Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow 200 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Did the 200 today- probably the toughest day I have ever had on the bike. Was exactly 50 mins slower than last year at 8:32 rolling. It rained for the first six hours and for the last one. The wind was also pretty ferocious - except at the end when it seemed to die. I had been hoping for a strong southerly to blow me home.

For some reason (late start, pace??) I never found a suitable group and did it more or less solo. I froze until Donard but felt better afterwards. The descents were tricky but cowardice saved the day! I found it very difficult to figure out the correct pace. I didn't want to go too hard only to find that being soaked for over eight hours would draw a ton of energy from me. I only pushed hard for the last 30km or so. All in all I doubt I could have gone much harder as the rain/wet made it a lot more tiring.

Unlike some, I thought the signage, marshalling and grub was fine - certainly a lot better than previous years. Although some of the dangerous spots could have done with more marshalls for people not familiar with the route ; hopefully those who were taken to hospital are ok.

I decided on a rainjacket at the last minute thankfully with two full length light jerseys under - new boards on top. Just to prove how macho I am, I went with boards bib shorts, overshoes and two pairs of socks. AOK apart from the first four hours.

I met Daragh, and Seamus (fair play no rain jacket!) and Jimm. I also met a boardsie at Kilcoo (Neris based on previous post).

All in all apart from the pain and suffering a great day. Typing this after half a tonne of roast potatoes and lamb with a nice glass of red beside me.

Back again next year hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Well done to each of you.
    This is the first W200 that I haven't done since 2003.

The thought of trekking out to Greystones and to then do 200kms like last year
    just didn't appeal this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

neris wrote: »
    Met 3 other boardsies. Think it was Darragh heading up Rocky Valley towards powerscourt someone in an old jersey at the top of powerscourt mt and someone else in full kit coming through kilcoole near the end.

Hi Neris - NMG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭WAPAIC

About 11 hours door to door, no gps but there were many many stops but no walking. Lots of good points about the event (my first major cycling thingy, never got above 100km until last week) - the craic, the power jellies, the train that picked us up just after the N111, the fact that no stories need to be embellished at all for once. Civil defence crews were great - fair play to them for volunteering for something they probably have no interest in at all. Highly under-rated organisation in general.

On the positive feedback side - marshalling was a bit sketchy in places as described above. Nearly got hit by one of the motorcycle marshall too, chap could have given a quick beep to let me know he wanted to get by rather than steaming through. Vegetarians cycle too - and I'm sure they would like a sandwich. Food at the end was rubbish.

Bit of a self righteous, high-horse moan - power bar wrappers and inner tubes do not dissolve - why can't people stick them back in their pocket? And wicklow does not have banana trees so banana skins have no place there. Yes, they make ok compost but Wicklow is not a window box. Leave no trace:)

I'm off to find my mountain bike, road biking is silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I was ok with most of the event management for the day. Funnily enough I left Rathdrum with chattering teeth, I think cos of the heat being on in it.

I think I was averaging 7km/h on all the main climbs, SE and SM especially (I was passed on SE by masses of people and someone I think was the Irish Downhill Champion on his own on a tandem (partner hurt his leg I think), then past on the way down again after he'd had a coffee). My friends, who are better climbers and descenders than I arrived in Rathdrum 20 minutes before me, I had bombed it after them trying to make up time. They were all chatting about the possibility of getting under 9 hours when I realised I wouldn't make it unless I took off Which I just about managed to do, had to keep up a serious pace and all those climbs after Avoca nearly broke me. I had to ask someone how far I had left before Kilcoole, and saw the first of the Greystone roundabouts at 8:50 time, as you can imagine it was a race to the finish, I barely knew where I was at the end and had to ask spectators where the right way was. In the end I made up the 20 minutes and two of us have the same time.

There was a long lonely stretch between Ashford(?) and Newcastle (?). I thought I'd gone the wrong way because I didn't see anyone for ages.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

WAPAIC wrote: »
    On the positive feedback side - marshalling was a bit sketchy in places as described above. Nearly got hit by one of the motorcycle marshall too, chap could have given a quick beep to let me know he wanted to get by rather than steaming through. Vegetarians cycle too - and I'm sure they would like a sandwich. Food at the end was rubbish.

I shudder to think what the negative stuff is...:eek:

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Vegetarians cycle too - and I'm sure they would like a sandwich. Food at the end was rubbish.

