Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it a crime to grab a womans arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,422 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

This happened me last night. I was standing at the bar minding my own business waiting to order drinks for me and my friends. There were a group of lads standing behind me and I felt my arse being groped. Turned around and just caught yer man withdrawing his hand. Read him the riot act. Of course he acted the prick and claimed that it wasn't him. Turned back to the bar, so he tried it again a few seconds later, this time he tried to shove his hand under my dress while groping me, he got a belt across the face for that. And then he tried to say it was my fault. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

This happened me last night. I was standing at the bar minding my own business waiting to order drinks for me and my friends. There were a group of lads standing behind me and I felt my arse being groped. Turned around and just caught yer man withdrawing his hand. Read him the riot act. Of course he acted the prick and claimed that it wasn't him. Turned back to the bar, so he tried it again a few seconds later, this time he tried to shove his hand under my dress while groping me, he got a belt across the face for that. And then he tried to say it was my fault. :mad:
    In this case I definitely would have called the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Sexual assault is a crime, if you felt upset by it, you should have reported it to the cops, they would have been obliged to prosecute. You cannot touch someone else in that way, it IS against the law.

But the guys weren't going to stand there while I went off to find the police, and I'm pretty sure if a police man had been nearby they would have just laughed it off as drunk behaviour. I highly doubt the guy was gonna get written up for that.

I've been in nightclubs too where it has happened. The bouncer sees it, or you tell him and he doesn't care. He's not going to start trouble with a drunk guy over a grope.

Ya, perhaps I should have. I don't usually encounter that behaviour much and have never been groped in such a sleazy way before. Gut reaction was to slap him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭Bob Cratchet

My only defense will be ''I didn't do it'', because I never have done it and never will, thanks for assuming otherwise though.

I was not defending the act

Glad to hear it, giving the impression otherwise is wrong.

But the guys weren't going to stand there while I went off to find the police, and I'm pretty sure if a police man had been nearby they would have just laughed it off as drunk behaviour. I highly doubt the guy was gonna get written up for that.

I've been in nightclubs too where it has happened. The bouncer sees it, or you tell him and he doesn't care. He's not going to start trouble with a drunk guy over a grope.

That's grand, some people do take it seriously and don't tolerate sexual groping.
    Whatever you or any bouncer thinks, it is assault under the law, you are entitled to your dignity and to have a night out without being felt up by any stranger who feels like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I agree its assault, I just don't think its going to be realistically treated as such by authorities given the most common situations it happens in.

Yes, and as you said, by the time you go and get a bouncer, go back to where you were and find yer man, if there's any inkling that the gardai are being called in, he'll leg it, if he's still around of course and even if brought in by the gardai it's your word against his. My choice was to deal with it on the spot by giving him a belt. So I think while women would like something to be done about it the slim chance of anything happening is weighed up against the hassle of trying to bring charges against a guy and most decide it's not worth the hassle.

When you consider the low rate of conviction for serious sexual assaults such as rape, I think women are generally reluctant to even try and get something done about someone groping them in a bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

That's a ****ing twat...a kick in the balls he would have got from me! and exactly what i did to a guy that poured a drink down my top one night....honestly some ****ing assholes out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

emilyjmc wrote: »
    No it is definitely not ok - glassing the guy is going way too far though, the last lad that grabbed me got a few nice sharp punches and a firm F*** Off. He sure looked surprised that I wasn't delighted to be randomly touched up. In fact, he was smiling at me pre punch as if he had just done me a favour :confused:

That's the one that I found weirdest when I was groped. I was out with my sister, and we were at the bar waiting for our drinks. My first reaction was pure shock, and when I turned around he grabbed my hands and waxed lyrical about how beautiful I was. He didn't seem drunk or drugged, and got really offended when I told him to take his hands off me. He didn't let go until my sister gave him a good hard pinch where it hurts.*

And not that it should make any difference, it was what I thought was a nice pub (with no nightclub attached), we weren't out on the pull so weren't dressed to attract that kind of attention, and I was wearing my wedding ring.

It was more evidence to support my general theory that some people are just weird.

* The skin at the back of the upper arm, over the triceps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Gulliver

This is why it should be mandatory for women to wear shoes with pointy tips. A few good pointy-tipped shots in the nads was needed there. I don't want to hear any PC hippy "but you could damage him for life" sh1te either. Do you really want someone like that to be able to breed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

It's a crime not to grab a womans arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Corkboi wrote: »
    Just dont do it, its sleazy. Someone did it to my missus once and I knocked seven kinds of **** out of him. Illegal or not it could be harmful to your health :)

Ha, I saw similar in Cork too late one night, It was crazy, The guy put him on the ground screaming "You better beg for her forgiveness". Then he was followed into his flat, Hit with a hammer and slashed on the neck, Then the bloke robbed his 42" TV and the victim was too terrified to do anything about it, He spent weeks in hospital, So moral of the story, Don't grab random women's asses, No matter how sexy they are..

