Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New context to rape tape in Mayo

• 20-06-2011 7:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭

Further to the revelations a few months back, it turns out that a new tape shows that Gardai in Mayo were consistently accused of rape while going about their duties.

On one recording a women who was being lifted from a tractor by gardai (female gardai were also present) accused gardai of trying to rape her.

This certainly provides context to the remarks the gardai made while talking amongst themselves. I am confident that all this will come out in the course of the GSOC investigation, as will very interesting context in the earlier part of the original tape which caused the controversy.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rape-claims-were-hurled-at-gardai-by-protesters-2800104.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

A garda lifts a woman off a tractor, which I'm assuming was private property, and gets accused of rape.
    This shows just how much some of those protestors are willing to trivialise something as serious as rape just to get their shrill voices heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

The gaurd was a hero, averting disaster. Women in tractors:eek:

I'm only messing by the way before someone decides to rip me a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Its getting harder and harder to support these campaigns when all activists do is come up with unfounded accusations and turn trivial things into giant issues.

Gettin to the point where I dont believe half of what I hear from them so I couldnt be arsed supporting anything they are involved in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

"Rape Tape" Sounds like the name of some sh!t emo band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

They are very susceptible to a little bit of hysteria in that neck of the woods. Joe duffy territory if ever such a thing existed.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Saviola

Skunkle wrote: »
    Its getting harder and harder to support these campaigns when all activists do is come up with unfounded accusations and turn trivial things into giant issues.

I read that as giant tissues for some reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Some of those protesters do more harm to their cause than good. It's hard to show support for such idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I wonder if they would shout "rape" if a Garda was saving them from a burning building. Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

TBH after the molehill-to-mountain that was the 'Rape Tape' I'm going to take these allegations with an extremely large pinch of last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

all of those nutjobs do more harm to their cause than good. It's hard to show support for such idiots.

FYP and agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I wonder if they would shout "rape" if a Garda was saving them from a burning building. Probably not.

No, probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    "Rape Tape" Sounds like the name of some sh!t emo band

Rape Tape, the new duct tape. As seen on the Late Late Show and endorsed by carpenter Larry Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

So a garda lifts her down from a tractor (which I assume she refused to get down from herself). Then, in the sight of other protestors, fellow gardaí (including female guards) decides it'd be a great time to take Bethovens ninth of of it's sleeve? Bull****.

Makes supporting their cause less attractive too.

This kind of crap must hurt people who have been raped and subsequently helped by the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Bloody hell, I've just read the article and at the bottom they mention a real rape investigation, why does that get put to the end of the piece and those protesters get the full attention? Mixed priorities by the reporter there imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

Its worth remembering that it is a well used tactic for perpetrators to find a way to blame their victims for their bad behavior...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Mountains? Molehills?

Labour press office release begs to differ.
    Labour Women: 'Rape Tape' symptom of normalised sex industry

Issued : Wednesday 6 April, 2011
    “The comments in the ‘rape tape’ illustrate a casual attitude towards rape, one of the most serious crimes that can be committed, second only to murder. Easy access to pornography plays a part in moulding the attitudes of young men in particular,” said Katherine Dunne, Labour Women Chair.

“We know that rapes in recent years have become more violent and often imitate actions of pornographic imagery. This clearly shows how normalised sexual violence is and we believe that this is linked to the pervasive sex industry in Ireland.

“Labour Women call for a debate on the sex industry to be taken seriously. Young people especially have to be more aware of the seriousness of issues such as rape, sexual assault, prostitution, human trafficking and pornography.

“We must stand up to the normalisation of sexual exploitation that is promoted by the sex industry which has permeated the minds of many men. This is also a matter of child protection as even young children are exposed to the casual attitude to sexual violence. Without consumers, we would not have such a powerful sex industry.

“When Gardaí make flippant jokes about a serious crime such as rape we have to sit up and take notice. Victims of rape must have full confidence in the Gardaí, and this incident certainly erodes that confidence. Any victim of rape must have the confidence to report the crime with the knowledge that they will be treated appropriately.

“The Gardaí themselves must also be able to identify and challenge inappropriate attitudes of their colleagues. In this case, that clearly did not happen.”

Source: http://www.labour.ie/press/listing/130209831610775964.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

"RAPE "...she cried hopefully...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

I wonder if the TDs and campaigners who so publicly and willingly condemned the Gardai's behaviour will so publicly and willingly condemn fake accusations of rape made at Gardai, not just Gardai, but at any male. Accusations of rape based on zero evidence can cause a lifetime of damage to someones reputation and personal life.

http://www.thejournal.ie/corrib-protest-woman-reveals-her-identity-117137-Apr2011/#slide-slideshow1

These guys happily condemned the Gardai and jumped on the publicity bandwagon. I wonder why they are not doing the same in assisting the Gardai by finding a REAL rapist who raped a woman at the S2S festival last week.

