Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best thing you've have ever eaten and where?

• 11-05-2011 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭

For me, it was in the bar of the Ritz Carlton hotel in Powerscourt. A fillet steak that has never been equalled since. Like slicing through butter it was.

Their fish and chips were something else too - just amazing.

They had a Gordon Ramsey restaurant there too and the food was nowhere near as good as the food they served up in the bar.

So, what restaurant meal would you consider the best you've ever eaten?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

bk bacon double cheeseburger meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

http://www.daikoku.co.nz/index.html

Great food.

Usually for a surf n' turf combo to be cooked up and diced infront of me.
    Some theatrics along with great food.

Mmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Fish and chips in MacDonaghs in Galway

After about 9 pints of stout :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Rabies wrote: »
    http://www.daikoku.co.nz/index.html

Great food.

Usually for a surf n' turf combo to be cooked up and diced infront of me.
    Some theatrics along with great food.

Mmmmmm

That reminds me of Sapporo teppenyaki restaurant in Manchester - easily the best restaurant experience I've ever had. The chefs were amazing and the food was just divine. A real theatrical type dining experience that one...they put on a great show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Remember me

For me, it was in the bar of the Ritz Carlton hotel in Powerscourt. A fillet steak that has never been equalled since. Like slicing through butter it was.

Their fish and chips were something else too - just amazing.

They had a Gordon Ramsey restaurant there too and the food was nowhere near as good as the food they served up in the bar.

So, what restaurant meal would you consider the best you've ever eaten?

Nandos- Surfers paradise- Australia. When I ate here after a very hectic night the food went down like I's never eaten before. FANTASTIC. Il always remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Follow the Plan

Lord Bagenal in Leighlinbridge their Southern Fried Chicken is worth travelling for.

Its v simple, chips, coleslaw, bbq dip and a leg of chicken. The piece of chicken is nearly all chicken with only the leg bone unlike maybe something you would get in a chipper. I stop there as often as I can

Coming a close second was in a restaurant in Stratford , UK. Their pork chop was serious. I'd advise anyone staying in Stratford during the Cheltenham horse racing festival to give Edward Moon a visit. I hope to get back there again someday. Again v simple, A pork chop on the bone on top of mash spuds with veg.

Sorry I nearly came re-reading this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Possibly La Cabrera in Buenos Aires or some restaurants in Asia that i can't remember the name of. But La Cabrera was amazing. Had to book the place a few days in advance it's so popular. You get wine and finger food better than most starters in other restaurants while waiting in line. And the the parrillas were unbelievable. So many different kinds of meat in huge portions. And it was cheap enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

Lord Bagenal in Leighlinbridge their Southern Fried Chicken is worth travelling for.

Its v simple, chips, coleslaw, bbq dip and a leg of chicken. The piece of chicken is nearly all chicken with only the leg bone unlike maybe something you would get in a chipper. I stop there as often as I can

Coming a close second was in a restaurant in Stratford , UK. Their pork chop was serious. I'd advise anyone staying in Stratford during the Cheltenham horse racing festival to give Edward Moon a visit. I hope to get back there again someday. Again v simple, A pork chop on the bone on top of mash spuds with veg.

Sorry I nearly came re-reading this.

Interesting, im about ten minutes way never really bothered with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Probably in Castle Leslie most gorgeous tower consisting of goats cheese, aubergine, courgette and tomato topped with a crispy potato slice, with salad and it was just so simple but tasty.

That or my first ever Indian meal back in 92 in a revolving restaurant in Den Haag. Cant even remember what we ate but boy was it great, sparked my love for Indian food. Yum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Large popcorn chicken meal in KFC with gravy comes highly recommended!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

The Steakhouse Angus in Burger King

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

That reminds me of Sapporo teppenyaki restaurant in Manchester - easily the best restaurant experience I've ever had. The chefs were amazing and the food was just divine. A real theatrical type dining experience that one...they put on a great show!

Exactly, really makes a difference.
    Even sharing a table doesn't bother me. 8 people, one chef, great fun, awesome food.

Kind of the reason I like going to yakitori bars too. Sharing of food and close space is nice. Everyone is wrapped around the bar and service is always fast too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A number of meals in one city springs to mind.
    Nice, Southern France. My god, they really know how to cook in some places there.
    The words 'beautiful' can't begin to describe some of the food/meals there.
    I nearly had a ruddy orgasm at the table with every bite - and that was before the deserts which nearly reduced me to tears.