I found the cold pasta alright tbh, seemed easier to get down than warmed up. Though the guy was about to use the meat spoon to dish it out. But we vegetarians are very fussy :D

Bit of a self righteous, high-horse moan - power bar wrappers and inner tubes do not dissolve - why can't people stick them back in their pocket? And wicklow does not have banana trees so banana skins have no place there. Yes, they make ok compost but Wicklow is not a window box. Leave no trace:)

Agree on this, however considering the number of people on the route, it wasn't as bad as expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,622 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'm glad I skipped the manky pasta and went for chips and beer so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Delighted to have completed it today: preparation was close to non-existent so I wasn't sure how I'd get on. The weather certainly didn't help but I had the right gear on (merino wool socks under normal socks is defo the way to go when you know you're gonna get soaked). The weather added to the sense of challenge and achievement: naturally everyones' experience differs based on where you are at any particular time, but for us the wind was very, very strong on the way up Sally Gap, Slieve Mann and Glanmalure - always the way. Though the bushes in some other parts did a nice job of sheltering it. But without doubt the most ceaselessly bad conditions I've been out in for a long time.

After I realised I was feeling better than expected given the lack of training, I found the whole thing strangely enjoyable: it certainly reminded me why I love the challenge of cycling and will give me the impetus to force the issue to get more time on the bike into my crammed schedule.

I'm 9kg over my optimal climbing weight and on the major climbs I could only survive at a slow pace but was happy to get up them all. Rolling terrain is what I love and I made a lot of time up on the amble rolling terrain on this course. I got my nutrition plan spot on and was pleasantly surprised to find that after Rathdrum was my strongest period of the day. That longish hill (4kmish) after Avoca was a nasty sting in the tail but I really enjoyed being able to floor it for the last 35km home, so that'll help get my endurance back on track.

Was more focused on getting my fitness back on track than clocking a time but was happy with 08:17 rolling time for 197km, though stopped time was probably something like 80-90mins with 30 of that due to confusion/waiting for mates with punctures etc....though I sure needed every second of those rests!

We left around 06:50 and I was very disappointed not to see any marshalls on the bridge on the Sally Gap descent and also the (blind) tight right-hand turn at a t-junction 5km outside Hollywood, though there were way more and well placed marshalls for the 2nd half of the route so maybe it's cos we were early heading off.

That said, the food situation is pretty unforgiveable: when you're paying over 40 euro and only get 2 sandwiches & 2 bars on the route, that's totally insufficient (I brought my own food to supplement it) and it's beyond scabby - as their website pretty much acknolwedges with it's 'bring money to buy food' comment. The pasta and salad at the end was muck. Though the bars/recovery drinks provided free of charge by advertising companies were much appreciated. It's clear the numbers on this event are way down from their peak (weather didn't help today I'm sure) but with so many better quality and better value sportives out their, I'd guess that trend will continue unless the vets listen to and address the feedback: next year I'll probably get a group together and get a friend to do a support car stocked up with food - I'm happy to pay top dollar to get top service but think the vets have pushed their luck too far.

But despite those concerns about the organising, there's no denying the route is excellent and my abiding memory of a great day out on the bike will be watching riders that overtook me towards the top of Slieve Mann disappear completely into the fog/mist/rain within 50yards visibility - had a serene feel to it despite the howling winds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

nobody did it on a DublinBike this year then? :pac:

seriously well done to everyone who finished today - I had planned to do the 100, but didn't get around to registering and was very thankful this morning, particularly watching all the sodden finishers departing Greystones during the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Off topic, but on the scale of things, banana skins aren't so bad:

Time taken to decompose:

Banana Peel: 3-4 weeks
    Paper Bag: 1 month
    Cardboard: 2 months
    Wool Sock : 1 year
    Tinned Steel Can: 50 years
    Aluminum Can: 200-500 years (But if recycled, it can be reused within 6 weeks!)
    Disposable Diapers: 550 years
    Plastic Bags : 20-1000 years
    Plastic Jug: 1 million years
    Glass : 1-2 million years
    Styrofoam: 1+ million years

http://behealthyandrelax.com/2007/11/how-long-does-it-take-to-decompose/

Hermy wrote: »
    I shudder to think what the negative stuff is...:eek:

Chafing. Enuff said.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Off topic, but on the scale of things, banana skins aren't so bad:

Time taken to decompose:

Banana Peel: 3-4 weeks
    Paper Bag: 1 month
    Cardboard: 2 months
    Wool Sock : 1 year
    Tinned Steel Can: 50 years
    Aluminum Can: 200-500 years (But if recycled, it can be reused within 6 weeks!)
    Disposable Diapers: 550 years
    Plastic Bags : 20-1000 years
    Plastic Jug: 1 million years
    Glass : 1-2 million years
    Styrofoam: 1+ million years

http://behealthyandrelax.com/2007/11/how-long-does-it-take-to-decompose/

They do disintegrate but its seems like the right thing to do is to throw it in a bin. Or bring it home to compost if you don't want it in landfill. I'm no expert and there are clearly worse things to dump in Wicklow but I take my guidance from these guys.

