Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do People Still Get Refused From Pubs/Clubs

• 25-06-2011 6:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

You know back in the age of the Tiger people used to get refused from pubs and clubs for wearing inappropriate clothing etc and queues would go down the street with people waiting in line.

Well, does this still happen in the new Ireland:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

because many pubs and clubs will not and cannot actually go out of business.

Seriously, their scene isn't rocket science.

Though i would argue that their are far too many of the like in dublin let alone ireland ( it is over kill ) meh. IF your refused... go elsewhere or go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

yeah, i do sometimes. i dont like wearing shoes so i normally get pulled on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

i remember being refused the odd time before recession for the most stupid thing like don't know your face. nowadays you'd have to be absolutely palatic not to get in or a member of the travel community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I only remember ever being refused once myself for "being too drunk" when I had had around 6-7 pints, which for me is warming up before the game. I was just acting the plonker TBH.

I know I have been turned away when I can't even remember going out, but that doesn't count because I deserved to be. That said, I have one bar here, where no matter how drunk I am, I am always welcome. Simply because I go there often enough that all the staff know my face and know that no matter how drunk I am, I'm not angry ever, and always just have a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

joe stodge wrote: »
    yeah, i do sometimes. i dont like wearing shoes so i normally get pulled on that.

Is that not a bit risky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

joe stodge wrote: »

In fairness if you turned up barefoot at my pub i'd tell you to fcuk off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Is that not a bit risky?

runners is the norm for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

Is that not a bit risky?
    I don't think it was ever just the shoes. Dress code is an excuse to refuse drunk people hopefully without confrontation or sometimes to filter out undesirables.

If you get refused on the basis of dress - you can be almost sure that you wouldn't get in wearing your finest three piece suit either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

david wrote: »
    I don't think it was ever just the shoes. Dress code is an excuse to refuse drunk people hopefully without confrontation or sometimes to filter out undesirables.

If you get refused on the basis of dress - you can be almost sure that you wouldn't get in wearing your finest three piece suit either.

Or just to make bouncers feel like there's a meaning to their life

The best excuse I ever heard was in a club in Dublin that it was an ethnic minorities night and no Irish were allowed in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I remember when my local boozer used to have people on the door :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

Think this happens more so in big cities rather than towns, i have been refused entry into clubs in Cork on numerous occasions for wearing trainers yet in my home town i can get in anywhere.

I don't blame bouncers for refusing to let people that wear football jersey's or hoodies in though tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

one of the lads gets refused everywhere in Dublin, without fail, its become a running joke. The last example was flannerys on a Sunday night about 4 weeks ago (yeah flannerys! on a Sunday!). It's just the head on him. He's 26, 6'1 and looks a bit like a student version of Morrissey. . .

. . .come to think of it, I'm not gonna let him into the gaf anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

cosanostra wrote: »

Or just to make bouncers feel like there's a meaning to their life
    they're usually working under orders when it comes to something like that. People are judged as they walk to the door.
    Unless it's a high end bar/club, the. We just don't like the look of you or maye one of your mates.
    Sure we'll lose your money on the night, but keeping the right people inside happy and the right looking people in queue is just as important to us.
    Not sure what it's fully like back in Ireland, but we keep a manager outside at all times and we stand away from the door. a simple nod to the bouncer will bing their eyes to the people you don't want in your venue.
    Also calling ahead to other venues to five them prior warning of groups goes on too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Used to be a member of Westwood gym in Dublin and there was a place called Barcode attached.

Was going to the gym one Saturday evening, me in my tracksuit and gym bag and runners.
    And got stopped at the gate by the road and was told I wasn't getting in dressed like that and they asked me for ID anyway :mad:

Holding up my gym swipe card didn't work either.

Grrrrrr, sent in a complaint and got a letter of apology from the manager. Hope that bouncer got sacked

Sorry, offtopic. I'd forgotton about this until this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

^ Didnt think barcode would be that fussy even if you were going in tbh :p

Never got refused from a place, but I have noticed that a lot of my local clubs only hav bouncers on from 12-3 now, as opposed to how they used to start at about 8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭fearcruach

I hadn't been stopped for "inappropriate" footwear since the recession until a few months ago at the Baggot Inn. He let me in with a warning saying "it's dress shoes only here".

I'm sorry, do you not like business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The Baggot Inn? Jesus, you must have been plastered to get turned away from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Last night work out I got stopped at Coppers.
    It would have been my first time in there, I wonder what I'm missing
    But I was wearing runners and I've zero issue with being stopped.
    But then I read on boards about it being packed during the Championship season with GAA supporters and their jerseys.
    Yet I get stopped for runners?

