Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photos taken on your cycle.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭biketard

I've really been enjoying this thread. Thanks to all that have posted.

As for me, well I'm currently living over in Taipei, Taiwan. It's a lovely place to cycle, although it gets ridiculously hot/humid in summer (although I'd still take that over pissing down/freezing).

Here's a few pics from recent cycles:

Maokong.jpg

DSC00221.jpg

DSC00237.jpg

DSC00290.jpg

DSC00326.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

On a circuit round by knockree youth hostel last night.

218254.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

01BB21D179CF4315AEA869387C188FA1-0000333231-0002983289-00800L-2CB78A492A2B45CD9C2CDC906EF19442.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

6zo3ew.jpg
    x1hbgw.jpg

Ballaghbeama gap, kerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

SetOverSet wrote: »
    Weir, River Dodder
    Which one?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,947 ✭✭✭kirving

Which one?

Here: http://goo.gl/maps/CWQhs

Pulled the rear brake on a brand new bike at the top of a hill, just to remind myself how they felt, as I amn't used to discs. :eek:

218287.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

damn :( is the frame alright?

No, sure you'd have to remove that part (is it also called a drop out?), TIG weld the new one back in place, and repaint it all.

I posted about it here last Sunday night. Repair is out the window, and I don't want a replacement as I feel that it's a design flaw. There jsut isn't enough metal there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

No, sure you'd have to remove that part (is it also called a drop out?), TIG weld the new one back in place, and repaint it all.

I posted about it here last Sunday night. Repair is out the window, and I don't want a replacement as I feel that it's a design flaw. There jsut isn't enough metal there.

:eek: What bike?

The one in the photo above! :pac:

Really though, It's a Carrera Vengeance.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

so it pulled out the drop out :eek: jesus name and shame the bike, did the bike come with disks?

I'll update the other thread I had with the name of the shop once I deal with them this evening. I know this is supposed to be a photo's thread and I don't want to bring it off topic. I'm not exactly sure what the part which broke on the frame is called. I thought it was called a drop-out, but they're what go on the right side to hold a deraileur, and can be removed, right?

Bike came with discs, but a dis will mean that the location of maximum force on the frame under braking will be changed. The design clearly isn't up to the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I'll update the other thread I had with the name of the shop once I deal with them this evening. I know this is supposed to be a photo's thread and I don't want to bring it off topic. I'm not exactly sure what the part which broke on the frame is called. I thought it was called a drop-out, but they're what go on the right side to hold a deraileur, and can be removed, right?

Bike came with discs, but a dis will mean that the location of maximum force on the frame under braking will be changed. The design clearly isn't up to the job.
    It's obvious what chainstore it is, I had the brand sussed before you revealed the answer! Interesting to see how you get on but I reckon there won't be a problem getting your money back.

It is a dropout, you're thinking of a derailleur/mech hanger.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Cycling in Phoenix, Arizona. Got lost and ran out of feckin road. Thought it was interesting:

photo2.jpg

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Cycling in Phoenix, Arizona. Got lost and ran out of feckin road. Thought it was interesting:

photo2.jpg

You must have been there a while. You finished three rubix cubes and attached them to the barrier. Fair play.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

You must have been there a while. You finished three rubix cubes and attached them to the barrier. Fair play.

The internet on my phone was slow, had to entertain myself somehow while google maps was loading.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Went on my first decent spin today. Clonee to Trim and back. Roughly 60k round trip I think.
    I left the house at 8.15am and got home at 11.20am.
    I stopped in Trim for a bite to eat and take photos which took about 20 mins. Quite happy with that.
    Loads of people out this morning waving as they cycled by which was good encouragement.
    Beautiful morning for a cycle!

C9A21793-188C-4B77-A895-467097819254-262-000000D604EBD125.jpg

88F85D0D-090B-4EDE-8C13-B06A8640B5A5-262-000000D607662D65.jpg

F68DFAA3-7DEA-479E-BFB4-DF2A04496119-262-000000D5FE21B05F.jpg

95373311-7B21-4F09-BFAC-0A1A724ABFDD-262-000000D601DEFE8E.jpg

F3A7A4B4-4A86-484E-94D1-AB7FBD1123B5-262-000000D60A2D7687.jpg

331BD399-D366-4FAA-B3EF-4AB5CE0757EE-262-000000D60D4166A6.jpg

And my personal favourite...

B7131596-44C7-4C98-A02D-F9FDD064BEE6-262-000000D6107B6EF2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

2CA20C09-839E-4281-89A4-86AB6DB6720B-9448-0000597CF4BD26A7.jpg

Spotting the sea while out about in NCD this afternoon, it's lumpier out that way than I imagined....

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭hiDEhi

7863934210_f2e249bc4f.jpg
    Pontoon

7863922888_b1bd4dfb13.jpg
    Crossmolina

7863928566_814070d97a.jpg
    Crossmolina again

• Registered Users Posts: 14,345 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

finn mccool supporting donegal

218452.png

• Registered Users Posts: 24,489 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Twas fairly rough and windy at lunchtime, Foreshore in New Plymouth
    Sea.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Recce out to the dying cow, looking forward to soup & sangers (f€ck!^g closed!! :mad:)

218525.jpg

Taken whilst lying in a bush following climb above cow munching an energy bar

218526.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

The Moycullen to Spideal road on a beautiful autumn evening.

218537.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 3,697 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

Costa Del Donabate sitting at the Waterside Hotel

20120828_142351.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭derv

a few more from Ticknock on a sunny evening last week,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

derv wrote: »

I'd thank that 10 times if I could. Lovely shots.

here are 2 more from ticknock that have been 'instagrammed'

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

derv wrote: »

Where exactly at Ticknock is that? Been up around Ticknock/3rock/2rock loads of times and never seen that drop.

MediaMan wrote: »
    Where exactly at Ticknock is that? Been up around Ticknock/3rock/2rock loads of times and never seen that drop.

my mate and i did a bit of exploring one evening and came across it,
    i'll send you a PM now and do my best to explain where it is :-)