Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horses......... lots of lays

8.30 Chepstow, Burj Hatta €10 @ 2.54

The ground is my only reckoning here along with the fact it's a maiden with some who knows whats running against the fav.

8.40 Windsor, Puttingonthestyle €4 @ 3.35

Is good to soft the cure for placeitis?

RoverJames wrote: »
    8.40 Windsor..............

:(

Hope both sets of jockeys and horses are ok after that.

8.50 Killbegan, Our Victoria €4 @ 5.8.

Don't see her lasting home and I really like the look of the fav here.

9.00, fav €7 @ 2.3

ground again :)

€52.81 today, unusually good, the ground was the main factor I would think. Only unsuccessful lay was the very short odds on fav the be placed, other 13 selections all lost.

.................... same logic €5 against the fav tbp at 1.06.

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Cartel Mike

Fair play James.
    Might give this horse laying business a go with small stakes.

Havn't been over the motoring forum in months.

Still driving the ZT?

Fair play James.
    Might give this horse laying business a go with small stakes.

Cheers, I've been dabbling at it for ages but rarely stick with it, I'm hoping the log might keep me on track. Was playing with the idea of writing a book/diary but I'm no writer and even 10 lays take a bit to verbalise and the pain in the ass of keeping minutes etc took the joy out of it. The laying can wreck your head though, 4 winners on the trot at decent prices is not good for the spirits. The Betfair commission along with the inflated prices over what's on offer from the bookies makes it very challenging though.

Still driving the ZT?

Yep :D, the plan is to keep it another 12 months ish.

6.10 €2 to lose €7.40 on the fav, who has just won :rolleyes:

6.20 Ballinrobe, €5 on Hadrians Waltz not to be placed @ 1.46.

Not a lot to go on in this race but that's a shocking price if you were looking to back something.

6.30 Newton Abbot, Sovereign Spirit, €2 to lose €9.40.

A mark of 90 is plenty for this 9 year old even in this selling company, ground being good to soft won't be a disadvantage though. Worth opposing.

6.50 Ballinrobe, Ashton Rose, €4 @ 4.7.

Up 3lbs after coming 2nd is a similar ish race HC rating wise, this 2 furlong longer though which is a fair step and there are loads of runners.

7.05 NA, WakeBoard €4 @ 3.75.

I hate laying McCoy but I think this horse is more suited to a longer trip over the bigger obstacles. Trip and ground seems ideal for the fav.

7.25 Ballinrobe, Boxer Beat €5 @ 2.0.

2 mile hurdle???? F knows, worth opposing.

7.35 NA, Dunowen Point €4 @ 3.4

HC debutant, Goat Castle finished ahead of some decently rated yokes lto and I reckon the HC er has been less than lenient with the 110 rating of the lay selection.

6.10 €2 to lose €7.40 on the fav, who has just won :rolleyes:
    6.30 Newton Abbot, Sovereign Spirit, €2 to lose €9.40.

A mark of 90 is plenty for this 9 year old even in this selling company, ground being good to soft won't be a disadvantage though. Worth opposing.

Hee hee, I actually had both of these backed :pac: I backed them for €4 and layed them for €2 when my intention was the opposite :pac: Stroke of luck.

7.45 High on the Hog €10 @ 5.0.

I feel guilty after the earlier mistakes that I profited from so risking €40 here :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Thats the kind of detail best omitted or shown in a screen shot.

mike65 wrote: »
    Thats the kind of detail best omitted or shown in a screen shot.

Indeed, I can't really omit it though as my figures wouldn't tally :)

screenshot.gif

Those two mistakes resulted in me being up €34 compared to if I had layed them as intended. So the €10 risked on the last selection was either taking advantage of this €34 or else risking the €34, depends how you look at it. That €10 was an increased stake though, it would have been €3 if all bets had gone as intended.

6.30 Naas, Expire, €4 @ 2.76

Will yielding ground make or break this maiden?

6.40 Bath, Tappanappa 2.52 €6.00

Hopefully this lad has 2nditis :)

Swooping Hawk is tempting for the place at 26.0 me thinks, won't be backing him though.

6.50 Kempton Dr Finley 2.7 €5.00 not to be placed

I fancy the fav to win this and I'd want 5/2 or 3/1 to be tempted to back this lad to be placed in a 2m AW handicap.

7.00 Naas, Catamount 2.54 €7.00

Maiden, worth taking on in this field of unkowns

7.10 Bath, Dromadoon, €2 to lose €9.60.

I think this lad is stretched by 11f and the topweight is my fancy for this one.

7.20 Kempton Pearl Mix 1.96 €10.00

Promising debut over a furlong less here, worth opposing in a field of this size at odds on.

7.30 Naas Awareness €2 to lose €9.60.

HC debut in a huge field on yielding ground. Fair play to Johnny if he gets this lad home ahead of the rest.

7.40 Bath Alpha Delta Whisky 2.74 €7.00

Trappy little race where a case can be made for all of them, this lad doesn't seem any better than the rest on what they've done so far.

7.50 Kempton Little Curtsey 3.95 €5.00

HC debutant with a course win to their name. Don't like HC debutants who are favs so it's a lay for me.

Hopefully they catch him and run him :pac:

8.00 Naas Haziyna 2.06 €10.00

I reckon the ground is more suitable for Sapphire who is rated the same, I'm happy to lay the looney (imo) priced fav