http://www.leavenotraceireland.org/Principles.aspx?ID=20

Anyway it's off topic and not exactly big news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 lob

Tough day. 200km finished with no punctures, falls or any walking!
    Not sure I agree re comments about organisation etc.,..
    This is the Wicklow 200 & it's meant to be fecking hard. If you want pretty t-shirts & ala carte cuisine then you shouldn't sign up for it!!!!
    A big fat congrats to all who got through today!!

just think €42 entry fee x 2500 = €105,000 plus sponsorship some of this should be put into marshalling, timing, better signs & food. Forget the medal and cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Misty May

Plastik wrote: »
    That turn on the way down from the SG was mental. No one saw it in time. When I got there the guy that the ambulance eventually came for had gone straight on. I saw the bridge late, called it, put hand in the air. A guy coming fast behind braked hard, locked up and hit the ground bloody hard. Think he was from Fermoy CC.

Yes he was from Fermoy CC and he was the fourth to crash at that point. While he was being attended to 10 others crashed like dominoes one after the other before marshals got to the scene. One of the Civil Defense guys said he was in the same spot last year and there were three crashes there. It seems a bit mad not to have had marshals warning riders.

Well done to anyone mad enough to have ridden today but maybe a swim and sauna in Shorelines would have been a better option! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

9 hours overall, 8.15 rolling. Lost two mates climbing Sally Gap, and found out at the end they had both crashed on the descent before the bridge. Thankfully not too badly hurt, multiple stitches in the hand, and cuts and grazes.

I had a reasonable spin, jumping into a few small groups at various points. The only seat in Donard was inside the door, and the wind coming in froze me. Kept both stops to a minimum. Couldn't face stopping on Slievemaan or Shay Elliott although I would have loved a coffee - too bloody miserable up there. Thankfully I wasn't short of water as I had a plentiful supply running down my face, and dripping off my nose. +1 on the hooting and 410 stencils at the top ! I came down Slievemaan without glasses and it felt like my eyes were being sand-blasted, so I put them on for the descent of Shay Elliott. That was probably worse as they steamed up within about 10 seconds, and I could only see out of one corner. I found the climbs out of Avoca tough, and also could have done without the lumpy diversion to Glenealy. Happy to reach the finish !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭g0g

What a day! Absolutely delighted to have completed the full 200 (195!) with a friend given that neither of us have been beyond about 120km before! It's great to hear how tough people found it because hopefully that means future 200's can only be easier! Sad as it might sound, for me the weather added to the experience in making it such a big challenge! Loads to write but too wrecked now so will write blog/log tomorrow (or the next day!). Just under 9 hours rolling and I think total time in the region of 10.5 hours. Didn't walk once! Met a few boardsies including murph85, inquitis, jimm and others. Great chats along the way with randomers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Well done all of you that took part in the event yesterday. I live in Kilcoole so passed a good few of you during the day. I can imagine how tough it was just to keep going when you know the rain is not stopping. Fair play to you all.

OT: what's the 410 thing, I don't understand it...

I know it's on the jerseys and all but never got an explanation of it

(the wiki seems to be broken so can't check that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

OT: what's the 410 thing, I don't understand it...

I know it's on the jerseys and all but never got an explanation of it

(the wiki seems to be broken so can't check that)
    It's the forum id.

i.e. The link to the cycle forum is http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=410

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Well jesus that was as close to hell on wheels as it gets. The wind and rain was unreal. For some reason it did add and both take't away from the occasion. It added in so far as I've stuck through it and done such a hard 200. I can now say I did such an endurance event.

It took away in so far as when the sun is out and its a nice day you enjoy the spin and get in a good mood. Yesterday it was pure, lets just get through this and say we did it. Sadly our time was way out on last year. Not just because of the conditions but a mates knee went on the climb up to SG and he was suffering. Fair play to him though he could have pulled off and Blessington where we could see our houses but he kept going. After Donard his other leg started cramping due to taking more of the load. He made it from about 1km past Donard all the way with virtually no legs. Hats off.

Also huge thanks to so chap who's name I didn't get. I got two punctures just after Redcross and he stopped behind me on the second one in his car. He had a rider in the passenger seat with him so was with a club or something I'm assuming. He stopped checked the wheel, asked how I was and offered some food, drinks, gels etc... Later I was stopped waiting on my friend with the bandy knees and he stopped again to check if I was ok. Well done and thank you very much. I was the guy in the Canada jersey with the clear rain coat over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Now that's just super geeky ! I was googling 410 and cycling yesterday trying to figure it out.

Blowfish wrote: »
    It's the forum id.

i.e. The link to the cycle forum is http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=410

Cool, thanks.

