Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kildare GAA General Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

Any news yere junior football team saturday lads?the cork team was named,its on the cork thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Any news yere junior football team saturday lads?the cork team was named,its on the cork thread.

It has not been released yet anyway. I doubt there will be many changes from the semi final.

Cheers lad.

Cill Dara (v Corcaigh 24/8/2013)

1 Ciaran Heneghan Cill Choca
    2 James O Connor Baile Sheain
    3 William Burke Teach Dha Mhile
    4 Peter Warren Maigh Nuad
    5 Darren Barker Cill Chuillinn
    6 Ciaran Fitzpatrick Cill Choca
    7 Colin O Shea Baile an Mhuillinn
    8 Keith Cribbin Baile Sheain
    9 Shane Darcy Teach Dha Mhile
    10 Hughie Mahon Ath I
    11 Seamus Hanafin (Captain) Baile Thaidhg
    12 Colm Fagan Rath Cobhthaigh
    13 Paddy Mahon Diseart Diarmada
    14 Cian Bolton Baile Eide
    15 Cathal Mc Nally Baile Sheain

Subs
    16 William Clynch Grainseach
    17 Gavin Farrell Diseart Diarmada
    18 Eoin Powderly Cill Choca
    19 Daniel Grehan Cloc a Rince
    20 Daithi Duke Cill Choca
    21 Michael French Leim an Bhradain
    22 Kevin Corrigan Cill
    23 Jason Acton Rath Cobhthaigh
    24 Graham Waters Na Raithini

Other Squad Members
    25 John Jennings Na Raithini
    26 Tomas Jackman Ceapach
    27 Chris Julien Teach Dha Mhile
    28 Eugene Madden Diseart Diarmada
    29 Emmet O Keefe Diseart Diarmada
    30 Mick Skelton Cill
    31 Tommy O Connell Rath Iomghain

Good to see Ciarán Fitzpatrick back in a Kildare team. I always thought he was a good defender. We're big outsiders for this match but hopefully we will go close. There are goals in that full forward line.

Cill Dara (v Corcaigh 24/8/2013)

1 Ciaran Heneghan Cill Choca
    2 James O Connor Baile Sheain
    3 William Burke Teach Dha Mhile
    4 Peter Warren Maigh Nuad
    5 Darren Barker Cill Chuillinn
    6 Ciaran Fitzpatrick Cill Choca
    7 Colin O Shea Baile an Mhuillinn
    8 Keith Cribbin Baile Sheain
    9 Shane Darcy Teach Dha Mhile
    10 Hughie Mahon Ath I
    11 Seamus Hanafin (Captain) Baile Thaidhg
    12 Colm Fagan Rath Cobhthaigh
    13 Paddy Mahon Diseart Diarmada
    14 Cian Bolton Baile Eide
    15 Cathal Mc Nally Baile Sheain

Subs
    16 William Clynch Grainseach
    17 Gavin Farrell Diseart Diarmada
    18 Eoin Powderly Cill Choca
    19 Daniel Grehan Cloc a Rince
    20 Daithi Duke Cill Choca
    21 Michael French Leim an Bhradain
    22 Kevin Corrigan Cill
    23 Jason Acton Rath Cobhthaigh
    24 Graham Waters Na Raithini

Other Squad Members
    25 John Jennings Na Raithini
    26 Tomas Jackman Ceapach
    27 Chris Julien Teach Dha Mhile
    28 Eugene Madden Diseart Diarmada
    29 Emmet O Keefe Diseart Diarmada
    30 Mick Skelton Cill
    31 Tommy O Connell Rath Iomghain

Good to see Ciarán Fitzpatrick back in a Kildare team. I always thought he was a good defender. We're big outsiders for this match but hopefully we will go close. There are goals in that full forward line.

The cork full back eoin o mahony is there for the taking,as shown in the league game between both this year.

Hes poor even for junior.

All Ireland u21 A Hurling Championship Semi Final:

Kildare 2-11 Roscommon 2-10

Fantastic comeback after being ten points down at one stage early in the second half.

Junior footballers left themselves with too much to do in the second half. Very disappointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Same old ****e.

SFC
    Naas 1-6 Leixlip 0-8

IFC
    Round Towers 1-11 Eadestown 1-7

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Looks like one debacle of McGeeney's is finally over:

http://www.hoganstand.com/Cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=199959

SFC
    Celbridge 0-16 St Laurences 0-9

IFC
    Castledermot 2-10 Rathangan 1-11
    Caragh 1-8 Sallins 0-8
    Nurney 3-13 Kilcullen 0-4
    Clogherinkoe 2-10 Kill 2-5 :(

JFC
    Castlemitchell 1-15 Rheban 1-13

Today's fixtures:
    SFC
    Sarsfields v Monasterevin
    Clane v Allenwood

IFC
    Robertstown v Ballyteague

JFC
    Milltown v Two Mile House
    Rathcoffey v Straffan

• Registered Users Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Lemlin wrote: »
    Looks like one debacle of McGeeney's is finally over:

http://www.hoganstand.com/Cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=199959

After the ****storm all this transfer caused seanie should be apologising to Kildare and Cavan fans and players alike..

He failed to make an impact on the Kildare panel which isn't surprising tbh as I rate our forwards better than him

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

Bye Bye SJ..... just McG to go now!

After the ****storm all this transfer caused seanie should be apologising to Kildare and Cavan fans and players alike..

