Bertie Ahern to advise the Nigerians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

He's a professional f**k up ,so probably knows exactly what not to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

Can't understand how anyone would still waste money to read or listen to anything he has to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Megamelonaic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭gerryo777

I'm sure what ahern says will go down well in a country that is as bent & corrupt as he made Ireland during his time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭nordydan

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    He's a professional f**k up ,so probably knows exactly what not to do.

Agree its probably a "what not to do" speaking tour of Africa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I can imagine a lot of politicians want to hear what he has to say. Personally he is extremely successful. He banjaxed the country in the process but sure when your a politician why bother doing right by the country when you can cream it or yourself eh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Denerick

And yet Bertie Ahern was the most popular politician in the country who consistently got re-elected, even after it emerged he was hideously corrupt.

The irish people have a unique ability to absolve personal responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 montavista

Go on Bertie you legend, nice to see he is still in demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

Don't worry lads, he'll be asked for his bank details....... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

gbee wrote: »
    Don't worry lads, he'll be asked for his bank details....... ;)

He doesn't have a bank account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

" You Nigerians very good at 419'ers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

has he returned the keys yet to his state funded chauffeur driven merc ?

he isn't fit to lecture on anything economically, for the untold damage his policies and corruption put on the citizens of this country - a disgrace of a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I reckon he's been sent in by the military to weaken the Nigerian government in preperation for a popular coup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

This story could have been written especially for After Hours! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I can imagine how this came about...

Dear Nigerian Prince,

My name is Bertie Ahern, ex Prime Minister of Ireland.
    If you send me €20,000 Western Union I can help your economy.

Regards,

Bertie Aherne

It speaks volumes that the Nigerian would trust someone like Ahern, I'd imagine the share some of the same core principles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

BERTIE AHERN has taken to advising Nigerians on how they can avoid the mistakes made by Ireland and learn lessons from our woes.
    "Just don't do what I did lads and you'll be grand!"
    "Now where's my fee?"

"Don't worry Mr Bertie, just give us your bank details and we'll wire it over".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

TheZohan wrote: »
    I can imagine how this came about...

It speaks volumes that the Nigerian would trust someone like Ahern, I'd imagine the share some of the same core principles...

..as in - rotten to the core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I find all this referencing of 419 stuff very offensive. :mad: It's only 99% of Nigerians who give the rest a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

bonerm wrote: »
    I find all this referencing of 419 stuff very offensive. :mad: It's only 99% of Nigerians who give the rest a bad name.

The rest are deposed princes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

mikom wrote: »
    The rest are deposed princes

It's going to be Irish princes now, starting with His Royal Highness, Prince Bertie Mbongo the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

It's kind of perfect in a weird way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Denerick wrote: »
    And yet Bertie Ahern was the most popular politician in the country who consistently got re-elected, even after it emerged he was hideously corrupt.
    Did he not run in one constituency, and one constituency only.

Anyways that fceker ahern belongs in prison, you know like icelands ex prime minster fcuked up in which the icelandicers have to pay for now. The ex prime minster of iceland was elected to do a job, he fcuked up, and was packed off to the courts and prison. Mind boggles as to why ireland is still working putting up with such bullsh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I think it said that he had two visits and they were each about 40,000 euros. I imagine he was the only European politician they could afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Anyways that fceker ahern belongs in prison, you know like icelands ex prime minster fcuked up in which the icelandicers have to pay for now. The ex prime minster of iceland was elected to do a job, he fcuked up, and was packed off to the courts and prison.
    I don’t think that’s true. Geir Haarde was indicted for misconduct, but as far as I am aware, he is still awaiting trial before a special court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

If there is one man out there that could teach the Nigerians about scamming and thieving, it's our Bertie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

djpbarry wrote: »
    I don’t think that’s true. Geir Haarde was indicted for misconduct, but as far as I am aware, he is still awaiting trial before a special court.

At least he's getting a trial. Ireland allows theirs to jet around giving lectures and not holding him accountabile for his role in the economic mess that he created and we're paying for. Icelands prime minister was charged with criminal negligence in the running of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Ahern isn't given half enough credit for enriching the lives of many in Ireland. He didn't force mortgages on to irresponsible goons. As ever the Irish mentality of pass the buck is in evidence. Always look for a scapegoat, never accept blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Says they are too honest for their own good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He got €40,000+ for the speaking to them.
    He really is taking the piss - but whats new!