Once again I appear to have missed the feckin obvious :D:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

What a day that was! A bit over 11:20 hours end to end for me, 202km clocked thanks to a wrong turn after Avoca. Ended up doing the whole lot solo, as I lost the guys I was with just past Kilmac (both on MTBs). Time to ditch the hybrid myself and shell out for a road bike, the only people I was passing yesterday were those walking up SM and SE, and I was sorely tempted to join them at spots. Walking into Donard was a howl, it was like the scene in one of those zombie movies just before they realise you're there and go mental, Jesus, but I was cold in Donard, had the rain gear but hadn't put it on yet, some post from earlier here suggesting you might be warmer in just a gilet (why???). SM was a struggle, so I downed a packet of caffeinated jelly beans at the top and found SE to be much easier. Major thanks to all the car honkers and cheerers on at the top of Shay Elliot, it made all the difference to have a wee bit of support. Much easier going after that point, except for that ramp at a left turn somewhere after red cross. Dropped gears to quickly and dropped my chain with a bang, lucky not to break it.

While much of the day was tough to the point of being stupid, there were some good bits. Descent from sally gap was great, but then I knew about the bridge, two guys behind me screeched around the corner but managed to keep control. Going through the flooded road at full tilt was also a hoot, not clever but fun. Having bought the sprung Brooks saddle a couple of weeks ago was that little luxury that made the day a lot easier, might not look elegant and might add to the weight, but just so comfortable all the way through.

Bad bits. Seeing the ambulance going the other way while coming into Kilbride knowing I'd friends behind me that like taking hills fast. Taking the wrong turn coming out of Avoca and going up some stupid hill rather than going straight on. And getting hemmed in by a large group forcing me to go over a dead badger of all things. Thanks who ever you were; and shouting 'Left' at the top of your voice does not entitle to force others into the border. No problems with the marshalling, though it was quite good really. Brought my own food, but did not like the look of the sangers, and could done without be scanned in Donard and Rathdrum.

Sore today, but already thinking about the next outing. My daughters birthday party next weekend means the cheesecake challenge is off the books, which is a bummer. Must get organised for the SKT, and must get a decent bike. (Must also think up a plausible excuse for lousy times even with the better bike)

Anyhoo, well done one and all who got through the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

LastGasp wrote: »
    I came down Slievemaan without glasses and it felt like my eyes were being sand-blasted, so I put them on for the descent of Shay Elliott.

I wore my glasses up Slieve Maan and could see bugger by the time I reached the top. I thought it would be useful to have the power of sight on the way down so I took them off. Every drop of wind-driven rain was then like a dagger.

I had to foresight to wear full-finger gloves. Except I squeezed about a pint of water out of each of them at the food stops. My hands looked like boiled chicken fillets (or the hands of someone about three days dead).

I should publicly acknowledge the biscuitty-cake making skills of pprendeville's other half. While others gagged on industrial estate sandwiches at the Donard stop (they were alright actually), we feasted on sugary loveliness. The water I filled my bottle with at Donard was lukewarm but I didn't see any obvious plumbing linking the tap to the chemical toilets.

The lads at Rathdrum outdid themselves. No-one turned away regardless of whether they had a card, a warm room and the world's fastest bike mechanic. I can't be doing with all this moaning (with the exception of the marshalling on the Sally Gap descent) - thanks to all who worked bloody hard to make it a great day in brutal conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

The tea for me was nicer in rathdrum than donard. To weak in donard for me but the coffee was nice. Lovely cuppa in rathdrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,778 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I finished at 10 to 4, not 10 past 4, misheard the lady :)

9hrs08mins15secs even better than first thought :)

http://www.wicklow200.ie/2011/2011times.shtml

I second what manwiththeplan said, the sandwiches were fine, the marshalling was good except for Sally Gap where I nearly hugged the wall, and fair play to the volunteers for standing around in that deluge all day.

Bunch of photos up on facebook here. http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.215784058444537.54931.100000388330434

Someone took a few up the side of the road at Sally gap as well, but no idea who.

Inquitus wrote: »
    9hrs08mins15secs even better than first thought :)

11:28:14 here, do I win the boardsie wooden spoon?

10:05:38

means I spent a whole hour dossing off at the checkpoints :D

Top 5 real W200 times, though the first looks suspiciously fast
    2089 MONS SAMUELSSON 06:29:46 11:04:21 04:34:35 200
    2208 NIALL STEPHENS 07:48:33 13:43:49 05:55:16 200
    2023 JIM TUOHY 09:25:06 15:26:01 06:00:55 200
    426 MICHAEL STONE 08:40:01 15:04:05 06:24:04 200
    763 DAVE GARRETT 07:49:45 14:20:07 06:30:22 200