Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern to advise the Nigerians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

He's a professional f**k up ,so probably knows exactly what not to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

Can't understand how anyone would still waste money to read or listen to anything he has to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Megamelonaic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

I'm sure what ahern says will go down well in a country that is as bent & corrupt as he made Ireland during his time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭nordydan

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    He's a professional f**k up ,so probably knows exactly what not to do.

Agree its probably a "what not to do" speaking tour of Africa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I can imagine a lot of politicians want to hear what he has to say. Personally he is extremely successful. He banjaxed the country in the process but sure when your a politician why bother doing right by the country when you can cream it or yourself eh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

And yet Bertie Ahern was the most popular politician in the country who consistently got re-elected, even after it emerged he was hideously corrupt.

The irish people have a unique ability to absolve personal responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 montavista

Go on Bertie you legend, nice to see he is still in demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Don't worry lads, he'll be asked for his bank details....... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

gbee wrote: »
    Don't worry lads, he'll be asked for his bank details....... ;)

He doesn't have a bank account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

" You Nigerians very good at 419'ers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

has he returned the keys yet to his state funded chauffeur driven merc ?

he isn't fit to lecture on anything economically, for the untold damage his policies and corruption put on the citizens of this country - a disgrace of a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I reckon he's been sent in by the military to weaken the Nigerian government in preperation for a popular coup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

This story could have been written especially for After Hours! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I can imagine how this came about...

Dear Nigerian Prince,

My name is Bertie Ahern, ex Prime Minister of Ireland.
    If you send me €20,000 Western Union I can help your economy.

Regards,

Bertie Aherne

It speaks volumes that the Nigerian would trust someone like Ahern, I'd imagine the share some of the same core principles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

BERTIE AHERN has taken to advising Nigerians on how they can avoid the mistakes made by Ireland and learn lessons from our woes.
    "Just don't do what I did lads and you'll be grand!"
    "Now where's my fee?"

"Don't worry Mr Bertie, just give us your bank details and we'll wire it over".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

TheZohan wrote: »
    I can imagine how this came about...

It speaks volumes that the Nigerian would trust someone like Ahern, I'd imagine the share some of the same core principles...

..as in - rotten to the core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I find all this referencing of 419 stuff very offensive. :mad: It's only 99% of Nigerians who give the rest a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

bonerm wrote: »
    I find all this referencing of 419 stuff very offensive. :mad: It's only 99% of Nigerians who give the rest a bad name.

The rest are deposed princes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

mikom wrote: »
    The rest are deposed princes

It's going to be Irish princes now, starting with His Royal Highness, Prince Bertie Mbongo the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

It's kind of perfect in a weird way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Denerick wrote: »
    And yet Bertie Ahern was the most popular politician in the country who consistently got re-elected, even after it emerged he was hideously corrupt.
    Did he not run in one constituency, and one constituency only.

Anyways that fceker ahern belongs in prison, you know like icelands ex prime minster fcuked up in which the icelandicers have to pay for now. The ex prime minster of iceland was elected to do a job, he fcuked up, and was packed off to the courts and prison. Mind boggles as to why ireland is still working putting up with such bullsh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I think it said that he had two visits and they were each about 40,000 euros. I imagine he was the only European politician they could afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Anyways that fceker ahern belongs in prison, you know like icelands ex prime minster fcuked up in which the icelandicers have to pay for now. The ex prime minster of iceland was elected to do a job, he fcuked up, and was packed off to the courts and prison.
    I don’t think that’s true. Geir Haarde was indicted for misconduct, but as far as I am aware, he is still awaiting trial before a special court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

If there is one man out there that could teach the Nigerians about scamming and thieving, it's our Bertie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

djpbarry wrote: »
    I don’t think that’s true. Geir Haarde was indicted for misconduct, but as far as I am aware, he is still awaiting trial before a special court.

At least he's getting a trial. Ireland allows theirs to jet around giving lectures and not holding him accountabile for his role in the economic mess that he created and we're paying for. Icelands prime minister was charged with criminal negligence in the running of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Ahern isn't given half enough credit for enriching the lives of many in Ireland. He didn't force mortgages on to irresponsible goons. As ever the Irish mentality of pass the buck is in evidence. Always look for a scapegoat, never accept blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Says they are too honest for their own good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He got €40,000+ for the speaking to them.
    He really is taking the piss - but whats new!

Biggins wrote: »

What should he have done? Say No?

My point is that they are a struggling economy.
    Every trip he takes and if he charges that mad money evey time, thats lot of money gone out of their system that could be better used on housing and food?

Its a bit much but then again its fcukin' Bertie - whats new!
    An utter wanker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

He'd fit right in with all the 419 scammers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Ahern isn't given half enough credit for enriching the lives of many in Ireland. He didn't force mortgages on to irresponsible goons. As ever the Irish mentality of pass the buck is in evidence. Always look for a scapegoat, never accept blame.

the majority of the financial/banking mess is due to developers who cannot pay back there loans - and aherne looked after them well , galway tents and all that - at the moment mortgage and home-owners default, is having little impact on our current dire straits

so i for one see aherne for what he was - he let cowen take much of the dirt that was his making, so i'd have much more respect for cowen, and thats not much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

You've got to admire him in a way. Not only does he manage to keep his party in power for years, he manages to get re-elected to another public office well after it comes to light what a massive f*ckup he is.

