Do People Still Get Refused From Pubs/Clubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

imme wrote: »
    You know back in the age of the Tiger people used to get refused from pubs and clubs for wearing inappropriate clothing etc and queues would go down the street with people waiting in line.

Well, does this still happen in the new Ireland:confused:

It happened to me in my local last weekend

......that's the last time i walk in there naked
    :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

imme wrote: »
    You know back in the age of the Tiger people used to get refused from pubs and clubs for wearing inappropriate clothing etc and queues would go down the street with people waiting in line.

Well, does this still happen in the new Ireland:confused:
    Yes, seen it happen still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I refused pubs and clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

FTA69 wrote: »
    Balls. What if you ended up hitting someone who had nothing to do with the disagreement with the glass you threw in a hissy fit? If you're the type of person to start flinging glasses around because you had an argument with a stupid pub manager then they were probably right in asking you to leave in the first place. That's dangerous and to be honest, scummy behaviour; regardless of the idiocy of the manager in question.

LighterGuy,

They aren't though. Of course some lads doing that job are, the same way there are arseholes doing every other sort of job. The fact of the matter is that security is a necessary part of the pub trade. It's gas really, there are plenty of people who take this ridiculously pompous superior attitude toward door staff and yet you're the first person they come looking for when some drunk is trying to feel up their girlfriend or start a fight with them in the smoking area. If you have a venue where large amounts of people are sculling drink then security is a necessity, that's all there is to it.

Similarly, 90% of the time a bouncer's actions are dictated by the proprietor, after all it's his pub and therefore he decides the scene he wants in it. Some publicans will want an older or a younger crowd, a working class or an upper class crowd, professional types or heavy metal types and he'll instruct his door staff to keep it to that effect. He in turn is only reacting to what he perceives his customer base wants from the venue i.e. an older professional crowd won't react kindly to sharing their space with a group of 19 year old youngfellas etc etc etc.

That's the process at work like, it isn't a case of a doorman setting himself up as the be-all-and-end-all of who and what goes on at the pub.
    Wrong.
    If he hadn't done anything how can he be justified being kicked out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Bouncer wouldn,t let me into the Shamrock a few years ago in Finglas :eek:....if your ever passing its worth having a look into this god forsaken dump...something lives in the carpet in the lounge and there was a chef there years ago with a boil on his neck that looked like he was growing a new head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Wrong.

I think you misunderstood his post. If he is the type to lose the rag and do something extremely dangerous over an argument, then they obviously made the correct judgement. In other words, they spotted a potential danger. His reaction doesn't really do much to show that they were wrong to single him out. If he reacted calmly, stated his case and left with his friends, then they would have looked like idiots. Instead, he proved them to be correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Aye lobbing a glass is f*cking stupid, bouncers and managers can be arseholes, its no point even arguing with them when your well on because you simply won't win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Magill wrote: »
    ...its no point even arguing with them when your well on because you simply won't win.
    ...The rest of the time you rarely win anyway!
    You might as well be trying to pee up against the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I got refused form the nightclub in the small town where I grew up a few times during the tiger days for not having black shoes. I got in a few weeks ago after a BBQ wearing shorts, a t-shirt and cons.
    As Bob Dylan once said, the times they aaaaare a' changin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Got refused going into Coppers for being drunk, even though I hadn't drank a thing and it was a spur of the moment thing. Tried to plead my case, they told me to walk it off and come back in 10 minutes, did that and they let me in. It was more the fact that I was completely sober that ticked me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I don't drink yet a year or two ago i was stopped at the door of a nightclub in town by this big donkey of an Eastern European who said i was drunk. The friends and i tried to convince him i was a non drinker but he would not bulge saying as i don't drink i would spend no money.
    Now me being me i walked away and left it at that. A few months later in the event center i am involved in there was an MMA event when lo and behold who walks in the door but my door buddy and his family. Now i waited a few minutes and made sure him and his family had all paid in and were sitting down quite happy and waiting for the show to start. I singled my buddy out to the event security as a troublemaker from a few events back and within no time at all my buddy and his family were back out in the cold with his last view of the event being me having a smoke and giving him the two finger goodbye.
    A nice payback for a p***k of a doorman.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Got refused from Dicey's a few weeks back cos I was wearing shorts,I knew I'd get refused and I was happy enough cos I hate that place and only went up there cos some manky bird my mate was talking too was going there too.Ended up going to Whelan's instead and having a much better night then we would've had in Dicey's!

My completely sober mate was refused from Coppers a few months back too,found it odd that me and my mates,who were shítfaced, got in no bother but yer man,who was sober as a judge, got refused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Show Time wrote: »
    I don't drink yet a year or two ago i was stopped at the door of a nightclub in town by this big donkey of an Eastern European who said i was drunk. The friends and i tried to convince him i was a non drinker but he would not bulge saying as i don't drink i would spend no money.
    Now me being me i walked away and left it at that. A few months later in the event center i am involved in there was an MMA event when lo and behold who walks in the door but my door buddy and his family. Now i waited a few minutes and made sure him and his family had all paid in and were sitting down quite happy and waiting for the show to start. I singled my buddy out to the event security as a troublemaker from a few events back and within no time at all my buddy and his family were back out in the cold with his last view of the event being me having a smoke and giving him the two finger goodbye.

How nice of you.