Aaa... the memories...
    If there is one place on Earth I'm returning to, it's there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Biggins wrote: »
    A number of meals in one city springs to mind.
    Nice, Southern France. My god, they really know how to cook in some places there.
    The words 'beautiful' can't begin to describe some of the food/meals there.
    I nearly had a ruddy orgasm at the table with every bite - and that was before the deserts which nearly reduced me to tears.

Aaa... the memories...
    If there is one place on Earth I'm returning to, it's there.

Which restaurants? Nice is one place I'll be going to anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

It may sound like the start of a bad joke but.
    One time i was in an Ethiopian Restaurant.........:D
    It was in Amsterdam. No starters, no desert, only banana beer or that strong sweet Nigerian export Guinness to drink and just two items on the menu. Vegetarian or non vegetarian. Me and my good lady opted for the non veggie.
    What we got was a huge millet spongy pancake type thing on a wicker tray with dollops of various spiced and curried meats including goat, spiced chick peas, lentils and veg. No cutlery, you just tore off bits of the pancake and ate it with your fingers. IT WAS FARKING GORGEOUS:D:D:D:D:D
    Never had a nicer meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The chicken balls and curry sauce in Charlie's Temple Bar around 3.30am :pac:

Must say I hate going to restaurants, waste of time and money imo!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Confab wrote: »
    Which restaurants? Nice is one place I'll be going to anyway.
    A number of restaurants along Cours Saleya and the open air restaurants that operate on La Cambuse.
    Definitely check out Chez Freddy.
    http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/1153/chezfreddy.jpg
    (Its a few feet up from Ma Nolans - an Irish Bar there)

You will find a few pics I took of Nice here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/album.php?albumid=571

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

A marbelised steak, rare. Had it in Majorca in a steakhouse on a family holiday years ago. Un-focking real!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

In general we love to go out to eat, plus I like to cook. Nothing beats good food. Hard to pick my favourite ever, we've eaten great food in the US, Italy, France and in Ireland. Great food not necessarily expensive.

I think the best meal ever has to be in Avoca, the plate of anti pasta between two for starter, the bacon with creamed cabbage is fantastic, the little trio of desserts, if you manage all three you'll roll out.

But best risotto ever was actually in The Kettering Park Hotel in Kettering, UK. Fantastic mushroom risotto. Unusual as good food is at a premium in that particular town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Had an 18 hour steak in Australia. Slow cooked and incredibly tender. Also the waiter bringing the two beers put one in front of my father and one in front of me (I was 14 at the time) and then asked my mother if she'd like a white wine? :pac:

I also got a steak in a Maynooth pub, it was the best normally cooked steak I've had. Seared completely on the outside, cyrstalising, and the insides cooked through but still pink. A friend had a curry there and is still kicking himself he didn't get the steak.

Best non-steak I've had was in Khan's in Bayswater, London (don't bother going there now. A new crowd have taken it over, a bunch of Muslims, and apart from the quality dropping they no longer serve beer.) It was stunningly good Indian food. It was my first time eating Indian so I had a lamb pasanda. Gorgeous. To put this place in context there was a queue running out the door, tables sat about thirty people all sitting on long benches, and there was about 100 people in the place. They still did a huge menu and cooked everything to order. We were skipped the entire queue as there were three of us, and that was a weird enough seating combination to get us straight in. Unfortunately I gawked it all up an hour later. Turns out I'm allergic to some spice they used, so is my aul fella (although he just gets red in the face from it) yet I've never encountered ever again in Indian food.

Best pizza was in Spain, small family run business of parents and (adult) children who emigrated and set up a pizza place. Crispy thin bases, best toppings and the first time I had pizza oil.

Best chicken is from the rotisseries they have in Spain. They seemed to have them all over, and they'd do a roaring trade. As busy as our chippers would be. That meant the chickens were never left waiting and always cooked to perfection. Absolutely gorgeous.

Jaysus, I've had some good ates now I think of it.

