Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photos taken on your cycle.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,887 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Yup, a Moto G 2014.
    Very nice, always been disappointed with the way my previous phones have captured various rays of light, rainbows, sunsets etc when Ive been out and about. Looking more promising this year with the camera on my OnePlus though, just need to get my legs back now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,743 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

A spin up to Kippure
    [IMG][/img]15722875203_8f3c751aca_c.jpgIMG_0167 by bigcharlie19, on Flickr

[IMG][/img]15722869643_a846b628a1_c.jpgIMG_0176 by bigcharlie19, on Flickr

[IMG][/img]15722369383_341e6e8d35_c.jpgSunset view from kippure by bigcharlie19, on Flickr

[IMG][/img]16341071611_e6bfcb8e2b_c.jpgIMG_0191 by bigcharlie19, on Flickr

[IMG][/img]16341936272_66e243a891_c.jpgIMG_0182 by bigcharlie19, on Flickr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

336240.jpg

Roberts Cove approach

336241.jpg

Roberts Cove

336242.jpg

Rocky Bay

336243.jpg

Oysterhaven

336244.jpg

Kinsale Harbour from Charles Fort

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

A couple from deep sinking on the Royal canal today

336256.JPG

336257.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Nortech

This thread is enough to motivate anyone to get out for a cycle, great stuff! Keep it up!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭g0g

336425.jpg
    WP_20150125_001.jpg
    Annamoe today. Nothing spectacular, just a nice view and a great morning to be out on the bike!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

2njabcx.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Love the Willier, though would defo get a few darker or black & red bottles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭okane1

Black Valley looking up to the Gap of Dunlow

WP_20150124_001_zps6fc72cbf.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

smacl wrote: »
    Love the Willier, though would defo get a few darker or black & red bottles.

Ordered 2 new black and red bottles yesterday :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Ordered 2 new black and red bottles yesterday :D

You might put a new photo up then because its a cracking looking bike man

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭velopeloton

It's Cold.
    10932449_1426582780966772_1325321076_n.jpg
    Saint-Savin

10932579_1392710281033647_28101189_n.jpg
    Saint-Savin

10914264_779179955504738_1219351454_n.jpg
    On the Voie Verte (Green-Way), Argeles-Gazost

10948559_1570876159795995_1297353366_n.jpg
    Hautacam in the back ground.

10948797_338975586296805_436496935_n.jpg
    View from Lourdes, south towards Col du Tourmalet.

Cavan

10817895_376262912543424_1240999895_n.jpg
    Lough Sheelin

10831855_778154958906282_1990105757_n.jpg
    Lavey

1971507_364011273780349_1670255402_n.jpg

10601663_963268217035655_1344148711_n.jpg
    Old house in Laragh.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

It's Cold.

Saint-Savin

Hautacam in the back ground.

View from Lourdes, south towards Col du Tourmalet.

Cavan

Lough Sheelin

in one day :eek:

crosstownk wrote: »
    in one day :eek:

It's only a 2 hour flight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Not a picture, but taken on my cycle :)

Descending from Mount Seskin towards Dublin. 58kmh here and there :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94020121&postcount=5947

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Alek wrote: »
    Not a picture, but taken on my cycle :)

Descending from Mount Seskin towards Dublin. 58kmh here and there :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94020121&postcount=5947

One of my favourite descents in Dublin, I hit 93km/h going down there..albeit during the day, a lot less squeeky bum compared to the dark :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭FirstinLastout

From a shakedown ride the other evening.

F4555122640D4D5AAF44355019399245-0000365274-0003721721-01024L-73172D83A24041B4A8A4EC22FE100244.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭simonrooneyzaga

Zyzz wrote: »
    One of my favourite descents in Dublin, I hit 93km/h going down there..albeit during the day, a lot less squeeky bum compared to the dark :pac:

Did it for the first time at the weekend, mad considering how many times I've been up and down the embankment. Totally agree, what a great descent. Looking forward to taking it on during the summer on fully dry roads.

Great vid Alek

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

okane1 wrote: »
    Black Valley looking up to the Gap of Dunlow
    I did that cycle one Friday in April last year with my then seven-year-old daughter with me on my 22kg hybrid - out of the Lake Hotel, in and around Killarney for a bit, then up the Gap of Dunloe, down into the Black Valley, up to Moll's Gap, down past Luscaunagh and Ladies View and back into the Lake Hotel. Overall cycle was 62km, averaging a very relaxed 15kph - we'd done the 10k school run a few times every week for over a year in Dublin and had clocked up I suppose something between 1,500 and 2,500km cycling together, so she was well experienced with being on the bike and we'd done plenty of 20-30k stretches before. Anyhow, Killarney was a fantastic experience and the traffic was very light.

While doing the long flat bit past the River Owenreagh and past Derry Lea, she told me that she'd "seen enough mountains to last me a lifetime" and "never want to see another one or I'll explode", but the lack of enthusiasm was only temporary.