Then to top it all off he figures out how to make money telling people how badly he f*cked up.

I really doubt they will be asking him for economic advice, his only real skill set it how to hoodwink an entire country after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

They won't have much of an economy left after he's given them "advice".

They might introduce a successful plastic bag levy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

The first paragraph of the article expressly states that " BERTIE AHERN has taken to advising Nigerians on how they can avoid the mistakes made by Ireland and learn lessons from our woes".

I really dont see anything amiss here as he is in a very good position to advise Nigeria because he was leader of Ireland during the boom era before it was all squandered.Ahern was invited to share Ireland's success story in attracting inward FDI and how a mono-economy like Nigeria could perharps replicate the Irish model in her quest for the needed diversification of the economy.

Like I said earlier, I dont see anything particularly wrong with his invitation and his statements on effective regulationof financial institutions and consistent / transparent policies are well on target. I can understand why Irish people might find it a bit ironic that Bertie is been invited to make contributions to an economic report but the consistent reference and lectures about Nigerians been corrupt and 419ers is becoming terribly boring and rehashed to be honest.

Does Nigeria have a problem with corruption? undeniably so! but events and evidence from the last few years have shown that corruption is "surprisingly" ubiquitous.

It reminds me of the old age story of the guy trying to remove the spec from his brother's eye while having a log in his.

KINGVictor wrote: »
    The first paragraph of the article expressly states that " BERTIE AHERN has taken to advising Nigerians on how they can avoid the mistakes made by Ireland and learn lessons from our woes".

I really dont see anything amiss here as he is in a very good position to advise Nigeria because he was leader of Ireland during the boom era before it was all squandered.Ahern was invited to share Ireland's success story in attracting inward FDI and how a mono-economy like Nigeria could perharps replicate the Irish model in her quest for the needed diversification of the economy.

Like I said earlier, I dont see anything particularly wrong with his invitation and his statements on effective regulationof financial institutions and consistent / transparent policies are well on target. I can understand why Irish people might find it a bit ironic that Bertie is been invited to make contributions to an economic report but the consistent reference and lectures about Nigerians been corrupt and 419ers is becoming terribly boring and rehashed to be honest.

Does Nigeria have a problem with corruption? undeniably so! but events and evidence from the last few years have shown that corruption is "surprisingly" ubiquitous.

It reminds me of the old age story of the guy trying to remove the spec from his brother's eye while having a log in his.

"That was a party political broadcast on behalf of the Bertie Party...Sorry... Fianna Fail Party.

Now we are continuing with the Nine O'Clock News..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

'Is there a chance the track might bend? Not on your life my Islamic/Christian friend.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

£40,000 is really nothing since Ahern will be able to let the Nigerians in on his foolproof system for winning lots of money on the horses.

They'll more than double their money!

"That was a party political broadcast on behalf of the Bertie Party...Sorry... Fianna Fail Party.

Now we are continuing with the Nine O'Clock News..."

Have you considered a writing position with Have I Got News For You? They would love this kind of stuff. The poster made a well reasoned and sound argument and all you can manage is some hackneyed anti FF jibe. Change the record.

Welcome to After Hours, been here long?
    Get over yourself.

His post was so full of crap/spin - it wasn't worth a serious reply!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

KINGVictor wrote: »

If Ahern is willing to admit to the Nigerians that it was HIS government that was responsible for overheating the economy then fair enough.

If he goes over there with the Lehman Bros shtick he's been peddling here for the last three years and the 'It was fine when I left it' guff, then it's a waste of time and the Nigerian peoples money.

Welcome to After Hours, been here long?
    Get over yourself.

His post was so full of crap/spin - it wasn't worth a serious reply!

Point out the crap/spin?

No.
    If you really can't see it for yourself, anyone pointing it out is wasting their time for your horse blinkers are clearly working - maybe as you wish them to be.

Carry on being one of the short-sighted.

No.
    If you really can't see it for yourself, anyone pointing it out is wasting their time for your horse blinkers are clearly working - maybe as you wish them to be.

Carry on being one of the short-sighted.

A fúcking laughably predictable response. You are challenged to back up your blind hate agenda and the answer is 'No'. I wonder who is really wearing the blinkers here.

Are you SERIOUSLY telling me you accept the crap he posted and you can't see what wrong with it?

SERIOUSLY? :confused:

Good god, some people are so blind and have such short memories!

Here is clue just to bloody begin with... Go look up who ACTUALLY loosened the banking regulations in Ireland for his mates in Drumcondra!

Then read these WELL researched books

* http://www.amazon.com/Bertie-Ahern-Drumcondra-Michael-Clifford/dp/0340919051/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1293894231&sr=8-1

* http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/shane+ross/the+bankers+28ebook29/7370046/

* http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/shane+ross/nick+webb/wasters/7892140/

...Then come back and look at kingfishers post and tell me it is absolutely not full of forgetfulness, twisted versions of events and further utter crap to begin with!

Please THEN come back when you actually have a fcukin clue what the hell your talking about!

...Fcuk me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

That report is dated April 14. Surely it was for release on April 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

I hope they send him a cheque for €60,000 and ask him to send him the €20,000 overpayment back in cash. :D

But still, some neck on the f***er all the same.
    Like a jockey's b***ix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

They'd want to check the family silver after that yoke's been there.