Edit: And actually, none of those restaurants were even near the most expensive places I've eaten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

With great meals it’s sometimes not so much about the food itself – it can be about the location, the person you’re with or the context of the meal.
    One I always remember was when myself and the OH did a year away in Oz a few years back.
    First stop en-route to Oz was a week in Mumbai – now to be honest this was probably a mistake – we weren’t used to travelling and Mumbai was a bit of a culture shock. We were really paranoid we were going to get Delhi-belly and this probably affected our enjoyment of any meals we had. I don’t think we really ate properly for the whole week.
    Next stop was Singapore – my god – it was seemed so clean after Mumbai. I remember having steak in a restaurant on our first evening and it seemed like the best meal in the world at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A steak I had in TGIF in Boston springs to mind.
    Also having a Slavic dish, deep-fried cheese, in KRCMA in Salthill.

Next stop was Singapore – my god – it was seemed so clean after Mumbai. I remember having steak in a restaurant on our first evening and it seemed like the best meal in the world at the time.

Singapore is an amazing place. I remember having Tiger Beer there long before it was available here. It was the perfect beer to have in the hot humid weather. Some spicey munchy bits to go with it and it was heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

The best feed ive ever had was in More resteraunt in Centurion,just outside Pretoria,a 300g fillet steak:pac::pac::pac: nom nom nom.... and to top it off only 9 yo yo's at the time:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Been to a fair few restaurants so far. Ciao in Malahide is great, great quality for a price. My current favourites are Le Bon Crubeen on Talbot St (surprisingly cheap for the quality) and The Port House on South William St for their fantasic tapas. L'Ecrivain on Baggot St is great but friggin' expensive as it's a Michelin star place. The Church on Mary St is excellent for lunch. There used to be a place called Bodega in Waterford that served fantastic desserts but it's gone now. Caramelised filo pastry... lovely stuff.

Abroad, Ambiente Brasileiro in Prague is amazing. Unlimited quantities of steak, fish, chicken, sushi... the list just keeps going and it's all tasty. The Chelsea in Brisbane is really great. Expensive though!

So many more, just can't think of any just now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Was in Vientiane in Laos a few years back and after weeks of living off nothing but noodles and chicken we decided we wanted a big ass Western style meal. Went into this swanky restaraunt away from the tourist area and ordered up and huge Argentinian Beef Steak. To this day the nicest steak I've ever had and only cost €9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Probably one of the nicest meals I’ve had in Ireland was from La Banca in Lucan, the food is amazing, the staff are lovely and friendly and it’s a really comfortable place with a relaxed atmosphere.

**I don’t work for the place, its just one of my favourite restaurants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Hunger is good sauce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

Best meal ever? was at the Stephens Green Hibernian club with in-laws, rabbit starter inc a rabbit paté, and duck for mains. was nicest food ive ever eaten.

next would have to be shanahans on the green, fillet steak was unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Marconi's in Clifden! Had the nicest steak I've ever eaten complete with gorgeous Cheesy garlic spuds and veg! And twas only about 20 quid each or so for a big 3-course meal!

Definitely going back, nom nom nom!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Bigtoe107

Wild Galatian Boar cooked rare with a pineapple gravy i actually had to be dragged out of the place, the best food i have eaten hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Texas de Brazil Brazilian Steak House in Orlando.

Amazing for us animal haters meat lovers.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Hunger is good sauce.

Damn right.

I was in le hospital for a while and was fasting the whole time because I had to have tests done. My Mammy brought me a chicken sandwich from Tescos and it was gorgeous. Best sambo I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭gerbear1

Possibly La Cabrera in Buenos Aires or some restaurants in Asia that i can't remember the name of. But La Cabrera was amazing. Had to book the place a few days in advance it's so popular. You get wine and finger food better than most starters in other restaurants while waiting in line. And the the parrillas were unbelievable. So many different kinds of meat in huge portions. And it was cheap enough too.
    I second that about La Cabrera. I've been several times and the meat is always absolutely perfect. And in general I'm not even a massive steak fan!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Friendly's in Orlando...nicest burger I ever had topped with egg, bacon and onion rings.

Jimmy Chungs is nice.

And Ho's in Carlow is worth travelling for.

I have simple tastes when it comes to food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭cbmonstra

Confab wrote: »
    There used to be a place called Bodega in Waterford that served fantastic desserts but it's gone now. Caramelised filo pastry... lovely stuff.

