Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rape of Men

• 18-07-2011 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭

http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2011/jul/17/the-rape-of-men

I found this article very interesting as I really had never considered this as a widespread problem for men. I'm not sure why but I thought I'd post this article and see what are your thoughts. Are you surprised? I haven't cut and paste the whole article as it's very long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

you find men being raped interesting????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

I'm raped almost every weekend. Woman buys you one drink and then thinks she can have her way with you. :mad:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

curlzy wrote: »

I found this article very interesting as I really had never considered this as a widespread problem for men. I'm not sure why but I thought I'd post this article and see what are your thoughts. Are you surprised? I haven't cut and paste the whole article as it's very long.

Thats about men raping men. I thought you meant women raping men, which is never reported becaus the victims are usually so grateful afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭etymon

yeah, have you never been to Coppers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Jesus Christ, that's the most disturbing article I've read in a long, long time. Sickening. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Never trust a woman with a strap-on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Rape has been used by African rebels a long time to punish and demoralise the population.
    It's a very effective way to scare people to do what you want.
    In Congo and South Africa it could best be described as an epidemic.
    Men, women and children, no-one is safe.
    "In Africa no man is allowed to be vulnerable," says RLP's gender officer Salome Atim. "You have to be masculine, strong. You should never break down or cry. A man must be a leader and provide for the whole family. When he fails to reach that set standard, society perceives that there is something wrong."

Often, she says, wives who discover their husbands have been raped decide to leave them. "They ask me: 'So now how am I going to live with him? As what? Is this still a husband? Is it a wife?' They ask, 'If he can be raped, who is protecting me?' There's one family I have been working closely with in which the husband has been raped twice. When his wife discovered this, she went home, packed her belongings, picked up their child and left. Of course that brought down this man's heart."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I knew it was used in places as a form of torture, but I have to say I found that article "illuminating" as to the extent of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I have to say I read the article and I found it interesting as well but I also found in frightening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Thats about men raping men. I thought you meant women raping men, which is never reported becaus the victims are usually so grateful afterwards.

Under Irish law a woman can't rape a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I figured it was being used as a form of torcher. Reading that article however made it sound even worse than I'd imagined. Fook :F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I'm not sure what's more disturbing, the frequency of rape & sexual violence, or the fact that so many male victims are outcast by their own families and communities. Humans are doomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

3 times a day everyday for 3 years. Surprised he didn't try and top himself tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

"A study of 6,000 concentration-camp inmates in Sarajevo found that 80% of men reported having been raped."

And I bet the soldiers that did it still consider themselves heterosexual.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Under Irish law a woman can't rape a man.

Under Irish law a man can't rape a woman either. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

According to the statistics in a report from the RCNI, 5.5% of cases that presented to forensic units in Ireland during 2009 were male. Its a high enough figure considering so many men wouldn't talk about this with their peers or family.

http://www.rcni.ie/uploads/MaleVictimsOfRapeInIrishContext.pdf

People joke about rape in prison all the time but how would a bloke react if his best friend came and told him he had been raped? It would be hard for some I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

And he wasn't the only one. He watched as man after man was taken and raped. The wounds of one were so grievous that he died in the cell in front of him.

I never thought such a thing could happen, thats stuff of nightmares :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

steve06 wrote: »
    "A study of 6,000 concentration-camp inmates in Sarajevo found that 80% of men reported having been raped."

And I bet the soldiers that did it still consider themselves heterosexual.

A man doesn't have to be gay to rape another man.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

FatherLen wrote: »
    I found the article very illuminating

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

WindSock wrote: »

Rape is not about sex, it's about voilence and imposing your dominance upon another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

FatherLen wrote: »
    Mr. Denton wrote: »
    I'm raped almost every weekend. Woman buys you one drink and then thinks she can have her way with you. :mad:
    etymon wrote: »
    yeah, have you never been to Coppers?
    Never trust a woman with a strap-on.

Aww, bless. None of ye got any thanks for your hilarious inputs :rolleyes:

gimmick wrote: »
    Aww, bless. None of ye got any thianks for your hilarious inputs :rolleyes:

Yea, lousy eh?

azezil wrote: »

Rape is not about sex, it's about voilence and imposing your dominance upon another.

And its kinda where the fundamental problem lays with dealing with male rape in Africa. People assume that homosexuality is involved, or the cause and as it is a major taboo that means the issue won't get addressed.

Men get raped because of homosexuality, so let's make homosexuality illegal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Ok, I must admit I had a secondary motive for posting the link. I was curious to see if posters would find any humour in male rape, they seem to always find humour in the rape of females. I'm happy to see that it's not sexism/misogyny that prompts them to make these jokes (as there's jokes on this thread too), it's just crappy taste in jokes :D. Also just want to say that's not an attack on the jokers, this is After Hours after all and poor taste in jokes is to be expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

Back at RLP I'm told about the other ways in which their clients have been made to suffer. Men aren't simply raped, they are forced to penetrate holes in banana trees that run with acidic sap, to sit with their genitals over a fire, to drag rocks tied to their penis, to give oral sex to queues of soldiers, to be penetrated with screwdrivers and sticks. Atim has now seen so many male survivors that, frequently, she can spot them the moment they sit down. "They tend to lean forward and will often sit on one buttock," she tells me. "When they cough, they grab their lower regions. At times, they will stand up and there's blood on the chair. And they often have some kind of smell."

thats some sick stuff,ive seen docu's on the congo but nothing this extreme,that article is an eye opener.

feel so sorry for all affected.

here is the documentary made

http://vimeo.com/10430187

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Genuinely felt ill reading that article, not because of the fact that the victims were male but more how the acts themselves were described.

