Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Eircom apprenticeship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭focusowner

lezza wrote: »
    focusowner wrote: »
    evosteo wrote: »
    lezza wrote: »
    5 days and counting;)

are ya nervous?

Im starting now on the 1st november instead of 17th oct

R ya bothered

Nope but i had my notice handed in to finish this friday i now have to ask can i stay for 2 more weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭axiom

well i'm in :-) . . . Out of curiosity , any1 have any ideas what the medical or their reference check entailed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 higgs23

axiom wrote: »
    well i'm in :-) . . . Out of curiosity , any1 have any ideas what the medical or their reference check entailed?

Congrats :) when are you starting. Yeah I have my medical next week in Dublin I'd say its basic enough blood pressure, urine maybe bloods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 MalletHead1

Hey everyone been following this since the start and done my final interview 4 weeks ago today! Got a call yesterday at about 4 to say i got the job startin the 14th medical in dublin next week tuesday or thurs! Anyone done the medical??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 cmsnolan

Still no word for me... rang the helpline and was told I'll hear either today or tomorrow, not sure how much faith I have in that. I'm going f*****g insane waiting!!
    Congrat's to those who've made it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭REdDeviL121

cmsnolan wrote: »
    Still no word for me... rang the helpline and was told I'll hear either today or tomorrow, not sure how much faith I have in that. I'm going f*****g insane waiting!!
    Congrat's to those who've made it.

Same! Still waiting! And what today or tomorrow?? Ohh for god sake!! This is starting to get a joke at this stage!! I was just about to ring them but no point now obv! And yeah me neither but i just dont see the point in stringing us along for so long to finally turn round and say no!! They better have a very good reason for hanging on this long if it is a no!!

Ya, the girl said they're still having trouble ''deliberating over the last few'', take from that what you can! :confused:

Ohh great!! So really if thats true it could very well be a case of iny meany myny mo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 JimboJones3711

Ohh great!! So really if thats true it could very well be a case of iny meany myny mo!

Seems to be just us 3 waiting to hear. . . . . It cant drag on for much longer lads :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭SmudgeS20K16

Best of luck lads, I had a 4 week wait and I know how awful it was so hang in there!!

Seems to be just us 3 waiting to hear. . . . . It cant drag on for much longer lads :(

Yeah seems that way!! Pffff!! How long yous waiting? Im 4weeks 2days since interview!

Im waitin 2weeks tomorrow. . . . . :o

Got the dreaded call at 7:30 today, didn't make it, gutted tbh.

Best of luck to those left!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭focusowner

Hard luck pal keep the chin up

Really??! Still nothing my end! Sorry to hear that pal! All d best mate!

Sorry to hear it!!

Anyword yet jimbo??

Im in just off the phone. . . . Delighted, Best of luck to every1 waiting :D

Anyword yet jimbo??

Im in just off the phone. . . . Delighted, Best of luck to every1 waiting :D

Ahh fair play jimbo! Still waitin myself!

So am i litrally the very last person left still ti find out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 brick100

looks like it.. although that must mean you'll get the call soon! fingers crossed! good luck! :)

And another day of not knowing!! I hate this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭lezza

Any word yet from remaining candidates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭hillbloom

I am not involved in this competition but have been keeping an eye on it. I think Red Devil, you should ring them on Monday. This is terrible carry on! I cant recall if you have contacted them already but would they have mislaid your details seeing they didnt contact you one way or the other. I sincerely hope you get it. Better late than never.

Well lads. . . . . .

Just wondering does anyone know what the stages are of the apprenticeship?

Like will there be a college phase, Or whats the plans!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭lezza

Well lads. . . . . .

Just wondering does anyone know what the stages are of the apprenticeship?

Like will there be a college phase, Or whats the plans!?

I believe tbh that eircom are unsure as to what the format is, first 4 weeks seems to be in hsq and they not too sure about the rest of it or they at least dont have it finalised

hillbloom wrote: »
    I am not involved in this competition but have been keeping an eye on it. I think Red Devil, you should ring them on Monday. This is terrible carry on! I cant recall if you have contacted them already but would they have mislaid your details seeing they didnt contact you one way or the other. I sincerely hope you get it. Better late than never.

Rang them yesterday and they told me to ring back on monday that they eould be able to give me an update then! And that they are still unsure as too who they pick to start nov 14th!

Best of luck, hope you get it now after all the wait, it's hard enough waiting when there's a few in the same boat but when you seem to be the last on this and everyone else has been put out of their misery one way or another then I'd say you're fairly anxious, if not a little pissed off!!!

Let us know how you get on anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Endace

So this time tomorrow some of us will be finished our first day!!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 qFIGHTINIRISHp

well lads i had a call last week to say i wasnt successful. made it as far as the final interview but i'll go no further. gutted to be honest. been a sparks for 12 yrs and was a supervisor for 3. had a feedback call from them this week and i was told that while technically i had everything they were looking for the lack of experience in customer relations is basically what i fell down on. wasnt impressed to say the least. had done a 2 week course in carlow in fibre installation and rrepair during the summer, thought it might help but they seem to be focused on the customer care side of things. i wud have thought upgrading the network to fibre wud have been a priority since the competition is streaks ahead in that dept. anyway best of luck to those who got in, it wasnt an easy process to go through so make the most of it. rant over:confused: