Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€25k invested in prize bonds

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

But do any of those companies do a weekly draw

Paddy Power do them every second

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭gabbytheking

But do any of those companies do a weekly draw

HA! Not sure about that one even with Paddy Power! I would keep in mind though that In deflationary times Bonds aren't too bad but in inflationary markets watch out as the economy will out grow your Bonds every time. My granddad had £200 worth of £1 prize bonds in his will purchased 1974 when he and my gran passed away we recieved approximately €254 cash for what in Present value would probably have been the equivilant of maybe €5,000(Free to be corrected here). We asked if we could get the bonds transfered to our name or valued at the current cost per bond but not a chance.

Hey it doesn't matter and its easy to talk if anyone finds that info useful great job if they don't and they want to partake in the free lottery thats your opportunity cost of the lotto maybe you'll come away with the 1/4 of a million and fair play but there's no harm in giving the other side of the argument also. Say what you will about shares but by the looks of Cyprus and this Hanging Anglo liquidation they look safer than bonds or savings at the minute!!! I wouldn't worry though as the bonds a little gold mine for the government so they will protect them at all costs I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭XrayMike235

Winnings from last draw: €50
    Total winnings since October 2008 on €18K: €1300

Date of previous win: Jan 4th (€50)

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Agent Smyth

I think it is very easy to look back and cherry pick the stocks and shares that have performed well since Oct 08,
    If I remember correctly a lot of companies had low share prices around that time due to different events happing around the world.
    If you were to take that 18K now and invest it in Kerry or the several other companies you picked, it would be interesting to see in four and a half years what the return would be, I personally think it wouldn't be as good but I'm no expert

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭gabbytheking

I think it is very easy to look back and cherry pick the stocks and shares that have performed well since Oct 08,
    If I remember correctly a lot of companies had low share prices around that time due to different events happing around the world.
    If you were to take that 18K now and invest it in Kerry or the several other companies you picked, it would be interesting to see in four and a half years what the return would be, I personally think it wouldn't be as good but I'm no expert

Think you've just come up with an idea for a new blog and let the Prize bond people get back to enjoying their winnings. Although I didn't cherry pick them they just came into my head as sensible investments and I went and got the figures. And I did mix them with 33% failures in a portfolio. You'll be ok with the umbrellas and ice-cream as old saying goes re portfolio theory. I didn't think of 1 bad one except maybe Elan and Paddy Power (Elan was deflated until recently much the same as Paddy Power). I think putting €500 in BOI at .17c per share might be interesting! Especially if you could hedge it with some Food Glanbia and Gas companies. I wouldn't put any more money into kerry IMO there an inflated blue chip on the ISEQ right now benefiting from the exodus of money from the banks as soon as the bearish market dies they will reduce imo. Glanbia/Greencore are the one's i'd go for! Greencore 500% price increase over 4 years my god!!! What do ye think? Using words like Cherry Pick I detect a reference to FRS15 and accounting studies

• Registered Users Posts: 808 ✭✭✭pbwinner

Winnings from today's draw (in lieu of Good Friday): €0
    Total winnings since Feb 2011 on €25k: €1100

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭FoolsGold1

Winnings from today's draw, 5/4/13 - Nil
    Last win 28th March - 1 x €50
    Winnings for 2013 - €450.

Winnings from 05/04/13 draw €50
    Last win 28/03/13 €50
    Total wins 2013 €250
    Total wins 2012 €375

Winnings from todays draw: €0

Date of last win: March 29th (€50)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Total winnings since Feb 2010 on €500: €150
    Total winnings since Feb 2011 on €50: €0

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭WhiteMan32

Winnings from yesterday's draw: €0
    Total winnings since Feb 2012 on €12k: €200

If my figures are correct it would seem the PB fund is about 1,717,511,111 euro at the end of Mar 13
    so now over 1.7 billion and if the growth keeps going we should hit 2 billion before the end of the year.
    Which means at the moment there are about 274,801,778 bonds.

During March I reckon the PB fund grew by 20,568,889 euro,
    Which means there will be an extra 3,291,022 bonds in each draw during April compared to March

I would estimate that at the moment there is 1,082,573 euros worth of new bonds been bought each working day
    (My figures don't include bonds that have been cashed in so this could be higher)

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭cold case

So sick of the "Sorry!" every week. . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

€50 win, PB bought February 2005.

Winnings to date (no winning records kept pre 2005) €775 on €6,900 worth of PB's bought monthly over a 14 year period.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

Won a total of €150 to date on €7,500 in prize bonds held since 2010.

Meanwhile my 30,000 Bank of Ireland shares have almost doubled in value since I bought them 2 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭oaklands

Below are 2 charts showing the growth in Prize Bonds Monthly & Annually. The Fund size is shown in Green and the Monthly or Annual Growth is shown in Orange.

The scale for fund size is on the left & the scale for growth is on the right.

phoenix999 wrote: »
    Won a total of €150 to date on €7,500 in prize bonds held since 2010.

Meanwhile my 30,000 Bank of Ireland shares have almost doubled in value since I bought them 2 years ago.
    You seem a bit stupid for keeping the prize bonds then, doesn't it! Perhaps you should cash them in a buy more shares in BoI - you can't lose with bank shares.

Winnings from today's draw: €0

Winnings from today's draw, 12/04/13, 1 x €50
    Last win 28th March 1 x €50
    Total winnings in 2013 €500

Winnings from 12/04/13 draw €0
    Last win 05/04/13 €50
    Total wins 2013 €250
    Total wins 2012 €375

Date of last win: March 29th (€50)

Winnings from 19/04/13 draw €0
    Last win 05/04/13 €50
    Total wins 2013 €250
    Total wins 2012 €375

Winnings from today's draw: €0

Winnings from today's draw, 19/04/13 - Nil
    Last win 12/04/13 - €50
    Total winnings 2013 - €500.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 alco22

Finally after 13 month i have my second win, have built up 8,300 gradually since Jul 2009, winnings now 125 euro
    1 x 75 mar 2012
    1 x 50 apr 2013

Winnings from 19/04 draw: €0

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭oaklands

alco22 wrote: »
    Finally after 13 month i have my second win, have built up 8,300 gradually since Jul 2009, winnings now 125 euro
    1 x 75 mar 2012
    1 x 50 apr 2013

@alco22: 8,300 bonds or Euros?

With €8,300 euros or 1,328 bonds invested - 'on average' you should win €50 2.27 times per year and €100 every 7.7 years. (based on probabilities for April'13)

However, If you actually have 8,300 bonds then your win rate is way off!