Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Hadnt done a proper detail on pinky in ages, over 4 months i reckon.
    Yesterday I:

*Rinsed
    *Snow Foamed
    *cleaned all badges, trims, door shuts etc with detailing brushes
    *Scrubed the wheels
    *rinsed
    *2BM wash each panel and rinse after every panel (REALLY hard water here in Wexford!)
    *De-Tarred the paintwork and wheels
    *Snow foamed and rinsed
    *Clayed the paintwork and glass while car was still wet
    *Snow foamed the car again after claying
    *Rinsed and dried the car
    *Polished the car with AF Tripple (had some to try out, quite impressed)
    *Put on a layer of Britemax Vantage wax
    *Applied AF Revive to all the trim
    *Applied CG VRP dressing to tyres
    *Used a bit of tripple on the wheels for the craic
    *Cleaned the exterior glass and sealed

So this is how she stands now

0fd54274-c614-4d7c-8ac2-df3cc1dfcb62_zps7de3b27f.jpg

Only yesterday I really noticed how badly swirled the car is, the tripple has hidden most of that for now but the D/A will be stretching its legs again soon :)

485b5320-9de1-4bb6-96ee-3636ee9b1b5f_zpsa5e40b18.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Are you planning on only changing one wishbone?

You should really do them both at the same time, even if one seems ok for now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Fantastic work golly. The golf is looking super! :)

Cheers man :)

God was an unholy effort though... I just wasn't in the humour yesterday lol! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

dar83 wrote: »
    Are you planning on only changing one wishbone?

You should really do them both at the same time, even if one seems ok for now...

Yeah, the other one is absolutely solid and not a bother on it, it's just the left one so I assumed it was grand to replace the one. Might end up doing it eventually.

Lot's of work going into this car over the next few months.

Will you keep it along with a V6?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

166man wrote: »
    Off the top of my head

- Set of spark plugs
    - Left top wishbone
    - Air filter
    - Oil Filter
    - 2 x rear transverse arms
    - 2 x front track rod ends left and right.
    - Thermostat
    - 2 rear anti roll links

All OEM parts too. Shipping is about 3 days and costs about €25. Think I did very well, spark plug set in Motor Factors was €145 so got the original NGK's for £80 for example.

I need to do my rear transverse arms too! Don't have much time for it at the moment though. You will likely need a new hub side bolt for both rear transverse arms too. I have seen many accounts of them needing to be cut for removal and/or being bent and unusable afterwards.

My front left upper wishbone is also gone (ball joint). I ordered a cheap one off ebay as I have seen some people mention they can be okay if the bushes are disassembled and properly greased before installation. Again though haven't got around to fitting it.

Are you doing the work yourself?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Will you keep it along with a V6?

Yep, will be keeping both of them. The 156 at this stage will never be sold, it could be passed onto the sister eventually though who's thinking of doing the whole 'driving' thing.

Problem will be trying to find a good clean V6 though in Ireland. There's some gorgeous ones in the UK but VRT etc won't make it feasible unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,490 ✭✭✭Killinator

That's a great looking job with the GTi Killinator! what did you use on the engine bay? some body wax aswell or just soapy water and elbow grease?
    Thanks,
    For the plastics in the engine bay I used autoglym interior shampoo, I used it mainly for my cloth seats but it suggests( and is perfect for) cleaning engine bay and plastics too.
    Any metal, I used a damp microfiber and then polished.

As for the entire car:
    > Wheels shampooed
    > car rinsed
    > shampooed(autoglym)
    > dried
    > clayed(meguairs)
    > dried
    > polished(meguairs with glaze built in)
    > glass polished(autoglym)
    > wax/sealed(autoglym)
    > wheels dressed
    > exhaust shined(metal wool, metal polish and elbow grease)
    > interior vacuumed, shampooed and shined. And smile:)

Also best not to do it in sub-zero temps, the sun lulled me into a false sense of security:)

166man wrote: »
    ............it could be passed onto the sister eventually though who's thinking of doing the whole 'driving' thing.

That'd be very decent of you :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,506 ✭✭✭✭vectra

gollywog wrote: »

Only yesterday I really noticed how badly swirled the car is, the tripple has hidden most of that for now but the D/A will be stretching its legs again soon :)

Actually, I only noticed this Sunday on my car as well.

I am surprised at how easy the red shows up swirls.

vectra wrote: »
    Actually, I only noticed this Sunday on my car as well.