"Gardai are investigating the matter and seeking a man who had been involved in the protests and who may have left the country"

Where are the press conferences now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

FYP and agreed

heh.. in fairness some of them are just normal local people who genuinely believe they have something which is worth protecting, and maybe they do. The rent-a-mob and opportunist trouble makers are a different kettle of fish though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Bloody hell, I've just read the article and at the bottom they mention a real rape investigation, why does that get put to the end of the piece and those protesters get the full attention? Mixed priorities by the reporter there imo.

Normal rape articles don't get attention.

Attention seeking crap like this = people discuss it on forums like this = more website hits / papers sold = €€€

Journalism FAIL. This kind of crap should not be reported on. If a garda did rape someone, it'd be in the publics interest for it to be reported. That's why in democracy we have free journalism and protection for press. Unfortunatly, everyone loves a good 'tut tut' read.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

The thing that annoyed me the most about that whole rape tape thing was all those feckers on their high horses saying it was unacceptable were probably rolling in the aisles when a certain well known irish comedian was shouting "DID YA EVER RAPE SOMEONE?!?!?!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

“We know that rapes in recent years have become more violent and often imitate actions of pornographic imagery. This clearly shows how normalised sexual violence is and we believe that this is linked to the pervasive sex industry in Ireland."

Incorrect.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    The thing that annoyed me the most about that whole rape tape thing was all those feckers on their high horses saying it was unacceptable were probably rolling in the aisles when a certain well known irish comedian was shouting "DID YA EVER RAPE SOMEONE?!?!?!"

Must be tough being in the holier than thou brigade, it would place serious restrictions on what you can laugh at.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Must be tough being in the holier than thou brigade, it would place serious restrictions on what you can laugh at.

You misunderstand, I thought it was funny too, just didn't think the tape warranted the uproar it received.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    You misunderstand, I thought it was funny too, just didn't think the tape warranted the uproar it received.

No I understood you! Just making the point that they probably had to stop themselves from laughing to keep up their always offended routine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Infuriating. The Gardaí who are subject to the investigation will never be entirely clear of this situation. Mud sticks. The accusations and rumours will follow them around for the rest of their lives. It will affect the progression of their careers and they will forever be known as the Gardaí involved with this situation. The ignorant masses will know them as "the Gardaí who threatened to rape those women" even if and when exonerated fully. The fact that the context of the conversation is now revealed has received next to no coverage in comparison to the original story. Incredible that those who released the original tapes were doing so under the claims that Gardaí were trivialising rape when it now appears that it was themselves doing more damage to the plight of victims by genuinely trivialising it and using it as a weapon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

GerM wrote: »
    Infuriating. The Gardaí who are subject to the investigation will never be entirely clear of this situation. Mud sticks. The accusations and rumours will follow them around for the rest of their lives. It will affect the progression of their careers and they will forever be known as the Gardaí involved with this situation. The ignorant masses will know them as "the Gardaí who threatened to rape those women" even if and when exonerated fully. The fact that the context of the conversation is now revealed has received next to no coverage in comparison to the original story. Incredible that those who released the original tapes were doing so under the claims that Gardaí were trivialising rape when it now appears that it was themselves doing more damage to the plight of victims by genuinely trivialising it and using it as a weapon.

Amazing how the the national media jumped on the bandwagon slinging mud at the involved Gardai without having the full facts of the case. Cant say I was surprised to see Lorna Siggins of the Irish Times up to her usual tricks perpetrating the whole story in her ridiculously biased column.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

“We know that rapes in recent years have become more violent and often imitate actions of pornographic imagery. This clearly shows how normalised sexual violence is and we believe that this is linked to the pervasive sex industry in Ireland.

I sincerely doubt rape victims get down on their knees and ask to be splashed with freshly squeezed man goo.

GerM wrote: »
    Incredible that those who released the original tapes were doing so under the claims that Gardaí were trivialising rape when it now appears that it was themselves doing more damage to the plight of victims by genuinely trivialising it and using it as a weapon.

While i understand what you are trying to say i don't really think your point is valid unless it was the same people involved in both incidents.

No I understood you! Just making the point that they probably had to stop themselves from laughing to keep up their always offended routine!

My bad :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

I don't understand. Are these tapes forgeries made by splicing unrelated words together? If not the police were making a joke about rape.

While i understand what you are trying to say i don't really think your point is valid unless it was the same people involved in both incidents.

I would be surprised if those that released the tape weren't fully informed of the situation and were ignorant that protest supporters had, at any time, used rape as an accusatory weapon. Of course, I am making some assumptions here but I would think the odds that they knew their supporters had made such claims whilst being arrested are pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I don't understand. Are these tapes forgeries made by splicing unrelated words together? If not the police were making a joke about rape.