BTW The bloke got stabbed himself recently, Karma is King.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Im with you on this, But instead of the police, Tell the bouncers, That way he will be going home black and blue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Sounds like OP done something last night he fears will come back to haunt him,
    He's waiting for Knock on door from police :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Too PC these days , it's ok for girls to do it - they do all the time these days
    But a guy does it he's a perv , I wish I had the guts to do it tbh
    Should be like it was in the old days - a good slap on the ass puts her in her place - and they ****in love it anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

If she looks like this not a good idea
    http://www.fibre2fashion.com/news/images/Park_5689448.JPG

If she looks like this i doubt she's mind
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/branchtender/197254488/

charlemont wrote: »
    Im with you on this, But instead of the police, Tell the bouncers, That way he will be going home black and blue.

I doubt it, unless they are clowns, otherwise bouncers will be the ones with the convictions. You should inform the bouncers, but especially the Gardai, they have to respond to any call regarding assault, especially sexual assault. Conviction is the only way.

jcf wrote: »
    Too PC these days , it's ok for girls to do it - they do all the time these days
    But a guy does it he's a perv , I wish I had the guts to do it tbh
    Should be like it was in the old days - a good slap on the ass puts her in her place - and they ****in love it anyway

Exaclty the same thing sexual abusers have said in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Wonder how some of these lads would like some big burly man grabbing their ass in a sexual manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Only time I slap someone on the arse when I'm out is when some other girl slaps mine. Which happens a lot for some reason. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I think she showed that she can handle herself perfectly well without having to call for help from a cop or anyone else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I think she showed that she can handle herself perfectly well without having to call for help from a cop or anyone else.
    Errr, that's not really the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes its a crime to grab a womans arse don't know why someone has to wonder at that.

Someone said in the thread that woman don't do it to men?.. Erm, yes they do - and ladies it might seem a bit of fun, but grabbing a guys balls is fvcking sore so don't do it - as are nipple pinches..

ie, the things you wouldn't like done to you - we mostly don't like them either and certainly don't find them funny.

(Browsed the thread last night from the phone so trying to jog the ol' memory here)

Do I remember correctly, but did someone say that someone deserved to be glassed for grabbing a womans arse?.. buddy, you wanna dose of 'cop the fuck on' and grow up.

I've photos (plus CCTV) of a friend of one regular AH user who was recently glassed, I think Kevin Duffy might have seen them also - in reality it ain't a pretty sight, and not something you'd say anyone deserves (and no I'm not posting the stuff up).

So there ya go, its illegal to feel someone's ass, pussy, tits, balls - and in the vast majority of cases its foolish, makes you look retarded and its very unwelcomed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Exaclty the same thing sexual abusers have said in court.

Really ? And ??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

deisedave wrote: »
    He groped a girl who was just at a bar having fun:rolleyes: He deserved what he got in fairness :) He wont do that again and I would not like to think that my girlfriend cant go for a drink without being touched up:rolleyes:

There's seriously something very wrong with you if you truly think that someone getting a 2 second feel of some birds arse deserves a glass in the face which could well leave him blind and with horrible facial scars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Yes its a crime to grab a womans arse don't know why someone has to wonder at that.

Someone said in the thread that woman don't do it to men?.. Erm, yes they do - and ladies it might seem a bit of fun, but grabbing a guys balls is fvcking sore so don't do it - as are nipple pinches..

ie, the things you wouldn't like done to you - we mostly don't like them either and certainly don't find them funny.

(Browsed the thread last night from the phone so trying to jog the ol' memory here)

Do I remember correctly, but did someone say that someone deserved to be glassed for grabbing a womans arse?.. buddy, you wanna dose of 'cop the fuck on' and grow up.

I've photos (plus CCTV) of a friend of one regular AH user who was recently glassed, I think Kevin Duffy might have seen them also - in reality it ain't a pretty sight, and not something you'd say anyone deserves (and no I'm not posting the stuff up).

So there ya go, its illegal to feel someone's ass, pussy, tits, balls - and in the vast majority of cases its foolish, makes you look retarded and its very unwelcomed.

I said that she went over board glassing him for it, but I can understand why she cracked up when some perv is feeling her bum. Btw My mate got glassed and put into hospital just recently by a few scobes so I know what its like in reality. She should not of glassed him but he brought it on himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Sure sexual assault is just a bit of fun eh ? Don't be idiots.

It will only take one woman to decide to report you to the Guards for grabbing her ass, and the only one grabbing any ass after that will be your big fat hairy and horny cell mate that night in some piss stinking barracks cell.

You're looking at a sexual assault case and less than desirable questionable reputation at best, and possibly a sexual offender record for life.

Let's see how hot you think you are then.

No not really because the guards wouldn't give a ****e if some bloke grabbed someones arse, sure they do it enough themselves in coppers (i was there once don't hold it against me)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Laisurg wrote: »
    There's seriously something very wrong with you if you truly think that someone getting a 2 second feel of some birds arse deserves a glass in the face which could well leave him blind and with horrible facial scars.

Your just picking one post I said that he brought it on himself and he did. People just because a girl is in a night club, you can not just grab her ass and if you get hurt for doing it then tough. Personally I do not think she should of glassed him, a slap would of sufficed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

deisedave wrote: »
    She should not of glassed him but he brought it on himself

So if I'm groped by a chic tonight and I punch her in the face I can excuse it by saying she brought it on herself?.

Happened to me last night, the girl was gone through the crowd and had a laugh, I was nearly doubled up in pain.

It also happened last weekend, but the girl stayed there laughing & no doubt thinking my discomfort was hilarious.

Btw, I'm not looking back through your posts but the impression I got from reading them was that you found some justification in the guy getting glassed.