Yes i was smart enough to make sure him and family had paid in first before they got booted out.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭32yg

Yeah, happens all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I get the 'regulars only' line the odd time. Very irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

I only remember ever being refused once myself for "being too drunk" when I had had around 6-7 pints, which for me is warming up before the game. I was just acting the plonker TBH.

I've never been refused, but once in Dublin I almost did for being too drunk. Worst of it was I hadn't had a drink since the previous weekend.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭ilovesmybrick

I did get refused by the Old Oak in Cork one evening a few years back for being 'too tired', the bouncer suggested that I should go for a coffee to wake up. He didn't take it well when I pointed out to him that I had spent the past 8 hours working in a coffee shop and that if I'd wanted coffee I would have stayed in work, but I wanted a pint and that I wasn't tired at all, but sure there was no point trying to reason with the fella. The bouncers in Dublin are at least reasonable with their excuses, but some of the guys in Cork are right langers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Wrong.

The manager should have either refused to serve him on basis of dress code from the get-go or else just put up with him, especially if he was bothering nobody. You can't just take someone's money and two hours later tell them to p*ss off. The manager in question was fully in the wrong.

That having been said, if his reaction to an idiot asking him to leave a pub is to start flinging glasses then I've no sympathy for him, none at all. Throwing glasses is the scummiest of the scummiest behaviour, and there's no justifying it really. If the glass had have happened to hit some woman in the face thus leaving her with 20 odd stitches would you be saying the same as above? I doubt it. At the very least it's just creating a mess that some youngfella on €9 an hour is going to have to clean up. It's just plain stupid to be honest.

I did get refused by the Old Oak in Cork one evening a few years back for being 'too tired', the bouncer suggested that I should go for a coffee to wake up. He didn't take it well when I pointed out to him that I had spent the past 8 hours working in a coffee shop and that if I'd wanted coffee I would have stayed in work, but I wanted a pint and that I wasn't tired at all, but sure there was no point trying to reason with the fella. The bouncers in Dublin are at least reasonable with their excuses, but some of the guys in Cork are right langers.
    First mistake was going to the Old Oak as it's a meat market and the new grab a granny in the city, The second mistake was trying to reason with the bouncers as the Cork breed of bouncer has the same level of intelligence as an ape when compared to door staff in the rest of Ireland.

but some of the guys in Cork are right langers.

That's true unfortunately, I've worked in one or two pubs for the night and swore blind I'd never work there again due to the muppetry at play on the door. Unfortunately there are a small amount of dopes who give the rest of us a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I got refused into Coppers a few weeks back. It truly was a low point in my career

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

scudzilla wrote: »
    i know i shouldn;t have but i ended up lobbin a glass

Scud, you know what.. I was only thinking about you this morning when I had my dogs out, wondering if you'd got yours out in Malahide Castle or had the concert stopped you.

From looking at your dogs photos in the Pets Forum, and your contributions to the MMAforum I genuinely thought you were one of the good guys.

I'll keep my honest thoughts about you to myself and save a banning.

But sometimes Scud (and 'lighterGuy) sometimes we get it right!.. Some people are just heat seekers, something about 'em isn't right - and experience has thought me 'in doubt, chuck them out'.. Someone made a bang on call with you.. You sicken me.

Now this... LightGuy!
    LighterGuy wrote: »
    bouncers are wa*kers. Simple as.

Tell you what, you've a neck like a jockies bollox to say we're "****" - Scudzilla and his ilk are the reason we're there - to ensure YOUR not glassed by some prick.

The second mistake was trying to reason with the bouncers as the Cork breed of bouncer has the same level of intelligence as an ape when compared to door staff in the rest of Ireland.

Funnily enough I work in venues in Cork alongside people with masters' in chemistry, qualified engineers and one with a PhD in English literature. I myself have just completed a university degree. And yet for some bizarre reason people seek to project their own insecurities by labelling every doorman as an "ape". Snobbery at its most evident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Which event was that?.. Because I'm calling BS on this one.

There's hardly an MMA event in this country I haven't been to or been involved to some capacity in and this story reeks of manure.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Funnily enough I work in venues in Cork alongside people with masters' in chemistry, qualified engineers and one with a PhD in English literature. I myself have just completed a university degree. And yet for some bizarre reason people seek to project their own insecurities by labelling every doorman as an "ape". Snobbery at its most evident.
    I have heard that one before about the "smart bouncer" if they are all such brain boxes what are they doing working doors has to be a serious question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Nope I've never been refused anywhere :p Probably because I know how to dress for a night out :rolleyes:

Which event was that?.. Because I'm calling BS on this one.

There's hardly an MMA event in this country I haven't been to or been involved to some capacity in and this story reeks of manure.
    Call all you want man no skin off my a** what you want to believe.

I have heard that one before about the "smart bouncer" if they are all such brain boxes what are they doing working doors has to be a serious question?

Because the money isn't too bad and it's a steady job? In case you haven't noticed the jobs market isn't too fantastic at the moment. In a club I work in there's a laser technician working behind the bar, another barman who is doing a degree in pharmacy and a girl in the cloakroom who has a H Dip and a degree in English and Geography.

There are plenty of graduates (and by no means is that the definition of intelligence) and intelligent people working in the services industry. That isn't particularly news like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Wow, how arrogant are you, really?