The most interesting part I found was the aid agencies attitudes towards male rape. It seems from the article written that the vast majority of aid directed towards rape victims is intended to provide support for female victims only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭triseke

Jesus Christ, that's the most disturbing article I've read in a long, long time. Sickening. :(

Couldn't agree more. Its awful.

Ok, I must admit I had a secondary motive for posting the link. I was curious to see if posters would find any humour in male rape, they seem to always find humour in the rape of females. I'm happy to see that it's not sexism/misogyny that prompts them to make these jokes (as there's jokes on this thread too), it's just crappy taste in jokes :D. Also just want to say that's not an attack on the jokers, this is After Hours after all and poor taste in jokes is to be expected.

I find humour in everything, meh. :pac:

(tha dave chapelle vid is hilarious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

You've gotta be at least little bi-curious, to stick your knob up another man's bum. Surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Read this yesterday. Can't get some of the images out of my head. Horrible, horrible, horrible. Bad enough that this happened to them (and some of the rapes are horrifically brutal), but worse again that they can't acknowledge it and receive treatment because of African society's taboo against, and lack of acknowledgement of, male rape.

Most of them have never recieved any medical treatment afterwards (after being raped 3 times a day for 3 years), never mind psychological help. It talks about men who have bled everyday for years after and who still suffer terrible pain.

Great article, utterly awful reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

that vid I posted wasnt to get the obligatory AH bad taste thanks, he actually makes some good points in it, it just happens to be funny as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

That's a very disturbing post.

You've gotta be at least little bi-curious, to stick your knob up another man's bum. Surely?

Do you think all of those 11 men who routinely raped the chap in the article were just a little bi curious?

The rape can be and is also done with sticks, screw drivers probably barrells of guns etc. not always a knob, infact based on the damage described I'd say very little of it was done by knobs.

I think its the violence and control over a person rather than just sexual gratification.

The rape can be and is also done with sticks, screw drivers probably barrells of guns etc. not always a knob, infact based on the damage described I'd say very little of it was done by knobs.

Would it be considered rape if "knobs" or other body parts weren't involved though? (not taking the piss now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

God, screwdrivers? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I shuddered while reading this post.

Do you think all of those 11 men who routinely raped the chap in the article were just a little bi curious?

No, I'd say they were most likely fully fledged closet benders if they were getting off from ass raping other men, daily.

Would it be considered rape if "knobs" or other body parts weren't involved though? (not taking the piss now)

Yep. I believe brush handles and light sticks were used in certain US "black" facilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm not saying you have to be gay to rape another man, but after having sex with numerous men irrespective of the reasoning behind it, whether it was for sexual pleasure or torture punishment, the rapist can hardly say they're heterosexual. And in Africa, I would have thought the stigma of this would get you killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

It's nothing to do with being bi-curious. It's about demeaning, humiliating, torturing and degrading another human being (male or female) to break them. It's absolutely horrific and nothing whatsoever to do with getting sexual pleasure.

I don't see how it's hard to understand?

No, I'd say they were most likely fully fledged closet benders if they were getting off from ass raping other men, daily.

I'm guessing you're just not bothering your hole to read, or address any of the other posts in this thread regarding what rape is and the tenuous link to it being an act of sexual desire.

Have you ever read the Ryan or Murphy reports. They have this table which lists the type of abuse suffered and then gives a recommendation for how much the victim should get in compensation. As far as I can remember any kind of pentrative act carries the same tariff if you will! But some of the items listed are glass bottles (broken or otherwise), screwdrivers, crucifixes (I know) and toys.

Sorry if I went off track there a bit but just came back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Jaysus. After getting reamed 3 times a day for 3 years, surely itd be a 'hotdog down a hallway' scenario?

Kimia wrote: »
    It's nothing to do with being bi-curious. It's about demeaning, humiliating, torturing and degrading another human being (male or female) to break them. It's absolutely horrific and nothing whatsoever to do with getting sexual pleasure.

I don't see how it's hard to understand?

I think in some cases they are getting sexual pleasure as well, I think you are mistaken to think otherwise. I think this kind of torture does have a lot to do with enmasculating a man.

As an aside she said that men have been raped have a certain smell about them, what does she mean?

Jaysus. After getting reamed 3 times a day for 3 years, surely itd be a 'hotdog down a hallway' scenario?

What an idiot you are.

I'm guessing you're just not bothering your hole to read, or address any of the other posts in this thread regarding what rape is and the tenuous link to it being an act of sexual desire.

No, no, I get that it's about being demeaning, humiliating, torturing and degrading another human being (male or female) to break them (to quote another poster), but I also don't agree that it's nothing whatsoever to do with getting sexual pleasure.

Lux23 wrote: »
    I think in some cases they are getting sexual pleasure as well, I think you are mistaken to think otherwise. I think this kind of torture does have a lot to do with enmasculating a man.

As an aside she said that men have been raped have a certain smell about them, what does she mean?

Their rears have been permanently damaged in such a manner as to mean that they "leak".