Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Save our Irish Forests from being sold

• 06-03-2011 5:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

There is a plan by the Irish government to sell the VAST majority of our national forests (amounting to an area greater than 1 million acres or between 5 and 8 percent of Ireland's total land mass). There is a shocking lack of information out there, as the media seem to have totally failed to report on the subject. As such, this issue has suffered from very poor publicity and public awareness is low.
    We have set up this thread in order to highlight this. We have also set up a facebook page encouraging people to sign the petition that is doing the rounds at the moment. Some people have said "what is the point in a petition". In Britain recently the same thing was happening UNTIL a petition with a 100,000 signatures reached David Cameron. He then quashed the proceedings and a public apology was issued. If we could follow suit and make waves then we could truly enact change. Simply put if we do not we could lose our Public National Forests forever.
    Glen Hansard of the frames has recently highlighted this on a short segment on the Late Late Show:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02J13es5wr8&feature=player_detailpage#t=62s

You can also sign the petition here:

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/2/help-save-irelands-forests/

Follow/Share our facebook page and learn more at:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Save-Irish-Forests/108335132580208

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭kippy

There is a plan by the Irish government to sell the VAST majority of our national forests (amounting to an area greater than 1 million acres or between 5 and 8 percent of Ireland's total land mass). There is a shocking lack of information out there, as the media seem to have totally failed to report on the subject. As such, this issue has suffered from very poor publicity and public awareness is low.
    We have set up this thread in order to highlight this. We have also set up a facebook page encouraging people to sign the petition that is doing the rounds at the moment. Some people have said "what is the point in a petition". In Britain recently the same thing was happening UNTIL a petition with a 100,000 signatures reached David Cameron. He then quashed the proceedings and a public apology was issued. If we could follow suit and make waves then we could truly enact change. Simply put if we do not we could lose our Public National Forests forever.
    Glen Hansard of the frames has recently highlighted this on a short segment on the Late Late Show:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02J13es5wr8&feature=player_detailpage#t=62s

You can also sign the petition here:

http://www.thepetitionsite.com/2/help-save-irelands-forests/

Follow/Share our facebook page and learn more at:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Save-Irish-Forests/108335132580208
    Online polls and facebook pages - yep, thats how the world gets changed..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 zumobishopreal

as I said it worked in Britain so yes petitions can act change. Raising awareness is key to getting an idea off the ground.

as I said it worked in Britain so yes petitions can act change.

Yep, that was the reason cameron changed his mind.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Coillte owns 7% of the irish landmass, selling it would be ridiculous, there is no way a private individual/ non-state company should be the largest landowner in the country by that amount.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

And Bertie Ahern is the Chairman of the private international company most likely to buy Coillte.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ye do know that Bertie is one of the people that is trying to buy these forests?
    Seems the man is determined to not go away!

Ahern's international forestry body could own 7% of Irish land
    International firm chaired by former taoiseach eyeing up Coillte, the state's most valuable asset

http://www.tribune.ie/article/2010/dec/05/aherns-international-forestry-body-could-own-7-of-/

Fears that an international forestry firm chaired by Bertie Ahern could soon own 7% of Ireland are to be raised in the Dáil this week.

Sinn Féin's natural resources spokesman Martin Ferris said he wanted the government to allay fears that an international forestry body, of which the former taoiseach is chairman, is about to make a bid to buy Coillte, which owns 7% of the land in the state.

Colm McCarthy's 2009 An Bord Snip Nua report suggested that the state could garner "once-off receipts for the exchequer" through a "review of the operations of Coillte with a view to realising optimal return through rationalisation, asset disposal and, possibly, privatisation".

McCarthy is now heading up a body which is looking into the potential fire sale of state assets such as Coillte.

According to Department of Finance accounts for last year, Coillte is the most valuable state asset, with a net value of over €1.2bn. This is not the worth of the trees but the value of the land on which they are planted.

Earlier this year, the Sunday Tribune revealed that Ahern was appointed chairperson of the International Forestry Fund.

Significantly, a spokesman for the fund confirmed to this newspaper some months ago that the fund would consider an acquisition of Coillte.

A spokeswoman for Ahern said this weekend that "as he understands it, the International Forestry Fund has no intention of putting in a bid for Coillte".

Ferris will raise his fears about the potential sale of Coillte in the Dáil because "7% of our land could be sold to a private corporation. It is no coincidence I think that the expression of interest follows on the McCarthy report that Coillte be either privatised or asset-stripped, and the pressure on the government to sell off state assets as part of the IMF programme.

"This cannot be allowed to happen. Our forestry and the land are key national assets."

Ferris added: "I will allow others to make what they will of our former taoiseach's part in all of this."

However, Paul Brosnan of the International Forestry Fund said no bid had yet been made despite rumours of an impending sale.

"I can confirm that the International Forestry Fund has not made a bid for Coillte's assets... but I will keep you informed if we ever do," he said.

The International Forestry Fund is backed principally by the Irish Forestry Fund and Helvetia Wealth AG of Switzerland.

Based in Switzerland and Liechtenstein, it claims it can give the benefits of an offshore bank account to ordinary investors.

I've just emailed all of the current elected representatives in the Galway area and also a number of prominent FG and Labour politicians about this.

This is very true indeed. They sold 400 hectares of forestry it owned in North Mayo to Royal Dutch Shell (Corrib Gas project) who cut it down, removed the bog on it and poisoned the land and the water.

kippy wrote: »
    I've just emailed all of the current elected representatives in the Galway area and also a number of prominent FG and Labour politicians about this.

Fair play to you.

And Bertie Ahern is the Chairman of the private international company most likely to buy Coillte.

I was just about to highlight this there is some good information on that here:
    http://fisnua.com/?p=442

I am never surprised to see his name pop up when it comes to unjust activity

Fair play to you.

