation, or maybe she says something first to him, just casually. At this point, a lot of these men somehow have the deluded attitude that this means she wants him (because if she didn't, she wouldn't talk to him right?). Eventually the polite girl turns down the guy, and he comes out with a torrent of abuse. What a sh*t.

Teasy-flirty girls are around, and they are annoying, because their intention is to needle guys, but men need to learn that just because a woman speaks to you in a social context, it does not necessarily mean they want your cock.

Oh yes it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Oh yes it does.

I assume it's that attitude which has lead to your white knuckles.

Fap fap fap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

but men need to learn that just because a woman speaks to you in a social context, it does not necessarily mean they want your cock.

Women need to learn that a guy saying hello doesn't mean that person wants to jump into bed with them. Too often you're trying to be polite and the woman (and more often her friends) think you're chatting them up.

Listen o1s1n (if that's your real name) I have whiteknukles from endless hours of masturbating. So whatever you're alluding to I wish you would stop.

Women need to learn that a guy saying hello doesn't mean that person wants to jump into bed with them. Too often you're trying to be polite and the woman (and more often her friends) think you're chatting them up.

Of course you're not.

men need to learn that just because a woman speaks to you in a social context, it does not necessarily mean they want your cock.

this....this is disappointing.

it appears as if not that many women want my cock after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Listen o1s1n (if that's your real name) I have whiteknukles from endless hours of masturbating. So whatever you're alluding to I wish you would stop.

I think you'll fit right in... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Just a few weeks ago was in Magaluf on a sixth year holiday. One of the lads whos a bit nuts turned round to us and decided to show us how you get a bird. So basically he tackles this girl to the ground and rolls around with her for about 2 minutes with her struggling to get away. Then when they stand up they both start meeting. It was honestly the weirdest thing I've ever seen.

Ok lets look at this from the other side....A girl comes over to a guy she fancies and tries to engage him in conversation, but he's not interested....how would you guys reply???????

Well he wouldn't call her a creep, flick his hair and turn his back on her! :P

py2006 wrote: »
    Well he wouldn't call her a creep, flick his hair and turn his back on her! :P

Still havent answered the question????????...

Does not compute.

Still havent answered the question????????...

Well I doubt he would say "F off", it has happened to be once or twice where a girl would strike up a conversation that I didn't fancy! But I just spoke to her as normal! She may have gotten from my body language that I was interested!

Id talk back all the while looking for an escape route, fidgeting nervously and eying the exit.........desperate to preserve the sanctity of my cock.

Well tbh that's what I love about the old "cock in the pintglass routine" I invented. Sometimes it works and you get the girl (or girls) other times you can use it as a defensive tactic and use your own pint glass which actually makes you look a little unstable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭malarkus

Wimmins be crazy

The night I met my (now ex) girlfriend I was too shy to chat her up all night and in the end a friend introduced her to me and it went from there.. but for 2 years she never let me forget how angry she was at me for not trying to chat her up that first night.. and yet simultaneously complained that guys try it on all the time and she is SOOOO fed up with it.

Wimmins, they be crazy :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

They're just playing hard to get.

y not try a non Irish Lady?