Bertie Ahern to advise the Nigerians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Biggins wrote: »
    He got €40,000+ for the speaking to them.
    He really is taking the piss - but whats new!

What should he have done? Say No?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What should he have done? Say No?
    My point is that they are a struggling economy.
    Every trip he takes and if he charges that mad money evey time, thats lot of money gone out of their system that could be better used on housing and food?

Its a bit much but then again its fcukin' Bertie - whats new!
    An utter wanker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

He'd fit right in with all the 419 scammers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Ahern isn't given half enough credit for enriching the lives of many in Ireland. He didn't force mortgages on to irresponsible goons. As ever the Irish mentality of pass the buck is in evidence. Always look for a scapegoat, never accept blame.

the majority of the financial/banking mess is due to developers who cannot pay back there loans - and aherne looked after them well , galway tents and all that - at the moment mortgage and home-owners default, is having little impact on our current dire straits

so i for one see aherne for what he was - he let cowen take much of the dirt that was his making, so i'd have much more respect for cowen, and thats not much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

You've got to admire him in a way. Not only does he manage to keep his party in power for years, he manages to get re-elected to another public office well after it comes to light what a massive f*ckup he is.

Then to top it all off he figures out how to make money telling people how badly he f*cked up.

I really doubt they will be asking him for economic advice, his only real skill set it how to hoodwink an entire country after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

They won't have much of an economy left after he's given them "advice".

They might introduce a successful plastic bag levy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

The first paragraph of the article expressly states that " BERTIE AHERN has taken to advising Nigerians on how they can avoid the mistakes made by Ireland and learn lessons from our woes".

I really dont see anything amiss here as he is in a very good position to advise Nigeria because he was leader of Ireland during the boom era before it was all squandered.Ahern was invited to share Ireland's success story in attracting inward FDI and how a mono-economy like Nigeria could perharps replicate the Irish model in her quest for the needed diversification of the economy.

Like I said earlier, I dont see anything particularly wrong with his invitation and his statements on effective regulationof financial institutions and consistent / transparent policies are well on target. I can understand why Irish people might find it a bit ironic that Bertie is been invited to make contributions to an economic report but the consistent reference and lectures about Nigerians been corrupt and 419ers is becoming terribly boring and rehashed to be honest.

Does Nigeria have a problem with corruption? undeniably so! but events and evidence from the last few years have shown that corruption is "surprisingly" ubiquitous.

It reminds me of the old age story of the guy trying to remove the spec from his brother's eye while having a log in his.

KINGVictor wrote: »
    The first paragraph of the article expressly states that " BERTIE AHERN has taken to advising Nigerians on how they can avoid the mistakes made by Ireland and learn lessons from our woes".

I really dont see anything amiss here as he is in a very good position to advise Nigeria because he was leader of Ireland during the boom era before it was all squandered.Ahern was invited to share Ireland's success story in attracting inward FDI and how a mono-economy like Nigeria could perharps replicate the Irish model in her quest for the needed diversification of the economy.

Like I said earlier, I dont see anything particularly wrong with his invitation and his statements on effective regulationof financial institutions and consistent / transparent policies are well on target. I can understand why Irish people might find it a bit ironic that Bertie is been invited to make contributions to an economic report but the consistent reference and lectures about Nigerians been corrupt and 419ers is becoming terribly boring and rehashed to be honest.

Does Nigeria have a problem with corruption? undeniably so! but events and evidence from the last few years have shown that corruption is "surprisingly" ubiquitous.

It reminds me of the old age story of the guy trying to remove the spec from his brother's eye while having a log in his.

"That was a party political broadcast on behalf of the Bertie Party...Sorry... Fianna Fail Party.

Now we are continuing with the Nine O'Clock News..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

'Is there a chance the track might bend? Not on your life my Islamic/Christian friend.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

£40,000 is really nothing since Ahern will be able to let the Nigerians in on his foolproof system for winning lots of money on the horses.

They'll more than double their money!

"That was a party political broadcast on behalf of the Bertie Party...Sorry... Fianna Fail Party.

Now we are continuing with the Nine O'Clock News..."

