Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the movies on your own!!

• 17-07-2011 1:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭

Would you go to the movies on your own?

I did it a couple times a few years ago. The cinema was practically empty as it was a midweek afternoon. So it didn't really bother me. I actually found it quite enjoyable! Strangely, I found it easier to concentrate on the movie too!

It is one of those things that some people may judge you on. I probably wouldn't do it on a Fri or Sat night when your sitting in the middle of people out on dates. :eek:

I am in a position now, where I probably have no choice! Mates are all married or practically married and there is no girl on the scene so I was thinking of asking myself out on a date to Harry Potter next week! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I do it frequently. Not like your supposed to talk in the cinema anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭PurpleVintage

It's totally fine imo :D if my friends don't want to come with me, I too will go on a date with myself. Can't miss Harry Potter!! First time watching it in the cinemas =)

Just think of it as quality time with yourself :p

Oops just realized i'm in the guys section.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

It's totally fine imo :D if my friends don't want to come with me, I too will go on a date with myself. Can't miss Harry Potter!! First time watching it in the cinemas =)

Just think of it as quality time with yourself :p

Oops just realized i'm in the guys section

Thats the exact reason I go by myself. During the week my local cinema is dead quiet, often I've had the entire empty screen to myself or theres a handful of couples or other people by themselves, no phones, no talking, barely any sweets rustling, its cheaper and its a nice way to get away from everything for a few hours, I cant recommend it enough.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Of course I do. Sometimes I want to see a movie and friends don't. Sometimes I really appreciate the alone time. You're sitting there in silence for a couple of hours anyway :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Yup, no harm in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Even given the choice, I prefer to see a movie alone. If I want to speak with / date / meet someone there are better places to do that than in a cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Is it not a bit weird?

TBH I wouldn't spend that amount of money just on myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Just dont ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

dont worry op

i remember when zach and miri make a porno came out and the amount of people that went to it on their own was a lot

"here mister, can i have a ticket to the porno there please?"

and thats what i heard word for word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Artur Foden

On the occasions I get to the cinema these days it's usually with my family or my dad but I wouldn't have an issue going on my own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've a low tolerance of skangers, messing, mobiles, light from texting in a dark cinema and other messing

So I'd often head to the cinema on a Sunday morning when it's nice and quiet

Wolfe Tone, what do you mean about the money? It's less then a tenner mid week or off peak, not bad for two hours or so.
    You're asking to be robbed if you buy the food and drink, just head to Spar and bring it in with you. It's different if you have a date but on your own, it doesn't matter

I've a card which cost 20 euro a month for unlimited viewing, works for me

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

True, it's a lot less distracting! I used to have about 3 or 4 hours to spend in Derry between my train from Coleraine to my bus home when I was at uni and used to go to the cinema alone all the time to spend a couple of hours. Had the cinema to myself plenty of times :D

To be honest, I don't think I'd ever remark on someone sitting alone in the cinema, so I don't know why people are so self-conscious about it :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I have gone to the movies on my own. I do it especially for movies that I have been looking forward to for ages. It's a pity I can't go without anyone else in the cinema either :D. I don't think there is anything weird about going on your own, if you are worried about what strangers think about you then you have bigger issues. I have never received any odd looks, I usually go at off peak times to make sure that it is more enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I'm a fat bastard who needs the popcorn and coke, costs almost the same as the ticket.

I like going when its full, and has a good atmosphere.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Used to do it quite a bit meself when I worked in Town. Got an Unlimited card for Cineworld, so was handy to head in and see a movie as opposed to being bored with the rush hour traffic.

Still do it every now and then when I get into town a bit too early before meeting up with some mates.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Speaking of annoying skangers in the movies! I went to the one there on Parnell st. (with a date). The movie was ruined by the little feckers talking and laughing, texting, getting up to answer phone calls. So disrespectful!! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

py2006 wrote: »
    Speaking of annoying skangers in the movies! I went to the one there on Parnell st. (with a date). The movie was ruined by the little feckers talking and laughing, texting, getting up to answer phone calls. So disrespectful!! :mad:

Cineworld is the worst for it.Went there yesterday same craic never again.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

py2006 wrote: »

When I was a young skanger I'd go to the cinema with 10-15 friends. Take up the back row and make noise / throw stuff at people. This was when Star Wars came out (the very first time).
    I used to go back on my own to actually watch the movie....(no downloading back in the olden days). :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭harr

I am married with kids and often go to the cinema by myself all ways nearly a Saturday or Sunday morning when its a bit less busy,i find it great to spend a few hours away from it all.
    When i lived in Dublin i had the unlimited card so as i used to start work at 5 in the morning i all-ways had time to go in the evenings by myself and there's films herself would not be interested in seeing so i would head off my self.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I'm a fat bastard who needs the popcorn and coke, costs almost the same as the ticket.

Actually thats a good point, depends on the movie, big summer blockbusters or comedies I prefer to see with an audience. something like Jackass or The Hangover or Pirahna works better with an audience laughing along, but some smaller movie or something you need to concentrate on I prefer seeing alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Some people go play golf on their own every weekend and I've never seen a thread over that.
    If others want to go to the cinema on their own, it's much the same thing, perfectly acceptable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I rather go to the cinema on my own tbh.Having said that,there is rarely anything on that I would be arsed going to anyway however I am going to see The Tree of Life this week in the IFI.

raging its not playing anywhere outside of Dublin, its meant to be stunning but of course you'd have to have one less screen showing Transformers 3 or Harry Potter for that :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

I'd sooner go to the cinema when it's quiet and on my own than have to go with someone who constantly whispering the likes of "that's so fake","what did he say","he's from X" etc. into my ear or people acting the maggot around me,though I agree that some films are much better suited to be watched with an audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

I go to the cinema a lot on my own as I live quite near one. Used to be very self conscious about it but now I couldn't care less what anyone thinks. Prefer going in the morning as well, but have learned to avoid Saturday mornings as all the Saturday Dads are around. Bit of a mix up one day with the seats and they guy in question said, "it's ok, I'll move so you can sit beside your son!"

• Registered Users Posts: 31 willy_wonka

go on my own a bit don't mind it at all, great way to kill a few hours on a saturday or sunday morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I have done once, and it was day time midweek, but I do feel awkward about it. And I know that's stupid
    I want to go see Senna but dont like the thought of doing it alone, but I guess I'll just cop the eff on and do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

Snorting it off the back of the seat in front of you thought can get you fúcked out! :D:D:D

you'd be suprised, I used to work in a cinema and we'd often find joints, cans, you name it, the later the showing and crapper the movie the more stuff you'd find :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

krudler wrote: »
    you'd be suprised, I used to work in a cinema and we'd often find joints, cans, you name it, the later the showing and crapper the movie the more stuff you'd find :pac:

That's gas, cinemas used to be really cool, I mean the old "town house" once where the jacks were at the back of the room and everyone would pop up for a smoke and they used to only be cleaned about once a week with rats feasting on the popcorn :D

Edit : Had real character, like the one in Last Action Hero