Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New context to rape tape in Mayo

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Just as I suspected, case closed. Can we bring up the old thread to gloat at those that where wrong?
    http://partyagainstthepipe.wordpress.com/urgent-appeal-information-regarding-the-sexual-assault/

I have no idea why other members of the media are not reporting the issue, especially places like Indymedia who can obviously reach many of the people who would have been present at the event and may be able to provide important details to the Gardai.

I've actually sent them an email asking them why no mention has been made of the event on their site when it could be very beneficial to the investigation.
    I don't expect the media to give this much attention at all. Not unless the person telling them is on fire and an ex contestant on X factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭Irishgoatman

Yes.. two weekends ago someone was raped during the Party against the Pipe music festival.

It's clear the protesters have more to worry about from those within their ranks, rather than the Gardai. I don't think there's a tape of the 'real' rape, so it hasn't got anything like the coverage of the women hurling abuses and the Gardai jokes using the 'word' rape.

How mad is that. Some poor girl is actually abused, but the media value of the 'rape tape' makes the physical attack pale into insignificance against a propoganda value of a word for the protest community.

Protesters seriously need to re-calibrate their ethical standards and get incensed and up in arms about something truly awful that actually happened.

Sorry Mayo Ireland, but I have to take you task with regard to your line about "... within their ranks...".
    I assume that the party was open to anyone, and we hear so often about rioting and violence at demostrations that has nothing to do with the true prosters. At events of any sort, soccer being a classic example, some people will turn up for what they consider "A bit of craic", and the rest of us consider stupidity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

Sorry Mayo Ireland, but I have to take you task with regard to your line about "... within their ranks...".
    I assume that the party was open to anyone, and we hear so often about rioting and violence at demostrations that has nothing to do with the true prosters. At events of any sort, soccer being a classic example, some people will turn up for what they consider "A bit of craic", and the rest of us consider stupidity.

The chief suspect is a man who is involved in protests at the pipeline. The prostesters should be thankful of the gardai down there who at least offer them some protection from themselves. I hope any young girls partaking in demonstrations down there are aware of the dangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

I think it's mad the way the one thing that caused this whole nasty dispute, was safety concerns over the route of a gas pipeline.

That concern seems to have been fully dealt with now to the satisfaction of everyone or so it would seem anyway, and now the grounds of protest have been very conveniently moved into an economic area, and the complaint now is, "they are getting our gas for free"...

You'd have to ask, if the agreement between Shell E & P and the state was amended in the morning to the satisfaction of the ShellToSea group, what would the grounds of protest be changed to by the end of the week???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

Surely the whole point of this issue is not that anyone cried rape but that one garda commented to another, in what he thought was private, that a woman needed to be raped!.
    This is unacceptable, if true.
    I hope that no-one reading this thread would find rape funny enough to joke about it to a work mate or friend.

If the tape is real then the garda in question needs repremanding and re-educating but the whole thing seems to have growing out of all proportion.

I wouldn't say that the point of this issue is what the Gardai said in private. I, like many people, was pretty shocked that Gardai would make rape jokes, and absolutely did not condone it given their unique position as civil servants whose job it is to help these women get justice in such cases.
    But now? I don't see it as the Gardai just coming out jokes that a woman 'needed to be raped'. I see it as their venting frustration at being constantly accused of rape and other violating crimes, while merely trying to do their job which, despite the opinions of the protesters, is a protective role. I can understand their statements now, joking about how the protesters have used any opportunity to 'cry rape' and it seems clear to me that it's the protesters who are guilty of trivialising rape.
    It irritates me, considering the lynchmob out for Gardai in question at the time the original 'rape tape' was released, that anyone would now try to defend the statements of the protesters. These protesters should be disgusted with themselves for weaponising claims of rape in order to further their agenda, and they deserve nothing but scorn. (I say this knowing that the women who reported the Gardai may well not be the same women who cried rape.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Mayo Ireland

I take the point and you are right. It could have been anyone. But then a subsequent poster indicates it *is* likely be someone from their ranks after all. I was only guessing.

