Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can we start to feel optimistic again?

• 21-07-2011 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭

Note to mods: I know there's a billion threads on religion and politics but I'd prefer if this wasn't moved / deleted as it's coming from a different angle than most.

Anyway - can we feel optimistic? I made the note in another post that the past couple of days have been good for the country. The Vatican were put in their place by Enda Kenny and it appears as though we have a leader, however initially unlikely, that has guts. Today, Ireland received a massive reduction in their interest rate and didn't cave in to French demands for a reduction in our corporation tax rate - another point for Kenny who stubbornly refused French pressure.

Are we finally headed in the right direction? I personally think these may represent green shoots. Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭JimiWonderDoor 92

Hopefully things are looking up.

Things will get better as long as we dont get into bad practices again.

That means not getting complacent, not letting such financial anarchy re-emerge or let another state (Holy See) interfere with our democracy

I still believe in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Ah sure, it'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Lots of obese people still walking around, I don't think we're in real trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Looking for optimism from after hours is like looking for a child minder in the catholic church

a wee bit foolish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

can we feel optimistic?

Yes we can :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Are we finally headed in the right direction? I personally think these may represent green shoots. Thoughts?

Maybe have the boom again,people leaving in their droves,then came back during the good times to build houses,then fcked off again!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Jess16 wrote: »

Down with dat sort of Gib :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Greece are getting a "selective default" and a lower rate.

We're still getting the full whack......

Also are you a member of Fine Geal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yes, but it probably won't end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Is fhéidir linn? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Recession has forever made a sceptic out of me. To assume things are on the way up is difficult. This while a good step doesnt help the fact that

1) Interest rates are on the way up
    2) Wages are down (and not showing signs of going up)
    3) Supermarket prices are rising
    4) Energy bills continue to rise - petrol currently more expensive than ever
    5) The personal cost - relationship breakdowns, stress increases etc are still there

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

Next time I get change from a fifty when i fill my car up, or a salary increase, ill use the "green shoots" phrase. Till then amigo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

As long as we're nearly 200 billion quid in the red, Ill remain sceptical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭JimiWonderDoor 92

Can I kick it? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Not really. The titantic and the ship of fools is still sailing down sh1ts creek.

There is a need for a lot of change and reform in this country and it seems as if nothing is being done. Well the only thing that has been done is a slave scheme which is open to exploitation and will lead to more unemployment.

This country has been abused by the church and FF. There is no closure for people who has suffered in the hands of the church. Endas speech yesterday was just that - words. We have a fantastic opportunity in our hands this week for a revolution of separating the state and the church, and bring such monsters who caused the abuse to justice and we as a nation are too lazy to do anything about it and let this golden opporrunity slip.

FF, bankers and developers are still walking around free to live happily ever after after committing fraud and selling us down sh1ts creek.

Reform is needed in so many areas. An example is the justice system. Few threads going on about it here in after hours tonight.

This country will be exploited and abused forever more because society allows it. Others countries would be out on their streets protesting for change and actually making it happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I never really bought into the whole recession "doom & gloom", pessimism buzz. For a while, I did, but then I stopped listening to talk radio & watching any TV programmes about the economy or current affairs.

I used to think that keeping up to date on all those things was important, but I soon found out that by ignoring them, my life wasn't suddenly missing anything, the world hadn't stopped & in all honesty, it was a lot less stressful.

I don't earn as much as I did 5 years ago, I work longer hours for the money, but I don't give a fuck about that .. I like what I do, I have food in the fridge, a few quid in my pocket and a loving woman in my bed.

Plus I have the internet, so it can't be all that bad.

So, OP, the answer to the question of when can we start to feel optimistic again is really quite simple... as soon as we stop feeling pessimistic about things. It's all just a state of mind really... the rest is just "stuff".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I never really bought into the whole recession "doom & gloom", pessimism buzz. For a while, I did, but then I stopped listening to talk radio & watching any TV programmes about the economy or current affairs.

I used to think that keeping up to date on all those things was important, but I soon found out that by ignoring them, my life wasn't suddenly missing anything, the world hadn't stopped & in all honesty, it was a lot less stressful.

I don't earn as much as I did 5 years ago, I work longer hours for the money, but I don't give a fuck about that .. I like what I do, I have food in the fridge, a few quid in my pocket and a loving woman in my bed.

Plus I have the internet, so it can't be all that bad.

So, OP, the answer to the question of when can we start to feel optimistic again is really quite simple... as soon as we stop feeling pessimistic about things. It's all just a state of mind really... the rest is just "stuff".

Do you smoke by any chance?

Im just...picturing you saying all that to me over a fag some place?

I mean you have a point, but it seems like your holding a cig while making it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Optimistic that the same fvckers who voted FF/FG in the previous election might change their minds and cop on before the next election.

No-one here can afford €200bn.

Now we have a number of years of debts ahead of us. There'll be more chance of more people being effected by their poor choice during the previous election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Yes you can!:cool:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

No. Bah humbug and all that.

pithater1 wrote: »
    Is fhéidir linn? :o
    Yes you can!:cool:

Em, can people quit muscling in on my joke please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

I felt relief this evening when I heard that Ireland now has 15 years to re-pay its debts - Not 7 yrs .