Had one funny exchange going up the hill at Derrynafunsha into Moll's Gap. As a bit of the hill was quite steep and the bike hadn't been going into first gear, we'd hopped off and walked for a bit up the hill, cycling where we could, but leaving my daughter get a bit of exercise too. As we neared the top, the hill wasn't quite so steep, so we hopped back on and carried on up. As we went around the last corner and up the last slope, a white van turned off the Moll's Gap road and onto the downhill stretch. Generously, he pulled in to let us past, so:

Me: Grand day for a cycle, isn't it? *panting*
    Driver (strong Cork accent): Aye, beautiful!
    Me: Well, listen, enjoy the scenery and thanks for pulling in. Drive safely *panting*
    Driver: I'll tell ye, I'm down from Kanturk and this is my first time driving these Kerry mountains and while I've seen some amazing sights today, the most amazing sight of all is you and your daughter coming to the top of this hill on that bike!
    Me: *panting* Glad I'm at this bloody end of it! *panting, cycles off, waving*

Fun times :)

Gap of Dunloe at Augher Lake, just visible is the category 3 ascent.

336781.JPG

At the top, having lunch:

336782.JPG

And there's a sign there too!

336783.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Zyzz wrote:
    One of my favourite descents in Dublin, I hit 93km/h going down there..albeit during the day, a lot less squeeky bum compared to the dark 

Actually it felt safer in the dark, as 1. there is much less chance of a car appearing and 2. you can see its lights glowing from around the corner much earlier than you can see them directly.

Before someone asks, a sheep jumping from the side will probably kill me at this speed whether its day or night ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭simonrooneyzaga

robindch wrote: »
    I did that cycle one Friday in April last year with my then seven-year-old daughter with me on my 22kg hybrid - out of the Lake Hotel, in and around Killarney for a bit, then up the Gap of Dunloe, down into the Black Valley, up to Moll's Gap, down past Luscaunagh and Ladies View and back into the Lake Hotel. Overall cycle was 62km, averaging a very relaxed 15kph - we'd done the 10k school run a few times every week for over a year in Dublin and had clocked up I suppose something between 1,500 and 2,500km cycling together, so she was well experienced with being on the bike and we'd done plenty of 20-30k stretches before. Anyhow, Killarney was a fantastic experience and the traffic was very light.

While doing the long flat bit past the River Owenreagh and past Derry Lea, she told me that she'd "seen enough mountains to last me a lifetime" and "never want to see another one or I'll explode", but the lack of enthusiasm was only temporary.

Had one funny exchange going up the hill at Derrynafunsha into Moll's Gap. As a bit of the hill was quite steep and the bike hadn't been going into first gear, we'd hopped off and walked for a bit up the hill, cycling where we could, but leaving my daughter get a bit of exercise too. As we neared the top, the hill wasn't quite so steep, so we hopped back on and carried on up. As we went around the last corner and up the last slope, a white van turned off the Moll's Gap road and onto the downhill stretch. Generously, he pulled in to let us past, so:

Me: Well, listen, enjoy the scenery and thanks for pulling in. Drive safely *panting*
    Driver: I'll tell ye, I'm down from Kanturk and this is my first time driving these Kerry mountains and while I've seen some amazing sights today, the most amazing sight of all is you and your daughter coming to the top of this hill on that bike!

Gap of Dunloe at Augher Lake, just visible is the category 3 ascent.

336781.JPG

At the top, having lunch:

336782.JPG

And there's a sign there too!

336783.JPG

Have great memories of my dad dragging me and my brother over those and other hills (when around the same age as your daughter) on annual cycling holidays staying in hostels along the way. Keep it up this year, best way to see the country and never forgotten!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

robindch wrote: »

What a fantastic experience both for you and your daughter. Never quite managed to get my two lads as enthused about cycling but maybe they will come back to it at some stage. Really must get down to the Black Valley before long. Was last there on a bike in 1976!

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭Straatvark

From a shakedown ride the other evening.

As usual - perfect!. I had to call my Golden Retriever over to show it - I can only assume that the wet nose on my elbow and roll of they eyes is greement. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭ssshhh123

Got my first cycle on the new bike today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

Up Kippure tonight

Nice one, much snow up there/on the roads up to there?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

Dónal wrote: »
    Nice one, much snow up there/on the roads up to there?

Not a whole lot surprisingly enough...
    Came at it from Kilbride side. Sally gap to the gates was lumpy enough but from the gates up wasn't really a lot on the road a few 1ft snow drift type that had been blown across the road..
    Wind threw up a bit of snow near the summit. Fairly white off the road to be fair up top. Visibility wasn't great either couldn't see the mast at all it was that foggy...
    I didn't hang around I was worried about getting speared from above by an icicle stalactite! damn reading that sign earlier....in fairness a warnings a warning and didn't want to push my luck.
    Oh and wrap up feet and hands took a while to thaw out afterwards. The wind at -5/-4 is the killer especially on the decent.

Featherbeds were looking nice this morning.

2bpet4H.jpg?1

Roads were mostly clear. One or two patches of black ice.

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭uphillonly

Ronoc - we might have passed each other this morning. So beautiful to climb but I was under-gloved for the descent & could have done with a thermal jockstrap.

Featherbeds with Kippure Mast in distance:

15789890603_e839356445_z.jpg

15787508644_f98bf7d1fb_b.jpg

Looking down towards Glenasmole, fortunately left the dog at home:

16408166731_77fe405858.jpg

Ice just off Military Road:

16409002262_78a8a3191d.jpg