jive wrote: » I'm a 22 year old male driving a pink car. You tell me
Wolfe Tone wrote: » I hate the nosy lying fcukers too OP.
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.
k_mac wrote: » Probably not to be honest.
the_syco wrote: » It'd be funny, though. You roll down the window, and ask the copper "and where are you going tonight?"... :pac: Would probably confuse the hell out of them :P
jive wrote: » :rolleyes: So you're telling me you wouldn't remember a pink car at a checkpoint you've been at before? Not only is the car pink but it also has a male driver? And I'm living in a town not a city. I have seen 1 other pink car around the town. If you think it's not memorable then you're kidding yourself. I stick out like a sore penis. If the guards can't remember me from stopping me before then I'd seriously question their brain capacity. They are meant to be observant individuals.
JG009 wrote: » My point wasn't that you need authority to ask questions. But if its none of your business and they are not relevant why ask them? Oh and by all means demand an answer, but stopping us under the road traffic act we don't have to tell you anything - other than the usual.
pebbles21 wrote: » Would you be so smart if your house was getting broken into ???
Aoifey! wrote: » "Just heading home" Three words, is it really that hard? If it is you can shorten it to two words "Heading home". Still too much for you? Then shorten it to one simple word, "Home". It's not that much of an inconvenience to you. Stop trying to make trouble where there is none.
k_mac wrote: » A man driving a pink car, with everything in order on it, is not particularly remarkable in the grand scheme of things, especially when you consider that a Garda doing a few checkpoints could stop over 100 cars that day. Other than the colour of your car, which you appear to have an issue with, is there anything else that makes you think you're worth remembering?
k_mac wrote: » I never said you had to answer the questions. Gardaí have the freedom to ask anyone any question. It's how the job is done. There are many reasons for asking seemingly random questions other than simple nosiness.
jimpump wrote: » but the thing is i rolled down the window for the bean guarda and was ****tin it cos i thought she would search us for weed...but she just sent us on our way she must be a stoner herself!
jive wrote: » ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.
HellFireClub wrote: » Best thing is ask him/her for their Garda ID and the name of her/her super and what station they are attached to. I never fail to be surprised at the basic lack of manners and courtesy from Gardai...
jimpump wrote: » sure i got stopped at a check point a few days ago in coolock after smoking some skunk in the car......and they just let us on our way. they either dont have a clue or dont give a crap
Sonnenblumen wrote: » Attitudes like this make Checkpoints a bigger hassle. A bit of cop on goes a long way.
KeithM89 wrote: » Shouldve told him you were going to 'finish what you started' then sped off....
jive wrote: » Yeah I'm black and have bleached white eyebrows and a tattoo which extends from ear to ear across my face. Would you consider me memorable now? Also a man in a pink car is memorable. If a guard doesn't remember a man in a pink car then he's in the wrong job. I know you will argue your point that obviously this doesn't make me worth remembering but anyone with half a brain would be able to recognise that a man in a pink car is a rarity and therefore should stick out. Lol @ you for trying to imply otherwise. Also I like how you never replied to me in the gun thread lololol. I win, you lose. 2-0 me.
jive wrote: » Wrong. They don't have the freedom to ask anyone any question. What you fail to realise is that's not how the job is done. It may be how they check for slurred words at a checkpoint but that isn't applicable to all scenarios. If I am walking along the road (just walking, wearing clothes, nothing else to draw attention) and a guard questions me where I'm going it is harassment. I have the freedom of mobility. Also with regards to checkpoints you have no legal obligation to co-operate. It's none of his concern where you're going and if you really don't want to tell him then ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.
Terry wrote: » I stayed away from AH for a while because of all the anger.
HellFireClub wrote: » If you think it's bad here you should throw an eye into Personal Issues, can't get over the amount of people completely depressed there...