I need 15 years to repay mine too .

Yes, we can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

What joke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Ireland now has 15 years to re-pay its debts -

Who's debts????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The thing is OP, you shouldnt feel like you are under pressure to feel optimistic or pessimistic. The whole thing about this recession is that, as starbelgrade pointed out, you probably arent that bad off. If all the bankers and developers were thrown in jail in the morning you would be in exactly the same position as you are now. You will hear statistics from all sorts of sources telling you good things and bad, but in the end it is gonna be your own outlook in life that will determine if the glass is half full or half empty

In short, yes you can

Yes, we can.

Yeaahhhhh I pretty much walked into that one.... All this optimism is clearly getting to me

Yes, it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

**checks wallet**

**checks online banking**

"it's not so good Al!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Note to mods: I know there's a billion threads on religion and politics but I'd prefer if this wasn't moved / deleted as it's coming from a different angle than most.

Anyway - can we feel optimistic? I made the note in another post that the past couple of days have been good for the country. The Vatican were put in their place by Enda Kenny and it appears as though we have a leader, however initially unlikely, that has guts. Today, Ireland received a massive reduction in their interest rate and didn't cave in to French demands for a reduction in our corporation tax rate - another point for Kenny who stubbornly refused French pressure.

We're being charged credit cardesque percentage on the repayments of debts that are not ours.

Inda made one statement on what everyone's known for donkey's years and has given no indication that tough action will be taken against the RC rapists and terrorists or their protectors.

Unemployment is what, 15%? And not exactly trending down.

Emigration is rife.

People can't afford to pay their bills.

Houses are being repossesed.

Oh, and the weather is shite.

You'll have to excuse me for not feeling like Henry Winkler in a crap sitcom. :rolleyes:

Yes it is.
    ColHol wrote: »
    yes you can

What joke?

Ok stick a fork in me -I'm done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Oh no it isnt

Kenny scolding the Vatican? So what? I could scold a cow for ****ting on my foot with the same effect. He would not have the will or means to do anything about it

And now we have a longer mortgage... tinkering at the edges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Well, apparently, Enda Kenny has a really old mobile-phone, so i'd say we're back on easy-street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Zebra3 wrote: »

Houses are being repossesed.

How many? Not that many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

punchdrunk wrote: »
    **checks wallet**

**checks online banking**

"it's not so good Al!"

I had to re-read that, I thought it was haiku! Redid it for you in Haiku (5, 7, 5 syllables) cos I can't sleep.

man checking wallet,
    he checks online banking too,
    not so good at all.

Can't believe I'm posting this, lack of sleep is a biatch!

Awh fup it, can't leave that alone now either. Let me see......

Lack of sleep is hell,
    Just crushed another cockroach,
    Where to go from here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Great news today on the bailout rate - Kids get on the property ladder now while you can... hurry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

And just think...if this depression follows the 1929 one, we're only 3 years into a 10 year depressive cycle!
    Great news today on the bailout rate - Kids get on the property ladder now while you can... hurry!

Yes, to quote that sage of economics Brendan O'Connor

'There no such thing as a good or bad time to buy. It's always a good time to buy!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭fiinch

your neutralness, it's a beige alert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Lack of sleep is hell,
    Just crushed another cockroach,
    Where to go from here?

That's pretty deep, man.

sollar wrote: »

I'm hearing that the 'boom' caused by this news has actually destroyed the ladder, so it's going to be more of a free-for-all scramble this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

ascanbe wrote: »
    I'm hearing that the 'boom' caused by this news has actually destroyed the ladder, so it's going to be more of a free-for-all scramble this time.

Don't worry just borrow as much as you can.

ascanbe wrote: »

Skip to 2.50...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Gumbi wrote: »
    ^ This .It's not over till the fat lady sings

A bit of breathing space is always good as long as Ireland keeps it's eye on the game as much as the ball .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

When the churches are safe to walk through so I can kneel, when I can buy more gagdets, newer gadgets, more shít, more work, more savings, more of everything then yes, more nice cars, more, MORE, MORE!!!Then yeah, I will be optimistic.

Gumbi wrote: »

Plenty of meat on them, alright, if it comes to that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭Belly_Dancer

Yes the news today has been very welcome, very positive.
    I don't believe we're outta the woods just yet, but at least we appear to be heading in the right direction.

Under the last "Govt" we were just aimlessly wandering around in circles.

Kenny has proven a lot of people wrong, and I hope he continues to do so. I would like to see him propose a 2nd Republic.
    It would be no bad thing to bin deValera's priest infested 1937 constitution and redraft a more meaningful and modern one.

Perhaps 2016 might be the time to do so?

We could even storm the GPO, I'd like to thwok some of those rude counter staff who work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Me too! I feel FG new reign of glory will bring a new epoch of wealth, good health service, money, general happiness and perhaps more FG propagandists on boards. Here's to Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

coconut5 wrote: »
    How many? Not that many.

Banks who have been given huge sums of money by the taxpayer without their consent are throwing people onto the streets.

1 is too many.