Its not the first time.
    I have mailed in the past on high energy prices (PSO levey) and the lavish costs associated with the glenties conference last year and the "facebook" training which took place around the same time.
    I personally find it a far more effective way of trying to effect change. If enough people did it I believe it would have a major effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

This is something I would protest about. Any planned protests? Although this is Ireland - the land of laziness where people enjoy being exploited.

As of yet we have no plans for a protest solely on this issue but we do plan on protesting at the Rally for the Planet protest on March 23rd in Dublin at 1pm for this very issue.

I was just about to highlight this there is some good information on that here:
    http://fisnua.com/?p=442

I am never surprised to see his name pop up when it comes to unjust activity

Never was the saying truer "Its hard to get rid of a bad thing!"

Biggins wrote: »
    Never was the saying truer "Its hard to get rid of a bad thing!"

It is no surprise that Bertie Aherns idol is none other than.....Charlie Haughey.

We are now draughting a template that people can use in order to contact their local tds with. Thanks for your input.

It is no surprise that Bertie Aherns idol is none other than.....Charlie Haughey.

"The apple don't fall far from the tree."
    ...Speaking of forests!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

From the new Programme for Government (page 15):
    Bio-Energy and Forestry: To accelerate the development of Ireland’s forestry and bioenergies, NewERA will merge together Bord na Mona and Coillte to create a new State company called BioEnergy Ireland to become a global leader in the commercialisation of next generation bio-energy technologies, including an annual 14,700 hectare afforestation programme.

They're hardly going to continue to plan on selling it?

Part of my email to these TD's was asking for clarification on the issue and also asking whether any level of consultation had or was planned to take place.
    There MAY be some level of crossed wires here but there is enough to be concerned about.

Sulmac wrote: »
    From the new Programme for Government (page 15):

They're hardly going to continue to plan on selling it?
    A quick quote from politics.ie from the user Seanie Lemass
    "It is valued (the forests) at 1.2 billion, persumably at agri values + some proportion of value of stock. They have finished tendering for a valuation of the land as a 'public asset.' Almsot certainly part of their preparing themseves to be sold. There are also carbon credits that will go with it and persumably a continuation of the EU grants. Besides that, they have surveyed the land under their control for geological info but have never released the findings.

Land then could be worth anything really if it is sold to private companies who can do whatever they want with it basically.
    And so land that came into the hands of the Irish state as part of the outworkings of the Irish Land War through the Land Commission will end up in the hands of the new landlords. The circle of life. And corruption."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SupaNova

The International Forestry Fund is an open ended fund registered in the British Virgin Islands. The Fund is recognised as a Professional Fund with the Financial Services Commission (the "Commission") pursuant to the Mutual Funds Act 1996 and Mutual Funds (Amendment) Act 1997 (together the "Act") of the British Virgin Islands and obtained a certificate of recognition ("Certificate of Recognition") as a professional fund in the British Virgin Islands pursuant to the Act.

I wonder did our former minister for finance without a bank account have one in the tax haven of the British Virgin Islands.;)

Would be great if people could sign this and stop a cancer to the Irish people like Bertie Ahern having further effect on Irish life. He deprived the good people of money by him and his cronies promoting their culture of greed, now dont let him stop your source of oxygen.

Such a good point. "Our source of oxygen". Strangely enough I b=never even thought of that so simple but yet so true.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Citizen_Cutback

The new Programme for Government plans to merge Coillte and Bord na Mona into BioEnergy Ireland with an annual increased level of afforestation of 14,000+ hectares per year.

It seems that rather than selling off most assets, Semi-States will be expected to increase investment in their spheres of operation to stimulate economic activity.

I reckon it's Bye-Bye ESB Power Generation though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

The new Programme for Government plans to merge Coillte and Bord na Mona into BioEnergy Ireland with an annual increased level of afforestation of 14,000+ hectares per year.

It seems that rather than selling off most assets, Semi-States will be expected to increase investment in their spheres of operation to stimulate economic activity.

I reckon it's Bye-Bye ESB Power Generation though.

Dont you mean hello Electric Ireland,its all ready on the cards.Name change and be allowed to charge people what ever they like.I am not hundred percent on the details.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭brendankelly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02J13es5wr8

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭chris_d

as I said it worked in Britain so yes petitions can act change. Raising awareness is key to getting an idea off the ground.

im assuming i can't thank posts because i have such a low post count (don't know where they all went too), but i wanted to highlight this post and congratulate the op for taking a postive and pro-active stance in this issue. as opposed to the negative and internet one-upmanship being undertook by kippy.

this proposed sale of land to private entities is an absolute disgrace, as is the lack of information being made available to the population.

i hope the incoming government have some pride in their country.

chris_d wrote: »
    im assuming i can't thank posts because i have such a low post count (don't know where they all went too), but i wanted to highlight this post and congratulate the op for taking a postive and pro-active stance in this issue. as opposed to the negative and internet one-upmanship being undertook by kippy.

this proposed sale of land to private entities is an absolute disgrace, as is the lack of information being made available to the population.

i hope the incoming government have some pride in their country.

"Negative and one-upmanship"
    Explain please.
    Land gets sold to private entities all the time by the way and I am not pro selling the forests to any private entity either.
    In fact, as you can see I have been proactive with the politicians who claim to represent this country.
    Online pools and facebook groups are the most pointless way of doing anything.
    If everyone spent the time mailing/phoneing or texting their local TD's instead of signing up to these kind of things campaigns would be far more effective.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

You had me til you mentioned glen hansard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭MASTER...of the bra

bleg wrote: »
    You had me til you mentioned glen hansard
    Sometimes I wish there was a thumbs down.