They were, context being that they were being accused of rape.
    In any case people joke around in private, but to publicly accuse someone of rape or of threatening to do so is pretty despicable

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

"Protesters had released part of a recording from a camcorder that had been seized by gardai and was still running when the 'rape' conversation took place inside the squad car. This received massive media coverage.

However, the background to the remarks and context in which the gardai were jokingly referring to rape was not made public.

According to garda sources at least one unidentified woman protester used the word repeatedly as she was being moved from the site."

I wonder why the Irish Times only focused on one section of the original tape?

montane wrote: »
    "However, the background to the remarks and context in which the gardai were jokingly referring to rape was not made public.

According to garda sources at least one unidentified woman protester used the word repeatedly as she was being moved from the site."

I wonder why the Irish Times only focused on one section of the original tape?

How much of the original tape were they provided with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Funny how at the moment the offical shell to sea site has nothing about this in the news section,but has the garda tapes in news archives..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I always thought there was something very fishy going on regarding those tapes.
    It now looks like the Gardai had an in-house joke about rape after being accused about it several times. it would explain everything and make the whole thing more logical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

I await eaglerly a statement of condemnation from the National Women's Council, and various media outlets on false accusations of rape being hurled by protesters at gardai trying to their job in extremely difficult circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

*facepalm*
    Young people especially have to be more aware of the seriousness of issues such as rape, sexual assault, prostitution, human trafficking and pornography.

Two of these things are consensual and have nothing whatsoever to do with sexual coercion. Can AH spot the rogues?

Seriously though, bracketing rape in with porn and prostitution is utterly ridiculous. All it does is trivialize rape. (note: I do not include trafficking or forced prostitution in this statement.)

Comparing an act of coercion to a consensual act is quite frankly moronic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Surprise, surprise.

It's pretty disheartening when everybody I mentioned this story to immediately spat acid and accused the Gardaì as "utter fùckin' scum". The seeds already planted thanks to the well-placed wordings of ill-informed Facebook groups and shìtty tabloids.

The inherent dislike for the Gardaì made this accusation all the more easier to swallow for people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Activist: "Ah, I'm being lifted down off a tractor, ah! Ah, I feel something hard against my thigh, ah!"

Garda: "That's my baton, now please get down off the tractor! It's private property!"

Activist: "Ah, he's going to rape me with his baton, ah!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Meanwhile, gardai are now investigating the actual rape of a 22-year-old English woman, now living in Ireland, at a mini-festival run by protesters last Sunday week.
    The woman was found naked and in a very distressed state behind a row of portaloos by other people at the Party Against the Pipe festival at Aughoose on the bank holiday weekend.

Hmmm...
    Will an actual incident of rape get more attention...
    Welcome to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

A garda lifts a woman off a tractor, which I'm assuming was private property, and gets accused of rape.
    This shows just how much some of those protestors are willing to trivialise something as serious as rape just to get their shrill voices heard

pretty much says it all.

it sad, we live in a world where a person would say anything :rolleyes: granted not every person.... but still, such a thing as rape should never be falsely accused.

heh.. in fairness some of them are just normal local people who genuinely believe they have something which is worth protecting

that is a tiny tiny minority , and their concerns are not voiced by S2S , the only people the media give any time to or biased tripe websites like indymedia publish anything about are lying nutjob media whores like maura harrington, willie corduff or the protest anything crew. The locals with perhaps valid concerns and a right to protest are not the ones being arrested or taken off tractors by gardai or on the television / radio or videod on the internet attacking and injuring gardai and being called heros by other nutjobs.

The saddest thing about the S2S debacle is the poor gardai and employees of shell just trying to do their jobs and not get involved in the politics and being assaulted like they personally decided the pipe was to be built

The locals with perhaps valid concerns and a right to protest are not the ones being arrested

Actually, quite a few locals have been arrested, especially from the local fishing community.

I said the locals with valid concerns (sorry, it reads badly) , there are loopers in the local community too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Well this certainly puts things into context...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Order of events:

1. There are some general protesters who just love protesting, will protest anything and who's culture involves hating the Gardaí. These are not in Mayo.
    2. Something happens in Mayo that genuinely should be protested at (imho)
    3. Non-local protesters go to Mayo and turn the conversation away from 'Should Shell be allowed there' to 'Are you pro- or anti- Gardaí'.

The locals deserve a much bigger say in what happens in their area tbh, and these guys are doing them more harm than good. It's completely selfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭creative100

Somehow I doubt the Gardai would be interested in saving any of these from a burning building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

still have not heard anything about this on the news, suppose it would be hard to put into context but the whole thing makes sense now.

Ya cant wait for those with voices that are listened to (rape crisis center etc) to come forward and voice their concerns over the abuse of using the word rape like it was an swear word almost against people.