Eh, it's still there... And still really nice btw...

For me has to be the steak with roquefort sauce which I had in a restaurant in Biarritz... The French really know how a steak should be cooked, and don't get me started on the cheese... Never had better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ye can keep your fancy 'eateries', I'd rather have me Mammy's ribs n' cabbage any day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Not really in a restuarant, but my cousin had her wedding in Castleknock Castle and it was by far the best wedding meal I've ever had in my life!! Bloody delicious!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Whahey!

Crispy Shredded Chicken in the local chinese! wooowzar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Probably the nicest meal I had in Ireland was at Roly's in Ballsbridge (Dublin), but it doesn't compare to what I've had in other countries. A group of us went to a Michelin-starred place in Spain last year: La Hacienda, where I had the Sea Bream Tartare followed by Roast Kid. (Goat Kid, not Human Kid, that is.) It was Good.

But the high point has to be a week I spent in the Rhône Valley in France five years ago, on business - meaning we were on expenses. Starting Monday, we stepped it up a notch every night, and by Thursday night we hit a place called L'Alouette, which was frankly insane and must have taken a year off my life. After the foie gras noisette starter I think I had the caille (quail), and dessert. With champagne cocktails, and wine, and I made a serious dent in the cheese board along the way. I was ready to go home after that - and it only cost something like €60 per person. :cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Another vote for Ciao in Malahide, fantastic food, stuff that seems basic like chicken supreme or a selection of pork but done to perfection.
    They have a great value lunch menu too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

gerbear1 wrote: »
    I second that about La Cabrera. I've been several times and the meat is always absolutely perfect. And in general I'm not even a massive steak fan!!

I ate there about 15 times in a month the food was that good. Don't think it was the healthiest my heart has ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

A marbelised steak, rare. Had it in Majorca in a steakhouse on a family holiday years ago. Un-focking real!

What was the name of the steakhouse can you remember? I going there in a couple of weeks for a holiday.

Mine was in La Tasca on the main strip of Corralejo in Fuertaventura 2 months ago on our honeymoon. First night there was paddys day and had a big fillet steak, was un real. But then I got thinking was it only so nice cos we were steaming......so last night of honeymoon we went back sober and had the same meal and it was just as nice. Best meal I've ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Steak I had in Bella Cuba in ballsbridge was absolutely rocking..

and we were sitting at a table next to Callum Blue while there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Ganesh in Lodz in Poland.

It's an Indian restaurant.
    I've a steak and chips man myself but after one meal there I was converted.

Starter was Chicken Pagoda..spicy strips of chicken, about 6 pieces per starter.:eek:
    Main Course was Chicken Tikka Massala with egg fried rice and Buttered naan bread with a few beers.

I've never felt so stuffed in my life...and without a doubt the finest Indian food on the planet....

And what did it cost? €12.50 :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    Ganesh in Lodz in Poland.

It's an Indian restaurant.
    I've a steak and chips man myself but after one meal there I was converted.

Starter was Chicken Pagoda..spicy strips of chicken, about 6 pieces per starter.:eek:
    Main Course was Chicken Tikka Massala with egg fried rice and Buttered naan bread with a few beers.

I've never felt so stuffed in my life...and without a doubt the finest Indian food on the planet....

And what did it cost? €12.50 :D

Egg friend rice in an Indian restaurant? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The Keg restaurant in Banff Canada, ceasar salad with croutons and hot bun out of this world followed by new york strip steak with onions and garlic mash spuds:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Kebab: Kerry Kebabish, Cahersiveen, Kerry - I would travel for their kebabs! amazing!!
    Indian: Kinara, Clontarf - amazing! Also a restaurant in Manchester near the Hilton!! amazing!
    Steak: La Taverne in Temple Bar - was AMAZING! hope to give it a run for its money this weekend in Waterford.

and a big mac meal whilst hungover :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Othellos in Tenerife (South) is amazing. It's hanging off the edge of the cliff and there is pretty much no menu, as far as I remember.
    They just give you a load of southern fried chicken and a huge bowl of those amazing Canarian potatoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Not really a restaurant, but wild boar cooked on a spit in the mountains of Sardinia served ona piece of freshly cut cork wood. Nicest food ever.