Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you deal with assholes in life?

• 09-04-2011 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

Whether in work or simply a soon to be ex friend whats your strategy in dealing with people who you can no longer stand to be associated with?

Personally I find that cutting off the person completely from me in every single way-physically ignoring the person in real life and blocking/ignoring them online is a blunt but effective way of deleting people from my life. This is especially useful against people who try to 'inject' themselves into you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Avoid them. Life is too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Whether in work or simply a soon to be ex friend whats your strategy in dealing with people who you can no longer stand to be associated with?

Personally I find that cutting off the person completely from me in every single way-physically ignoring the person in real life and blocking/ignoring them online is a blunt but effective way of deleting people from my life. This is especially useful against people who try to 'inject' themselves into you.

I'm not sure ignoring a rapist would be effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Why would you let someone get to you to that extent? I'd ignore them alright, i wouldnt go putting myself out. Be less of an asshole then them and go about your life with a bit of dignity and cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Just be the more mature person- smile and nod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Blast them with piss usually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Maldjd23

Be annoyingly nice to them...It will bug them way more then being confrontational...Has worked for me for years...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Try avoid them if possible, not always easy if you have mutual friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

wash them regularly to avoid smells, use soft toilet paper, and have a high fibre diet to avoid piles, we're talking arseholes here, right? re-checks thread title..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Fcuk them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Kick them in the bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

orourkeda wrote: »
    Kick them in the bollocks

Or the gip, gender depending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Do a rape shit on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

It's very surprising; the levels you'll find arsholes at as you travel through life. Listen to the waffle and pay attention they may have got there for a reason though most of the time it seems like it's because of the incompetencey of their superiors.

Golden rule: Never argue with an idiot, they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

I hate myself for saying this but it happens to be one of the only situations I'd consider it appropriate.....

Blast them with piss!

:(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭woodturner

This is all great but what if the person is your boss and you love where you work. You wouldn't believe the shìt i have to put up with in work every day.

woodturner wrote: »
    This is all great but what if the person is your boss and you love where you work. You wouldn't believe the shìt i have to put up with in work every day.
    If you look up to assholes, at some stage you will be getting shat on, its just physics.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Generally ignore them. Not give them the time of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭woodturner

Solnskaya wrote: »
    If you look up to assholes, at some stage you will be getting shat on, its just physics.

Ok its not that I love where I work, I love what I do. The latest incident was where he came in one morning shouting "Morning Girls". Myself and my friend didn't respond and he said "Well don't talk to me you pair of cùnts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Try not to have a slip of the tongue, you'll end up in the ****.

Ok its not that I love where I work, I love what I do. The latest incident was where he came in one morning shouting "Morning Girls". Myself and my friend didn't respond and he said "Well don't talk to me you pair of cùnts"
    Why didn't you reply?? Maybe youse were being a pair of cnuts. You'll take his money, but not his witty banter. Feckin typical. Why not just reply"Morning big boy, you're looking especially rideable today, fancy a blowjob, ya knob?" Works for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

a few years ago i fell out with a friend, he really, really anoyed me.
    at the time he was on the dole and working full time so i

: i gave his name to the social welfare office and told them where he was working.
    : i called the customs because he used green diesel all the time.
    : told the guards that he had no insurance for his vehicle
    : rang the dog warden and said his dog wasnt lisenced

i know it was a cruel thing to do but, s**t happens

Xplor.er wrote: »

: i gave his name to the social welfare office and told them where he was working.

I hope he is not on boards or did you have the balls to tell him what you did ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭LiamIRL82

Just tell them they're absolutely outrageous (in the style of Judge Judy)

hondasam wrote: »
    I hope he is not on boards or did you have the balls to tell him what you did ?

yeah he knows, pretty much everyone in the town knows it was me.
    hes the one who doesnt have the balls to anything about it.
    he knows not to take it any further or else:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭LiamIRL82

You sound like a right prick

yeah he knows, pretty much everyone in the town knows it was me.
    hes the one who doesnt have the balls to anything about it.
    he knows not to take it any further or else:cool:

you are such a nice person

i am one of the most civil people you could meet, but he really done some things he shouldnt have. hes the one whos known as a prick in the town.