Jesus wept. What a sorry bunch. A small crowd of misfits and un-elected professional protesters, guarding the 'public interest', which they define, are something to be very afraid of. High morals, and they 'know' they are right. Who pays for them to fight the Irish police that we pay for? Daddy or the dole...? What do they cost the state? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭Irishgoatman

Hi Silverspoon and Mayo Ireland,

I agree with both of your last postings.
    I just tried to keep my posting shortish, otherwise I tend to get carried away (or should be, as some people say!).:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

A good blast of a water cannon would have them tree huggers running to high ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Mayo Ireland

Hi Silverspoon and Mayo Ireland,

I agree with both of your last postings.
    I just tried to keep my posting shortish, otherwise I tend to get carried away (or should be, as some people say!).:)

I appreciate that IrishGoatman.

It seems that the passive aggressive women's weapon, the charge of 'rape' is more powerful that any arm of the (man's?) state, especially when the media are sold a story with no context.

I really don't think those guards should be in trouble in light of this new evidence. A slap on the wrist at worst.

I also think those women should be in very serious legal trouble for misleading an investigation and wasting police time, as well as making false accusations against police officers. Making an example of them is too good for them, and might put manners on these and their ilk in future. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Show Time wrote: »
    A good blast of a water cannon would have them tree huggers running to high ground.
    By the look of some of them could you issue them with shower gell first before bringing out the water...

"We want to be left alone. This is not about us. This is about women's safety and about the ongoing intimidation of the communities living close to Shell's inland refinery site in Mayo," she said at a Dublin press conference. She had demanded an independent inquiry into the policing of Shell's gas pipeline in Co Mayo.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/horrifying-talk-of-raping-me-by-gardai-has-caused-deep-distress-for-everyone-2614214.html

Remaining in Stillorgan and away from "Rossport Solidarity Camp" or "Festivals Against the Pipe" would be a good start if she is concerned about women's safety and rape.

Pathetic bottom of the barrel stuff by the protesters to push their agenda by running to the Lorna Siggins and other national media outlets speaking of their "outrage" and terror at the comments.

No doubt the Irish Times will clarify the record and publish an article based on the full tape...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

http://partyagainstthepipe.wordpress.com/urgent-appeal-information-regarding-the-sexual-assault/

I have no idea why other members of the media are not reporting the issue, especially places like Indymedia who can obviously reach many of the people who would have been present at the event and may be able to provide important details to the Gardai.

I've actually sent them an email asking them why no mention has been made of the event on their site when it could be very beneficial to the investigation.

Whilst that link you posted has a statement from the organisers, it is pretty hard to find and not mentioned at all in the S2S website. You would have to be find the party notice, go to the website, and only then you may see the link at the top of the page. Why is this not in the latest news section of the main S2S website? If they wanted to get their efforts noticed, a child would know that a clear link on their website would help.

It is also sad how they have many stories on the main page section regarding the "rape joke tape" but ZERO articles on the new information about protesters falsely accusing Gardai of rape and this new information about the incident. Why would people ever want to join or be part of this group if they cannot be honest about something so serious like rape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

The Aussie wrote: »
    By the look of some of them could you issue them with shower gell first before bringing out the water...
    If it gets them running faster then i would be all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,845 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

montane wrote: »
    I await eaglerly a statement of condemnation from the National Women's Council, and various media outlets on false accusations of rape being hurled by protesters at gardai trying to their job in extremely difficult circumstances.

Susan McKay is far too busy giving out ****e about the club Orange ad this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Show Time wrote: »

Add some soap and the'll never come back.

Susan McKay is far too busy giving out ****e about the club Orange ad this week

And letting the mask slip while writing tripe misandric articles for the Irish Times -

"Brendan Howlin has no significant experience of finance, but he’s a man. A safe pair of balls."

"The country is once again to be run by Irish men with brass necks and brass balls."

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/0311/1224291883279.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

It all makes sense now why the girls refused point blank to hand over the FULL tape. Luckily this other tape shot from another camera shows what was really happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

Has anyone got a link to this other tape, and some information about who shot it and what they were doing there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Norwayviking

bc dub wrote: »
    ****'em, they're only crusties. the sooner the better shell get the job done and we can start earning some shekels for Norway's taxpayers, the better.

without Garda there protecting the Norwegians interests, this thing could go on forever. its not rape if the Gard is good looking.

You Irish still havent understood it :rolleyes:
    What does Norways taxpayers have to do with it???
    Statoil is there to give you a helping hand,just like the yanks did back in the 70s when Norway needed a hand to start out with their explorations in the North sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

Can I just ask again-
    Has anyone got a link to this other tape, and some information about who shot it and what they were doing there?