Have you considered a writing position with Have I Got News For You? They would love this kind of stuff. The poster made a well reasoned and sound argument and all you can manage is some hackneyed anti FF jibe. Change the record.

Welcome to After Hours, been here long?
    Get over yourself.

His post was so full of crap/spin - it wasn't worth a serious reply!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

If Ahern is willing to admit to the Nigerians that it was HIS government that was responsible for overheating the economy then fair enough.

If he goes over there with the Lehman Bros shtick he's been peddling here for the last three years and the 'It was fine when I left it' guff, then it's a waste of time and the Nigerian peoples money.

Get over yourself.

Point out the crap/spin?

No.
    If you really can't see it for yourself, anyone pointing it out is wasting their time for your horse blinkers are clearly working - maybe as you wish them to be.

Carry on being one of the short-sighted.

No.
    If you really can't see it for yourself, anyone pointing it out is wasting their time for your horse blinkers are clearly working - maybe as you wish them to be.

Carry on being one of the short-sighted.

A fúcking laughably predictable response. You are challenged to back up your blind hate agenda and the answer is 'No'. I wonder who is really wearing the blinkers here.

Are you SERIOUSLY telling me you accept the crap he posted and you can't see what wrong with it?

SERIOUSLY? :confused:

Good god, some people are so blind and have such short memories!

Here is clue just to bloody begin with... Go look up who ACTUALLY loosened the banking regulations in Ireland for his mates in Drumcondra!

Then read these WELL researched books

* http://www.amazon.com/Bertie-Ahern-Drumcondra-Michael-Clifford/dp/0340919051/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1293894231&sr=8-1

* http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/shane+ross/the+bankers+28ebook29/7370046/

* http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/shane+ross/nick+webb/wasters/7892140/

...Then come back and look at kingfishers post and tell me it is absolutely not full of forgetfulness, twisted versions of events and further utter crap to begin with!

Please THEN come back when you actually have a fcukin clue what the hell your talking about!

...Fcuk me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

That report is dated April 14. Surely it was for release on April 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

He got €40,000+ for the speaking to them.
    He really is taking the piss - but whats new!

I hope they send him a cheque for €60,000 and ask him to send him the €20,000 overpayment back in cash. :D

But still, some neck on the f***er all the same.
    Like a jockey's b***ix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

They'd want to check the family silver after that yoke's been there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Someone tell the Nigerians he eats the poo poo. No chance he'll be asked back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Get over yourself.

How you qualify my post as full of crap/spin is quite interesting. I am a Nigerian and have absolutely no connection with FF, well unless you meant the spin was pro-Nigeria.

My post essentially addressed two issues:

Firstly, nothing wrong with Bertie advising Nigeria in relation to creating a viable mechanism for attracting inward FDI ( something Ireland did excellently well) and also educating the country about the ills of lack of proper regulation of its financial institutions which Ireland failed to do and I am sure he would not absolve himself of blame in that regard.

Secondly, I expressed my opinion that it is becoming tiresome that some folks would relentlessy use the "Nigerians are corrupt analogy" consistently without any substance to their arguements/posts.

As a Nigerian, I categorically accept that corruption is a major issue in the country but I think it is somewhat comical to get lectures about it from folks that are been directly affected by corruption in their own country, well unless we want to be semantical ( a la )..."undocumented" Irish in the USA and Illegal immigrants in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Finally, an example to illustrate the phrase 'the blind leading the blind.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

How you qualify my post as full of crap/spin is quite interesting. I am a Nigerian and have absolutely no connection with FF, well unless you meant the spin was pro-Nigeria.

My post essentially addressed two issues:

Firstly, nothing wrong with Bertie advising Nigeria in relation to creating a viable mechanism for attracting inward FDI ( something Ireland did excellently well) and also educating the country about the ills of lack of proper regulation of its financial institutions which Ireland failed to do and I am sure he would not absolve himself of blame in that regard.

Secondly, I expressed my opinion that it is becoming tiresome that some folks would relentlessy use the "Nigerians are corrupt analogy" consistently without any substance to their arguements/posts.