I do get stopped for ID the odd time and it's a long time since I turned 18!
    But stopping for ID is less to do with age and more to do with talking and sussing someone out.
    So I get in once I produce the ID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

mikemac wrote: »
    Last night work out I got stopped at Coppers.
    It would have been my first time in there, I wonder what I'm missing
    But I was wearing runners and I've zero issue with being stopped.
    But then I read on boards about it being packed during the Championship season with GAA supporters and their jerseys.
    Yet I get stopped for runners?

I do get stopped for ID the odd time and it's a long time since I turned 18!
    But stopping for ID is less to do with age and more to do with talking and sussing someone out.
    So I get in once I produce the ID

I always wear runners and have never been refused from Coppers so it wasn't because of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I'm going to start trying to get into the formerly posh places in cork with a pair of wellies. If I don't get refused anywhere I'll try dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Just in Cork. We get the bouncers who have to remember to breath down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Molly Malones in Limerick refused a few of us one night because they said it is a student bar. Have been there a number of times. They seem to ignore the people that live in Limerick during the summer time that keeps the place in business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Instanto

Daegerty wrote: »
    I'm going to start trying to get into the formerly posh places in cork with a pair of wellies. If I don't get refused anywhere I'll try dublin
    You'll need hobnail boots in Dublin.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,960 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Was out a week last Friday with a few people from work, went into the Gasworks Pub, just at the end of Barrow Street.

Was about 12 of us, mix of male/female, and all well behaved.

The day previously i had shaved my hair into a mohawk, and that night was wearing a DeathClutch t-shirt.

Walked in at 8pm and bought a pint, had another one at 8.30, then the bouncer came up to me and said i had to leave due to me breaking the dress code.

The manager came over and said i was wearing a football/rugby shirt and had to go, i explained it wasn't a soccer shirt, 2 other guys in our party were wearing rugby shirts. Never bothered his arse with them.

IMO it was the size of me and my mohawk.

Tried talking them down but were having none of it, i know i shouldn;t have but i ended up lobbin a glass , then he offered free finger food and a couple of drinks to the people who were left, so long as i didn't come back.

They told him to fcuk off and all left.

So OP, yes, people still get refused. If they can let 12 people walk out, who all would have stayed there drinking all night then they're idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Instanto wrote: »
    You'll need hobnail boots in Dublin.:)

www.instantrimshot.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

YFlyer wrote: »
    Molly Malones in Limerick refused a few of us one night because they said it is a student bar. Have been there a number of times. They seem to ignore the people that live in Limerick during the summer time that keeps the place in business.

Molly's during college always ask to see student id aswell as agecard etc. It's a bit unfair tbh to the Limerick regulars.
    scudzilla wrote: »
    Was out a week last Friday with a few people from work, went into the Gasworks Pub, just at the end of Barrow Street.

Was about 12 of us, mix of male/female, and all well behaved.

The day previously i had shaved my hair into a mohawk, and that night was wearing a DeathClutch t-shirt.

Walked in at 8pm and bought a pint, had another one at 8.30, then the bouncer came up to me and said i had to leave due to me breaking the dress code.

The manager came over and said i was wearing a football/rugby shirt and had to go, i explained it wasn't a soccer shirt, 2 other guys in our party were wearing rugby shirts. Never bothered his arse with them.

IMO it was the size of me and my mohawk.

Tried talking them down but were having none of it, i know i shouldn;t have but i ended up lobbin a glass , then he offered free finger food and a couple of drinks to the people who were left, so long as i didn't come back.

They told him to fcuk off and all left.

So OP, yes, people still get refused. If they can let 12 people walk out, who all would have stayed there drinking all night then they're idiots

Serves ye right being thrown out if thats the way your going to react. Hope you were barred from there and any other premises. It's people like you that cause a minor confrontation to turn into something dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

reminds me of a response from a friend of mine who was getting grief from a bouncer back in the day: 'I'm going for a pint, not a bleedin interview'. don't think he got let in though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

imme wrote: »

Still happens. Although they want your business more than ever now im sure its not as bad.... but it still happens.

bouncers are wa*kers. Simple as. To quote a person who once said to me "Bouncers get a power trip when the coat goes on. same as even a manager in a sh*tty little shop.. its all power trips" ... and this guy used to be a bouncer himself.

Say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,960 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

yesno1234 wrote: »
    Molly's during college always ask to see student id aswell as agecard etc. It's a bit unfair tbh to the Limerick regulars.