what ever, you reported him to make yourself feel better and not because you thought what he was doing was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

god your a nice person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Sadly 90% (?) of the time you dont know an asshole is an asshole until you've gotten to know them. Which means there actions are going to be a bit more annoying, even hurtful than just some randomer being an ass.

as to how to deal with them?
    ... break away from them. The only people you should still keep around who are negitive in life is your family ... Even that can have its limits in situations. But you give your family more than what you give other people in life. thats just the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 frankie101

what ever, you reported him to make yourself feel better and not because you thought what he was doing was wrong.

look the man had his f**king reasons so i say fair play to him.
    its the kind of people he just explained that have the country the way it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

She was gaggin for it, what could I do!!

frankie101 wrote: »
    look the man had his f**king reasons so i say fair play to him.
    its the kind of people he just explained that have the country the way it is

your first post !

he only reported him after he annoyed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Avoid them if possible. If I have to work with them be an asshole back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

There is a difference in "sh*t happens" and being a vengeful.
    Lets be honest you probably didnt find anything he was doing to be an issue until he rubbed you the wrong way. The only question is what he did to encure your wrath? ... if he did something nasty, your right. sh*t happens. if he did something small or petty and you went out of your way to screw him over? yeah... you're the d*ck,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Try avoid them if possible, not always easy if you have mutual friends.
    Even worse when you have mutual family members.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Even worse when you have mutual family members.

yes It can be difficult but life is to short to dwell on things. avoid them as much as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I like to engage with them at every viable opportunity. Assholes are interesting a lot of the time.

Basically just be as calm as a junkie sheep and talk to them as if they were a very drunk child. It can be pretty fun and informative. Really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭howardmarks

eat them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Holy ****...:mad:

Is it an open plan office? Did others hear him say that?

Thats the kind of thing where you should take him aside and politely remind him that thats not on, otherwise you might end up having a chat with HR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

As poster said earlier, lifes too short! I mostly just pitty them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

hmmmmm no prizes for guessing who's the arsehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Actually, you should read this:

http://www.amazon.com/Asshole-Rule-Civilized-Workplace-Surviving/dp/0446526568

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Well I've been living with myself for 32 years now so I know exactly the best strategy to use :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Met up with an old mate recently, used to be best friends up until a year ago but he was heading down a dark path filled with drugs and crime so I thought "screw that" dont want to get remotely involved with anything he does so I slowly drifted away from him.
    Met him yesterday and offered him a drive into town. On the way I stopped to go into the shop, came out and then dropped him off a few minutes later. Little did I know until last night that he had actually robbed my 50e which I had in my driver's side compartment :(
    Dont know what I should do, not a violent person by any means but thats just taking the biscuit. Didnt think he would have done such a thing to someone who was he's best mate for 4 years. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

Yakult wrote: »
    Met up with an old mate recently, used to be best friends up until a year ago but he was heading down a dark path filled with drugs and crime so I thought "screw that" dont want to get remotely involved with anything he does so I slowly drifted away from him.
    Met him yesterday and offered him a drive into town. On the way I stopped to go into the shop, came out and then dropped him off a few minutes later. Little did I know until last night that he had actually robbed my 50e which I had in my driver's side compartment :(
    Dont know what I should do, not a violent person by any means but thats just taking the biscuit. Didnt think he would have done such a thing to someone who was he's best mate for 4 years. :(

its awful but it sounds like hes become an addict. drug addicted people will quite literally steal from their sick old granny never mind a mate. if i was you id just forget about it and be very wary of him in future,hes obviously got problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Yakult wrote: »

That sucks bro, hopefully it was the fact he might be on heroin or something that made him steal it and not just coz he was a total asshole, i mean if he needs it for a fix it's at least a little more understandable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    As poster said earlier, lifes too short! I mostly just pitty them!

Yeah me too. I kinda wonder what happen in their lives that made them that hard and heartless.

How being nasty to someone else, stranger, friend or family can somehow make them feel better about themselves.
    People like this are generally so self absorbed they rarely think of the damage they might inflict, emotionally, on another human being.

Broken wing syndrome attracts ass holes like flies on honey (im having a good day, lets leave it at honey shall we :D)

That being said, i'm rather partial to The dome, so what that makes me i dont know :D