Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Eircom apprenticeship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭tdonegan1990

Got the email there. Applied this time last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Just applied for the craic bet I'll make a complete bollix of the aptitude tests,any body on here with any advice to help me prepare?

Thanks all and best luck to everybody hope ye get through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭focusowner

crasy dash wrote: »
    Just applied for the craic bet I'll make a complete bollix of the aptitude tests,any body on here with any advice to help me prepare?

Thanks all and best luck to everybody hope ye get through

Try some of these

http://www.practiceaptitudetests.com

Thanks for that ill be busy:D been a while since i worked the grey matter ,
    im amazed how much i have forgotton since i left school:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

i got the email there on sat night, gonna do it later.

Does everyone get past the original cv screening process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭huggy15

just after doing the online assessment, it was tough enough i thought! some of the 3d spatial reasoning ones got me a bit confused..i didnt manage to complete one or two of the tests in the time limit :/ ahh well you never know i can only wait and hope now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 niall181

just got an email comfirming that they have recieved the results of the appitude tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Any progress on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

thekopend wrote: »
    Any progress on this?

applications are being taking until march I think, so won't hear anything until after that more then likely

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    applications are being taking until march I think, so won't hear anything until after that more then likely

Just reading through start of thread, if 2011 campaign is anything to go by could be anytime, some people were hearing day after aptitude some 3 weeks after. That drive seemed to be all over the place maybe this one will be more organised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭focusowner

Just reading through start of thread, if 2011 campaign is anything to go by could be anytime, some people were hearing day after aptitude some 3 weeks after. That drive seemed to be all over the place maybe this one will be more organised

We were the guinea pigs then, it should be a lot smoother this time round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 22 spanner

Anyone heard anything back since completing the aptitude tests?

nothing really only a confirmation email 2 days after doing the tests to say the were completed. they will probably wait until every applicant has them done after closing date and then pick from the top down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ohbygod

I did the test 2 days ago i made a complete balls out of it oh well

ohbygod wrote: »
    I did the test 2 days ago i made a complete balls out of it oh well

Don't worry about it I am the same and I am a qualified electrician I'm just crap under pressure on certain things.

Be like me take some positives from it, the next one I do I'll be small bit better on certain things.

Best luck with the job search anyway.

crasy dash wrote: »
    Don't worry about it I am the same and I am a qualified electrician I'm just crap under pressure on certain things.

Be like me take some positives from it, the next one I do I'll be small bit better on certain things.

Best luck with the job search anyway.

thanks i did crack. It didnt help i was doing it in a noisy libary lol

ohbygod wrote: »
    thanks i did crack. It didnt help i was doing it in a noisy libary lol

Look at it this way you did it online no one was there looking at you
    I find doing these things in person a hundred times worse I brick it just going into a formal interview.

Put it down to a learning experience this time next year you probably won't even remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭liv1892

Anybody know when we will hear from them again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭corcaigh1

Just done the aptitude test now, haven't used me nut that hard in years haha! Feckin shapes had me sweating..all i can see now is black n white!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭corny

Started with the the verbal. Tabs moved when you selected them. Thought **** this, red x top right corner.

Awful lay out for a test.

I completed it but made a balls does anyone know when we will hear back from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,858 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Just got an email saying they'll be looking to video interview people on the 2nd/3rd week of March

I got that 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭IrishLad2012

Got the same email today.

Shur thats next week and the week after how do they expect workin people to get a day of with a weeks notice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,294 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Are there any age restrictions for this?, where do they do the training is it port laois or nearer to where you live?

Shur thats next week and the week after how do they expect workin people to get a day of with a weeks notice!

They will have that many applying that those interested will make the time. That's the way its gone now sadly, look at the 100 Garda Recruits, 20,000 applied for it.

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Are there any age restrictions for this?, where do they do the training is it port laois or nearer to where you live?

All depends on what you applied for, Eircom had a stand in LIT open day the other day, I popped in and chatted the girls on the stand for a few mins.

They told me that anyone applying for the graduate scheme will be in Sales/Finance role. Anyone applying for apprenticeship will be based in the country where they are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,294 ✭✭✭shamrock55

All depends on what you applied for, Eircom had a stand in LIT open day the other day, I popped in and chatted the girls on the stand for a few mins.

They told me that anyone applying for the graduate scheme will be in Sales/Finance role. Anyone applying for apprenticeship will be based in the country where they are needed.

The apprenticeship, is there an age restriction for this? And will the training for it be local?

shamrock55 wrote: »
    The apprenticeship, is there an age restriction for this? And will the training for it be local?
    Yet again there is no specific information on this. My opinion would be, they are probably looking for under 25's,age profile for retiring in 30 years time. Also I would imagine, if they need apprentices in say Cork for example, they will place the apprentices in that area and have them working alongside current technicians to show them the ropes.