Serves ye right being thrown out if thats the way your going to react. Hope you were barred from there and any other premises. It's people like you that cause a minor confrontation to turn into something dangerous.

That was frustration, if i'd been left alone i wouldn't have done a thing and never have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

That was frustration, if i'd been left alone i wouldn't have done a thing and never have.

Balls. What if you ended up hitting someone who had nothing to do with the disagreement with the glass you threw in a hissy fit? If you're the type of person to start flinging glasses around because you had an argument with a stupid pub manager then they were probably right in asking you to leave in the first place. That's dangerous and to be honest, scummy behaviour; regardless of the idiocy of the manager in question.

LighterGuy,
    bouncers are wa*kers.

They aren't though. Of course some lads doing that job are, the same way there are arseholes doing every other sort of job. The fact of the matter is that security is a necessary part of the pub trade. It's gas really, there are plenty of people who take this ridiculously pompous superior attitude toward door staff and yet you're the first person they come looking for when some drunk is trying to feel up their girlfriend or start a fight with them in the smoking area. If you have a venue where large amounts of people are sculling drink then security is a necessity, that's all there is to it.

Similarly, 90% of the time a bouncer's actions are dictated by the proprietor, after all it's his pub and therefore he decides the scene he wants in it. Some publicans will want an older or a younger crowd, a working class or an upper class crowd, professional types or heavy metal types and he'll instruct his door staff to keep it to that effect. He in turn is only reacting to what he perceives his customer base wants from the venue i.e. an older professional crowd won't react kindly to sharing their space with a group of 19 year old youngfellas etc etc etc.

That's the process at work like, it isn't a case of a doorman setting himself up as the be-all-and-end-all of who and what goes on at the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

You know back in the age of the Tiger people used to get refused from pubs and clubs for wearing inappropriate clothing etc and queues would go down the street with people waiting in line.

It happened to me in my local last weekend

......that's the last time i walk in there naked
    :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, seen it happen still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I refused pubs and clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

FTA69 wrote: »
    Balls. What if you ended up hitting someone who had nothing to do with the disagreement with the glass you threw in a hissy fit? If you're the type of person to start flinging glasses around because you had an argument with a stupid pub manager then they were probably right in asking you to leave in the first place. That's dangerous and to be honest, scummy behaviour; regardless of the idiocy of the manager in question.

LighterGuy,

They aren't though. Of course some lads doing that job are, the same way there are arseholes doing every other sort of job. The fact of the matter is that security is a necessary part of the pub trade. It's gas really, there are plenty of people who take this ridiculously pompous superior attitude toward door staff and yet you're the first person they come looking for when some drunk is trying to feel up their girlfriend or start a fight with them in the smoking area. If you have a venue where large amounts of people are sculling drink then security is a necessity, that's all there is to it.

Similarly, 90% of the time a bouncer's actions are dictated by the proprietor, after all it's his pub and therefore he decides the scene he wants in it. Some publicans will want an older or a younger crowd, a working class or an upper class crowd, professional types or heavy metal types and he'll instruct his door staff to keep it to that effect. He in turn is only reacting to what he perceives his customer base wants from the venue i.e. an older professional crowd won't react kindly to sharing their space with a group of 19 year old youngfellas etc etc etc.

That's the process at work like, it isn't a case of a doorman setting himself up as the be-all-and-end-all of who and what goes on at the pub.
    Wrong.
    If he hadn't done anything how can he be justified being kicked out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Bouncer wouldn,t let me into the Shamrock a few years ago in Finglas :eek:....if your ever passing its worth having a look into this god forsaken dump...something lives in the carpet in the lounge and there was a chef there years ago with a boil on his neck that looked like he was growing a new head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Wrong.