As a Nigerian, I categorically accept that corruption is a major issue in the country but I think it is somewhat comical to get lectures about it from folks that are been directly affected by corruption in their own country, well unless we want to be semantical ( a la )..."undocumented" Irish in the USA and Illegal immigrants in Ireland.

In all fairness KV I wouldn't take his word for anything. Just because he's telling you he's offering advice doesn't mean he actually is. If he's over there to make a few bob............ I doubt forty grand will settle him.

...My post essentially addressed two issues:

Firstly, nothing wrong with Bertie advising Nigeria in relation to creating a viable mechanism for attracting inward FDI (something Ireland did excellently well) and also educating the country about the ills of lack of proper regulation of its financial institutions which Ireland failed to do and I am sure he would not absolve himself of blame in that regard...
    Firstly, Bertie is TOTALLY the wrong man to be doing the educating.
    To this day HE (and his cronies, ever the present FF leader) are still in denial and unwilling to accepted what is now well recorded history in regard to they actually managed to destroy the areas you refer to!
    ...Additionally I might add, along with their ever ongoing denial to accept recorded fact of history and recorded facts - and that includes Berties collusion in bring the country to its present state, with that very denial - and they spinning things different subsequently remember! - how in hell is Bertie going to be telling others how to avoid the problems we have had accurately and truthfully, when in fact he wouldn't even accept or tell on our own Irish soil, how HE managed to bring about same damage!
    God knows what the frig he's telling them over there - clearly I suspect, a another whitewashed version of events what might also belong in his fiction book called his biography!

When Nick Leeson helped bring about the collapse of the Bearings Bank, he eventually accepted his role in it - and then went on to speak about it and how such things could be avoided in the future - because he was speaking of TRUE recorded fact and was willing to tell of his TRUE participation in the events that led to a culmination.
    ...Now along comes friggin' Bertie - not willing to see history as it was/is AND NOT willing to accept his role in matter.

Now with that in mind - how the fcuk can this wanker tell the people of Nigeria TRUTHFULLY (and I'd want to hear the truth if I was paying €40,000 a trip) exactly what went wrong, how to avoid it, if he STILL won't even admit to the Irish people just how much he has screwed us and how he did it! Absolved himself of blame!!! He has to start fully admitting it first for gods sake!
    So what the hell version of events/explanation is he actually telling if he is going to use Ireland as an example?
    It sure as hell won't be an accurate one - will it?
    If by some miracle he actually telling of stuff over there that he won't admit here - and they being also core points of what caused Ireland to decline remember - I sure as hell want to go over there and see the pigs flying too over the blue moon!

THAT alone to begin with, is why he is totally the wrong person for the job - and I'm sorry you can't see that.
    ...Secondly, I expressed my opinion that it is becoming tiresome that some folks would relentlessy use the "Nigerians are corrupt analogy" consistently without any substance to their arguements/posts.

I dislike intensely to see all people being tarnished with the same brush so we are alike there in that matter.
    We have indeed our own shower of "thugs in suits" so we cannot be the first ones to throw stones but we do for as slow as we are to do something - anything - we or at least some of us are trying and we do admit to the existence of our shower of corrupt schites too.
    The vast majority of them in the last few decades being Fianna Fail based or connected to that utter rotten organisation.
    You sure won't be getting lectures/lessons about corruption in Nigeria from Bertie. He still won't admit that we had even had some - or that he was part and parcel of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

P.S. I'll fleece you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭VNP

Thats where all the developer buddies of Berties are heading now eh, the south african continent, tons of crap quality concrete to be thrown up. There's some dumb fcuks out there, hope he gets a nice dose of the local delicacy..... aids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Just saw this over in the politics forum....someone is trying to tell the Nigerian lads to keep the fcuk away from Bertie.

A warning from Ireland - Lagos Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Mr Nigerian Man - "who will i make the cheque payable to Mr Aherne or do you want it paid directly into your bank account?"

Bertie - "eh, de,de,de just put cash in a brown envelope and make sure you have no receipts to show this transaction ever took place"

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Probably aren't too many race meetings in Nigeria though so he can't be saying "ah yeerah I won that 3K on a horse"