Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Can Gardai ask you where you're going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I hate the nosy lying fcukers too OP.

Shudda just said you where off home tbf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

jive wrote: »
    I'm a 22 year old male driving a pink car. You tell me

Probably not to be honest.
    Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I hate the nosy lying fcukers too OP.

:eek: No way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Op, the Gardai are nothing like the Russian police, they're pussy cats in comparison...

(At 5:50 you can actually see the policeman shooting out of the passenger window).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.

Every right.....they're Gardai.

Would it have been so hard to answer the question? Why did you feel the need to get shirty with them? Where were you going that you didn't want them to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

k_mac wrote: »
    Probably not to be honest.

:rolleyes: So you're telling me you wouldn't remember a pink car at a checkpoint you've been at before? Not only is the car pink but it also has a male driver? And I'm living in a town not a city. I have seen 1 other pink car around the town. If you think it's not memorable then you're kidding yourself. I stick out like a sore penis.

If the guards can't remember me from stopping me before then I'd seriously question their brain capacity. They are meant to be observant individuals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Tbf OP, I used to have a similar attitude when I was stopped at checkpoints, my attitude was that if I'm not doing anything wrong, why should I tell them my business. However, I wouldn't be like that at all any more. The way I look at it now is, the less time they waste chatting to me, the more time they have to do something useful, so I'm always cordial with them

The one thing though that does drive me mad is when after seeing my licence, tax disc and insurance disc they then ask me to produce my insurance cert within 10 days. I don't understand the point in carrying an insurance disc if I'm still going to be asked to produce the cert regardless, its just an inconvenience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

OP the best way to deal with the Gardai is with respect and politeness. Get shirty with them and you'll be repaid in kind. Be polite, courteous, helpful etc and you'll get on fine.

You were asked a simple quesion requiring a simple answer and you should have just told him what he wanted to know. There was no reason not too unless you had something to hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

the_syco wrote: »
    It'd be funny, though. You roll down the window, and ask the copper "and where are you going tonight?"... :pac: Would probably confuse the hell out of them :P

Reminds me of a scene from a Cheech & Chong movie, maybe Up in Smoke, where a motorcycle cop pulls over the van (bodywork made of hash, touching exhaust system, dope fumes going down the road), cop walks up to the car and asks them what do they want.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

:rolleyes: So you're telling me you wouldn't remember a pink car at a checkpoint you've been at before? Not only is the car pink but it also has a male driver? And I'm living in a town not a city. I have seen 1 other pink car around the town. If you think it's not memorable then you're kidding yourself. I stick out like a sore penis.

If the guards can't remember me from stopping me before then I'd seriously question their brain capacity. They are meant to be observant individuals.

Sure they would remember you, a guy in a pink car with a sore penis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

"Just heading home"

Three words, is it really that hard? If it is you can shorten it to two words "Heading home". Still too much for you? Then shorten it to one simple word, "Home". It's not that much of an inconvenience to you. Stop trying to make trouble where there is none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

My point wasn't that you need authority to ask questions. But if its none of your business and they are not relevant why ask them? Oh and by all means demand an answer, but stopping us under the road traffic act we don't have to tell you anything - other than the usual.

I never said you had to answer the questions. Gardaí have the freedom to ask anyone any question. It's how the job is done. There are many reasons for asking seemingly random questions other than simple nosiness.

A man driving a pink car, with everything in order on it, is not particularly remarkable in the grand scheme of things, especially when you consider that a Garda doing a few checkpoints could stop over 100 cars that day. Other than the colour of your car, which you appear to have an issue with, is there anything else that makes you think you're worth remembering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Horndawg

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Would you be so smart if your house was getting broken into ???

Now that's a Garda question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.

Attitudes like this make Checkpoints a bigger hassle. A bit of cop on goes a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Aoifey! wrote: »
    "Just heading home"

Three words, is it really that hard? If it is you can shorten it to two words "Heading home". Still too much for you? Then shorten it to one simple word, "Home". It's not that much of an inconvenience to you. Stop trying to make trouble where there is none.

Nah, "f*ck off and mind your own business" is the correct response in this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I'd say judging by the number of cars I see in the tescock car park with no/out of date tax, most people aren't worried about being asked where they are going, they are too busy trying to "think of a good lie, think of a good lie"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

A man driving a pink car, with everything in order on it, is not particularly remarkable in the grand scheme of things, especially when you consider that a Garda doing a few checkpoints could stop over 100 cars that day. Other than the colour of your car, which you appear to have an issue with, is there anything else that makes you think you're worth remembering?

Yeah I'm black and have bleached white eyebrows and a tattoo which extends from ear to ear across my face.

Would you consider me memorable now?

