Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can Gardai ask you where you're going?

• 29-04-2011 11:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

None?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I absolutely cannot stand this. I know they're doing it to check speech for indications of intoxication and to see whether there are any obvious signs of a guilty conscience or anything, but I really hate being asked. It's extremely invasive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Shouldve told him you were going to 'finish what you started' then sped off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

You should have told him you were on the way back from the pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭RosieMarie_91

Because they can ask you anything they want...after all there the powlice.

But maybe they were looking out for someone. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.

Just answer the question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

It is only a question. have you something to hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

Who cares what right they have to ask? They have the power... what's the point fighting it like an angst ridden teenager?

I am all like "Yes guard, no guard... Why I am just on my way home guard! and lovely to see you too guard, have a delightful evening and then they wave me on and I drive off smiling at the fact that I am in a nice cosy car going somewhere nice while they are freezing their tits off standing in the cold dealing with argumentative assholes on the road all night because of the shit job opportunities their limited intellect afforded them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

hondasam wrote: »
    It is only a question. have you something to hide.

Yeah, I had a boot full of AK47s and cocaine I was off to Scarfaces place:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

You didnt have to hand him the licence,you could just show it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I passed one earlier. It was a big operation.. they were set up at a crossroads with checks at every point, and there were 2 motorbikes looking out for people doing u-turns etc.

I didn't have any documentation at hand and your man let me go on my way without much bother at all. I was pleasantly surprised to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ok, I'll say it..

I don't believe you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Cerocco

You should have said you were headin home for a poo!!! :eek:

Yeah, I had a boot full of AK47s and cocaine I was off to Scarfaces place:rolleyes:.

obviously not or you would not be here telling us about the horrible man asking you questions.

Ok, I'll say it..

I don't believe you.

Say what you like, that's what I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

What seems to be the officer problem?

Say what you like, that's what I said.

what did he say ?

speedingpic.jpg

hondasam wrote: »
    what did he say ?

He said "show me your licence" in a cranky way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

fabbydabby wrote: »
    Who cares what right they have to ask? They have the power...
    I don't think they do.

He said "show me your licence" in a cranky way.

I suppose if you were nice he would have been nice as well. he is just doing his job.

I meant that they have the power to go through your car with a fine tooth comb, looking for something to sting you for, and will do so if you piss them off, why draw that on yourself? Just play ball and go on your merry way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Guards are like Mushrooms feed em sh1t and keep em in the dark...

You should have just told him you were on your way home or something. Its not worth the hassle being all stuck up about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You could tell them anything you like, but it only gives an excuse for a closer examination of your veh-hikle and any possible defect said veh-hikle may have.

Better thing to do is just spout off any old nonsense that vaguely resembles an answer to the question, doesn't have to be true, he's not going to follow you :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There is a number of reasons why they ask you something.

1. They listen to your voice to see if your slurring your words!
    2. They might be seeking someone that resides in a particular area.
    3. They might actually be advising people to avoid an area once in a while and do so when they hear your direction!
    4. They might be delaying you while they check out your details and try spot the tax/insurance dodgers...
    ...and so on!

For gods sake, if all it takes to get your gall up is a simple question, you really need to grow up OP.
    Gardi don't particularly like standing out on cold nights, on dark roads, having to stop people - but once in a while they do actually catch folk that are out of their heads on drink and/or drugs that are driving. Folk that maybe might have otherwise got away and injured/killed someones son/daughter/mother/father!
    I hope its not your family effected some day OP.
    ...Just answer the question, drive on and get on with your life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Would you be so smart if your house was getting broken into ???

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

then the Guard asked me where I was going

would you prefer if he asked you "soooo do you come here often?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Cerocco wrote: »
    You should have said you were headin home for a poo!!! :eek:

I think that would only work if you had a bale of jacks roll in the back seat!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Well considering there has been alot of road deaths over the bank holiday weekends in the past, I think it is just a small annoyance to have to put up with. Okay you dont want to have to tell them where you are going, but I think it is a standard line of questioning, nothing really to get too pissed off about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

the Guard asked me where I was going. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?.