I am surprised at how easy the red shows up swirls.

Red does seem to show them up well..... But at least red is one of the more "rewarding" colours to do a detail on :)

Just did the interior there now too, gonna head for a drive then, something about a spotless car that makes it always seem nicer!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

It's cos you know your car looks well as ****:D

Ah cheers man :)

Ya i cant say a bad thing about pinky, she seems solid so far, no real issues as of yet thank god!

And ya i'm very happy with how she looks and all now, the only mod i will be doing in the forseeable future will be getting 18" monza 2's for the summer :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ah cheers man :)

The **** is actually sh!t ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

The **** is actually sh!t ;)

Ah now behave! :)

Today I asked MM another 100qs about things for my car and once again he had all the answers :D

Gollywog knows I'm only kidding :D

I did indeed have the answers and yes, I still think that a BMW badge would fit in place of the opel badges :P

I wouldn't expect any less dave! :D

Bit of a cleanup over the weekend.

Treated to Wax Tec Sealer

644620_4488911505252_1049551371_n.jpg

525437_4488913385299_2121384040_n.jpg

Plastics treated to Chemical Guys Silk Sheen

644578_4488911665256_567938018_n.jpg

420235_4488911865261_1520788403_n.jpg

Your local Skoda dealer must be a happy man, hands you the keys to a new Octavia VRs and three years later you hand the car back to him in a better state than when he sold it to you.

Lucky guy! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭okane1

Replaced the boot struts. Now the boot opens a lot better and stays open.

Out with the old

DSCF1800_zpsd2930398.jpg

And in with the new

DSCF1798_zps223359e4.jpg

Your grass is like a feckin carpet!! :D

Must take that up with the landlord :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Whoopsie :o
    Image2679_zpse5074748.jpg

Got my 4th wheel, then a 5th earlier today :D

Process is the usual
    Image2680_zps2d4ca26f.jpg
    Image2681_zps2169e3ff.jpg

Just need some decent part worns :)
    Image2682_zps63e5073e.jpg

Looks far better methinks :cool:
    Image408_zpsafdf32b7.jpg

Got this badboy :cool:
    Image2685_zpscbf6da03.jpg

And some ashwood trim :)
    Image2686_zps2014fd0f.jpg

Delighted :D

okane1 wrote: »
    Replaced the boot struts. Now the boot opens a lot better and stays open.

UNless my eyes are lying to me, That is an Octavia?
    if so, where did you get the struts and how much? Need to get a pair for vRS no'2

vectra wrote: »
    UNless my eyes are lying to me, That is an Octavia?
    if so, where did you get the struts and how much? Need to get a pair for vRS no'2

Mondeo. Got the struts from SGS Eng

http://www.sgs-engineering.com/

OSI wrote: »
    Want some slightly scuffed 1's? :D

How much????

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Hadnt done a proper detail on pinky in ages, over 4 months i reckon.
    Yesterday I:

*Rinsed
    *Snow Foamed
    *cleaned all badges, trims, door shuts etc with detailing brushes
    *Scrubed the wheels
    *rinsed
    *2BM wash each panel and rinse after every panel (REALLY hard water here in Wexford!)
    *De-Tarred the paintwork and wheels
    *Snow foamed and rinsed
    *Clayed the paintwork and glass while car was still wet
    *Snow foamed the car again after claying
    *Rinsed and dried the car
    *Polished the car with AF Tripple (had some to try out, quite impressed)
    *Put on a layer of Britemax Vantage wax
    *Applied AF Revive to all the trim
    *Applied CG VRP dressing to tyres
    *Used a bit of tripple on the wheels for the craic
    *Cleaned the exterior glass and sealed

So this is how she stands now

http://i1047.photobucket.com/albums/b476/podgemasterson/0fd54274-c614-4d7c-8ac2-df3cc1dfcb62_zps7de3b27f.jpg

http://i1047.photobucket.com/albums/b476/podgemasterson/485b5320-9de1-4bb6-96ee-3636ee9b1b5f_zpsa5e40b18.jpg

How long did that take?

Mc Love wrote: »
    How long did that take?

Not exactly sure tbh, but somewhere around 4 hours, maybe 5!
    I was totally not in the humour so it took a little longer :o

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Conchurl

changed my oil, oil filter, air filter and pollen filter on the 406 hdi myself today getting the gearbox oil, fuel filter and glow plugs done tonight by a mechanic.