If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do people actually go to bars they don't know to drink by themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Yeah I love going for a few quiet pints by myself,Neary's or Chaplin's in town are my two favourite quiet drinks pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i do it the odd time if i fancy a pint and a few bets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Do you ever get out O.P, i often go to a pub by myself and id say a good 50% of people i see in pubs during the day are having a pint by themselves.

I used to love the lunchtime pint of stout at the bar with a paper when your a bit hungover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭YoureSoVain

Feckin feel like it right now. Was supposed to be going out tonight but now no one I know going out. All I want is to get out for a while. Feel like crying :( Twould be different if I was a man.....then I could go out alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Downlinz wrote: »
    I see this a lot in movies of some guy at an airport bar or somebody in a new area going to a local bar or the classic guy alone at bar and girl also alone sits at bar.

Does this actually happen in real life? I've never known anyone who'd go to a strange bar by themselves, I'm of course not talking about people frequenting a pub they know but just this idea of going to a bar alone to meet people strikes me as odd. confused.gif

Well about the end of May, around midday on a Saturday, I had to leave the house (!! - herself and her friends were having a big party) so I took myself down to the newsagent, got The Irish Times and went to the greatest pub (tv-free, too) in all of Dublin, The Gravediggers, on my own and said 'howaya' to the local lads in the Áth Cliath jerseys at the door, ordered a pint and worked away reading my paper. A great stress-free day. There's some really cool things about being Irish and doing what I did that day was, in my value system, one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Feckin feel like it right now. Was supposed to be going out tonight but now no one I know going out. All I want is to get out for a while. Feel like crying :( Twould be different if I was a man.....then I could go out alone

i might slip out for a few myself. i love sunday nights it has always been my beer night and morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Better than reading a book in a library.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I do this all the time on holiday/away.
    Pull up at the bar and you will inevitably end up chatting to someone whether they are a local or foreigner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

I think its perfectly normal for a guy (or girl) to head down to a bar on there own... read the paper or watch a match etc

i dunno about somebody going clubbing on there own tho?? tis a bit strange me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

i might slip out for a few myself. i love sunday nights it has always been my beer night and morning

sundays in the pub are better than any night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Did anyone else click on the link in the OPs post expecting something other than a confused smily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

Sure, I go to them sometimes, especially if I have a book but sometimes just to people watch. You see some mad crap you wouldnt notice if you weren't alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

Yeah does it all the time usually in strange towns though so I'll usually stick to the hotel bars etc. Nearly got bottled once in Scotland :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I've never done it. But it does sound appealing to me, if the bar was nice enough etc. I probably will do it some time.

I don't see anything wrong with it. Also, why do I get the feeling you posted this somewhere else today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

This (2.28) is those of us who like to go to the pub with a book and a drink by ourselves and this (12.53) seems to be the reaction of some people here to us. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I like the idea of it, because I like lounging around reading a book in coffee shops or whatever, and I'd much rather be drinking a pint instead of a manky overpriced latte.

In practice though, even hanging out in pubs waiting for people has attracted too much hassle for me to imagine relaxing on my own. People don't care to read your "I am intentionally on my own" signals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

In practice though, even hanging out in pubs waiting for people has attracted too much hassle for me to imagine relaxing on my own. People don't care to read your "I am intentionally on my own" signals.
    Sup babeh, do you, like, cum here often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Sup babeh, do you, like, cum here often?

/bartender...Al

The lady wants to be left alone, chum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

/bartender...Al

The lady wants to be left alone, chum.
    Whatever brah, she's prolly a dyke anyways *adjusts gold medallion*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

0O7 wrote: »
    i dunno about somebody going clubbing on there own tho?? tis a bit strange me thinks.

Havent been clubbing in years (was never really mad into it anyway) but I dont see whats so odd about it :confused:

As I see it there are four main reasons why people might go clubbing.
    1) To meet up with people of (in most cases) the opposite sex
    2) For a late drink (or possiby to score some kinds of drugs)
    3) For the music (If thats what youre into)
    4) A night out with ones mates

1-3 do not necessairly require the presence of ones mates as for No 4 one could be planning on meeting them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Whatever brah, she's prolly a dyke anyways *adjusts gold medallion*

Hey look, I don't want no trouble pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Downlinz

I'm not really referring to people who go to a bar so they can watch a match or read a paper with a drink, can fully understood that and theres nothing strange about it.

I mean more people who go solo to these places with the intention of socialising. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 verlona12

If you wanted a drink to destress or something I guess, but I wouldn't really go out on my own, pubs are a social place for me anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I do the odd time. A girl never sits down next to me, more often they get up and leave shortly after I come in - once they deem they have stayed long enough to not make it obvious they are leaving because of me

I will usually go in with the hope that theres someone interesting (crazy drunk guy who hasn't left cause I walked in) to talk to and also to sample the local brew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Never really done it at home as there was always someone willing to go for a pint but now I'm not at home i do go in for a few pints on my own. Mainly its because of limited friends to ask and sometimes its just to pass time after work. Actually look forward so a quiet drink sometimes now. Nothing wrong with it at all. My girlfriend thought i was a bit weird at first but got used to it now. Other male friends don't see a problem with it. Maybe its more so the women who have issue wit this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Yeah I used to get the train to Dublin, to go to temple bar, so as I could get anhilliated alone in comfort and so people would think I was a tourist.

It got slightly problematic when I got so drunk/engrossed in getting so drunk, that I missed my trains home -- all 6 of them. So I'd end up staying over. And drinking even more, so much so, I'd barely be able to make check out the following day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

One of the best nights i've ever had was from drinking "alone". I was in Dublin, went out, met some absolute headcase who called himself mono. Mono had a ballygowan bottle of poitin, which he insisted I drink. Not wanting to be rude, I happily obliged.

My next vivid memory was waking up butt naked face down on the freezing cold tiles of the bathroom floor in my hotel room. Bruised from head to toe.

I fear to think what happened that night but up until the bit i can't recall - it was unreal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

What part of Thailand you live in?

Now living in Chiang Mai ,and before that in Pattaya for a few years .

>>I don't know how to break it to you about Thai girls.... <<

After several years living here i can tell a Ladyboy a mile off .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Don't see the big deal.

I feel a lot more comfortable going to a bar on my own than I would sitting in a restaurant on my own.

You can't beat a couple of quiet drinks and a read of the paper or a good book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Because they really hate seals?