Also a man in a pink car is memorable. If a guard doesn't remember a man in a pink car then he's in the wrong job. I know you will argue your point that obviously this doesn't make me worth remembering but anyone with half a brain would be able to recognise that a man in a pink car is a rarity and therefore should stick out. Lol @ you for trying to imply otherwise.

Also I like how you never replied to me in the gun thread lololol. I win, you lose. 2-0 me.

I never said you had to answer the questions. Gardaí have the freedom to ask anyone any question. It's how the job is done. There are many reasons for asking seemingly random questions other than simple nosiness.

Wrong. They don't have the freedom to ask anyone any question. What you fail to realise is that's not how the job is done. It may be how they check for slurred words at a checkpoint but that isn't applicable to all scenarios. If I am walking along the road (just walking, wearing clothes, nothing else to draw attention) and a guard questions me where I'm going it is harassment. I have the freedom of mobility.

Also with regards to checkpoints you have no legal obligation to co-operate. It's none of his concern where you're going and if you really don't want to tell him then ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

jimpump wrote: »
    but the thing is i rolled down the window for the bean guarda and was ****tin it cos i thought she would search us for weed...but she just sent us on our way

she must be a stoner herself!

Its not her job to search for weed,her area is in Bean related crimes.

ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.

Best thing is ask him/her for their Garda ID and the name of her/her super and what station they are attached to. I never fail to be surprised at the basic lack of manners and courtesy from Gardai...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Halt citizen! Deine papiere bitte!

Best thing is ask him/her for their Garda ID and the name of her/her super and what station they are attached to. I never fail to be surprised at the basic lack of manners and courtesy from Gardai...

While taping them on your phone :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

jimpump wrote: »
    sure i got stopped at a check point a few days ago in coolock after smoking some skunk in the car......and they just let us on our way. they either dont have a clue or dont give a crap

Cops in the cities are relatively lax on the weed or hash, but if that was out in the country you would be stopped/searched and brought to court for the smallest nodge..
    Personally I wouldn't drive after skunk as id be way too paranoid at a checkpoint, cops would lamp that straight away..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Attitudes like this make Checkpoints a bigger hassle. A bit of cop on goes a long way.

I agree, At least the question is normally asked in a friendly manner, but then its followed by "What were you doing up there ?".
    Then there's the popular "What are ye doing up here at this time of the night".
    I hate being asked it myself but its better than being asked for a bribe like in some countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I stayed away from AH for a while because of all the anger.
    I see that people are still angry over pointless crap.
    Most of you need to lighten up a bit. Or stop smoking weed and snorting coke and being so paranoid.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Shouldve told him you were going to 'finish what you started' then sped off....
    That was so much better with your avatar. :)
    Sunflowers is right. Get smart with a garda and they'll take note of you.
    Then they'll continually hassle you.

Yeah I'm black and have bleached white eyebrows and a tattoo which extends from ear to ear across my face.

Would you consider me memorable now?

Also a man in a pink car is memorable. If a guard doesn't remember a man in a pink car then he's in the wrong job. I know you will argue your point that obviously this doesn't make me worth remembering but anyone with half a brain would be able to recognise that a man in a pink car is a rarity and therefore should stick out. Lol @ you for trying to imply otherwise.

Also I like how you never replied to me in the gun thread lololol. I win, you lose. 2-0 me.
    I love you and want to have your babies.

Wrong. They don't have the freedom to ask anyone any question. What you fail to realise is that's not how the job is done. It may be how they check for slurred words at a checkpoint but that isn't applicable to all scenarios. If I am walking along the road (just walking, wearing clothes, nothing else to draw attention) and a guard questions me where I'm going it is harassment. I have the freedom of mobility.

Also with regards to checkpoints you have no legal obligation to co-operate. It's none of his concern where you're going and if you really don't want to tell him then ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.

Go and get a law degree. Put your knowledge of pointless laws to good use instead of wasting the time of the Gardaí every time they ask you a question.
    Just answer the question and move on.

Don't like that solution?
    Get elected and push or a law preventing the Gardaí from asking members of the public where they are going.

Not happy with that one?
    Get the boat.

Terry wrote: »
    I stayed away from AH for a while because of all the anger.

If you think it's bad here you should throw an eye into Personal Issues, can't get over the amount of people completely depressed there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

Tell him you are going to meet the missus for a ride.

then ask him his plans for the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

If you think it's bad here you should throw an eye into Personal Issues, can't get over the amount of people completely depressed there...
    Was never a fan.
    I spend about 10 hours a week listening to incessant whining from various people. I don't need to know about the problems strangers are having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo

You should try that approach if you are ever in Norn Iron at a checkpoint and see how hospitably you get treated :p