He failed to make an impact on the Kildare panel which isn't surprising tbh as I rate our forwards better than him

Well McGeeney mustn't have thought so prior to the transfer or he wouldn't of brought him over. And I won't drag up old debates but its not so long ago you thought he would be a key player for Kildare.

He's a better player than he showed for Kildare, or had the chance to show perhaps.

Was he even training with the panel up there or his 'supposed' club?

The whole thing was a mess start to finish. I've heard rumours that he has said that point he kicked against Tyrone will be his last kick of an intercounty ball so I hope he comes out and states that officially.

Would take pressure off Terry Hyland and attention which we don't need after a highly successful year.

Even the ladies have got us another trip to Croker! We'll never be out of the place at this rate!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

Sarsfields won today 3-16 to 0-09 points. Goal of the season was scored from about 50 meter's out..

See seanie Johnston is heading back to cavan! Its an insult and a disgrace for Kildare gas and another reason why mcgeeney has to go.

SFC
    Sarsfields 3-16 Monasterevin 0-9
    Clane 2-16 Allenwood 1-12

IFC
    Ballyteague 0-10 Robertstown 1-5

JFC
    Two Mile House 2-14 Milltown 0-6
    Straffan 6-13 Rathcoffey 2-7

SFC 1/4 Final Draw:
    Athy v Celbridge
    Maynooth v Naas
    Confey v Sarsfields
    Moorefield v Clane

IFC 1/4 Final Draw:
    Ellistown v Ballyteague
    Johnstownbridge v Caragh
    Kilcock v Round Towers
    Raheens v Castledermot

JFC 1/4 Final Draw:
    Ballykelly v Milltown
    Rheban v Straffan
    *Two Mile House and Castlemitchel through to semi finals

McGeeney gone by one solitary vote.

Reports doing the rounds that geezer has been voted out of the Kildare managers job looking at losing the vote by 1 single vote.. Not confirmed yet but you heard it here first lads :O

McGeeney gone by one solitary vote.

Jesus just seen that... Shocking!!!

I am worried but excited at the same time

He should have jumped before he was pushed.

I wonder how much of an impact the Seanie debacle had in this, particularly as the stupidity of it all was highlighted this week with Seanie ending up back in Cavan at the Gaels.

Lemlin wrote: »
    He should have jumped before he was pushed.

I wonder how much of an impact the Seanie debacle had in this, particularly as the stupidity of it all was highlighted this week with Seanie ending up back in Cavan at the Gaels.

Tbh lemlin I am embarrassed the way mcgeeney basically poached seanie he made a mockery of my county and it will take time for Kildare to move on from all that transfer bollix

Now Johnston made a mockery of Cavan which is worse IMO if I was a Cavan man I would never forgive him for it. Never mind what happened but when he realised he was surplus to requirements in Kildare he tried escaping back to Cavan.. He should be ashamed of himself tbh

Johnston was a low point but it should not overshadow the positive work done.

It's time for Kildare to move on from all of that now.

Possible candidates? Glenn, Murphy, Lacey, Sos, O'Neill.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Larries_Lad

Correct decision made. Did great things for Kildare football and that will never be forgotten but he had to go. Wouldn't like Glenn Ryan to get it or Dara O'Se (Heard he's being linked).
    Jason Ryan surely is favourite for the job now.

I cannot see Jason Ryan getting it because of his involvement this year. Those close to him are adamant that he only wants a coaching role at the moment anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

... it will take time for Kildare to move on from all that transfer bollix

No it won't.

I hope to god we made the right decision tonight. We got rid of Micko all those years ago because we "needed a manager to bring us to the next level". We ended up spending years in the wilderness and Micko went on to win a Leinster with Laois

I hope the same doesnt happen here. We have footballers coming through and Im not sure who the main contenders are to bring those along. Cian O'Neill, Glen Ryan, Brian Murphy and Anthony Rainbow are the main Kildare names in the hat, some combination of those three as a management team might have potential.

Are there any high profile people from outside the county knocking around?

I think it will be an internal candidate this time around.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I agree I won't take long to get over it, you guys are owed a few players, I always wondered what Larry thompkins (spelling) would have done if he returned to kildare back in the very early ninties , I remember Dublin beating kildare a good bit back then due to inexperience on kildares part, he would have made a massive difference. I'd say he knows it too.

Kildare won nothing with Seanie so nobody can take anything away from you as a result of having him on the panel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Players are not happy

Eamonn Callaghan ‏@leperleper 4m
    I've never been ashamed in my life to be a Kildare footballer, until tonight!! #gutted

Eoin Doyle ‏@DoyleEoin 22m
    Some county is going to be very happy in a few weeks time!! Sure what would the players know anyway #Disgrace #Gutted

Emmet Bolton ‏@EmmetBolton 25m
    58 club delegates who have never seen us train went into a room tonight and decided what was best for us. They totally disregarded our 1/2

Emmet Bolton ‏@EmmetBolton 23m
    Opinions over the last couple of weeks. A disgraceful way to treat a man who put so much heart and effort into Kildare football. 2/2

Alan Smith ‏@alansmith631 31m
    Brainless fools

Emmet Bolton ‏@EmmetBolton 18m
    Gutted that Kieran is gone. The effort that he put in over the last 6years is beyond belief. It was a privilege to learn and work under him.

Four clubs abstained from the vote and a number of the executive itself voted against the motion which was a one year extension.