I think you misunderstood his post. If he is the type to lose the rag and do something extremely dangerous over an argument, then they obviously made the correct judgement. In other words, they spotted a potential danger. His reaction doesn't really do much to show that they were wrong to single him out. If he reacted calmly, stated his case and left with his friends, then they would have looked like idiots. Instead, he proved them to be correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Aye lobbing a glass is f*cking stupid, bouncers and managers can be arseholes, its no point even arguing with them when your well on because you simply won't win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Magill wrote: »
    ...its no point even arguing with them when your well on because you simply won't win.
    ...The rest of the time you rarely win anyway!
    You might as well be trying to pee up against the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I got refused form the nightclub in the small town where I grew up a few times during the tiger days for not having black shoes. I got in a few weeks ago after a BBQ wearing shorts, a t-shirt and cons.
    As Bob Dylan once said, the times they aaaaare a' changin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Got refused going into Coppers for being drunk, even though I hadn't drank a thing and it was a spur of the moment thing. Tried to plead my case, they told me to walk it off and come back in 10 minutes, did that and they let me in. It was more the fact that I was completely sober that ticked me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I don't drink yet a year or two ago i was stopped at the door of a nightclub in town by this big donkey of an Eastern European who said i was drunk. The friends and i tried to convince him i was a non drinker but he would not bulge saying as i don't drink i would spend no money.
    Now me being me i walked away and left it at that. A few months later in the event center i am involved in there was an MMA event when lo and behold who walks in the door but my door buddy and his family. Now i waited a few minutes and made sure him and his family had all paid in and were sitting down quite happy and waiting for the show to start. I singled my buddy out to the event security as a troublemaker from a few events back and within no time at all my buddy and his family were back out in the cold with his last view of the event being me having a smoke and giving him the two finger goodbye.
    A nice payback for a p***k of a doorman.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Got refused from Dicey's a few weeks back cos I was wearing shorts,I knew I'd get refused and I was happy enough cos I hate that place and only went up there cos some manky bird my mate was talking too was going there too.Ended up going to Whelan's instead and having a much better night then we would've had in Dicey's!

My completely sober mate was refused from Coppers a few months back too,found it odd that me and my mates,who were shítfaced, got in no bother but yer man,who was sober as a judge, got refused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Show Time wrote: »
    I don't drink yet a year or two ago i was stopped at the door of a nightclub in town by this big donkey of an Eastern European who said i was drunk. The friends and i tried to convince him i was a non drinker but he would not bulge saying as i don't drink i would spend no money.
    Now me being me i walked away and left it at that. A few months later in the event center i am involved in there was an MMA event when lo and behold who walks in the door but my door buddy and his family. Now i waited a few minutes and made sure him and his family had all paid in and were sitting down quite happy and waiting for the show to start. I singled my buddy out to the event security as a troublemaker from a few events back and within no time at all my buddy and his family were back out in the cold with his last view of the event being me having a smoke and giving him the two finger goodbye.
    A nice payback for a p***k of a doorman.:D

How nice of you.

Yes i was smart enough to make sure him and family had paid in first before they got booted out.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭32yg

Yeah, happens all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I get the 'regulars only' line the odd time. Very irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

I only remember ever being refused once myself for "being too drunk" when I had had around 6-7 pints, which for me is warming up before the game. I was just acting the plonker TBH.

I've never been refused, but once in Dublin I almost did for being too drunk. Worst of it was I hadn't had a drink since the previous weekend.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭ilovesmybrick

I did get refused by the Old Oak in Cork one evening a few years back for being 'too tired', the bouncer suggested that I should go for a coffee to wake up. He didn't take it well when I pointed out to him that I had spent the past 8 hours working in a coffee shop and that if I'd wanted coffee I would have stayed in work, but I wanted a pint and that I wasn't tired at all, but sure there was no point trying to reason with the fella. The bouncers in Dublin are at least reasonable with their excuses, but some of the guys in Cork are right langers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Wrong.

The manager should have either refused to serve him on basis of dress code from the get-go or else just put up with him, especially if he was bothering nobody. You can't just take someone's money and two hours later tell them to p*ss off. The manager in question was fully in the wrong.

That having been said, if his reaction to an idiot asking him to leave a pub is to start flinging glasses then I've no sympathy for him, none at all. Throwing glasses is the scummiest of the scummiest behaviour, and there's no justifying it really. If the glass had have happened to hit some woman in the face thus leaving her with 20 odd stitches would you be saying the same as above? I doubt it. At the very least it's just creating a mess that some youngfella on €9 an hour is going to have to clean up. It's just plain stupid to be honest.

I did get refused by the Old Oak in Cork one evening a few years back for being 'too tired', the bouncer suggested that I should go for a coffee to wake up. He didn't take it well when I pointed out to him that I had spent the past 8 hours working in a coffee shop and that if I'd wanted coffee I would have stayed in work, but I wanted a pint and that I wasn't tired at all, but sure there was no point trying to reason with the fella. The bouncers in Dublin are at least reasonable with their excuses, but some of the guys in Cork are right langers.
    First mistake was going to the Old Oak as it's a meat market and the new grab a granny in the city, The second mistake was trying to reason with the bouncers as the Cork breed of bouncer has the same level of intelligence as an ape when compared to door staff in the rest of Ireland.