In soviet Russia you ask guard where he is going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

I suggest if your ever unfortunate to be the victim of a crime, to tell the guards to mind their own business and let then carry on helping people who want to be helped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

cant belive anyone said this but...just tell him you are "im goin on my way"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

"I pay your wages"

Use this line at the next checkpoint OP
    They love hearing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

mikom wrote: »
    In soviet Russia you ask guard where he is going.
    It'd be funny, though. You roll down the window, and ask the copper "and where are you going tonight?"... :pac: Would probably confuse the hell out of them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

what age are you 18? dont act the bollox with the gards and they wont act the bollox with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

deco nate wrote: »
    cant belive anyone said this but...just tell him you are "im goin on my way"
    oh,oh and just ad SON. at the end,you know....for ****e an giggles:D
    just to see what happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

sure i got stopped at a check point a few days ago in coolock after smoking some skunk in the car......and they just let us on our way. they either dont have a clue or dont give a crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

jimpump wrote: »
    they either dont have a clue or dont give a crap
    Someone I know recently taxed a car for the first time in four years. It covered over 100000km in that time and was never NCT'd either. Every Garda checkpoint they just waved it on :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It's a rather stupid question. "Yeah, I'm going to the local arms dump".

Still, it's a fecking checkpoint, it involves checks!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Someone I know recently taxed a car for the first time in four years. It covered over 100000km in that time and was never NCT'd either. Every Garda checkpoint they just waved it on :eek:

but the thing is i rolled down the window for the bean guarda and was ****tin it cos i thought she would search us for weed...but she just sent us on our way

she must be a stoner herself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Reminds of the time i seen a check point after driving home from the pub -

I know this story wont go down to well here but:

Drank 4 pints, drove around a corner - seen a check point and about 2 cars at it so i did a U-Turn, drove back around the corner, parked the car in some random garden, me and another guy then hopped over 3 walls and hid under a bush in somebodies garden for about 15 minutes - got up and then walked around for about hours then I parked the car at the kerb and got a taxi home-

never drank drive again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Pretend that you can't understand him and ask him to speak with a Dublin accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Oranage2 wrote: »

I know this story wont go down to well here but:

Clip clop clip clop clip clop

I hear the high horses approaching.
    Beg for forgiveness Oranage2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

What right have they to ask people where they are going?
    Well how fucking dare he. Get the ombudsman on the phone! He had the audacity to ask you, Jimmy Garlic, where you were going on a BH weekend. The bastard.

Why do people have to be so difficult? People like the OP have to complicate every fucking thing at every opportunity. Why? I don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

cronin_j wrote: »
    Guards are like Mushrooms feed em sh1t and keep em in the dark...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I get stopped at the same checkpoint probably twice a month (every other weekend it seems to be there) and always get breathalysed. Gets ****ing annoying after a while so I know where OP is coming from. People can argue that they are just doing they're job but when they ask you "where are ya heading?" every time they stop it gets a bit ****ing tedious - if I've been travelling home every weekend for the last 2 years where do you think I'm heading this weekend. And if it's to test if I'm slurring my words I must be sound like a right dope because I'm breathalysed without fail every time (male, 22). I don't mind being breathalysed but why ask me the same question the whole time and breathalyse me anyway.

If it's a guard that hasn't seen me before then I don't mind but a guard that has stopped you 2 or even 3 times pisses me off. Third time is the charm, however, that's the occasion where I don't bin their plastic breathalyser. It's my gift to them. Two guards have received gifts from me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 lifestyle

jimpump wrote: »
    but the thing is i rolled down the window for the bean guarda and was ****tin it cos i thought she would search us for weed...but she just sent us on our way

she must be a stoner herself!

did they ask you for your dlicence and insurance?she musnt ave been chattin to ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

a garda does have the right to ask you where you are going so he can follow you and get a ride off ya:D